Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smog Diagnostic Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Smog Diagnostic Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Smog Diagnostic Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 11/01/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 213553.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Miguel Frias, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Miguel Frias, Owner
Business Category

Auto Smog Inspection Brake Service Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
BWSD Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

Smog Diagnostic Specialists is an automotive repair and smog repair facility.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smog Diagnostic Specialists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3251 Northgate Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95833 (916) 473-1617

  • 9882 Waterman Rd Ste 140

    Elk Grove, CA 95624

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Smog Diagnostic Specialists located @ **** ********* **** *****,are crooks they will failed my car on a visual inspection while telling me, I needed a diagnostic for $85 and a re-test for $35. I paid the $49 for the initial smog and refused their fake offer. After I left their phony smog inspection, within the same hour I took my car to Northgate Smog and passed. beware of these crooks...I've also filed a complaint with the bureau of Automotive Repair, their investigation has determined my complaint was valid. Smog Diagnostic Specialists has refused to refund my money, so I will now file a small claim against this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund as well as my time off work for the Inspection time of my vehicle, and incurred court cost.

Business Response:

***** ****'s ********** Jetta failed for visible smoke test portion of the test which is tested by snapping the throttle and seeing how much exhaust smoke if any comes from exhaust pipe, there was excessive smoke coming from the car's exhaust pipe of *****'s car. The gentleman that brought the car in for the inspection was watching the inspection on the car and commented that the car never smoked like that before (he saw the excessive amount of smoke). The vehicle also failed for an air intake tube not completely connected and missing a retaining clamp. Vehicle passed at another location and the gentleman came back into the shop and demanded his money back and accused the smog technician of being racist (not that this even matters). The bureau of automotive repair did get involved and the B.A.R. representative said that it did smoke but after three snaps the smoke did go away, but was passed for the smoke and failed for a modified catalytic convertor. In closing the car should have not been certified. We at Smog Diagnostics are fair in our business transactions all tests are conducted according to the state of California's standards. Thank You ****** ***** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Smog Diagnostic Specialists
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart