Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mattress Discounters

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 289-2233 View Additional Phone Numbers 2205 Plaza Dr, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.saveatmd.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mattress Discounters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mattress Discounters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2002 Business started: 12/01/2002 Business started locally: 12/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 151434.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Schottman, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Schottman, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Beds - Retail Mattresses

Products & Services

Mattress Discounters carries a large variety of mattress models, decorative wood and metal headboards and bed frames.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mattress Discounters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10529 Fairway Dr # 150

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 771-8143

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1074 Harter Rd.

    Yuba City, CA 95993 (530) 673-5276

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12195 Tributary Point Dr Ste 100

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670 (916) 985-3563

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1230 Churn Creek Rd Ste 100

    Redding, CA 96003 (530) 223-9568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1821 E Hammer Lane

    Stockton, CA 95210 (209) 952-3107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2001 Arden Way Ste 215

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 929-8686

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2031 Forest Ave Ste 118

    Chico, CA 95928 (530) 345-9533

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2205 Plaza Dr

    Rocklin, CA 95765

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2475 Iron Point Rd Ste 100

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 984-0947

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2860 W Monte Vista Avenue

    Turlock, CA 95380 (209) 656-9868

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2972 W Grant Line Rd

    Tracy, CA 95304 (209) 835-9076

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3900 Sisk Road

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 543-9644

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4380 Warehouse Ct

    North Highlands, CA 95660 (916) 576-3259 (888) 233-0091

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4760 Natomas Blvd Ste 100

    Sacramento, CA 95835

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6845 Five Star Blvd Ste A

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 415-0871

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7701 Laguna Blvd Ste 420

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (800) 289-2233 (916) 684-3611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7817 Greenback Ln

    Citrus Heights, CA 95610 (916) 723-1218

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8391 Auburn Blvd

    Citrus Heights, CA 95610

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1550 S Colorado Bv

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1550 S Colorado Bv

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3700 Havana St #312

    Denver, CO 80239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3700 Havana St #312

    Denver, CO 80239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5333 N Bannock St

    Denver, CO 80216

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5333 N Bannock St

    Denver, CO 80216

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5545 Wadsworth By Pass

    Arvada, CO 80002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5545 Wadsworth By Pass

    Arvada, CO 80002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8055 W Bowles Av #3a

    Littleton, CO 80123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8055 W Bowles Av #3a

    Littleton, CO 80123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8449 S Yosemite St

    Lone Tree, CO 80124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8449 S Yosemite St

    Lone Tree, CO 80124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    990 S Abilene St
    # 8

    Aurora, CO 80016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    990 S Abilene St
    # 8

    Aurora, CO 80016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11400 East 4th Street

    Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25195 Madison Avenue

    Murrieta, CA 92562

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3502 Tyler Street Suite B

    Riverside, CA 92503

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3809 Grand Avenue

    Chino, CA 91710

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40515 Winchester Road

    Temecula, CA 92591

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1043 S Rainbow Blvd

    Las Vegas, NV 89145

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1205 W Warm Springs Rd STE 101

    Henderson, NV 89014

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    260 S Martin L King Blvd

    Las Vegas, NV 89106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4150 Blue Diamond Rd STE 105

    Las Vegas, NV 89139

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4960 S Fort Apache Rd STE 400

    Las Vegas, NV 89148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5750 Centennial Center Blvd

    Las Vegas, NV 89149

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7560 W Lake Mead Blvd STE 2

    Las Vegas, NV 89128

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9945 S. Eastern Ave. #100

    Henderson, NV 89074

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4224 S. Eastern Ave.

    Las Vegas, NV 89109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1133-D Industrial Road

    San Carlos, CA 94070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1133-D Industrial Road

    San Carlos, CA 94070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1189 El Camino Real

    Menlo Park, CA 94025

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1189 El Camino Real

    Menlo Park, CA 94025

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1365 North Broadway

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1365 North Broadway

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1370 Holiday Ln Ste D

    Fairfield, CA 94534

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1370 Holiday Ln Ste D

    Fairfield, CA 94534

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1415 Van Ness Ave

    San Francisco, CA 94109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1415 Van Ness Ave

    San Francisco, CA 94109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    165 Plaza Dr Ste 701

    Vallejo, CA 94591

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    165 Plaza Dr Ste 701

    Vallejo, CA 94591

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2056 Redwood Highway

    Greenbrae, CA 94904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2056 Redwood Highway

    Greenbrae, CA 94904

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2389 Shattuck Ave

    Berkeley, CA 94704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2389 Shattuck Ave

    Berkeley, CA 94704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23918 Hesperian Blvd

    Hayward, CA 94541

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23918 Hesperian Blvd

    Hayward, CA 94541

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2498 Las Positas Rd

    Livermore, CA 94551

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2498 Las Positas Rd

    Livermore, CA 94551

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2510 Santa Rosa Ave

    Santa Rosa, CA 95407

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2510 Santa Rosa Ave

    Santa Rosa, CA 95407

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    356 Gellert Blvd

    Daly City, CA 94015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    356 Gellert Blvd

    Daly City, CA 94015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3999 San Pablo Ave

    Emeryville, CA 94608

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3999 San Pablo Ave

    Emeryville, CA 94608

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4000 Newpark Mall

    Newark, CA 94560

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4000 Newpark Mall

    Newark, CA 94560

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4550 Geary Blvd

    San Francisco, CA 94118

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4550 Geary Blvd

    San Francisco, CA 94118

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4635 Redwood Dr

    Rohnert Park, CA 94928

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4635 Redwood Dr

    Rohnert Park, CA 94928

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5891 Lone Tree Way Ste B

    Antioch, CA 94531

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5891 Lone Tree Way Ste B

    Antioch, CA 94531

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6010 Johnson Dr Ste E

    Pleasanton, CA 94588

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6010 Johnson Dr Ste E

    Pleasanton, CA 94588

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    655 Contra Costa Blvd

    Pleasant Hill, CA 94523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    655 Contra Costa Blvd

    Pleasant Hill, CA 94523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6780 Amador Plaza Rd

    Dublin, CA 94568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6780 Amador Plaza Rd

    Dublin, CA 94568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9999 San Pablo Ave

    El Cerrito, CA 94530

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9999 San Pablo Ave

    El Cerrito, CA 94530

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2000 Harvard Way

    Reno, NV 89502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4711 Galleria Pkwy STE 101

