Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lehr Auto Electric

Phone: (916) 646-6626 View Additional Phone Numbers 4707 Northgate Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95834 http://www.lehrauto.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lehr Auto Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lehr Auto Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lehr Auto Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1945 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1945
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 244626.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Stommel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Stommel, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Compressors Auto Electric Equipment Fuses - Electric Auto Electric Service

Products & Services

Lehr Auto Electric specializes in auto electric diagnosis, repair, installation, service and sales.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 4707 Northgate Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 646-6636

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car’s heater fan fuse kept blowing. I tried 3 fuses. The 1st repair shop referred me to Lehr Electric. I went there 1/6/16. I gave my cell # & home # & told them to please use my cell # 1st. They left a message on my home #. Lehr was already closed; I called next morning. I asked why they hadn’t called me on my cell. *** insisted he had called me on my cell even tho my phone showed no record of the call. He said they put in a new fuse & it didn’t blow so they couldn’t diagnose the problem or fix it. We agreed that I would leave it there another day. I asked him again to call me on my cell. Again, he called my home #. I went to pick up car 1/8/16. I again asked why my home # instead of cell. He insisted he had called my cell. I asked what # he used--he had read 1 of the digits wrong. I could clearly see the correct #s on my copy of the estimate. They charged $145.09. They had plugged in my engine cooling fan, which was disconnected. I drove out of the lot, within 1 min the fuse blew. I drove right back. *** said it would be $90 more for diagnosis. I was shocked. I left car there, then decided I didn’t want them to do the work; they had not found the problem the 1st time, I already paid plenty & didn’t think it was right that they were going to charge more for same problem. Overall I didn’t trust them. I went to Standard Auto Care. They gave me a loaner car & did eval for $149. They explained 3 problems: The heater blower motor, the A/C compressor & the relay switch needed replaced. I felt good about their service. I realize the problem I had may have been difficult to diagnose. However, I was referred to Lehr because they were supposed to be experts. I believe I was ripped off. I didn’t appreciate not getting called on my cell. Because of that I had to leave my car there for 3 days. The # I gave them was clearly readable on their paperwork. After all of that, I was left with no more information about my fuse & the overall problem than what I knew when I started.

Desired Settlement: Lehr Electric did figure out that my engine cooling fan was unplugged so I feel that the $54 they charged for that was justified. However, they were not able to diagnose the problem I had with my fuse and I was left with no new information so I feel that the $90 they charged for diagnosis was not reasonable. Another auto repair shop was able to diagnose the problem so it was not impossible to figure out. I would like to be refunded my $90.

Business Response: Lehr refunded the customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early April of this year, I gave the generator from my 1917 Studebaker to Lehr Auto Electric to repair because it had stopped generating current for the engine. A few weeks later when it was returned I ran it on my engine for ten to 20 minutes in my garage and it stopped generating current again.I took it back and Lehr stated that the solder had melted out of the armature due to excessive heat. I asked what had caused the heat but they said they were not sure.They also said they could send it to Washington State for repair and the cost would be in the $100 to $150 range.The cost turned out to be $293.00. When I got the generator back, I tried it out on my engine, and the generator immediately got hot, too hot to touch. Remembering that excessive heat caused it to fail before, I decided to get another opinion about it.Several of my friends in the ********* ******** **** suggested I take my generator to ****** ****** ********** **** (a generator specialist) in Auburn. I did that and was very surprised at what they found.They found that the generator charging rate was so high (in the 40 amphere range), that the generator would quickly overheat and fail. **** *****, shop owner, also stated that the output required of this generator should be about 20 ampheres.I am requesting that Lehr Auto reimburse me for the $293.00 I had to pay because they set the charging rate at an excessively high position that it caused the generator to overheat and fail.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $293.00

Business Response:

I have reviewed the circumstances regarding this repair and have determined that the cause of the armature failure was due to our technician setting the charge rate too high. Lehr will reimburse the complainant for the amount of $293.40. I’ll will contact the complainant and inform him of our decision.

Thanks You,

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lehr Auto Electric
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)