Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bath Fitter Northern California

Phone: (916) 231-6261 View Additional Phone Numbers 1313 N Market Blvd Ste 100, Sacramento, CA 95834 http://www.bathfittersacramento.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bath Fitter Northern California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bath Fitter Northern California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter Northern California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2008 Business started: 01/31/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00988525.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mrs. Mia Marshall, Marketing Coordinator Mr. Rob Plannette, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Mia Marshall, Marketing Coordinator
Customer Contact: Mr. Rob Plannette, Branch Manager
Business Category

Bathtub Refinishing Shower Doors & Enclosures Masonry Panels - Prefabricated Home Improvements Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs

Products & Services

Bath Fitter Northern California provides bathtub refinishing & remodeling services.

Industry Tips
Drain Your Pipes Not Your Wallet - Hire a Legitimate Plumber Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1313 N Market Blvd Ste 100

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (877) 748-2284 (916) 231-6284 (916) 231-6261

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Drain was improperly (not) installed. Caulking/Silicone Product Issue/Failure. Installation & Scope of Work were not met,Customer Service/Failure to return phone calls. It is regrettable that Bathfitters did not net a positive result with their product.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund

Business Response: In February of this year we received a call from the ****’s
advising there was an issue with their installation.  We advised them how they should remove our
shower floor so they can fix the water seeping issue they were having so we
could come and reinstall the floor upon completion of fixing the water seeping
issue.  Later in the month we received
another call from the customer questing the installation of the drain.  We sent our installer back to the customers’
residents on February 25, 2015 at 9:00am. 
Our installer could not determine what the source of the water seeping
was.  He did not believe we were the
cause of the issue, but, he could not fully guarantee we were not.

On March 19 we received another call from the customer and I
scheduled myself to visit the customers and assess the situation myself.  I went to the customers’ house on March 23,
2015 at 11:00am.  At that time I was able
to see the base we installed and the customers told me about the issue they had
with their sewer lines.  The advised they
needed to replace their sewer lines and were in talks with plumbers to fully
replace their aging sewer lines.  They
had already fixed the drain under the flooring in the shower when I had
arrived.  We did not touch their existing
drain.  Upon inspection of the flooring I
could not tell if the water seeping was an issue we caused or if the issue was
due to their failing sewer lines. 
Because I could not tell what the issue was I agreed to reinstall their
shower floor at no cost to them once they fixed the sewer lines.  They also informed me of concerns they had
with their installation and I agreed to fully reinstall their shower to alleviate
their concerns.  After I advised them
what we would do they agreed to have us back after they completed the sewer installation.  I advised them I would e-mail them
information regarding our conversation. 
I did fail to do this in the time I advised.  Early in the week of March 30 we received a
call in the office that **** **** called and advised he no longer wanted the
shower installation.  When I returned his
call and personally spoke with he did not advise me that he no longer wanted
the shower, but he wanted to ensure where the seam would be, and I reminded him
of our conversation while I was at his house. 

On April 1, 2015 at 4:49PM I received the following e-mail from Aspen Locken. 

“***, 

 

I spoke with **** & **** **** regarding your
visit last week. It is my understanding you have offered a resolution however
nothing has been provided in writing detailing the scope of work &
resolution as promised. Once again your client is having to follow up with you
in order to move this process forward.

Your client was prepared to be agreeable to the
resolution discussed last week however your lack of follow through has resulted
in lost confidence...again.  The Bath Fitters fitters product,
workmanship, customer service and overall contractor reliability has been a
choice your clients now regret. Please note it is still your clients preference
to be refunded the full amount of the contract value as they have stated again
in their conversation with you today.  

As originally promised a detailed response detailing
the proposed resolution, exact scope of work, revised/updated warranty terms
and a contractor guarantee the scope of work will be followed exactly during the install
was/is expected. Should Bath Fitters not be able to provide these items in a
timely fashion your client is prepared to pursue alternative methods for
resolution. 

 

On behalf of **** & **** ****, 



 

Aspen Locken”

 

I replied with the following e-mail on April 2, 2015 at
7:09AM:

“****
and ****,

 

I
apologize for any misunderstanding - I thought we were clear and when I spoke
with **** yesterday I was told everything was understood.

 

Just
so we are on the same page, as I told you and gave you my word, Bath Fitter
will come out and replace your entire shower (walls, floor, ceiling, corner
shelf).  We will also bring an additional corner shelf to place in the
corner near the shower head if needed.  Since you are removing the step in
Phillip will be able to make it a seamless wall in 3 corners and it will be
able to go fully to the ceiling.  You are going to either remove the light
and cap the electrical lines or get the light working.  If the light is
not working we will completely cover the hole in the ceiling.

 

Please
let me know what additional information you are seeking and I will get it to
you ASAP.

 

Right
now, we are awaiting hearing from you to get your plumbing completed, once we
hear from you we will schedule Phillip to come out and get your new shower
installed.

 

Please
reply to this e-mail with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank
you,”

To which I received the following e-mail from **** **** on
April 3, 2015 at 11:02AM:

Hello ***,

 

Thank you for sending this e-mail.  My understanding (what
I was clear about) was after our initial visit with you on March 23, 2015; you
“stated” that you were going to go back to your office and would send us an
e-mail with a detailed response of what was discussed and agreed upon regarding
a re-install of a new shower. We hadn’t heard or received any information from
you or from the company until **** initiated a phone call to the office on Wed.
April 1st, at 9:30 to inquire about the e-mail/paperwork we should have received.
You returned ****’s call at 2:00 that afternoon.  You stated in your e-mail that we gave
you our “word”; you haven’t followed through with your “word”, once again has
resulted in our “LOSS OF CONFIDENCE” in you and Bath Fitters.

 

You asked **** and I to make sure we gave you and the company a
10-day notice prior to the new re-install to begin, which we were ready to do,
but we have received nothing from you regarding the revised Scope of Work,
updated Warranty/ Terms and Conditions/Company Reliabilty/Time Frames etc.
 I will not start this project without any documents provided by Bath
Fitters.  Your e-mail that was provided is not sufficient enough regarding
the Scope of Work etc.

  

Nothing has been provided to us requiring our signatures of
approval/agreement for this new re-install to be completed. My husband and I
should not have to “chase” you and your company down.  Our phone calls
haven’t been returned, e-mails haven’t been sent as per your “Word”, we
discussed these issues when you finally showed up at our home approximately 30
days after the initial call on Feb. 6th, 2015.

 

We are considering contacting the State Board of Contractors and
Better Business Bureau.

 

Thank you for your time.

 

**** ****

At no time did I ever advise Mr. or Mrs. **** that they
needed to sign anything, we were fully ready and willing to back our original
warranty, even though we could not fully determine if we were at fault or not.

On April 3, 2015 at 11:24AM I e-mailed **** and advised her
I would be sending her a letter to sign and return. 

The following is exact letter sent:

April 3, 2015

 

**** and **** ****

***** ******* **** *** ****** ** *****

 

Mr. and Mrs. ****,

 

As per my visit on March 23, 2015, Bath Fitter will reinstall your
current shower due to the water seeping up from the pipes. 

 

Bath Fitter will perform the following work:

 

Reinstall a one piece
seamless wall (there will be seams around the door, floor and ceiling and one
seam in one corner of the shower)Reinstall the shower floor once you
have replaced the pipes.Reinstall the corner tower shelf (we
will bring an additional tower shelf in the event you would like a second oneReinstall the ceiling panel (you are
deciding if you would like to fix the light in the ceiling, if you are not able
to fix the light, you will remove the light and the electrical wires will be
capped and/or disconnected, we are not licensed to work with electrical)You are having the threshold into the
shower removed, we will rebuild this threshold and cover it with our materials,
you will discuss with the installer at the time of install the heights of the
threshold.  The threshold must be removed prior to our arrival.Install a curved shower rod (the shower
rod will be cut down to fit the door opening) in Oil Rubbed Bronze and provide
you with a weighted shower liner.  The Terms and Conditions and Warranty from your original contract
are still current and your shower will continue to have the full Warranty as
outlined in your contract.  This in no way voids or alters the Warranty. Our installer will take two full days to complete this
project.  You will give Bath Fitter at least a 10-day notice once you have
the pipes replaced and the work is ready to begin. Please sign and return this, in the enclosed self-address stamped
envelope, to indicate you fully understand what work is to be completed. Thank you,  ***
Plannette This letter was sent via UPS and delivered on Saturday April
4, 2014 at 12:03PM – the UPS confirmation states the package was signed by “****”
and a copy of the signature can be provided if needed.On April 7, 2015 I received an e-mail from our Customer
Service in our Corporate Office in Springfield TN that Mr. **** called in and
advised the following:“CUSTOMER COMMENTS:     Customer **** **** has called into make a
complaint against Bath Fitter. He stated that when he ripped up his floor he noticed
that the shower had been leaking and was full of mold. Mr. **** stated a tail
pipe was not put in when his tub was installed, causing the leak. He called
upon the manger to come out to inspect the issue and claimed the issue was in
fact a Bath Fitter p***lem and they would fix it. Now he is seeking half of
what he paid for the shower. ”I called the customer service agent who took Mr. ****’s call
to confirm he requested half of what he paid for the shower as compensation.  Upon confirmation of this I made the decision
to move forward with a refund of half of what they paid, or $2,500 so we could
move on past this issue.On April 7, 2015 at 1:42PM I e-mailed the following e-mail
to Mr. and Mrs. ****:“****
and ****, I
received an e-mail from our customer service that you had called in and advised
them of the situation and you requested a refund of half of your purchase
price.  Would you like me to put together a release for you to sign and
return so we can move forward with this? Please
let me know,

