This business is not BBB accredited.

Amerikar Auto Shop

Phone: (209) 656-7000 Fax: (209) 656-7199 1219 N Golden State Blvd, Turlock, CA 95380 http://amerikarautorepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Amerikar Auto Shop include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Amerikar Auto Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amerikar Auto Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 205482.

Business Management
Sasha Sargoni, Service Manager Mr. Ninous Sargony, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Sasha Sargoni, Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

AmeriKar provides auto repair service and specializes in foreign auto repair and carry all genuine European auto parts.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1219 N Golden State Blvd

    Turlock, CA 95380

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi my name is ****** ***** I brought my car to amerikar on May 10th today is now may 17th it is now eleven days past due date of completion yesterday I went to check on my car granted I was upset with him for the excessive amount of time he has already had my car **** at amerikar called the police on me his customer for wanting my car completed or not I have paid him 1500$ as of right now and was told if I want my car I need to pay him the other 1400$ I have the money for a completed car but not for a car he did not fix please help me with my options I am missing now 17 days of work and when I asked when he would complete my car he says I don't know to me this is not an exeptable answer without my car I am barely holding my head above water I can't get to work I am getting behind on my bills today is day 17 he has had my car eleven days past when he said he would have it complete

Desired Settlement: Please either finish my car or let me take it somewhere that can I can have a tow truck to his location as soon as he calls and gives me my car and returns the money I have all ready compensated him for to fix it

Business Response:

To start 2000 ** Jetta 1.8 turbo with 167063 on odometer  was towed on 5/10/16 on 5/11/16 we found timing belt is broken , he complained about cost I told him if the valves are not bended you be out with $700.00 to $800.00 if it is bended you need another engine will be cheaper, he authorized the repairs then we found two cylinders have bended valves that was on 5/13/16 and there after it was the weekend we needed $1500.00 deposit to take the engine down and replace it with a used engine out of Oregon on Monday the 16th his mother paid by credit card and signed for the repairs, on Thursday the 20th we received the engine starting Saturday we had to remove parts from other engine to new engine including removing the timing belt kit from old engine to new engine we found as well many hoses are brittle and braking in pieces due to the age, and by now Mr. ***** is being demanding his car not being reasonable that this engine is not an easy to work on but my record shows he has called 32 times demanding his car. his step father came and realized what is going with the engine and sympathized with us. ****** start threatening me if is not finish by 5 o'clock it will be bad and he did not leave, I called police to remove him and he argued with police and he said he will take the car without paying us, and police asked him if he can pay us take the car, he said no I can have the car, he removed his tools and purposely left the key in the trunk and even police checked him making sure he is not taking the key, his poor step father went in the trunk and retrieved the key I promised his dad that as soon as I am finish I give the car back to them . please call me if you have any questions

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I have a 2002 ** jetta not a 2000 maybe this is the problem my machanic can not even figure out what year my car is he bought a motor that was for a standard transmission mine is automatic the motors are the same however everything that hooks up to the motor is not I would like a receipt to see how much money this guy was trying to save by bypassing everything that hooks up to the motor when I brought my car to him I told him time was an issue I found a motor out of las Vegas that had a one year warranty not a six month like the one out of Oregon he chose his not mine that is why be is having these problems he has lied to my step father saying my car has over 100000 more miles than what the odometer shows as far as sympithising he just has more patients being that is he is not the one without a vehicle I am he just is a little sweeter about things than I am **** ******* is a liar and everything I am saying I have also filed with the bureau of automotive out of Fresno California they said someone will be there today to see what is going on **** has been attacking me on ******** calling me a child I am 32 years old please just fix my car that is all I want today is day 17 when I asked him in front of my step father and police that he called when I could pick up my vehicle his answer was I don't know this is unacceptable I need to know when if ever he will complete it and if it can't be done by his date and time I need him to return my money and my car so I can take it to a shop that is reliable please stay off ******** and fix my car **** sincerely ****** *****

Business Response: That only a type error and you are a child your lake off knowledge is sad anyway we don't welcome you and your comments this is the end of replies 

Consumer Response: Hi this is ****** ***** the customer of amerikar I thank you bbb for trying to handle this situation for us along with contacting you I also contacted the bureau of automotive and he now has a deadline of Thursday at five pm by the latest to complete my car I am closing this complaint as of now but if for any reason weather amerikar not meeting the deadline given or car not compliant with ca smog or unsatisfactory work I will reopen my complaint thanks again bbb for all your help dealing with this dirtbag mechanic

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my car off in the last week of July, 2015 with Service Engine Light issues. Although I already knew the definition of the engine codes triggering the Service Engine light, *** advised me that my 2000 Cadillac DHS was in need of a transmission rebuild and quoted me $2800.00 to repair, said they do transmission repair at the shop, and that it would take 2 weeks to repair. *** also had me make a $1500.00 deposit on the repair. It has been two months.I have called weekly since the shop does not update me on their own of the status of my repair. I was advised the transmission was sent out to a third party for rebuild and a host of other reasons for the delay in repair each time I have called from a missing sick mechanic to electrical issues, to broken water pump housing to bad sensors to bad control module to bad torque converter solenoid on the transmission (which is what the engine code originally read.I have remained calm and stated repeatedly that I need my car for various important reasons and have had to rent cars and take taxis. My car is still not ready no am I getting any updates from *** or the repair shop on the status as of today 09/22/2015.

Desired Settlement: I need my car and if Amerikar cannot repair my vehicle in a timely matter I want it delivered to a business that can successfully finish the repair at the expense of Amerikar.

Business Response: Mr. ***** can take his car at another facility of his choice, I have been in contact with him , this car is from another state and we have rebuild his transmission, but for corrosion and rust on electrical components that we are trying to clean, and bring it to California legal smog ready, can not work any faster due to lack of parts and difficulty of out of state vehicle. enclosed are pictures of ongoing electrical repairs, and mu estimate of $2800.00 is until I finish this electrical matter any more there will bw additional charges.

Business Response: to Mr. *****
this car is almost ready to be completed , I was trying to be courtios to you and finish the repairs. since you had complained and not being understanding about the rust problem with this car out of state of Colorado , with the residue of salt still visible, I have no choice to change my priority from your car, unless you acknowledge the problem, specialy if you are a truck driver should know better with weather conditions there , how ever I am committed to finish my projects , I will let you know by phone soon when can you pick up the car.
****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
The car is NOT from Colorado and in the two months you've have my car it already seems that you have shifted your Prioirity from my car to your other projects. I have paid the the deposit, I've patiently waited for two months and I have repeatedly told you that I NEED MY CAR NOW!!!

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The clutch went out in my car and I had it towed to Amerikar auto repair. They quoted me an estimate of $1263.00. After diagnosing it they informed me that the clutch slave cylinder was leaking and recommended replacing it at a cost of $460.00. I gave them the okay. When they informed me that it was done I went to pick it up and paid $438.36. I got in the car to warm it up. I had the clutch disengaged when all of a sudden it began to engage by itself and the clutch pedal stayed on the floor and didn't return. I shut off the car and looked under it and the was a puddle of clutch fluid under the car. I went back in the shop and told **** about it. He had the mechanic to look at it and the mechanic said the clutch resevoir was empty. **** told me to leave the car there and they would fix it. He called later and said they found another leak at the throwout bearing that they missed. He gave me another estimate for $850.00 and told me the throwout bearing, clutch plate, and clutch disc were only available as a complete set. I gave him authorization to replace them (even though the clutch disc and pressure plate were only a year old). He called and said it was ready and I went to pick it up and paid an additional $853.97. He said there was trouble with it going into first gear and that it was due to the synchroze for first gear were wearing out and would last maybe a year. I drove the car home and couldn't shift it into first gear. On the way home the "check engine" light came on. As a note, there was nothing wrong with shifting the car into first gear before I took it to the shop. I was frustrated and wanted the car fixed so I took it to the Chevy dealership in Turlock, CA as I need the car for a work commuter. I told the dealership everything and the said they would look into it. They called and told me that whoever put the clutch in bent the shift linkage. I didn't want to take it to the first shop cause poor quality work. I called them and told them though. It's going to cost $600!

Desired Settlement: I want Amerikar to reimburse me for the damage they caused, the approximately $600 that it's going to cost me to have the dealership replace the bent shift linkage. I feel it is their responsibility since they bent it. Amerikar told me on the phone that if I would have taken it back to them that their insurance would have paid for it. I have already had the car their twice and there were more problems with it than before I took it in there. So I didn't want to take it back. They had two chances

Business Response: Mr. ****** called me this morning 12/30/14 and told me about his problem, I checked with my technician and he said the shift on that car is double cable not shift linkage, we are sorry that Mr. ****** is feeling this bad about our shop how ever originally when Michael picked up his car I told him it was the possibility of first gear syncro, and I would have gladly looked in to the problem, our workman ship is been always in the high standard unfortunately older cars with high miles they will have problems not related to our work, and if dealer can prove to us in wrighting I will submit the claim to my insurance for refund, otherwise I will assume that dealer have no standing in their saying other than belittle small successful shops like us.
best of luck . ****    

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The initial issue has already been misdiagnosed by the shop twice.  They didn't even testdrive the vehicle after completing the work the first time or they would have found that the repair was faulty.  Again with another misdiagnosis when they claimed that the 1st gear synchroze were why the car wouldn't shift into first gear.  The car is currently at the dealership waiting for the parts that were ordered for it.  When I talked to the service representative on the phone this morning he wanted to know which shop did the work on the clutch.  He then went on to explain that the shop that replaced the clutch bent the linkage in the process.  Since the car is still at the dealership and the conversations I have had thus far have been by phone, when the repair is completed and I have picked up the car, I will ask the service representative to but what he told me on the phone in writing and will submit it to you.  The representative told me the car might be completed by 4:30pm tomorrow.  It depends on when the parts get to the dealership.

Consumer Response: Customer states that the dealer that looked at the shift link was not due to the alleged company but due to the part failing itself.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Amerikar Auto Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)