Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1st Choice Auto Repair

Phone: (916) 627-2930 View Additional Phone Numbers 2528 El Sutton Ln Ste D, Sacramento, CA 95821 http://www.sacramentocaautorepair.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Choice Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Choice Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2012 Business started: 09/21/2011 in CA Business started locally: 09/21/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 267081.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah Bethly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah Bethly, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
1st Choice Automotive Services 1st Choice Computer Repair 1st Choice Wireless
Products & Services

This company offers auto repair services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 2528 El Sutton Ln Ste D

    Sacramento, CA 95821 (916) 627-2934 (916) 627-2930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I droped my car off on Saterday October 3 around 4:45pm ***** the owner of 1st Choice auto repair greeted me and asked about the condition of my car, which was on the tow truck.I asked him if the mechanic that had worked on it previously might be available again. I told him the car had been stolen and it it had gone through abuse when it was stolen so now I'm trying to get it back together. It was running very badly it needed to have complete diagnosis as i felt we needed to see if the Audi was worth keeping or not was it going to be easier to get a used engine or parts and labor so i signed for a evaluation up to 3 hours authorizing to what is causing the engine to buck and spit and cough and sputter A friend looked at it and I was getting new plug wires for it when it broke down again so I towed it and asked him if Mickey was available to work on the Audi he said "oh he already left for the day, Mickey the mechanic wont be able to work on it till Monday call up then, when i came back late Tuesday I found ***** and the other mechanic in the back of the car prying up on the sending unit for the gas gauge he said there was a leak they needed to check it out. The whole back of the car was taken apart so I told him where the fuel pump for the gas tank is he said no it isn't and i said here is here and lifted the rear passenger seat. It looks as if this is it i went over a few other things with the mechanic and ***** went back in the office I asked him about the testing the mass air sensor the checking spark plug wiresand coil pack and did he check for leaks he seamed lost and told me the boss was telling him what to do so he did not know what the next step would be i left i returned on Monday asked if the car was ready they both said yes ***** and the mechanic i asked how does it run they both said better than it did? What was wrong with it we replaced 1 spark plug wire is what ***** said he asked me 15 times to pay $295.00 to get the car i sdked did you test drive dont have to, I said I'm not leaving without a test drive here you the mechanic you can drive well he start the car up drove two blocks the car drove like crap it was doing the same thing nothing changed everything was exactly the same I said I'm not paying you for for doing nothing said well we change the gasket on the gas tank I said that's a 40 minute job How is that shop time is 95.00 xcosting $295.00 ? I told him I'm not gonna pay for their mistakes I'm just not going to they said it wasn't a mistake they had to take all that stuff off to checked the entire tank 360° all the way around I said it's obvious where the leak was coming from anyway they told me to come back in and see if they could get it running any better so I came back they said we're not gonna do anything more take it or leave it I need $485 I told him I wasn't going to pay it I'm calling to Bureau of automotive repair this is fraud I walked home. Book time to repair the gasket is 40 minutes $20.00 gasket $60.00the labor total$ 80. There is nothing that looks like an diagnosis and estimate in the paper work he sent me no parts list no labor costs no options no tests run no idea of root cause of problem i can not make a valid decision with paperwork ***** gave me

Desired Settlement: WHAT AM I PAYING FOR? I am sending paper work along with this complainti to BBB ok?

Business Response:

Customer ******* ******* had his vehicle towed to our repair shop for multiple vehicle issues needing to be identified and addressed.   

The Jest of the complaint alleged by this customer is that we did not make the authorized only repairs to his vehicle. This accusation is unfounded and baseless. The truth is we made the authorized repairs he requested and refused to make any additional repairs were we deemed to unacceptable, the customer requested multiple things to be done and did not have the financial means or funds to properly make all requested repairs correctly or properly and wanted to use worn, used and none reliable parts to complete most of the repairs he was requesting, We declined and asked for payment for services rendered and that he had authorized. He refused to pay for work he had authorized to be performed.

We would like to offer the following perspective:

This vehicle when received by towing service and offloaded was smoking from the engine compartment, unbeknown at the time was leaking/dripping fuel. Customer did not mention this at any time during the initial discussion of having multiple issues with the vehicle. He was told we would perform a troubleshooting diagnostic and attempt to identify all issues that would need to be addressed. Customer was told at a minimum it would be three hours and that our hourly rate was $95.00, this was $285.00, He agreed and signed an authorization to proceed. He was told this amount did not include any necessary repairs or parts. 

