Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GM Specialties

Phone: (916) 773-0306 211 Kenroy Ln Ste 10, Roseville, CA 95678

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GM Specialties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GM Specialties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2000 Business started: 10/27/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 201697.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Black, President Mr. K.C. Miller, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Black, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Engines - Gas Clutches Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Products & Services

GM Specialties is an independent automotive repair and service shop located in Roseville Ca. GM Specialties specializes in most makes and models repair service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 211 Kenroy Ln Ste 10

    Roseville, CA 95678


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is a copy of the last letter. No response.GM Specialties*** ****** ***** ****************** *** *****July 1, 2015Mr. ****** ********* ******On June 15, 2015 I was contacted by **** ****** your manager. I was told by **** that your company would reimburse me for unnecessary work (fraudulent work) done by your company on my 2001 Corvette. **** ****** told me that he would send out a check June17, 2015 and I should receive it by June 19th . On June 24 I checked my post office box and there was not a check. I was disappointed but not surprised.I contacted GM Specialties on June 25, 2015 and was told by ****** ***** (Owner) that **** ****** was on vacation and had left without resolving this issue.****** ***** was hostel and passive aggressive with me. He told me that **** ****** could send a check when he returned from vacation.But that you (****** *****) were not going to do anything. ****** ***** told me he was glad I was unhappy.****** ***** told me that the only reason they were thinking of settling with me was there fear that I may take them to small claims court. ****** ***** told me this was a bad deal that they usually see people like me coming.****** ***** told me that I brought them substandard parts (BCM). ****** ***** told me he had to pay his tech $30 per hour weather they fixed the car or not.I dont think it is fair of ****** ***** to bully me, and take advantage of me Due to my age.When I first brought my Corvette to GM Specialties the car was in running condition. The steering column was locking and operating properly.After recovering my car from your shop the steering column dose not go into the lock position (as it did when you received the car) when turning the lock cylinder to the off position.I am in fear that the column may lock during driving conditions. That this is a safety issue and I am afraid to drive the car for fear of loss of life.I have had the replacement parts checked by CARS and both the BCM and the Lock Cylinder that your company told me were faulty and replaced are in working order.1of 2I picked GM Specialties due to the implication of the name GM Specialties. Implying that the company employes are specialist trained in working on GM vehicles. I was under the impression that I was using a General Motors satellite station. As this is what your company portrays. And your use of the General Motors Logo implies.I believe that GM Specialties took advantage of me being a senior citizen and fraudulently started replacing parts without testing or diagnosing the real problem with the car taking advantage of me. And causing me duress and financial harm.WHAT I AM ASKING:Reimbursement of Cost: 628.66Cost of BCM: 120.00Core Charge: 40.00 Repair of steering column: (SAFETY ITEM) 950.00 Total: $1738.66 This amount is due and payable upon recipe of this notice. Or third party intervention may be necessary.I PRAY TO GOD TAHT THIS MATTER IS SELLELED BEFORE FURTHER DAMMAGE IS DETRMINED. OR THERE IS A FALURE IN THE STEERING MECINSEM THAT CAUSES UNCHANGEABLE DAMMAGE TO MYSELF OR OTHERS. OR GM SPECIALTIES DAMMAGES SOMEONE ELSE IN THE WAY THEY HAVE DAMMAGED ME.RESPECTFULY,**** ********* *****.**** ****** *** *** ********** *** ********** ********

Desired Settlement: Disciplinary Action This company has no regard for it's actions against others or the safety of others.

Business Response:

GM Specialties received a phone call from **** ***** asking to put his steering column and dash components back in the original position and have a new key made. Asked why this couldn’t be done by the mobile locksmith who tore it apart **** stated that he was in over his head and kept saying he shouldn’t be doing this in the first place. I questioned WHY he wanted a key made. He had a working key. We told **** that if it was just trim parts that needed to go back together it shouldn’t be difficult and gave him a $110 estimate. **** gave me his information over the phone which included a PO Box and authorization to put the trim parts back together. When the vehicle came into the shop it HAD a security light on and the vehicle would start without the pass lock system hooked up. We also documented an ABS light on with codes C1242, C1221, C1222, C1225, C1226, C1233, U1016, C1283, C1287, C1288, BCM codes B2723, B2721. We also noted the lock cylinder seemed to be binding up when turned. **** was called and told about these issues immediately. We reinstalled the trim parts and pulled the vehicle out of our shop. **** was called and told the vehicle was ready for pickup. Before **** left to come get the vehicle it needed to be moved around in the parking lot. This is when the vehicle didn’t start. **** was called back and told this was happening. He acknowledged that he had previously had an intermittent starting issue but not for some time. We asked for the mobile locksmith’s contact information but was told that wouldn’t be an option because he wasn’t going to be helping out in any way, he was not worth calling. We wanted to question the locksmith but he repeatedly shot down attempts to get his contact information. He authorized us to do further inspection on the vehicle. We recommend to **** to replace the lock cylinder. We told **** that the lock cylinder was the cause of the no start which was incorrect and acknowledged by **** ******.  The lock cylinder still had an issue binding up which was a valid reason for replacement but was not causing the starting issue. Further diagnosis found the BCM was losing memory of key resistance, performing the passkey relearn got the vehicle started. We recommended to replace the BCM, **** declined to use the factory parts and took the vehicle out of the shop. He called back and asked if we would install his aftermarket remanufactured parts. We agreed to install them only under a no warranty or guarantee due to these parts being provided by the customer. **** agreed to this. After trying multiple BCM’s due to different issues with each one, we were able to get the vehicle started. While the vehicle was still in the shop we found it to have a intermittent no crank. Testing found that the starter was defective. **** found this to be very suspicious and didn’t believe it. We told him the starter was completely oil soaked and even if he agreed to replacement we couldn’t offer him a warranty due to the severity of the oil leaks onto the starter. **** decided to remove the vehicle from the shop at that time. Due to the circumstances of this situation **** was not charged for the BCM replacements or the no crank diagnosis.


We offered **** a reimbursement on only the lock cylinder repairs due to the misinformation that was given to him on the reasoning for replacement. A check was mailed to ****’s PO Box but was returned undeliverable. Before the mail was return we received a second letter with more extravagant claims and higher extortion prices. At this point it was clear **** wanted his vehicle repaired at someone else’s expense and it wasn’t going to be ours. We went above and beyond for **** like we do for all our customers but we’re not going to be bullied into repairing his neglected vehicle.


**** claims to be scared for his life due the steering column lock not working. He does not acknowledge the very large amount of oil leaking from nearly every part of his engine which is a fire hazard. He does not acknowledge the ABS system not working. He only wants replaced items we diagnosed as faulty.


**** feeling attacked is his attempt to feel like a victim, he is not the victim. GM Specialties was made a victim and was targeted by **** McKay, PERIOD.


GM Specialties is a shop of integrity. Our employees are truthful. Our customers trust when we say something we stand behind it 100%. Our record is on public display and we’re proud of it. We will be here for many years to come.


Thank you!




**** ******


GM Specialties

*** ****** *** **** ** ********* *** *****

Consumer Response: Response
to untitled message form GM Specialties sent to BBB on August 18,

**** ****** *** *****

And Individually: RE: complaint filed with BBB ID ********
19, 2015

I did contact GM Specialties and asked them to
put back together the column dash components and to have a blank key
that I provided cut.

When GM Specialties received the car before
working on the car the car was in starting and ruining condition as
stated by ** ******

I did agree to pay $110.00 for that service.

I agree that GM Specialties did preform that

I agree with **** ****** that GM Specialties
gave me faulty information as state in his response to my complaint
with BBB.

After preforming the service they said the car
would not start after doing the work although the car did start
before preforming the service as stated in your letter of response to
my BBB complaint.

The lock cylinder binding up I told ** ******
that the key turned the same way that it had when I purchased the car
in 2004.

Also the new lock cylinder feels just the same
as the old lock cylinder and **** ****** knows it.

**** ****** told me that the Lock cylinder was
bad and when I picked up the car I noticed the lock cylinder on the
desk **** ****** tried to throw it in the trash and asked if I could
keep my old parts.

** ****** pointer to a connection on the old
part and told me that the tech had checked it and this part was
faulty. That was not true. The old Lock cylinder is not faulty. After
replacing the Lock cylinder the car did not start. I do not believe
that GM Specialties diagnosed the car. They just started replacing

After finding out that the prior work was just
not necessary they told me that I needed a new BCM and that it was
going to cost $1000.00 for the part and $500.00 for the instillation.

I said no to this.

I called ******* **** ***** and found out that
they sell a remanufactured by Cardone BCM for my car at a price of
$140.00 with a one year guarantee. I did have to return the first one
that I brought to GM Specialties as it had a fault and was promptly
given another unit and delivered it to GM Specialties that did work.
I never discussed warranty with GM Specialties.

After installing the BCM **** ****** called me
and told me the car was still not starting that they had to put it in
the air and check the starter. The next day ** ****** called and told
me that the car needed a starter. I felt that first a Lock cylinder
then a BCM and now a starter. All of were working when they received
the car in ruining driving condition with only cosmetic work

Saying that I shot them down when requesting
information on prior work done on the car this is the kind of
verbiage is abusive and ongoing with GM Specialties Including ***
***** and *** ****** personal and individually. As is saying the car
is a fire hazard this is just a further attempt to bullie me and make
me take there abuse and fraudulent behavior.

** ****** offered me a settlement to close this
matter on July 15th 2015 this offer included payment for
unnecessary repairs and also included not filing suit for the damage
to the steering column.

I agreed to this hoping to just close any
further involvement with GM Specialties as this was becoming very

***. ****** told me that a check would be sent
out that weekend to my PO Box.

I waited 30 days before contacting GM
Specialties again giving them ample time to contact me with any
problems that may have occurred due to returned mail.

No one from GM Specialties contacted me to let
me know that they were having trouble sending mail to my PO Box that
I have had since 2006 and never had any complaints of returned mail
or undeliverable mail. I don’t think they sent the check.

After talking to *** ***** who told me that he
was not going to do anything. I felt that our settlement deal was
off. So I sent a second letter requesting full payment for all of the
damage GM Specialties caused while fraudulent work was done on my
car. As admitted by *** ****** in his statement to BBB.

I did not target GM Specialties I wish I had
never been made aware that they were still in business.

**** ****** states that CM Specialties is a
business of integrity that there employes are truthful and that they
stand 100 percent behind what that say.

In my experience with GM Specialties ***
****** and *** ***** personal and individually. 

I have not found this to be true. In fact I
have found the opposite. They almost never do what they say.


**** ***** ****

Business Response: GM Specialties has stated it's position in this case. We're waiting for the BAR investigation to conclude before proceeding. Thank you!

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on GM Specialties
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)