This business is not BBB accredited.

Auto Start

Phone: (916) 714-2886 View Additional Phone Numbers 9291 Bendel Pl Ste 120, Elk Grove, CA 95624 http://www.autostart.ws


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Auto Start include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Start include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Start
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 246436.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 280977.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Miguel Frias, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Miguel Frias, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Smog Inspection

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9291 Bendel Pl Ste 120

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 525-7341 (916) 714-2886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Start has not honored its promise to repair my ******** 1977 450 Sl vehicle's Smog issues.They held the vehicle for 6 weeks. Only once during the 6 weeks did they provide an update and that update involved a request to charge nearly 10 times the original estimate to correct the smog issues. After 6 weeks and numerous calls from me, resulting in promises from ****** to give me updates that never occurred, I coordinated to pick up the car. A week after I called, I arrived and the vehicle wasn't ready. The agent, ******, could barely remember where the vehicle was placed. After 10 days heads up, they only then realized that they could not find the invoice. ****** took nearly thirty minutes to fabricate a new invoice as he could not remember what, if anything they had done to the car. I authorized additional funds to repair a special engine part that affected the smog chech and one Vent Control Part affecting the fuel system. The fabricated invoice was a lie or certainly not what ****** had told me when he asked for the additional funds approval. They charged me to fix a fuel injector issue that they never touched. Knowing that ****** was a huge liar, I grabbed the invoice and left only to find that the car battery was dead. A mechanic jumped the battery. Next day the battery was dead again. ****** promised to send someone to jump the battery and check the car's charging system. He lied. Auto Start never fixed my car's smog issues, never checked the charging system and never called.

Desired Settlement: 1. ****** had stated that he had no plans to repair the sluggish fuel injector and did not know which one was working badly, Yet because he couldn't remember what if anything he had repaired he charged me $300 for a fuel injector repair that had Nothing to do with the Smog repair for which he was required to fix. 2. My car always started properly, but I received the car back with a completely dead battery. I had to purchase a new battery. Auto Start should share the battery cost.

Business Response: thank you for allowing us to respond to this claim.we take great pride in our work and our customers.i am very sorry to here of mr ********s concern.we were always upfront.i do feel the need to respond to these aligations due to the nature of making us look incompotent.mr ******* informed us of this vehicle sitting for 2 years at his house.in parts.last repaire shop was unable to reassemble forcing mr ******** to assemble himself.we performed an inspection and found many obsollite parts for this 1977 mercedes 450sl.also parts not installed properly.we always need to make sure vehicle is put back to factory settings before proceding.never have we told mr ******** that we do not know were we stand on his vehicle.we made mixture adjustments to his fuel systum and informed him of injector cold start concerns as well as parts no longer available.we recomended mr ******** take vehicle to state referee as per law to alow referee to make calls on next step for mr ********.mr ******** authorized 956.00 towards repaires and was only billed 195.00 towards repairs that included only removing factory mixture seal and attempting to adjust co readings.his signed final invoice states just that.we regret that at this time we will not be refunding any money to mr ******** as we all know batterys cannot sit for years and expect them to stay operational.we feel mr ******** is just frustrated with his vehicle and is looking to take advantege of us.if there are any further questions please feel free to contact me

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
auto Start's response is an out right LIE.  My car did not sit for two years prior to taking it to Auto Start and I have never worked on this car.  This car is too technically advanced for most mechanics, so I would never attempt to repair it.  I spent $6,000 to repair this car at ****** ****** **** in Sacramento last October/November 2014.  ****** does not do Smog so I took it to Auto Start.  Auto Start's office Chief is a Con-artist.  He actually charged me for a fuel injector adjustment," bringing it back to baseline", which means nothing to a real mechanic and was a fake charge to get more money.  I had this confirmed by a second shop.  ******** *********** owner was very clear that Auto Start did not fix the problem as they stated and added false charges to my bill.  Furthermore, ****** had already serviced my car's injectors just months ago.  
Auto Start is a Criminal, unethical organization.  They don't remember the car and are once again fabricating a story.  My 1977 Mrrcedes has more than $15,000 in new parts from reputable shops in town.  Auto Start is run by thieves and liars.

Business Response: We are displeased with Mr ******** response. But we do understand. Putting 15,000 dollars in a 77 Mercedes is a lot of money. Unfortunately that dose not change the fact that we only performed emission diag with base line readings for the purpose of lowering tail pipe readings. Base lining a vehicle is industry standard and means running a vehicle on the dyno with live readings while performing repairs. This practice is clearly stated in the California emissions standard manual if any further questions should arise. Once again Mr ******** only paid us 197.00 for gaining access to and removing the fuel mixture plug that was still installed in a vehicle he paid 15,000 dollars to repair. Ataches is the original repair order signed by Mr ******** as well as the repair order signed by Mr ******** stating what we have discussed. We feel that Mr ******** is now crossing a line for slander and would like this case closed. We would like to avoid further concerns. Our paper work is in order as well as our e mails.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto start did not complete the job, charged full price thus, costing me extra to have another mechanic finish the incomplete job. Full detail: On 9/20/14 took my ******* ******** **** for Service C which is oil change, and fluid level check. After each service the engine service indictor/reminder needs to be reset. This was emphasized to Auto-start receptionist. Upon receiving the car and paying $120.00 this was not done. The owner of the shop acknowledged it, took the car back in the garage, waited another hour with my kids, came back and stated, he is unable to reset the service indicator, not sure how to do it. Took the car to another mechanic paid additional $60. 00 for the job to be completed.

Desired Settlement: $60.00 for not completing the job, and wasting my time!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Start
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)