Thank you,”I did not hear back from the customer on this e-mail.On April 14, 2015 I received an e-mail from our customer service
asking for an update on Mr. and Mrs. ****. 

On this same date at 9:34AM I e-maile Mr. and Mrs. **** the following:

“**** and ****, I
had not heard back from you - I wanted to follow up on if you would like me to
put together a release so we can move forward with getting you a refund
check.  If so please let me know, if not please let me know how you would
like to proceed.  We are still very interested in re-installing your
shower if that is what you would like.  Please let me know so I can get
the ball rolling.

Thank you,”

At 9:39AM I received an e-mail from our customer service
agent stating “Now he is seeking full refund, he does not want Bath
Fitter product in his home.” 

At 11:08AM I
received the following e-mail from **** ****;

“Hello
***, I
didn’t respond to your e-mail sent April 7th, I forwarded the e-mail
to Ms. Crocker informing her that **** and I would not settle for “half” of the
purchase that you stated was agreed upon.  We have requested  a “full
refund” in all of our e-mail correspondence, phone calls with Ms. Crocker and
in person with you.  To resolve this issue we want for a Full Refund, we
don’t want your product in our home.  We have absolutely no faith or trust
with Bathfitters.  We are prepared to file a complaint with State
Contractors License Board, Better Business Bureau and file with Small Claims
Court.   Thank
you  ****
****”

I replied the following to Mrs. ****’s e-mail on April 15,
2015 at 4:12PM;

“****
and ****, As
I had indicated while I was at your home, I can not fully say Bath Fitter
caused the issue, but, I can not fully say we did not.  For this reason
Bath Fitter decided to honor the warranty and at the same time we will fix the
issues we discussed that you were not happy with on your previous
installation.  In a previous e-mail you had asked for a letter for you to
sign as to what will be done, that was sent to you on April 3, 2015 and
delivered to you via UPS on April 4, 2015 at 12:03PM.  The letter
stated the following:   

April 3, 2015 

**** and **** ****
20186 Cardoza Road
Los Banos, CA 93635 

Mr. and Mrs. ****, As per my visit on March 23, 2015, Bath
Fitter will reinstall your current shower due to the water seeping up from the
pipes.   Bath Fitter will perform the following
work: 

Reinstall a one piece seamless wall (there
will be seams around the door, floor and ceiling and one seam in one corner of
the shower)Reinstall
the shower floor once you have replaced the pipes.Reinstall
the corner tower shelf (we will bring an additional tower shelf in the event
you would like a second oneReinstall
the ceiling panel (you are deciding if you would like to fix the light in the
ceiling, if you are not able to fix the light, you will remove the light and
the electrical wires will be capped and/or disconnected, we are not licensed to
work with electrical)You are
having the threshold into the shower removed, we will rebuild this threshold
and cover it with our materials, you will discuss with the installer at the
time of install the heights of the threshold.  The threshold must be
removed prior to our arrival.Install a
curved shower rod (the shower rod will be cut down to fit the door opening) in
Oil Rubbed Bronze and provide you with a weighted shower liner.  The Terms and Conditions and Warranty
from your original contract are still current and your shower will continue to
have the full Warranty as outlined in your contract.  This in no way voids
or alters the Warranty. Our installer will take two full days
to complete this project.  You will give Bath Fitter at least a 10-day
notice once you have the pipes replaced and the work is ready to begin. Please sign and return this, in the
enclosed self-address stamped envelope, to indicate you fully understand what
work is to be completed. Thank you,  *** Plannette   ___________________________________ 
_________________________________  _______________**** ****
                                                         
       **** ****
                                                    
         Date Signed As of today we have not received back
the signed letter. 

Bath Fitter is fully prepared to honor the warranty,
again, because we can not determine if we were or were not at fault, we would
rather honor our warranty rather than point blame.   At your request, please sign and return
the above letter you received (I can re-send it at your request) and return it
to us.  We will have our materials and installer ready no later than 10
days after we receive notice that the pipes work has been finished and you are
ready for us to begin.” You are
always more than free to contact the State Contractors License Board, Better
Business Bureau or any other agency you feel necessary, that is completely up
to you.  Bath Fitter will never discourage any of our customers from
contacting customer care advocates. Again,
please sign the letter sent to you on April 4, at your request, and return
it in the self addressed envelope provided. Thank
you, 

This morning, April 16, 2015 at 8:24AM I received notice
from the BBB they **** **** had filed a complaint.  I believe if we would have “paid” them they would have never
filed a complaint with the BBB.  As I
stated in our last e-mail to Mr. and Mrs. ****, Bath Fitter will never
discourage any of our customers from contacting customer care advocates,
including the BBB.  Bath Fitter is still fully willing and able to honor our
warranty and word and re-install Mr. and Mrs. ****’s shower at no charge to
them.  Also, reluctantly, since we did
offer, we are still willing to refund them half of their original payment, or
$2,500.  We will not, however, refund
them their entire contract price of $5,000. 
Bath Fitter has been fully ready and willing to honor our warranty, even
though we cannot fully determine if we are at fault, we wanted to do the right
thing and make our customer whole and fix their shower.  We feel we have been threatened in several
e-mails by this customer to either pay them or they will contact the BBB.  Bath Fitter honors its’ warranties and we go
out of our way to take care of our customers, it’s very discouraging to be put
in a situation where we are continuously threatened with a complaint to the BBB
or to pay money to a customer.  I do not
believe the BBB was established for this purpose.Again, we are still fully willing, ready and able to
reinstall this customer’s shower.

Thank you, *** Plannette

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: On February 6, 2015 was our first phone call to Bath Fitters with our issue that came to play when a plumbing p***lem came to play.  The receptionist informed us that ******** was out of the office and would return our phone call Monday, February 9, 2015.  We never received a phone call from Bath Fitters.  We called again on February 11, 2015 spoke to ******** about how to remove the floor of their product.  When removing the floor, we found standing water.  I called Bath Fitters that same day  to inform them that there was standing water under their product which was caused by the drain being improperly installed. ******** assured me that they always put the extend pipe in or the drain.  Bath Fitters installer did not do so for our shower which led to p***lems.  Below is a copy of an email sent to Bath Fitters on the issues at hand:
***, 
Per our multiple conversations the following email is a compiled list of some of the issues your clients **** & **** ****  experienced with the Bath Fitters product/installation at their home located at ***** ******* *** *** ****** **. In addition to the listed issues I have also provided pictures for your review.  With the intention of resolving the stated issues in a swift and timely manner I have also provided a detailed proposed resolution for your review & consideration.  
  Issues:
1. Drain was improperly installed: No sleeve or fitting was installed between the drain cover, drainage pipe and the shower sub floor. This resulted in significant water damage including mold growth and dry rot to the wooden sub-floor. In addition to the noticeable water damage on the sub-floor it is possible that additional moisture may have accumulated behind the shower walls resulting in the potential for mold growth, dry rot etc. . Only caulking/silicone was used as the barrier between the drain cover, drainage pipe and shower sub-floor. As stated above no other sleeve or fitting was used to ensure proper water flow to the drainage pipe below and allowing for water/moisture to leak onto the sub-floor beneath.
 2. Caulking/Silicone Product Issue/Failure:
As mentioned during one of our conversations you admitted the caulking/silicone used by Bath Fitters during the time of my parents install has been reported to have a higher than normal failure rate. You also mentioned that "lately" you were receiving reports from clients of issues with the product (i.e. cracking, improper sealing etc.). The caulking/silicone used on the corner seams of the shower wall have noticeable cracks, and some areas have noticeable separation at the seams. This will ultimately allow for moisture to accumulate behind the shower walls and provide an environment conducive to mold growth, dry rot etc. It is safe to assume this may currently be the case but without proper investigation and determination (i.e. removing the walls & inspecting for moisture etc.) a proper/safe remediation is not possible.  If a known issue with a product used by a contractor is presented to potentially cause issues with the warrantied work it is the contractors obligation to notify the client with a solution.  Once a proposed solution is addressed it is then the contractors responsibility to immediately provide resolution to the p***lem and to remedy any additional damage that may have been caused by the product/install issue. Unfortunately, in the last ~12 months Bath Fitters has not notified the client or proposed a reasonable solution to the potential p***lem, instead the p***lem was casually addressed in a phone conversation.
3. Installation & Scope of Work: During the actual installation, the installer notified the client that he determined the proposed installation of minimal seams for the shower walls would actually require multiple seams due to the parameters of the shower dimensions etc. This altered the originally agreed upon scope of work and no change order was issued to the client for review and approval. It is a contractors obligation to notify a client in writing of any changes to the agreed upon scope of work.The multiple seams change, originally would have been a minor issue, but in light of the noticeable cracking of the caulking/silicone and the admission of product failure, confidence in the water tight nature of the shower is now in question and is need of proper investigation to determine if any moisture has accumulated or further damage has occurred.When Bath Fitters was originally notified of the issue and agreed to send a representative to the project site to review the issues, from a client perspective it is a safe presumption a non-biased representative would have been sent. Unfortunately the representative was the actual installer who originally performed the work. This does not employ confidence in the client that an accurate depiction of the presented issues are likely to be reported considering the representative is typically motivated by self-preservation and ensuring employment security.  
 The issues experienced has ultimately caused lost confidence in Bath Fitters Workmanship, Product, Customer Service and Warranty. Unfortunately Bath Fitters also has not been forthcoming exhibiting an eagerness to truly address the p***lem or provide timely resolutions, instead the perception is that of deflection and avoidance. With everything considered, the proposed resolution is to refund the full cost of the installed product directly to the client within 10 business days of this email. This will allow the client the opportunity to address the potential for moisture encroachment behind/underneath the installed product, potential mold & dry rot remediation, replacement of the shower interior with a water tight solution and ultimately get their shower back in proper operational condition like it was previously. This will also allow the client the ability to choose an alternate contractor to perform the necessary work to the standards they originally were promised by Bath Fitters but unfortunately did not receive. It is regrettable that the Bath Fitters product did not net a positive result for the client, however in an effort to timely resolve the issue and move forward with a mutually beneficial resolution, the client looks forward to settling the matter amicably.
 Thank you in advance for your time and consideration. 
On behalf of **** & **** ****, 

That was just one of the many emails sent to Bath Fitters.  When we contacted the corporate office in Springfield, Tn, we spoke to Ms. Crocker about the issues we are having, she responded to *** and informed him that we agreed to a refund of half the price we paid.  However, we never did agree to a price of the refund.  Ms. Crocker later disclosed to me that she came up with that amount.  Were willing to counter offer a refund price of $4,000 beings we had the shower for less than a year.  I hope that we can resolve this issue and I can't not stress on how much we do not want Bath Fitters coming back to our home and installing any of their products.
Thank you for you time.
**** and **** ****
***** ******* ** *** ****** ** *****

Business Response: Company states: At this point, the company's position is we are standing by refunding half of the job of $2,500.00 or we can re-do the job.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: we are not willing to settle for no less than our whole cost of $5,000.  The product would not and had not stood up to what Bath Fitters had disclosed.  A seamless shower, which ended up having more than 4 seams, a floor that was going to rot away due to the plywood that was laid down with the lack of pipe to extend the drain, the failure to add hardy-backer board to cover the hole around the shower head and handle; which there are photos of this error.  After taking the product out of our shower we found numerous things wrong, which we have photos of too. We will not settle for having another one of their product and will not settle for $2500.  Once again we want our full cost back of $5,000. 

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boxed job didn't finish left hole in wall and floor didn't finish Dry wall broke way tile. It was to be one day job we were without a ball room for 5 days took the person in charge 5 days to come see it.

Desired Settlement: To pay 100 % the cost of finished boxed job.

Business Response: This complaint is a total surprise to me.  We completed this installation on Friday October3, 2014.  The customer called into ouroffice with concerns about our installation on Monday October 6 and I personally was at the customer’s house on Wednesday October 8, 2014.  I agreed there were items that were not done to our expectations and I agreed that they need to be taken care of.  The customer had a contractor doing otherwork at her house and I agreed to let her contractor do some finish work on some exposed drywall and we would pay for it. I also told her we would send out our installer to finish his work and she agreed this was acceptable.  When we last spoke with ***** on October 14 she told us her husband just had surgery and “she will call when she is ready.”  Today when I spoke with ***** she told me that her husband is very upset and that he will do his own thing.  I told her that the complaint with the Better Business Bureau is in her name, she said that doesn’t surprise her, she said, he often puts things in her name.  We have been in contact with ***** and have communicatedfully with ***** on this matter.  Therewere some tiles removed that our installer was told it was alright by *****,who was there with the installer on the initial walkthrough while her husbandwas having breakfast, because she was going to have tile work done.  We agreed to go cover the hole that was left and ***** agreed to.  We have fully cooperatedwith ***** on this matter and have agreed to pay for the finish work on thedrywall and go complete the other issues that were brought up.  All these agreements detailed in this responsewere agreed to by ***** and me when I met with her on October 8, 2014 at herhome.  At no time have we altered ouragreement, not been in contact with her and as per her request, we were awaitingher to contact us so we could go complete the items of concern.  This is why this is a total surprise tome.  We are still more than willing to go do the work we agreed to and we will pay for the finish work on the drywall as we agreed.

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bath Fitters was not honest with me and used false information to gain my confidence setting me up for misrepresentation of contract and agreement. Bath Fitter's Rep ***** Contacted me by Phone July 12, 2013. Sales Rep *** Came to my house July-16-2013. Paid $1040. Deposit Went to Bath Fitter office July 18, ******** verified to me that service techs would not Tile or finish bath room floor but would repair sub floor. Paid 2nd deposit $2082. The first service tech **** came to my house on August 8 2013, indicated to me that their techs Could not do any additional work due to liability reasons. No work done. Contacted ******** same day. I decided I must do the sub floor. But I was still willing to try to Work with Bath Fitters. Second service tech came to my house on August 15. He completed tub and surround installation. My Bath room is in complete; my water is shut down due to bathroom work. At this point I do NOT want Bath Fitters to work on my second bath room, and I want my deposit Refunded. I was contacted by bath fitters via my online web search I think through Home Advisors, for bath rooms and kitchen repair and remolding. I ask ***** from Bath Fitters about remodeling my complete bath room. He said he would send a represented out to my house to answer my questions. I ask the represented *** about having my bath room remodeled. He said it would be no problem, and to ask the service installer. I went forward with the contact under the condition that Bath Fitter was the solution to remodeling and repairing my bath room. During the first 72 hours I tried contacting Bath Fitters to review details. I drove to the Bath Fitter's office to review the details. ******** went over some details, including that Bath fitters would repair the bath room sub floor. When the Technicians' arrived they contradicted what the Sales people had told me concerning doing any repair. I was willing to work with Bath Fitters on this issue as long as they stayed within reason. But there was much inconsistency and confusion The work Bath Fitters did on my first bath room was not adequate. So I did not want them to do the work on my second Bath Room. I want to cancel the second bath room contract, and I want my full refund for the deposit for the second bath room.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit back of $1608.00 from Bath Fitter. This is from the 2nd agreement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* Branch Mana Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@bathfitter.com I received Mr. ********'s case from the Better Business Bureau. I had been in contact with Mr. ******** prior to receiving his case and thought we had come to an agreement. I personally spoke with him and let him know how we were going to resolve his issue. I believed we had satisfied his needs and we were in the process of refunding him. After receiving his case I have attempted to contact him via phone but we have both been missing each other when we try to call. I left a message with him advising him I had received his case and I will put together a letter releasing him from his contract with us and we will be refunding him his full deposit on his second bath.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Bath Fitter Branch Manager *** ********* was very concerned about my matter. Mr ********* agreed to my terms and to refund me my full deposit. The hall bath already completed will be under the full Limited Lifetime Warranty. Thank you. It would look like this You owe Bath Fitter for the first Bath Fitter $3,780 We owe you a returned deposit of $1,504 Brings the total you own Bath Fitter to $2,276 end


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter Northern California
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)