Customer quote:

“I told him the car had been stolen and it it had gone through abuse when it was stolen so now I'm trying to get it back together. It was running very badly it needed to have complete diagnosis as i felt we needed to see if the Audi was worth keeping or not was it going to be easier to get a used engine or parts and labor so i signed for a evaluation up to 3 hours authorizing to what is causing the engine to buck and spit and cough and sputter A friend looked at it and I was getting new plug wires for it when it broke down again”

“I said I'm not paying you for doing nothing said well we change the gasket on the gas tank I said that's a 40 minute job.”

Refer to the highlighted area above he indicated he wanted to know what was “causing the engine to buck and spit and cough and sputter “ Not to mention of the most major concerns of LEAKING GAS, he only brings this up in the later part of the complaint.

It was later determined to be heavily leaking fuel onto the ground, precautionary measure had to be taken by my shop, disconnecting power in the vehicle, placing a fuel spill container under the vehicle to catch leaking fuel, until the origin of the leaks could be clearly determined and proper measures taken to stop the leak. Further measures had to be taken when the vehicle was pushed into the shop for closer examination and inspection. While inside the shop overnight the shop had to be vented to dissipate vapor fumes from igniting.

During several in person or by phone conversations with the customer he was clearly told of the many issues or concerns related to the vehicle being properly repaired. He simply wanted more work or services to be performed and did not want to pay for the proper repairs. In his statement he did not deem it necessary to thoroughly determine the complete source of the fuel leaking from the underside of the vehicle. ALL components of the fuel delivery system to the vehicle required inspection and not just the gasket at the fuel pump itself. We would have been negligent and irresponsible to not have properly inspected all fuel line components. We also identified a fluid leak of the transmission as well and brought these and other issues to his attention.

I believe for the services rendered he was fairly charged and we had expected to be paid for those services. The three page Repair order he submitted with his original complaint clearly states what was determined to be Identifiable issues with the vehicle. Yes he wanted them to be fixed, but was unwilling to pay to have them properly fixed and addressed. 

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in to get a simple clutch change, ******** ******(*****)introduced me to the mechanic(****** that was going to be switching out my old clutch with a new one. 3 days later I call and ask to see if my car is ready and ******** said, "Yes, It will be ready at the end of the day" curious to know, why he didn't give me a call to let me know that it was going to be ready. So on the 4th day I go in to get my car; at first everything seemed fine, minus the clutch still being very soft. I test drove the car it drove alright, ***** did his job and switched the clutch, but when I arrived home I started to look more into detail on my car. I stumbled across 2 dents on my trunk (dents pushing inside, out). So I went on ahead and gave ******** a call and let him know that there were 2 dents on my trunk, he says "Well your car is outside in 'public' where people can mess with your car." I simply replied and told him that the dents were from the 'Inside, Out' he replied, "I don't see how that is possible if no one ever breached your trunk?" needless to say there were grease marks in my trunk. The 2 dents were from my subwoofer that I've been having in my car for aprox. 4 months now, never had a problem with denting or anything until I brought it in to ********'s shop. I took before pictures of my car; not one dent was on my trunk. So I took my car back in Monday(9/14)and showed him in person but he was still in denial saying it wasn't them. so I talked to ***** and explained how they were never there before I brought my car into the shop then he replied and says, "I have more knowledge than you and him(********)my brain process things better than your guys'." What kind of customer service is that you say? well after 10 minutes of talking ***** gets angry out of no where and threatens to beat me; while holding a flashlight about 8 inches long. He repetitively said, "Get out the car!" ,"I'm going to beat your ***** when I was already on my way out off the property.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for them to fix the problem they caused, by paying the price needed to get the dent out and surface repainted. I gave ******** a quote from my insurance company that said $603 for labor, take the dents out and repaint it. And also if needed taken to small claims court due to ******* threats.

Business Response:

Message:

 Re: Customer Information: ID of ********* ****** ******** ********   The details of this matter are as follows: 

Complaint Involves: 2002 Mazda MX-5 Miata 1.8L Alleged vehicle damage /Service Issues Business Response Statement: Customer ****** ******** ******** had his vehicle towed to our repair shop for a clutch replacement,  which  actually is not a simple job as stated. Its requires a skilled mechanic/technician and a minimum amount of 4.5  hours estimated labor time to remove the entire transmission from the vehicle, replace the clutch components  and re-install the transmission. In all cases it requires more time then stated to perform the repair.  While we  don’t have an issue with a customer calling and inquiring about a vehicles repair status, we typically do not call a customer unless we have an issue and once the repairs are completed the customer is notified. 

As stated by this  customer we performed the requested clutch replacement in a satisfactory manner. We even explained to the customer the reason for the softness of the clutch pedal would require an additional repair/replacement of the  clutch master cylinder. This would be a completely separate repair that would be required or needed.    The Jest of the complaint alleged by this customer is that we caused damage to his vehicle while performing the  aforementioned clutch repair. This accusation is unfounded and baseless. The truth is it cannot be known  by  this customer how and when the ding/damage to the trunk lid occurred for a certainty. It was simply more  convent for him to say it occurred while the repair was being performed. We would like to offer the following perspective:  This vehicle has had modifications, at some point in time which changed it from the original car manufacture  design. 

The vehicles height has been significantly lowered, a body kit has been added and a high performance  sound system had been added. The vehicle was looked over at the time of its arrival for obvious signs of  significant damage, we did observe signs of dings/dents once it was offloaded from the flatbed tow truck.  Ie,  front license plate partially hanging, it left zipped tied. Front emblem missing, rear driver side body kit molding  hanging off, we would not have gone over the entire vehicle with a fine tooth comb, and if we had noticed any damage to the trunk lid we certainly would have made note of it. The customer with his father came and picked   up the vehicle, he ****** took it on a brief test drive alone and I believe if he had any concerns prior to leaving   with the vehicle he would have said something. By Him waiting until he arrived home and seeing the damage  would be questionable since this is the only  major concern and basis for this complaint. 

Customer quote 

"Well your car is outside in 'public' where people can mess with your car." I simply replied and told him that the  dents were from the 'Inside, Out' he replied, "I don't see how that is possible if no one ever breached your  trunk?" needless to say there were grease marks in my trunk. The 2 dents were from my subwoofer that I've  been having in my car for aprox. 4 months now, never had a problem with denting or anything until I brought it  in to ********** shop”  We did have phone and text conversations regarding the alleged damage and he provided some pictures, He  was told initially by ******** (*****) we had no reason to access his trunk, this vehicle battery is located in the  trunk and accessing the trunk was actually required to disconnect the battery prior to any repair work being  performed. The vehicle further had to be physical pushed into the repair shop and placed on a car lift in-order  for repairs to be performed, once repairs were completed it was driven outside the shop on the day the  customer picked it up.  The trunk would have need to be opened twice to   disconnect/reconnect the battery.  We have a lot in front of our repair shop and we place vehicle their when repairs are completed, his statement  that we said someone  could have messed with his vehicle is inaccurate. We have surveillance cameras  overlooking the lot.   When the customer did return he provided an auto body repair estimate listing the damage as being about  $600, We were allowed to examine the trunk area and the trunk lid, we noted clearance between the large  subwoofer box and trunk lid was sufficient for the trunk to properly close. We also noted that the customer has  been using  loosely and worn stretched bungie cords to secure the large subwoofer box inside the trunk. The  subwoofer was sitting in the spare tire wheel well, and the heavy subwoofer box was not even bolted down at  all to prevent movement. The customer has failed to mention this as part of his complaint, that the subwoofer  has a significant amount of flexibility and most likely moves about when the vehicle is in motion. Simply using  two or three elastic bungie cords is not a proper installation method for a heavy box subwoofer.  We took  pictures and created a video to demonstrate how much flex existed.     We repeatedly attempted to have a  meaningful conversation and the customer did not want to listen and was insistent that we had somehow  caused the damage to his trunk lid. He  repeatedly insinuated we were lying and had caused the damage. He  insulted us by inferring we were LIAR’S. At this point he was asked to leaving the premises.  We asked him  repeatedly to leave and not to return. At no point in time did we threaten to kick his *** or threaten him with an  8inch flashlight ***** had in his hand when we had inspected the trunk area.   The basis of this complaint is not the actual repair which was performed, but an allegation that we somehow  caused two dings in his trunk lid with his oversized/ unsecured subwoofer by simply having to access the trunk in  order to disconnect/reconnect his battery.  We can ALL agree that the subwoofer hitting the trunk lid caused the  damage. We believe it most likely occurred when the vehicle was being loaded on to the tow truck, or while the  vehicle was being driven for an extended period over streets, roads or the freeway.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Auto Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)