    Sparks, NV 89436

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6625 S Virginia St STE A

    Reno, NV 89511

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    971 Topsy Ln STE 332

    Carson City, NV 89705

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1300 E Valley Pkwy

    Escondido, CA 92027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    211 N El Camino Real

    Encinitas, CA 92024

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2401 Fenton Pkwy

    San Diego, CA 92108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2515 Vista Way #A

    Oceanside, CA 92054

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3109 Sports Arena Blvd

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    386 E H St #204-205

    Chula Vista, CA 91910

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4160 Kearny Mesa Rd

    San Diego, CA 92111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8604 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8815 Murray Dr

    La Mesa, CA 91942

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9625 Mission Gorge Rd

    Santee, CA 92071

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    980 Camino De La Reina #C

    San Diego , CA 92108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    980 Los Vallecitos Blvd #A

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1265 W EL Camino Real

    Sunnyvale, CA 94087

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1033 Blossom Hill Rd

    San Jose, CA 95123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    252 Ranch Dr

    Milpitas, CA 95035

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3615 Stevens Creek Blvd

    San Jose, CA 95117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    580 River St #D

    Santa Cruz, CA 95060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    950 Renz Ln #20

    Gilroy, CA 95020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    844 Playa Ave

    Sand City, CA 93955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1546 Saratoga Ave #P503

    San Jose, CA 95129

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    939 W EL Camino Real #120

    Sunnyvale, CA 94087

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1604 N Main St

    Salinas, CA 93906

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1129 S Main St

    Salinas, CA 93901

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Ohlone Pkwy #B

    Watsonville, CA 95076

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18811 28th Ave W. Ste D

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2415 Capital Mall Dr SW

    Olympia, WA 98502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    484 Lancaster Dr NE

    Salem, OR 97301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6705 South 209h St

    Kent, WA 98032

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Tempurpedic Mattress from Mattress Discounters on ****** **** who is no longer located there on Oct 26, 2009. The advertising says 20 years warranty but I am having back, neck, arm pain after using it for only 8 years. I have put extra layers of padding on top of the mattress but I'm still having pain throughout my whole body rendering the bed useless for me to sleep in.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement of the mattress since it is no longer useful

Business Response:

Dear *** *********

Thank you for reaching out to us with your concern. We are sorry to hear your are not comfortable on your bed after 8 years. You are correct that there is a warranty on the bed. Tempurpedic requires their customer service to handle any warranty related issues. Please call them at ************ to start a claim. Thank you.

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a King size matching mattress and box springs online from Mattress Discounters, after it arrived I realized it was the wrong mattress. I immediately called customer service to inform them, after arguing that it was in fact the wrong mattress they said they would come and replace the mattress in 2-4 days even though their website says "next day delivery" (which neither bed was), mean while, they had taken my old mattress and I couldn't use the one they left. About 3 days later they delivered the SAME mattress I already told them was the wrong one. Once again, I called, this time with the delivery person standing right there and they still argued with me. I told them I was done dealing with them and that I just wanted a refund and them to come take their mattress and box-spring set back. They then informed me that they can't do that, I can either exchange it (Which apparently is very difficult for them) or keep the wrong and lesser coasting mattress.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mattress Discounters to refund my payment of $898.77 and pick up the wrong mattress and box springs that they delivered. I have since purchase the correct mattress and box springs from a different merchant.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********

Thank you for sharing your concern with us. Your concern is important to us. Although Mattress Firm recently acquired ******** and Mattress firm is a part of ********, the two companies are still currently operating as separate entities. Please contact ******** customer service at *************

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: went to this business to buy a NEW MATTRESS it costs me almost 2thousand alone no box mattress well they set it up and all so as time went by I like to turn the mattress and I was shocked to see the tag that said used mattress it never dawned on me to check the tag like if I go to a car dealer to buy a new car would I have to look under the hood ?what this agent did at this store was wrong I told him no floor sample I told him I want the best one for I have a disc in my back I called the store the agent does not work their anymore and the person I did speak to said sorry cant help me this is fraud they sold me a lemon and ripped me off what I want from them is to give me a new one and take the used one back thank youwill be hearing from you soon g.k. Product_Or_Service: 1 11 12

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement a new mattress

Business Response: Mr. ********,

We are sorry to hear about your experience and the claim that you didn't know you were buying a clearance mattress. When we sell a clearance mattress we are required to disclose this at the time of purchase, obtain your signature stating you understand this, and you receive a discount for this type of purchase and by law we keep a yellow tag on the side of the mattress stating it's condition upon delivery. Our sales reps take great pride in dealing with all of our guests with the utmost integrity. Although it would be impossible for me to verify a conversation that took place almost 3 years ago, as a valued guest we'd like to help you out as much as possible. You state in your claim that the mattress is defective. If that's the case, our team assists with the manufacturers warranty. Please call our Customer service number ************** if you'd like to open a warranty claim and we'd be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Customer Service

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mattress Discounters has sold me two defective mattresses. One of them was stained. The bedframe was squeaky and when I tried to have this replaced they at first tried to upsell me to a newer one. They did try to replace it but delivered the wrong size. After the second mattress was deemed defective, the sales associate told me in her own words "oh that's just the way these mattresses are. Sometimes you need to go through a few of them to get one that is not faulty." The finance department that they got me into charges well over 50% interest which was not properly states to me. They got me commited to a second loan for the returned defective mattress.After I finally had enough with this company I asked for a refund. The store associate told me they could only replace it and charge me a fee for that. I had to finally threaten them with the BBB in order to refund the second mattress. They told me they would issue a refund to the finance department which would mail me a check and this has not been done and it's been well over a month. I called the store to find out the issue and they claimed they sent it but do not know for sure. The store manager claims she can only "email" corp to find out which I find strange. Now she is going on vacation and I still have no check. Even worse, they told me I'm on my own to fight the finance company which they put me in a loan with!I had many phone calls and in person discussions through out this entire process. This is by far the worst company in customer service, product, and transparency that I have ever had the misfortune in dealing with.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for the mattress.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ****,

We are sorry about your frustrations with your purchase at Mattress Discounters. It appears a full refund was already granted on said product. The product was picked up from your home on 4-4-15 and refund was processed with progressive financing company, the company in which you chose to take a loan with. Unfortunately, once mattress discounters submits the refund with progressive we no longer have control of refunding the customers money back. The loan holder, Progressive processes the refund. Please contact progressive financing company to inquire about the payment due back to you, ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Mattress Discounters

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised delivery date, didnt make it and never called to make new date. Customer service didnt care and gave me new date. I had to initiate a call to find out what happened and when they would actually deliver.

Desired Settlement: Would be nice if offered me an adjustment

Business Response: Greetings,

Customer Service is not able to locate any purchase information by the first and last name given or the phone number given. May you list your invoice # so we may look into this?

thank you

11/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman named *****, told me the previously purchased and returned mattress that I purchased had the same 120 day exchange policy that a new mattress had. I've lost my receipt and have only my credit card bill showing the purchase made on August 1st and apparently ***** had me sign something acknowledging that my purchase did not have the same exchange policy as a new mattress purchase would have. I do not recall signing this and relied on the salesman's assurance that I would have the ability to exchange it within 120 days or I wouldn't have paid $706 for something sold (as new) with no warranty or exchange policy. I realize that if I in fact signed this acknowledgment that ***** has made a sale that I can do nothing about but I wanted to go on record stating that the salesman out and out lied to me in order to make the sale.

Desired Settlement: I would like to exchange this mattress for a twin size mattress and box springs of equal value.

Business Response:  Our guest, Mr. ******, was given the option to receive a very heavy discount to purchase a clearance mattress. Any clearance item purchased through our stores are sold as an "asis" final purchase due to the heavy discount. The 120 day comfort guarantee does not apply for these models, however we honor the manufacturers 10 year warranty for defects. In all cases we have our guest sign a disclaimer stating they understand they've purchased clearance model and they understand the comfort guarantee is waived. We've received confirmation from the store that this disclaimer was faxed to Mr. ****** for his review and in turn signed and faxed back prior to delivery. Our customer service has offered him another heavy discount off the purchase of a new item as he is a valued guest of ours. We will continue to cover any future warranty concern.

Thank you

Business Response: Hello,

I've attached the signed document for your viewing.

Thank you

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:  While the signature appears to be mine, I did NOT sign this form and it was NOT faxed to me for my signature and faxed back.  Photocopies can be made to look like originals with the help of a copy machine as the salesman obviously knows.  I have no fax machine and didn't give my work fax number to the salesman.  The fax number listed at the top of ********** is NOT my work fax number and again, I have no home fax machine.  Can BBB require Mattress Discounters to send them via USPS the original form I am alleged to have signed?  And again, which fax number was it sent to?

 

***** ******

10/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 23, 2014 I purchased four mattresses, bases, and other miscellaneous items under Invoices #********* and #********* from Mattress Discounters. Some items were delivered to Carmel on Aug 30, 2014. The mattress bases that were delivered were mismatched and the company agreed to replace the incorrect unit.On Sep 13, 2014, the *** ****** delivery truck for Mattress Discounters arrived at the property in Carmel to replace the base. While backing up to park upon arrival, the driver collided with a tree on my property.The driver, ******, and second delivery person, *****, both admitted fault for the accident to me, to my wife, to his supervisor, and to the police. The second delivery person initially claimed to his supervisor that it was my fault for directing them to park in the front of the house, but the supervisor appropriately responded by confirming I had not directed them to have an accident. The accident was investigated by the police as CA ********. The police instructed me to notify the City Forester and have the broken tree limbs removed immediately since it posed a hazard.The supervisor told me to contact Customer Service on Mon to obtain their insurance carrier and policy information. I called on Monday as directed and spoke with ****** *****. *** ***** repeatedly refused to provide the insurance information and said I needed to obtain estimates (even rough estimates) for the damage first. He finally agreed to send the information by Tue. I called again on Wed when the information still had not arrived. He again refused, requested a damage estimate, and finally agreed to contact "the other department" to obtain the insurance information. In an effort to mitigate further liability, I obtained a verbal estimate from a local arborist. I sent email to *** ***** with that estimate. He responded Thur claiming they now wanted a written estimate and stating they were requesting the information.The company continues to delay production of the insurance information required by law.

Desired Settlement: I request immediate production of the company's automobile insurance company name and policy number, the company's cooperation in the insurance claim process, reimbursement for all costs associated with this loss, and restitution for the irreplaceable tree in the front yard. I would note that the company's continued efforts to thwart reporting the loss to their insurance carrier is increasing the loss value (in time, the need to obtain a copy of the police report, etc.).

Business Response: *** ******** contacted us on 9-15-14 to start his claim. Mattress Discounters is gathering all the information so we can move forward with an investigation. We are waiting for *** ********'s written estimate from an arborist and once we get all the information can review it  and decide what the next course of action will be.

Business Response: *** ******** spoke with our Risk Manager on Sept 19th, on this same day we reported the incident to our carrier. We have never denied to give him our insurance information.  An adjuster should contact *** ******** regarding this claim per their policy on these matters. If *** ******** should choose to reach out to them prior to them contacting him, he has our Risk Manager's information he could utilize for further information.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress under a 120 night trial period as advertised. It states in the store 120 night comfort guarantee or it can be exchanged hassle free. The cost of this purchase was 7,124.97$. The purhase date was 11-13-13. The mattress was delivered on 11-16-13. On 3-3-14, I returned to the store to see about an exchange because I did not feel any benefit from this expensive mattress. The sales person on the floor was new and did not know the procedure. He called a manager and the managers first question was, is it within the 120 nights. which it was because it came up on the computer. He then informed me that I could exchange for a mattress of equal or greater value. This was not told to me when I purchased. I said if I did know this up front, I would not have purchased due to the purchase price. I am basically gambling 7000 dollars on a bed. He agreed. I was then told it would be up to the sales person to make the exchange for less. He was supposed to be in the store on that Wed. I returned only to find another person that I explained the situation. I totally got the run around, and was hung up on the phone with customer service. They claim this policy is on paperwork we signed. However,that paper is a receipt of proof of purchase. I should have been made aware of this policy before. I stated that I was putting my trust in that sales person to treat me fairly and more importantly honestly. 

Desired Settlement: I would like a different mattress of my choice and be refunded the difference in price.

Business Response:

Mattress Discounters has a 120 night guarantee, however, it is correct that all sales are final, and refunds are not approved.  The policy on our exchanges is posted in the store, and on the customers paperwork.  There is a 10% restocking fee, a 49.00 re-delivery fee, and the exchange must be for equal or greater value. 

