Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Midas Auto Service Experts offers automotive repair services. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Service Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Service Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service Experts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 1991 Business started: 09/01/2003 in CA Business incorporated 06/05/1997 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 229333.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Washburn, President Mr. Jim Nave, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Washburn, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Midas, Auto Service Experts
Products & Services

Midas specializes in automotive service, including brake, maintenance, tires, steering, suspension, and exhaust services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 212 Harding Blvd

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • 50 Montrose Dr

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 983-1663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over a year ago my grandfather took me into this location to get a routine job done on my breaks for my birthday present. Expecting to pay no more then $100 we were shocked when we were told that because my break pads had cracks it would cost over $500. Being the responsible man my grandfather is he wouldn't dare let me drive my car after hearing the horror story that my breaks could just go out on the freeway so he stepped up and just paid for it. After leaving there I began to hear a screeching grind. I called and was informed this is normal for new breaks and to give it time. I gave it a few months because I don't drive very far day to day. I returned to the same location and was told it was a manufacturing default and it would be fixed. Leaving there my breaks continued to screech. I turned around and brought it back and all they did was take it for a test drive and said, 'I don't hear anything' but give it time. I don't have the strength of a man so pushing on the breaks and feeling a grind makes me feel like something must be bad.. Very frustrated I did so and they never stopped. I haven't had the time or motivation to return. I believe I have been more than patient with just simply trying to get my breaks fixed. At this point I can hardly drive my car because I'm afraid of the unseen damage I'm doing. I don't know if this sort of thing is normal or not, but I feel my grandfather got cheated out of money and I'm left with bad breaks still. I was contacted by the corporate to go back to the location to try an resolve the issue. I'm so outraged I will NEVER return to ANY Midas location and I promise not a single person I know will either. The two head guy's made me feel like I was an idiot. I have never paid so much money to be treated so terrible. Although my breaks were under warranty I was told I would still need to pay over $100 extra. I finally told my grandfather and he's furious over how I've been treated. We're good honest people that can't afford or deserve to be treated like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be completely refunded as I am still at square one. Nothing has ever worked and I would like to get it serviced by professionals that actually know what they're doing.

Business Response:

 

After reading the complaint, and knowing the circumstances, we tried to contact the consumer on August 6, 2014. 

On August 9, 2014, we received a call from her grandfather. 

While we felt the communication on the date of service was clear, we will respond with the findings of the inspection.  The customers concern could not be duplicated and her brakes were well above discard specifications.  There were no symptoms to suggest any action.  The customer is fully aware of the Midas warranty which provides a free brake pad for as long as she owns the car when the brake pads have worn out, but labor is her responsibility.  Her warranty is fully in tact at this facility.

Without a symptom, the customer was given options to address her concern.  It was not known if any of these suggestions would eliminate a concern that we did not duplicate or if the concern was even brake related.  Her brakes were in good condition.

We have already shown this customer goodwill by handling a previous concern at no cost to her and will not be refunding any money. 

After speaking to her grandfather, we suggested her grandfather drive the car to see if he had any concerns.  We told him, if he did and could duplicate the concern to bring it to us and we will inspect at no cost and determine if it is a brake concern or something else.  We will evaluate any cost issues at this time.

Importantly, all members of our technician team are ASE certified in brakes; in addition to, engine repair, steering and suspension, air conditioning and more. They are professionals.  We have a very experienced staff and we have been taking care of consumers for many years as can be seen in our lack of BBB complaints. 

We are waiting to hear back from her grandfather.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service Experts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)