Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sierra Hart Auto Center offers automotive repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Hart Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Hart Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Hart Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 1994 Business started: 08/13/1988 in CA Business incorporated 06/01/1988 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 67171.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 241475.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aldo Tostado, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aldo Tostado, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Repossession Service Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Hart Inc. Sierra Hart Recovery Sierra Hart Towing
Products & Services

Sierra Hart Auto Center is a full service auto maintenance and repair center.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1050 Triangle Ct

    W Sacramento, CA 95605 (916) 371-8027 (916) 371-8028 (916) 447-8080 (916) 780-1448

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company towed my vehicle after being involved in an accident since they were contracted with ********** **** ****** **********. After putting a 30 day hold on the vehicle I was told that I could either pay $1695 to get the vehicle out or $800 to sell them my vehicle to auction off. 2 years after I had paid them $800 to keep my vehicle and auction it off, a collection shows up on my credit report for $1695. They are money hungry theives. Please look into this company.

Desired Settlement: Letter of Apology

Business Response: Please find attached a letter that was sent to the customer today. A call was also placed to the customer formally apologizing and to let her know that the letter was in the mail.

 
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
 
Thank you,
 
**** ****

5/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my card was towed from 12th & e st by request of sacramento police department to the sierra hart towing on 600 sunbeam ave not even a mile away on fri 3/21/14 approx. 10:00 pm I was unable to locate my vehicle until that following mon 3/24/14 about 1:30pm due to the report not being filled properly by the police I was giving the information after I called the area tow companies and located the car on my own. At sierra tow I went to the agency talked to a rep and was given more information about why my car was towed I as I talked to the rep I was informed of the current cost $420 at that point on Monday 3/24/14 I also informed him I was unable to retrieve the car until after 12:00pm tues he then told me the fee will be an additional $50 I said ok all together im looking at $470 so tues 3/25/14 when I come to retrieve the car I was informed I was an additional $70 because the put a lien on the car the lady told me after 72 hr they put a lien on the car ( I think they was try to keep it )I ended up paying the tow company $590 I don't think they should charge for storage until the car is in there possession for 24hrs other wise your paying for tow and storage at the same time and why is the tow $270what is the rate to tow a car in general if the state agencies are not open on the weekend why are counting those days as part of your 72 hrs lien sale why didn't I get that packet if I paid for it. I feel ripped offand placed in a situation between the spd and the tow company were they get paid what ever they feel and I just have to deal with it . between the two agencies I paid $720 to get my car back for a weekend I chose to take a cab rather then drink and drive. (my car was parked and a crime happen near the car that caused it to be part of a investigation that why it was towed)

Desired Settlement: I understand that it was towed due to police activities(non criminal on my part) but I don't feel I should pay for lien sale, nor should I have to pay for tow & storage in the same day at the rate of $270+50= $320 unless the car is kept for 24hrs. if you retrieve your car that day you should not have to pay unless it is after 5:00pm for the whole day.I want my $120 refunded back towed fri after 5:00 just tow feesat: storage fee 50 a day sun: storage fee Mon: storage feetues: before 5:00pm

Business Response:

On 3/21/14 at 10:05 pm we were dispatched by Sacramento Police Department to pick up a Jaguar from 12th Street and E street in Sacramento CA for 22651 ( 0 ) Expired Registration.  Even though this location is 1 mile away from our shop,  our rates are from the time we are dispatched which is when we get the phone call. Per agreement with the Sacramento Police Department, we have 20 minutes to arrive to the location. We drove to the location arriving at 10:20 pm. Upon arrival we had to unlock the vehicle for the investigator and sit and wait while the police investigators searched the entire vehicle looking for evidence.  We then loaded the vehicle onto our truck with no keys at 10:50pm. The vehicle was towed it to our storage yard at 600 Sunbeam.  After arriving at our location we have to unlock our office, roll up our door and unload the vehicle. Unloading the vehicle was not easy considering it was in park and we did not have the keys. All labor work and paper work was completed at11:35pm.  Please note that the time does not stop until AFTER the vehicle is dropped at our yard and all paperwork is done. This call took 1.5 hrs x $180 per hour making the tow and stand by time $270.00. Storage starts as soon as the vehicle is dropped into our yard. Owners have the 1st 24 hours on the clock for it to be considered 1 day of storage. After that first 24 hours passes it reverts to calendar days, so time does not come into play after that first 24hours; even if the car is stored for a single hour the following day.

 

It is not our fault that the customer was unable to retrieve this vehicle on Tuesday after 12:00. We have no control over when the police department files their reports and makes them available. No control over State agencies being closed on weekends and holidays. Although inconvenient to the customer, we have no control over the vehicle owner having to find the vehicle on their own.  This vehicle was towed due to a possible shooting. We were instructed by the Sacramento Police Department Investigator not to allow anyone into this vehicle to retrieve personal property. Furthermore, we were instructed to call them, the police department, if the registered owner showed up so they can get into the trunk of this vehicle. 

 

On Monday 3/24/14 when the registered owner called us the amount should have been of $470.00; $270 for the tow and 4 days at $50 day=$200 totaling $470. Also, to pick up this vehicle on Tues 3/25/14 as the registered owner requested from us should have been $50 more making the total $520.00; $270 for the tow and 5 days at $50 day=$250 totaling $520. If we include the correct charge of $35 to the 3/25/14 release the total should have been $555.

 

The charge for the Lien Sale is justified.  All vehicles in our possession for 72 hours must be liened. We were not trying to keep their vehicle or rip them off.

Civil Code 3074: Lien sale preparation Costs: No lien sale charge before 72 hours of storage for cars valued at $4000 or less: maximum charge for same day is $35.00 when printout has been requested, or $70 maximum when lien agent has mailed lien documents.

In this instance the registered owner should have only been charged $35.00 for the lien sale preparation. Making a refund of $35.00, not $120.00

 

Desired Settlement:

It is unfortunate that our representative did not convey to the registered owner the additional $70 fee for the Lien sale preparation to be started on Tuesday. Our regular dispatcher was off on this day and we had temporary staff filling in for her. Bottom line is that the $70 lien sale was not conveyed to the registered owner when the fees were quoted. When our regular dispatcher came in on Tuesday she performed all Lien sale preparation that should have been started.

 

Since the $70 fee was not conveyed to the customer, we will refund the full amount of the Lien sale preparation of $70 , waiving the appropriate $35 fee, to appease our customer. 

Making a refund of $70.00 not $120.00

 

 All other charges are correct.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
ill take the refund I tired of this legal grand theft auto anyways ( and I had a one day moving permit and it was removed before if got off work I couldn't even use the permit)

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried contacting the manager with the promise of a call back every time regarding an issue with them. He refuse to return any of my calls. The company damaged my car while towing it, so I have tried contacting the manager multiple times through email and by phone and he completely refuses to return any of my calls. Every time the office assistant forwards me to his voicemail and states she doesnt know why he is not calling me back, or comes up with some other excuse of why he is busy.

Desired Settlement: A phone call back on the issue before I decide to escalate it to small claims.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Mr. ***** when he picked up his car and told him there was no way that we could have done the damage he is referring to during the tow. The manager **** has left messages for Mr. ***** and has not heard back. If he would like to speak with **** he is more than welcome to call his cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager has not tried to contact me once. Just look how long it took to respond to the BBB complaint. Once again there is no answer from "****" as he refuses to answer my call. I have the company that painted my car willing to attest to the fact the car was just painted and I will be filing a lawsuit against Sierra Hart. Worst customer service I have ever experienced, and I will continue to file complaints elsewhere online.

Business' Final Response
If Mr. ***** has any information he would like to send directly to me he can email it to ****@sierrahart.net **** will be in the hospital for the unforeseen future, so if he needs to speak to someone he can call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX but please understand that at this point I have been told by a 25 year veteran in the tow industry that there is no way that the damage Mr. ***** is claiming could have been done by my driver however, I will be glad to listen to his side of the story and look at any documentation he would like to provide. **** A. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX