Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dante Club of Sacramento

Phone: (916) 925-8230 Fax: (916) 925-6531 2330 Fair Oaks Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95825 http://www.danteclub.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dante Club of Sacramento offers banquet hall social-gathering services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dante Club of Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dante Club of Sacramento include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dante Club of Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1926 in CA Business incorporated 07/01/1936 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Roseman, General Manager Mr. Tom Mezzanares, Treasurer Mrs. Joy Reinhart, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Joy Reinhart, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jeff Roseman, General Manager
Business Category

Banquet Facilities Caterers Restaurants

Products & Services

Dante Club of Sacramento has 3 banquet rooms for events including weddings, banquets, birthdays etc. and offer menu options for all occasions.


Additional Locations

  • 2330 Fair Oaks Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95825

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like register a formal complaint on the services I received and request the appropriate amount of funds be refunded / reimbursed due to breach of contract. The event contracted for was a sit down dinner to be held on November 15, 2015, honoring ******* ******** 80th Birthday, an epic event for our family. Previously, I and my daughter had met with ****** to discuss, document services and expectations. Our final change on November 5th requested that the Spinach salad be replaced with a Garden salad with Balsamic and Ranch dressings placed each table. She responded that she could accommodate the change. Below is a brief review of the event only, although a few other things did occur. My contracted menu is as follows: Garden salad with 2 dressing on table 2 hr prior to serving ****** informed me, they decided to serve Spinach Salad with nuts with very little dressing on it; most tables had to request additional dressing. Pasta – Cheese ravioli with marinara sauce, originally I was told it would be served after the salad and before the main course. This dish was not served until I inquired. It was served near the end of my program. Several tables had to ask for their pasta because they were not served. Entrée – Rosemary crusted ½ a chicken with lemon crème sauce, rolls and butter. Instead my guests were served a chicken breast with sauce. The rolls & butter were very cold and hard. Dessert – Vanilla Ice Cream. Staff informs me that they ran out of Vanilla Ice Cream and that you would be serving Neapolitan Ice with nuts. My daughter,, ******* informed ****** that I was not going to happy with everything being change. As several people had nut allergies. Beverages – Coffee, Ice Tea and Ice Water on all tables. Instead when we inquired we were told it was by request only. The coffee was cold on ½ of the tables. Particles floating in several water pitchers. Approx a dozen glasses had to be return due to lip stick marks on them etc. Several of my guests informed me that hair was found in their salad or food. When my grandson brought this to the server attention she told my grandson that the hair was part of the menu. Microphone – No microphone was provided by you staff. When we inquired we were told the person who used it before took a part of the hook-up. We had to use the DJ microphone, which meant they had no microphone to perform their duties simultaneously. Birthday Cake – Cut and serve. We had 2 sheet cakes and cupcakes however only one cake was cut resulting in 2 bite squares. The Birthday cake was not cut and served in a timely manner and several tables never received their cake. The party was over when it was finally served. When inquired they thought we wanted a saved a cake.

Desired Settlement: The total number of changes is totally unacceptable. This caused me a great deal of embarrassment and humiliation. I understand some things happen, however, each item of my contract was breach. Instead of a happy occasion, I could barely hold back my disappointment with your establishment and service. We spent a lot of money to ensure we had the party of my dreams. In the end ****** acknowledged a few things and gave me a $2.00 off each meal which is nothing in comparison to looking back over the overall event. I strongly feel that the services to my party were greatly diminished / inferior in order to accommodate the very large gathering for a Memorial Meal for the unexpected passing of one of your Board Members. I look forward to receiving a favorable response from your Board of Directors and CEO within two weeks of the receipt of this letter. Respectfully ******* ********

Business Response:

Attached is a letter that was sent certified to the complainant, on my behalf.  We graciously discounted the menu by $2.00 per person at the time of the event.  Once the final bill was settled, the client hugged ****** and thanked her for an amazing event.  The majority of the clients were elated when they left and we have since received several rental inquiries due to their experience at the Dante Club.  As you know, the Dante Club has been operating as a banquet facility for several years, nearly 40 years and continues to be .  I pride myself on customer serves, as did my predecessors.  Please feel free to contact me directly should you require additional information.

Sincerely,

*** ********** **
Dante Club

Dear Mrs. ********:

First of all, I would like to extend my personal apology for any missteps you feel you or your guests received.  I can assure you that we receive feedback, good and bad, very seriously.  I would like to address your comments, one by one, as I feel each are worthy of explanation.

You mentioned that your salad was changed from a spinach salad to a garden salad.  We use a mixed salad blend and do not offer a garden salad; per se, but we did our best to interpret your request with the salad you were served.  We also provided two dressings on the side for your guests to enjoy according to their personal preference.

Our ravioli is quite popular with our guests and I am not surprised you selected it for your celebration.  When I refer to your contract, I do not see any language indicated the ravioli was to be served as a course.  In order for my staff to serve a pasta course, the main entrée must be served first, so that there is a plate for guests to actually place their pasta upon.  When there is no course delineation, pasta is served family style; table by table.

The chicken that you were served was disappointedly not what you ordered.  We did reduce your bill by $200.00, which is roughly $2.00 per guest. As far as the rolls were concerned, we actually oven warm our rolls and deliver them to the table while they are still warm.  In fact, people love our rolls so much that I often receive inquiries about purchasing them.  They are made by a company in Los Angeles and as far as I know, the only other location they may be purchased is ***** ***** ******. 

I was unaware of the ice cream change but this I know for certain, they served your guests spumoni and our spumoni has no nuts or fruit.  It is traditional Italian ice cream and many people love it.  In the food business, we sometimes make necessary menu changes because of quality or other reasons.  This was a simple case of not receiving our delivery in time and a substitution was necessary.

Beverages that include water are served upon request due to the drought; I know this may sound unbelievable but we are still under drought conditions and ******** ***** issued a mandate enforcing hospitality establishments to only serve water upon request.  We are doing our part to keep California green.

Birthday Cake is served and sliced at no extra charge, which is unusual in this business.  Most restaurants and caterers charge a cutting fee or a plating fee but we do not believe that’s fair and offer our services at no charge.  I do know that there was a lot of celebrating going on and at times it can be difficult to navigate a room with so many people but my staff are top notch and very dedicated.  I think your daughter would agree, which was evidenced by the way they rallied with carts and water for all of your beautiful arrangements.  I also think they facilitated additional tables for gifts, etc., that were not listed on the contract either. Unfortunately, a microphone was not listed on your contract but it’s not an easy fix.  I double checked your contract to make sure you were not charged for Audio Visual and the good news is that you were not.  We charge an extra fee of 75.00 for any audiovisual equipment that clients use belonging to the Dante Club.

Regarding the alleged hair in your food, well, all I can say is that I absolutely disagree with this observation.  My kitchen staff wear hats and we recently received a glowing health inspection.  And I know without hesitation, that my staff would never reply to a guest in such a flippant and disrespectful manner—not possible.

I want to be sure that I express to you, Mrs. ********, that when we realized a large memorial was scheduled in our largest room, we offered to upgrade your event to our newly renovated Tuscan Room but you declined our offer.  Unfortunately, we also experienced a couple of unfortunate incidents on our end that you should be made aware. 

The first being, one of your guests parked illegally and destroyed our hedge on the side of the building and scratched an employees’ car.  I paid to have the employees’ car buffed and all is well. 

The second and most unpleasant mentionable is that one of your guests got into a verbal altercation with the deceased members daughter and it nearly could have turned physical had my bar tender not broken them up.  After explaining to your guest that the woman she was upset with was the daughter of the deceased, your guest immediately felt remorseful and apologized to her.

In light of your letter and feedback and the extreme miscommunication, I would like to extend a gift certificate that you and your family may use for future Dante Club public events.  Please do accept my sincerest apology.  If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to contact me via email or via telephone at *************

All the best to you and your family during the holiday season.

Sincerely,

*** ********** **

Dante Club

************

joy@danteclub.com

Restaurant

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: "The business sent a $100.00 gift card to Dante but I am not satisfied with that, plus the gift card is only for lunch. They expect me to come for lunch when its convenient for them and not for me . I spent over $4,000.00 there for my 80th birthday and I wasn't treated fairly and I want all my money back. "- Consumer stated