I have attached a copy of the invoice showing this. 

When the customer came into the store to talk about this exchange, we verified where the info was placed in the store, and on his copy of the invoice. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
First of all, the policy posted was approximately a 6 x 6 placard on the checkout desk, behind the computer screen.  It was clearly not visible and not shown to us prior  to our purchase.  Only when we requested to return the mattress, this placard was pulled out from behind the computer screen for us to view.  
 
Secondly, our signature is not even on the paperwork that was sent.  If you read the paper that states their policy, it says at the top "Thank you for you Purchase."  The information on the policy was not presented before the purchase, but after the purchase.  Even after the purchase it was not explained to us.
 
Let me reiterate, if I was aware that I was spending $7,000 on a trial period to see if this was going to help my sleep issues and if it did not work that I was stuck with the $7,000 price tag, I would have walked out the door.  Everyone that I have talked to on staff understood my point and agreed.  I rely on a salesperson to be upfront and honest with me with doing business.  This was clearly not the case.
 
Thank you,
*** ****

Business Response: The paperwork attached were only copies.  The originals are at the store location.   When the customer came back into the store to discuss this, he acknowledged that he had seen and recived that information, but hadnt read it. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The copies they presented whether or not they were originals still had no signature and the exchange policy was on the proof of purchase which in my mind is after the fact .  I was never informed of the exchange policy being of equal or greater value prior to my purchase.  How hard is this to understand?  I WOULD NOT HAVE INVESTED OR RISKED  7000.00 $ ON A TRIAL PERIOD.  I WAS TOTALLY MISLEAD AND CANT BELIEVE A BUSINESS SUCH AS THIS IS ACTING IN SUCH A MANNER.  EVEN WHEN I WAS TOLD TO CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE AT FIRST, I WAS TREATED DISRESPECTFULLY AND HAD THE PHONE HUNG UP ON ME.   

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their delivery/movers broke my wooden bed frame, and instead of giving me any help they pushed the blame onto another party. Their representative suggested that I use wood glue to fix the broken queen sized bed frame. She (the same representative) called me back that same day to inform me that the company can no longer assist me in this matter because they hired a third party to deliver my mattress and accessories, and that said third party was the one responsible. It is not my responsibility to hunt down the people that Mattress Discounter/Sleep Train hired. ****** said that the third party company will call me after she forwarded the pictures and the claims she made for me, but it has been almost a week and I yet to get a call from anyone. I believe that it is the responsibility of Mattress Discounters/Sleep Train to resolve my complaint since they are the one that hired the men who broke my bed. I spent thousands of dollars at their store, yet they can't even fix a few hundred dollars issue that their employee has caused on my property? It is just very hard to believe a company that advertises giving their customer peace and comfort would cause stress and discomfort.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either replace my queen size bed frame with a new queen size bed frame or refund me the money for buying a new queen sized bed frame.

Business Response: There was an outside delivery company that completed this delivery.  We did attempt to call the customer on Friday 3/7/14, at ###-###-####.  One of our managers at the warehouse left a message, and has yet to hear back.  

 
Any time our drivers cause damage to a home or product, we would normally ask the customer to get the cost of repair/replacement.   We ask this so that the customer can choose who they want in their home, if a repair is to be done there.   If the item can be repaired, we are happy to cover that.  We have a process to determine how the damage occurred, if it was noted at the time of delivery, the drivers statements, and the statement from the person who signed for the delivery.   
 
We haven't yet been able to determine how the damage to the frame occurred, as none of the product delivered shows signs of any damage.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I have not received any calls from any warehouse manager.  There was never a message left on my phone.  ****** their representative with email *****@sleeptrain.com was the only person I spoke to when I contacted them.  That day, ****** suggested to me to use wood glue to fix a chunk of broken queen size bed frame,  which is absolutely crazy.  She also suggested I hired a handyman, but a few minutes after that conversation she called me back saying that it's not her or Mattress Discounter/Sleep Train's problem now, and pushed the blame to a third party delivery company's problem.  She stated that the third party would contact me--which by the way they never did.  I have neither received a call or a message from them after talking to ******.  I provided Alex and ****** (both are Mattress Discounter/ Sleep train employees) with a picture of the damage done the very moment I discovered it.  This was but a short time after the driver drove away, and I went to put covers on the bed.  After waiting for almost a week, I felt helpless and with no recourse but to warn others about what has happened to me.  If the company doesn't want to take responsibility  for damages that their hired hand, supposedly a third company, has caused on my property then that is fine--at least I know that I have done my part in warning others of what will happen when they deal with your company. It is not my point here to seek extra money from your company.  To take credit when it is earned, owning responsibility and making restitution when you are the one at fault.  If I can spend thousands on your company, then it is no problem purchasing a new queen-sized bed frame to replace my damaged one.  Money is not the issue here. Rather, it is owning responsibility.  Even if you simply send a worker to come by and fix the broken bed frame, or send a replacement queen size bed frame from your own company--then that would be honorable and acceptable. The point is that you as a well-known company should stand by your words and actually do something about the damages. 

Sincerely,

Mary Fung

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because I have not received any phone calls.  I am not sure why we are playing phone tag, but I did leave a message for Alice.  Hope to hear from her soon.  Thank you for your time and understanding.  I will give Alice a call on Friday again if I don't hear back from her today. 

Sincerely,

**** ****

Business Response:

I understand that Alice has spoken to Ms. ****, but do not know the context of the conversation.   

Alice is the  main contact for any further questions regarding the claim for Ms. ****, and her direct line is ###-###-####.  While we have repeatedly called the customer at ###-###-####, we often are stuck leaving a message.

 

 

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THE TURLOCK STORE!!! I have been lied to and treated like trash by the rep that should have tried to help me. I bought a simple mattress and it was sealed in double plastic. My wife did not approve of my purchase because the quality of the mattress was very poor and thin. I admit I did not shop around like I should have. When I bought the mattress, I asked the sales clerk if I could return the mattress if it was not the rights one, style, color ect. The clerk said I could return it. Well I went home and sure enough my wife hated it. The mattress remained in the original plastic and I brought it in to return it two days later. A different sales clerk barley acknowledged me when I entered the business with the mattress and when I said I needed to return it she be became cold and curt. I asked her for the person who was her supervisor and she refused to give me the person's name or contact number. She finally told me I had the customer service number on my receipt and I could call them even though it was clear I wanted to talk to her supervisor. Well long story short all sales are final even though the first clerk said I could return it. Now I am out $125.92. I left the mattress in the store and we will never do business with this company again. I urge all of you to avoid this store and this company. Sincerely ***** *****. If you need names of you staff please contact me.

Desired Settlement: please refund my purchase price.

Business Response: Although all sales are final at Mattress Discounters, we did approve and process a refund for this customer on 3/31.  The check should go out from our Corporate offices on 4/4.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves product issues and service issues,Wife and I purchased a memory foam mattress, it was stated it was a closeout model end of year mattress but was brand new!not floor model or anything brand new!!Got it delivered 1/26/14, delivery went fast and no problems,upon opening plastic on mattress noticed numerous hair strands on bottom of mattres,delivery had already left. I imediatly called the store were i had purchased it and told the clerk about the problem! She thought maybe it was the wrong mattress and we all rechecked the numbers on bed and reciept it was the right one, It was one of returned mattress that i recieved so it was used!!! I was told at time of purchased it was a new mattress!!!They refuse to give refund or exchange! They gave me cover for the mattress!!They stated it was a clearance mattress they are as is no refunds period! I was told at the time of purchase that since the bed was a closeout model there would be no returns in which I had agreed but that was for a BRAND NEW! CLOSEOUT MODEL, not someone elses returned as-is mattress!!!! We spent over a $1100 on a used returned mattress when again it was supposed to be NEW!! We are now forced to sleep on this bed, our old one was removed, I refused to sleep on it the first night but a person has to sleep!! UCK!! I would have never ever purchaed a returned mattress knowingly..

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All we wanted in the first place was a new mattress,A full refund was the first option so we can go elsewhere,Or a New comperable bed trade that is new!!!

Business Response:

On 1/24/14, M*. ***** visited ou* Matt*ess Discounte*s sto*e in ********. 

While Matt*ess Discounte*s p*ima*ily sells new p*oduct, we do offe* clea*ance models, and floo* models.  Matt*ess Discounte*s has a 120 night comfo*t gua*antee on all new pu*chases.  Matt*esses that a*e *etu*ned unde* that gua*antee a*e sometimes sold as clea*ance, fo* up to 50% off of the *etail p*ice. 

M*. ***** pu*chased a clea*ance Sealy Radiance, Easte*n King matt*ess, as well as a matt*ess p*otecto*.  I have included the o*iginal pu*chase invoice, showing that M*. ***** signed a copy of the invoice, acknowledging that he was pu*chasing a clea*ance matt*ess, and that the*e would be no exchanges, *efunds o* *etu*ns. 

The custome* was advised at the time of pu*chase that the matt*ess was g*aded as a B, with some mino* scuffs.  He was also advised that if he was not satisfied with the condition of the matt*ess, that he needed to *efuse the delive*y. 

The matt*ess was delive*ed on 1/26/14, and was signed fo* in good condition. 

The custome* contacted the ******** store on 1/27/14, and stated that there was what appeared to be hair on the mattress.  He stated that he had seen in when the delive*y team was the*e, but signed fo* the p*oduct *ega*dless.  Due to the inconvenience, we offe*ed the custome* one of ou* premium mattress cove*s to *eplace the basic cove* he pu*chased.  

At this time, we a*e unable to offer any type of exchange, or return.  Please see the attached signed invoice acknowledging the pu*chase, as well as a copy of the delivery confirmation.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****

The businesses response is false!,The day of the purchase sale rep ***** ********* helped us and specifically told us the mattress we had purchased was a clearance model yes but it was not a GRADE  B mattress this is the first time I heard this rating of the mattress. never was told that we were assured it was a yearend model closeout (clearance)! It was a brand new not returned product, but may have scuff from being in the warehouse which my wife and I had no problem with as long as it was a NEW MATTRESS!, and was also told that there was no returns because it was a clearance model but was reassured it was an NEW MATTRESS!!

Why in the world would I be complaining about receiving a returned mattress when as they say I knew that what I was getting!! We would have never bought a returned MATTRESS, now we are stuck!!

It is also false that the first time I had contacted the store was the following day.  It was 7mins after delivery. delivery was 1:39pm 1/26/14 first call was 1:46pm to  the store that I had found hair on mattress and asked if this was a used mattress and talked to ***** one we bought from said it shouldn't be let me check called again at3:48pm and that when we were told it was a returned mattress I have phone records that prove that it was not the next day!! We never even slept on it that night!!! Then there other defense is I should not have accepted delivery, First of all we were expecting a NEW MATTRESS!!!! and it was all wrapped in plastic buy the time we had unwrapped it the delivery crew had gone!!! If you look at timeline  1:39 was delivery time they took old mattress dropped this of and left I called 7mins later at 1:46 pm after it was unwrapped!!!

I don't know if this practice is normal for them but we were sold a product that was falsely represented,Once again why would I argue about a returned mattress if that's what I knew I was getting doesn't makesence,

The Mattress was REPRESENTED AS A NEW MODEL YEAR CLOSEOUT!!  Plain and simple not GRADE B!!  They can say what they want the TRUTH IS THE TRUTH!!! screw the customer I guess..

Business Response: The conversation that took place at the store is not something that can be verified, the only thing i can go off of is what was signed, and noted.  I can see that the customer signed acknowledging they were receiving a clearance mattress, and that they also signed for the product when it was delivered.  The notes for the mattress mention only a small scuff mark, which is what the store would have seen as well.  Because the product was signed for, the customer accepted it, and it cannot be returned or exchanged.  

 
 

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife & I exchanged our mattress under the warranty for a new one due to a defect on the original And bought separately to the warranty a Movable Ergo plus base total cost $2598.00, unfortunately this had to be returned due to the exposed electrical/mechanical movable parts which caused a massive concern towards my cats who sleep under our bed? The mechanical equipment was not explained to us at the store and the manager Michael ****** Did Not have a floor model or stock photo to show us so basically we went on his word? Mattress discounters Returned the base to their warehouse and a regular conventional base was purchased instead, The following day to my disbelief customer servicers told me im only entitled to a store credit as we Don't give refunds and 30 days to use it or lose it, this was a blatant bullying attempt forcing us to use The credit in question, Return policies were in NO way explained to us when we originally bought the item or are they advertised Anywhere in their showrooms including brochures, pamphlets or flyers, see attached photos, info, Receipt Even our receipt clearly doesn't mention the movable Ergo plus base is nonrefundable and only mentions the warranty on the exchanged mattress which is a completely separate item that we are very pleased with. 
Our attempts to view our safety concern towards the mechanical base has fallen on deaf ear, As if this was explain initially to us we wouldn't be in this predicament, ironically afterwards we received A voicemail off Mr. ****** acknowledging the danger aspects of the base, (in his own words below) 
"Use the base with caution around small animals & children" 
a problem that could escalate into a Lawsuit in the event a child losing a finger due to exposed Hydraulics (this voicemail I still have) 

Desired Settlement: My wife & I are appalled how we've been treated from such a huge franchise and would like our Money Back, just like their furniture was returned in good faith. 
Yours sincerely 
**** & ***** ******* 

Business Response:

Please see the details of our interactions with Mr. ******.   The customer originally had a warranty inspection in September.  We were working with Simmons to get the mattress covered under warranty, and the exchange was created in November 2013.  The customer decided to upgrade on their warranty exchange, and purchased two adjustable bases as well. 

Mattress Discounters has always had an” All sales final” policy.  We offer a 120 night comfort guarantee, for an exchange only.    This is detailed on our invoices, and was stated to the customer several times.

The customer contacted us after the new mattress and adjustable bases were delivered.   He was not happy with them, and on 12/17/13, we approved an exchange for him.  At that time, before the exchange was even created, we informed him that he would need to use all of his credit, as Mattress Discounters has a no refund policy.  This was reiterated several times during the conversation.

On 1/6/14, the customer contacted our Customer Service department, and stated that he was not ever told he couldn't receive a refund.  We went over the notes and even played the call recording from 12/17/13 where the customer was verbally informed of this.

We have sent the customer copies of his invoices, and shared the recorded calls with him as well.  He was informed prior to making this exchange that no refunds would be issued.  If the recordings are needed, please contact me so that I can send them. 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

my argument isn't that I was told I cant have a refund its when I was told!

at the return of the two ergo plus bed bases I was then told no refund only store credit!

this was never explained to myself or wife at the time of purchase nor is it stated on my receipt,

in the store or on the bed base literature I mailed in to the BBB along with store photos clearly

NOT showing any signs stating 'ALL SALES FINAL' or stating 'NO REFUND POLICY' (I have attached these photos)

 

the ergo plus bed base was a separate buy and had nothing to do with the exchanged mattress,

my original receipt clearly states the shop policy of my mattress exchange but does NOT state any

policies (i.e. non refunds, all sales final) in regards to my new purchase of the ergo plus bed base

which I financed through 'Progressive' ref: 1******, maybe both items should have been listed on

separate invoices?

 

we have been very fair towards mattress discounters spending nearly $1000.00 extra on just bedding!

but we physically don't need anything else we have no other rooms to fill with furniture so basically

were left with $2524.35 of store credit we can NEVER use! were not rich people just a regular hard

working couple who simply cant afford to loose this amount of money.

 

on another note were totally willing to work with mattress discounters if there was anyway they

could transfer this credit to any customer willing to spend this amount? and as a good will gesture

to the customer we would only require $2400.00 refund therefor giving the customer an extra $124.35 on us,

we have offered same deal to friends & family but unfortunately none are in the market for a new bed,

I trust and hope we can come to an amicable agreement.

kind regards

**** & ***** *******


Sincerely,

*******

Business Response: As of 10/11/13, all of our locations were required to post the attached signage per CA law.  I have attached two pictures showing the Antioch store that this transaction was completed at.  One is a picture of the counter where the register is, the other is a closeup of the sign.

 
I have also included a copy of the invoice showing our policy.
 
Mr. ****** was informed PRIOR to making an exchange that he would not be eligible for any refunds.  Knowing that, the customer called back and decided to go forward with the exchange regardless. 
 
on 1/6/14, after several conversations with the store, the customer contacted our Customer Service department, claiming he was never told that he wouldn't be able to get a refund.  We were able to play the call from 12/17/13 where he was informed of this.  

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/4/13 I purchased Gel-M-F-HP. Boca Breeze Total 737.00 with in 2 wks collapsed Nightmare Began. Finally sent inspector out/continued-mattress collapsed-boxspring not put together MD to me inspector said everything was good/so I call inspector my self told him He called MD they said for me to come pick out another one/ on 6/6/13 MD Delienal AP825 ultra firm Boca Breeze. Told them it For a Bed Ridden Disabled Man. MD Said this is The Best Firm For that. 2 wks late Bed started Saging in middle. After another on with MD. They passed the Buck to Selic Poster Pedic. I called Company SPP-Debra-###-###-####-After a few calls told me to call MD Back and tell them they have a contract with them to honor it ********* From Corporate MD told me they will again waive inspection fees. Very rude  inspector come out 2/11/14 **** Integrated B.G. ###-###-#### confirmed mattress 2 1/2 inches middle. Box spring 1 3/4 ********* called me Rude unprofessional  I feel treated I have 30 days to come pick out another one They told me I purchased  their best called ***** ###-###-####


Desired Settlement: I would like $1,513.00 so I could go buy another mattress/Box spring else Where. Admit/no refund

Business Response: While all sales are final at Mattress Discounters, we do offer a 120 night comfort guarantee.  After that time frame, the mattress is protected by the manufacturer warranty only.  We help facilitate the warranty process for our customers, but are bound by the rules and requirements set forth by Sealy.   Some background info:

 
5/4/13- Original purchase.  Sea;u 
5/22/13- Customer called our CS warranty department.  The customer wanted to utilize the 120 night guarantee, but was refusing to pay the associated fees.-  Please see policies listed with the invoices attached.
5/23/13- Our CS warranty department decided to schedule an inspection, as it seemed that the box spring had broken.  The customer was informed at that time that there was normally a $50.00 inspection fee, but that we would waive it this time, based on the short amount of time they had the product.
5/30/13- the inspection was completed on 5/28/13, and showed that the center cross rail had detached from the head end of the box spring.  As a result, the box spring was sagging 1-3/8", and the mattress followed the sag, at 1"  We spoke to the customer, informed her that the box spring would be replaced, and that there should not be any further issues with the mattress.  Customer asked about a refund, and was told that all sales are final at Mattress Discounters. 
5/31/13-  The customer spoke with our District Manager in San Diego, ****.  The customer wanted to exchange the mattress under the comfort guarantee, but was again refusing to pay the restocking and delivery fee.  **** agreed to waive the fees, and explained that this was a one time approval, and that any future fees would apply.  
10/28/13- Our CS warranty department received a call from Sealy Customer Service.  The customer attempted to file a warranty claim with them, and Sealy asked us to follow up.  
10/29/13- We contacted the customer, and sent out the warranty questionnaire 
10/29/13- the customer called back, and asked about the 120 day comfort guarantee.  We informed her that it had since expired, but that we were would be happy to move forward with the warranty claim for her.
 
2/6/14- The customer called our CS warranty department.  She spoke with our manager, *.  Customer had to ever called back or returned the warranty info needed to schedule an inspection.  Went over Sealy's warranty requirements with the customer.  Although the customer verbally acknowledged back in May 2013 that she would be responsible for all future inspection fees, she was unwilling to admit this, and refused to pay the required fee.  In the interest of closing the complaint, we waived the fee one last time.  Customer agreed that she would be responsible for any future fees, delivery, restocking, or inspection.
2/12/14- The inspection was completed on 2/9/14.  We called the customer to let her know that both the mattress and box spring were found defective.   Under the warranty, Sealy will provide a replacement of comparable quality at no additional charge, however, the customer is responsible for any delivery fees associated.   We explained that if she did not want the comparable product, she could use what she paid originally towards a different mattress set in the store.   
The customer decided that, although she had already agreed twice that she would be responsible for any fees, she didn't want to pay the delivery fee to replace the defective product.  We explained to the customer that we have already waived fees for her 3 separate times, and that it would not be done again.    There is a $49.00 delivery fee for this warranty exchange, if the customer wants our drivers to deliver it. 
 
We have created two new invoices, which I included, for the exchange of the mattress and box spring.  They will be active for 30 days only.  
 
Attached:  Invoices and warranty card from Sealy.  
 
 

3/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new mattress under the direction of my doctor by a prescription. It cost me approximately $2000.00 for delivery and installation of the box spring and mattress from Mattress Discounters in Elk Grove. Approximately 2 years later I submitted a claim under the warranty as a manufactures defect, as the mattress slumped about 3 inches in the center of the mattress. I paid a deductible for the mattress to be inspected. I was then informed by a phone call that the bed frame was to have more slats and that because I called under the warrantee that the warrantee was void. Do I have any recourse to make me whole as a frame would have cost me about $100 and I was not advised of this at the time of purchase of the mattress.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my money if replacement of the mattress is not performed within 1 week as I have a medical need which must be addressed post haste!

Business Response:

Mattress Discounters offers a 120 night comfort guarantee on all new purchases.  After that time frame, the mattress is protected by the manufacturer's warranty only.  Mattress Discounters assists in facilitating the warranty process for our customers, but we are ultimately bound by the requirements and guidelines set forth by the manufacturer. 

We spoke to the customer on 1/2, and have a copy of her claim form.  At that time, she specified that she had a metal frame with a center leg and center rail inside a wooden frame.  At that time, an inspection was scheduled for 1/8. 

The inspection results stated:

Mattress has a 1-3/4" sag at center right, due to frame issue.  No stains or tears.

Box springs are firm, but they do flex under pressure due to frame.

Wooden frame with two bars, each with two legs.  Located at head and foot, leaving the center unsupported.

We specifically ask our customers to verify frame support, and any stains, as both can invalidate the manufacturer's warranty.  Due to the lack of support, Simmons has invalidated the warranty on the mattress set.

We spoke to the customer again on 1/10, and verified the results, as well as what the manufacturer covers.  We offered the customer a 50% off certificate to purchase a new frame as well.

Business Response:

Mattress Discounters offers a 120 night comfort guarantee on all new purchases.  After that time frame, the mattress is protected by the manufacturer's warranty only.  Mattress Discounters assists in facilitating the warranty process for our customers, but we are ultimately bound by the requirements and guidelines set forth by the manufacturer. 

We spoke to the customer on 1/2, and have a copy of her claim form.  At that time, she specified that she had a metal frame with a center leg and center rail inside a wooden frame.  At that time, an inspection was scheduled for 1/8. 

The inspection results stated:

Mattress has a 1-3/4" sag at center right, due to frame issue.  No stains or tears.

Box springs are firm, but they do flex under pressure due to frame.

Wooden frame with two bars, each with two legs.  Located at head and foot, leaving the center unsupported.

We specifically ask our customers to verify frame support, and any stains, as both can invalidate the manufacturer's warranty.  Due to the lack of support, Simmons has invalidated the warranty on the mattress set.

We spoke to the customer again on 1/10, and verified the results, as well as what the manufacturer covers.  We offered the customer a 50% off certificate to purchase a new frame as well.

Consumer Response:  In addition to the response from Mattress Discounters, Mattress Discounters also reported that Simmons would reinstate the warranty upon purchase and installation of the remedy to the frame. My complaint is that Mattress Discounters stated verbally that our frame was adequate for the mattress at the time of the purchase of the mattress. Otherwise the frame and support would have been purchased along with the mattress. I want the record to reflect that Simmons has agreed to reinstate the full warranty upon my purchase of the bed frame and box spring supports.


Consumer Response:  In addition to the response from Mattress Discounters, Mattress Discounters also reported that Simmons would reinstate the warranty upon purchase and installation of the remedy to the frame. My complaint is that Mattress Discounters stated verbally that our frame was adequate for the mattress at the time of the purchase of the mattress. Otherwise the frame and support would have been purchased along with the mattress. I want the record to reflect that Simmons has agreed to reinstate the full warranty upon my purchase of the bed frame and box spring supports.


Business Response: We have provided this information on a copy of the customers invoice.  It is also saved in the customers purchase information, should there be any further issues.  

Business Response: We have provided this information on a copy of the customers invoice.  It is also saved in the customers purchase information, should there be any further issues.  

2/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a single, full time dad. I had my daughter tell me her back was soar and decided it was time for a new bed. We went to ******** **** where we have gone before for her brother on west shaw and they were closed. Moved. I saw it almost directly across the street. I thought? It is mattress discounters though. The sales man gave me a good deal. Was very nice. Even called me after i purchased it to tell me that tomorrow's delivery is coming from the store in visalia and that the mattress was on the show room floor so it may not need much to break in? He wasnt sure? I said fine. The queen size bed was brought into my daughters room and set up by there people. All went well. They set up the new queen size frame, box spring and mattress on 11/10/13. I called the store, which said i have to call their customer service at 888-233-0091. I informed them the bed was compoletely falling apart. The leg, wheel snapped off, the metal support bar was dipping down which had a crack in it, this caused the box spring to snap its supports. I laid on the bed when i noticed my daughter laying very odd on it and 2 more lound snaps and crazy spring sounds happened. I lifted up the bed and discovered it was all broken under the box spring. They said i had to wait for a guy to look at it. He couldnt come out til 1-7-14. After him calling me twice to get directions cuz he was lost, he did his assesment. I was told on 1-10-14 there was nothing under warranty. Call the manufacturer. I went to the store today, 1-11-14 to ask or let them know all i want is to exchange some bad merchandise. They said no. I spent over $1000 dollars for a queen bed, built for 2 adults, and somehow, my 11 year old daughter destroyed this bed inside of 3 weeks and they wont do anything about it? This is about the principle, not the money. I went right to ************ this morning and got a new frame and box spring. Product_Or_Service: queen mattress set Account_Number: invoice # *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like this resolved by refund now. I only wanted originally to exchange the faulty box spring and frame.

Business Response:

Mattress Discounters offers a 120 night comfort guarantee on all new purchases, however, there are no refunds. All sales are final.

The original purchase was in November 2013. The customer contacted our CS department in mid December, and stated that the frame broke.  He was unable to send pictures, and so we scheduled a 3rd party inspection.

The inspection showed the following:

The mattress is sagging down 3-1/2” in the center, over the damaged area of the box spring.

The surface of the box spring sags down 3”.  There are bent grid wires and elements, and five cracked slats.  Due to damage, not defect.

Metal frame with three cross bards, five legs.  Cross rail at foot end is badly bent, and the wheel is broken.  It took hard force to do this to the frame and box spring

When we informed the customer of the results, he refused to accept them. The customer then showed up at the store, threatening, and making an overall scene. 

At that time, we decided it was best for everyone involved to end the business relationship, and refund the customer. The refund was processed on 1-12-14.

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress and box spring from them at the end of August, they delivered it on 8/30 everything was good. We used the mattress for about a month, we noticed the box spring had an issue, we called them and they said it was normal for it to sag a little because of the weight. So we left it alone, we used it another month and we noticed that the little sag had become worse. We called them and asked to have an inspector come out and look at it to see why it was so bad. They came out, the inspector said he couldn't give me any information, that we had to wait for them to call us back. A few days later we get a call and they say it's not a defective product, we damaged it and they won't do anything. We just need to purchase a new box spring, we had called and reported it when we first got it. We went back into the store, the store manager said what was delivered to us they didn't carry, so he couldn't do anything about it. But they were the ones who delivered it to us. He gave me a model number for the product, which matched the product that was delivered to our apartment. The product wasn't even a month old when we noticed an issue and they said it was normal. When it broken a month later, they didn't want to take responsibility for it. We just want a box spring for our bed, we spent almost $800, it shouldn't brake from normal use in under 2 months. They keep giving us a different story each time we call them, this is not good business.My gf is pregnant and can't sleep on the bed properly because it hurts her back, we have moved the bed around the fix the issue some and it's not as bad. But still shouldn't have to deal with this. Product_Or_Service: Mattress/Box Spring Set

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We just want the correct box spring for our bed, now that the broken box spring has been under 2 months we fear the memory foam mattress is also damaged, so we want that looked at/replaced if possible. Also want an apology from them for calling me a liar, their model number is clearly on the product they delivered which they told us they have never carried. We have wasted a lot of time and money trying to get this resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I missed this complaint as it was still being forwarded to another person in the department. She thought i was getting them as well, and didnt send to me. We contacted this customer after a complaint on Facebook, and were able to get approval through the manufacturer for replacement of the box spring. We last spoke to the cusomer on 12/5, and scheduled the exchange.

12/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refused to do anything towards the problem with the bed without extra payments to them for inspection. The bed is under 10 years warranty. Serta P Sleeper with Grady firm with full bedframe was purchased on 11/24/12 from Matress Discounters, slaes man ***** ********* with invoice no#XXXXXXXXX for a total of $640.00. Few weeks ago I noticed the bed squeaks a lot.The noise got louder and I called the shop to report it.They asked me to call their customer Service.Customer Service asked me to pay them on the phone $50 none refundable servcie fee for an inspector to visit the bed.However it is not even confirmed that they will change the faulty bed frame since she told me it depends how much noise it is making!! The mattress and the frame is not even one year old and they offer 10 years warranty. I have read all the papers and warranty booklet that they attached to the receipt and there is no word mentioned in it that warranty policy for any inspection requires $50 service fee and the sales man also never brought it to our attention. They did the same thing with us with another mattress that we had purchased from them a few months ago. It also was under warranty, and the mattress had a dent, they asked me to pay $50 for inspection and I did pay and the inspector reported that the dent is not deep enough for an exchange.Now they are asking for another $50 to tell me that the noise of the bed is not loud enough to exchange the frame. This is a pure high way rubbery. The worst customer service that I have come acrossed. We have purchased a total amount of $3000.00 products from them and they treat us like this.

Desired Settlement: They should come and exchange the frame and box that is squeaking a lot when one moves on top of the mattress or sits on it. It is under warranty and if there is a problem they should replace it without any hesitation and not to extort more money from the customer for checking the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mattress Discounters offers a 120 night comfort guarnatee. After that time frame has passed, the mattress set is protected by the manufacturer's warranty. Mattress Discounters helps facilitate that process, however, we are bound by the requirements and guidelines of the manufacturer's warranty. The 50.00 inspection fee was discussed originally back in June of 2013. After pulling the recorded call, which occured on 6/19/13 @4pm, I was able to see that the customer had been informed about the 50.00 inspection fee for that inspection request, and any further inspections. If the mattress is found defective per the manufacturer's warranty, that fee is refunded to the customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mattress Discounters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart