Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

C and M Automotive Repair Specialist, Inc.

Phone: (530) 755-2065 Fax: (530) 755-0433 318 Garden Hwy, Yuba City, CA 95991 http://www.candmautospecialist.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

From oil changes and tires to diagnostics and transmission rebuilding. Consider us your one-stop shop for all your vehicle's beeds. Our team of experts skillfully handle all maintenance and repair needs on all makes and models.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C and M Automotive Repair Specialist, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C and M Automotive Repair Specialist, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C and M Automotive Repair Specialist, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA Business incorporated 12/03/2014 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 279546.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Refugio Martinez, President Mr. Juan Pablo Ruelas, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Refugio Martinez, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Su: Closed
Refund and Exchange Policy
12 MONTHS/ 12K MILE EXCEPT ON CUSTOMER PROVIDED PARTS.
Alternate Business Names
C & M Automotive Repair Specialists, Inc.
Products & Services

FLOWMASTER. MAGNAFLOW. HP RACING. CENTER-FORCE. EXEDY. AEM. KYB. GROUND CONTROL. SKUNK. SINISTER. JET. AND MANY MORE QUALITY PERFORMANCE PARTS.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 318 Garden Hwy

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 755-2065

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Mazda3 to C&M Automotive on April, 18 2016 with a popping/creaking sound emanating from my front suspension. I requested to have this issue fixed. After doing a diagnostic, the shop manager informed me that my motor mounts were bad and needed to be replaced. I felt this was odd since I had changed the motor mounts out over the course of the last 2 years. He explained to me that I had to use factory parts and all 3 mounts needed to be replaced simultaneously in order for the issue to be fixed. I was hesitant so asked "Will this fix the sound?" His response was "Yes, this will fix the sound. We have seen this in other Mazda3s." So I agreed to have the mounts replaced and requested the old parts. When the car was ready, I paid the invoice ($585.50) and left the shop only to discover the sound was still there. It was not as prominent as it had been, but it had not been eliminated. I returned to the shop and explained the sound was still there, so they took the car back and did another diagnostic. They then told me it could be caused by the front struts and/or the lower control arm bushing. The combined estimate was $957.44. I decided to not have the additional work done at that time and took my car home. The sound seemed to be gone, but driving the car over the course of a few days the sound returned and worsened to the level it was prior to having C&M replace the motor mounts. I returned to the shop several days later (May 11, 2016) asking they fix the problem causing the sound. I asked if they would be willing to give me a credit on the job since I had paid nearly $600 for a repair that clearly did not address the issue. They refused. Examination of the parts returned to me shows only 1 of the mounts had failed. I consulted with 2 other mechanics regarding what I was told. Neither of them said the mounts would have caused a popping sound in my suspension, nor are you required to replace all 3 mounts simultaneously or use "factory parts" in order to get a good repair. Now they have resorted to flat out lying as the claim they fixed the sound I came in for and that the sound I am complaining about is different - something they did not say during any of my return visits. There is a lack of ethics and integrity at C&M. I cannot recommend this shop and will avoid them in the future.

Desired Settlement: I have since taken the vehicle to another shop to have the actual issue addressed. I would like C&M to pay for that repair in the amount of $411.37 (less than quoted for the same work, and less than I paid for the repair that did not fix my issue).

Business Response:

On April 18, 2016 Joe ******* came into C&M complaining of noise while accelerating or decelerating coming from the front wheels in his 2005 Mazda 3.  Mr. ******* accompanied Mr. ********, an ASE Certified Technician, on a road test to listen to the noise.  The car had a noticeable noise coming from the front right side when accelerating and slowing down/coming to a stop.  During inspection worn motor mounts were discovered which is a common component for causing such noises. The motor mounts were not original parts, they had been replaced prior. Customer agreed to motor mount replacement. During the initial inspection multiple worn components were discovered, all of which have the ability to create like noises. Items listed were struts and sway bar links, which were also recommended to customer on September 11, 2015 by C&M. Customer declined any other repairs besides the motor mounts against the technician’s recommendation. Vehicle repair was complete, customer picked up his vehicle and left.  Shortly after leaving the facility Mr. ******* called C&M to say he’s very satisfied with the repair, the noise was now gone. At this time the technicians were on lunch, our secretary took the message.  Mr. ******* stated he was VERY satisfied and grateful for our work. On May 11, 2016 Mr. ******* contacts C&M to say the noise has returned. He was told to come back and to have it inspected, at no cost, to determine the issue.  During the road test Mr. ******* mentions this noise is now occurring when in his driveway, NOT while accelerating/decelerating like the prior noise.  Still the vehicle was put on the rack and inspected, for FREE.  During the free inspection the technician noticed the splash guard on the vehicle had since been altered.  Zip ties, a metal bar and wires were all added during the alteration of the splash guard. When brought to the customer’s attention he became very defensive and said “don’t worry about the splash guard work”, totally dismissing the fact that the vehicle had been altered in a less than professional way by someone other than C&M.  Customer was visibly upset about the new noises.  In an attempt to help the customer and diffuse the situation, Mr. **** ****** offered to provide FREE labor if the customer was willing to purchase the items needed to replace worn components. At this time additional components, LCA bushings, had been damaged. Mr. ******* became extremely agitated and put his hand, palm open, in Mr. ******** face and said “stop, I’m done talking to you”.

Business Response: On the initial Invoice, dated April 19 we had verified that there was a noise coming from the suspension, and the only thing that was approved was the motor mounts. If you look at the bottom of the invoice under "deferred work" there you will see the Suspension System and McPherson Struts. Consumer did not authorize these repairs, so we proceeded with motor mount work only. As indicated by the consumer, he did call the next day and said he was very satisfied with the repairs. On 04/22/2016, he did bring the vehicle back to us, and he did mention that there was still a noise coming from suspension under acceleration. We road tested the vehicle with the customer, and verified the concern. We stand by the initial inspection on 04/19/2016 where the suspension work was recommenced, but denied by the consumer. On 05/11/2016 the consumer returned and mentioned that the noise had intensified, and mentioned that the noise was not as loud if he let the car stand for several days without driving. During this visit the customer also indicated that he heard the noise while driving in and out of his driveway, and on minor bumps. No longer was the noise only present during deceleration and acceleration. We again did a test drive with the consumer present, and verified the noise in the suspension or the exhaust. The noise at this time was different than previous visits, and it was determined that the vehicle had been in some type pf accident. The splash shied (underneath the car) had been repaired and altered with. However, it was incorrectly repaired, the splash shied had zip ties and a metal pipe used to brace it in place. This indicated to us, that damage to the bottom of the vehicle had to have occurred in order for this to be present on the splash shield. We did not identify damage to the exhaust system, but we did find a popping sound coming from suspension when vehicle was bounced or jounced coming from the left lower control arm. At this point we notified the consumer of our findings and damages to the left hand side, and he became very upset. The communication between us and the consumer was diminished, and he left our shop with the vehicle. The reason we feel we are not responsible for the additional repairs is because there are separate issues wrong with the vehicle as indicated in the invoices. The most latest noise on the car has nothing to do with the original motor mount work, and the suspension work recommended on 04/19/2016.  

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

C&M is claiming that the noise I returned to the shop for was a "new" noise. This is simply not true. It was the exact same sound it was making prior to the motor mount repairs. I have witnesses who can testify to that.

C&M Automotive told me the motor mounts were the issue that caused the noise I came in for. I approved this repair over the phone and was not presented with any kind of invoice or work order. I only approved this repair because no other issues were indicated to me by the service manager at the time. He insisted that the motor mounts were the cause of the noise. Even when asked directly if this repair would fix the issue he said and I quote: "Yes, it will fix the noise". He was wrong. The noise returned a few days later. 

C&M wants to now claim that I had further damaged my vehicle after taking it home initially. The vehicle has never been in an accident. The splash guard had been incorrectly replaced by a mechanic after an oil change and it came loose, the dragging that occurred after caused the splash guard to sag. the metal bar was zip tied in place in order to prevent it from dragging further. This happened years ago. The splash guard was in that condition prior to my first visit to C&M. If my vehicle had been properly inspected the first time I visited the shop, he would have known that.

It is clear C&M Automotive did not properly inspect my vehicle and therefore could not have possibly known that my lower control arm needed replacement. I have since had the lower control arm replaced and the sound has been eliminated.

It is clear that I was either intentionally mislead or C&M failed to do a full inspection of my vehicle before making recommendations and then refused to make good on the unnecessary repair later. Either way I feel that C&M should pay for that repair as the repairs I paid C&M to do were not necessary to fix noise.


5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C&M replaced starter on 4/22/14 and it didn't work so same day they had another one sent over from ******* Auto Parts (first starter from the Yuba City store at *** ****** ** and second starter from the Marysville store) and put in all within a couple of hours. They charged us $86.58 twice for the labor of both starters including the one that didn't work. I've called three times and spoken with I believe he said his name was******* and asked if they could do a labor claim and reimburse us for one amount of $86.58 for the labor of starter that didn't work but I've received no help. I've since contacted ******* Auto Repair in Yuba City and spoke with ****** and asked if they could help with a refund of the labor charge and was told first yes they could work with me but then told they would do their best to help me. They have as of today 5/6/14 said I need to deal directly with C&M Thank you so much for your help- ******

Desired Settlement: The amount of $86.58 refunded back

Business Response:

Ms. *******,

First off, I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience this situation has caused you.  For the record, you are not the individual who brought the vehicle to me, it was your father.  To my understanding, the vehicle had the starter replaced at another facility over a year ago, in which the starter was supplied by ***** ****, the wholesale division of ******** Auto Parts.  According to your father that particular facility ended up replacing the starter twice.  Over a year goes by and this problem resurrects, so your father, which we have worked with in the past, brings it to us to figure out the issue.  Due to the sparse nature of the complaint: hard start, we were unable to duplicate it on the first visit.  Your father brought the vehicle back a second time in which we were able to duplicate the concern and deemed the starter to be the source of the issue or concern.  We then contacted Mr. ******* and explained to him the situation with the starter and advised him that the started carried a life time limited warranty.  We then proceeded to contacting ***** **** in order to get the starter exchanged.  Mr. ******* authorized replacement of the starter for $86.58, knowing that the standard 12 month/ 12,000 mile warranty was no longer valid.  After replacing the starter, we found that it was making an abnormal amount of noise at start-up.  We contacted Mr. ******* and explained to him that the vehicle is starting up but that judging from the amount of noise this starter was defective as well, Mr. ******* then authorized replacement of the starter once again.  The second starter arrived and was replaced with no persisting issues and the vehicle was release.  My customer, Mr. *******, understood the situation and understood why he was being charged twice for the starter.  If we had supplied the starter originally then obviously there wouldn’t have been a second charge for performing the repair twice.  We have a strict policy that there is no warranty, what so ever, on customer supplied parts, in which this was the case because we did not sell Mr. ******* the starter. 

Apparently the situation reemerged and customer’s daughter called back confused about why we charged Mr. ******* twice to replace the starter twice.  Customer’s daughter was told that since we didn’t originally supply the starter we had to charge Mr. ******* twice.  Customer then claimed that her brother, who works at another repair facility down the street, told her that we should have done a labor claim through the original supplier.  I then contacted ******, the manager for the wholesale parts division of ******** and was told that we could only do labor claims within 1 year of original purchase.  O’Reilly was willing to refund the amount for what the original repair facility paid for the starter if customer was willing to upgrade to an OEM or different brand starter. 

I myself spoke to the customer’s daughter regarding what ******** was willing to do for her as far as refunding the amount the original repair facility paid for the starter and obviously customer’s daughter wasn’t happy with that resolution.  I attempted to be helpful to the customer’s daughter but unfortunately was unable to process a labor claim through ********. 

In order to keep the customer’s daughter satisfied I am willing to refund $86.58 to Mr. *******, I will credit the amount back to his credit card as per customer satisfaction.  I hope this will conform to customer’s daughter’s expectations and we are able to continue servicing Mr. *******’s vehicles in the future.  Sorry for the inconvenience Ms. ******* but I hope you understand the situation wasn’t easy trying to deal with several parties while attempting to get this resolved. 

Very Respectfully,

Charly Aguilar

Service Advisor, C & M Automotive Repair Specialist

Consumer Response: My father was not told he would be charged the second time for labor of second starter.... that is a complete lie. Also, i don't  have a brother. It appears I'm not the one who is confused. And if you were helping us to as you claim then why has my father never been contacted by you. Thank you.
*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C and M Automotive Repair Specialist, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)