Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hayes Auto Sales Inc. offers used car dealership services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hayes Auto Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hayes Auto Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hayes Auto Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1996 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 09/23/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 62929.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Murray Shane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Murray Shane, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 117 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 780-1977

  • 119 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 780-1951

  • 440 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 780-1939

  • 500 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 780-9131

  • 512 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 782-2076

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a very large complaint against Hayes Auto Sales, *** ********* ****** ********** ** ***** cell phone of manager ***** *******, ********. (*******). I was sent there by my insurance company when my truck was totaled. I thought that was enough to trust them. I questioned “*****” about the truck and he assured me it was in good condition but within the first few days and going through 2 gallons of antifreeze. We took it back and they said they put in a new radiator. It still has big problems, floor boards heat up, rearview mirror flops down with each bump, motor (transmission) misses, overheats, head gasket blown or something wrong with motor. I’m not a mechanic, that is why I put my trust in insurance company but they can’t do anything, driver’s seat has seam town open (can’t see it as it is on edge of seam next to controls. Thermostat doesn’t work right, battery doesn’t stay charged have had to call tow service to start truck, I know gas mileage isn’t a righteous complaint but it is getting only 10-13 miles per gallon, which is not good. Don’t have service records. The only think I can say about the truck is that it is good looking and what we thought was a good buy. They charged $23,160.60 for it and if they fix what is wrong (after assuring me it was perfect buy) I’m willing to talk about it. I have called ***** about a dozen times, left voice mail twice and he has not returned any of my calls. They were eager to take my money but something has to be done, so please help me, I am disabled senior and need truck to get around, mostly to doctors plus personal use it should be illegal to sell autos needing work as this one does. Please excuse tablet and my hand writing, my wrist was broken when I fell and is acting up. My phone number is ***** ********, ***** ********, address **** ***** ******* ***** ** **********. Please call me after reading my messy writing as I don’t know what else I can do, file suit, talk to owner who I was told is **** *****? What?

Desired Settlement: After telling ***** we were taking it since it was “a real good buy”. He called my adult son “a spoiled brat”. That was enough to cancel sale if I had known about it but I was told after we were going home. Please help as insurance company can’t they are in Colorado and didn’t know the reputation so I am ripped off.

Business Response: the folks came in and bought this truck right out of our showroom.  the battery was dead from being left open so much by customers.  we charged it up and it was fine.  a week or so later ms. ******** son called and said it was heating up.  although they purchased it as is we still had them come in to take a look .  the radiator had split and as a courtesy of the dealership we changed it for a new one for free.  nothing was ever said about the battery or anything else.  this is a used vehicle.  none the less her son called me a few weeks back about some problems and left a message.  we played phone tag for a bit and i did talk to ms ******* about a week and a half ago asking if all was ok.  her response was that everything is good.  now i get this complaint.  i again spoke with ms ******* and told her to bring it in for us to take a look at the car.  she mentioned that the battery has died 3 times.  i told her we will replace the battery for free when they bring it in for us to take a look at it.  she told me that she would have her son call me for a appointment for us to take a look at it. this was 3 days ago and i havent heard from them as yet.  I told her i would do a free inspection and go from there but i cant even do this unless the car is dropped off for us to take a look at so all is on hold.  unfortunately we can't be responsible for everything on a used vehicle and do try our best but machines do break from time to time. We will do our best to help out as we have already            

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 

Letter from Hayes Auto Work was very interesting not quite accurate but very neat.

 

I took the truck over to my repair men who have taken care of my cars since 1979, just to check if it was as good as having said it was, it isn’t. it is going to cost approximately $800 to fix it. I should have written report late next week. Cost $104.00 to check it. I will send you a copy as soon as I get it, thank you for your help. As to the other item with him I have to really think hard on it, he shouldn’t have done what he did. I didn’t know him. I am ill at moment & can’t get truck to him, but will as soon as possible.

P.S. it took tour days to get your letter.

 

**** *******


Business Response: Well once again I can't try to help if the customer won't have us look at it.  Maybe they can send us a copy of what their mechanic is saying is the problem.   This vehicle was sold in Aug. (3 months ago)...I can't keep putting this off indefinitely so we need to see the estimate from her mechanic or the car very soon. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: (See attachements)

In addition to receipts I have given you, please remember that the “driver’s seat” is ripped approximately 6 ½ inches, verbal estimate is $250.00 and then the battery. I had just bought one for my Mazda for $125.00 (I think). I really don’t think there is any other way of thinking, I got ripped off on my “absolute perfect” purchase, “nothing wrong”. Please advise what I do next, thank you sorry my wrist is acting up and it is difficult to write, I have been ill since purchasing truck. There is also the other matter I spoke to you about.

Thank you **** *******

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** F250 Turbo Diesel about three weeks ago. It was an as is sale but after driving the vehicle for less than one week, I discovered that the truck needs new fuel injectors. I called Hayes within two weeks after that to let them know about it to see if they would offer some sort of "good will". I was told by the finance guy to call my salesman *******. I called ******* and was told to call ****** and he may be able to do something for me. I call ****** and voicemail said his box was full and could not take anymore messages so I sent a text message(knowing it was a mobile). No one called me back and I felt like I got the "run around". I paid their full retail price and I expected a vehicle that was in good running condition. Now I must pay approximately $3500.00 for new injectors for my truck. I have bought two vehicles from this dealer before and thought their reputation was good. This latest incident tells me that they may care more for making a profit than taking care of their customer...

Desired Settlement: Asking assistance in vehicle repairs

Business Response: We sold the F 250 in good working order.  During the vehicle purchase the customer was offered an extended service contract which was declined. Thus being said the vehicle was sold as-is.  the some of the injectors started to leak.  it is unknown if it is just 1 or 2 out of the 8.  the customer said that he had it looked at and it would cost $3500 for the repair.  This is to change all 8 injectors.  It might be only 1 that would cost only about $300-$400.  None the less this customer wanted some assistance on the repair.  We told him that we would get the parts at our cost with no mark up as well as very cheap labor and to change all the injectors for him (although it might be only 1 or 2) , that way he won't have to worry about any others in the future, and he is getting it at our pricing rather than paying for any of this type of repair later on if it should come up.  We also have our mechanic coming on his off time to expedite this repair for our customer.  By changing all  the injectors for him we are able to save him $1500 on this repair even though all 8 are not probably needed. This is good will preventive maintenance. We do believe that this is going beyond and above to help keep a happy client and saving him $1500 on doing all 8 injectors especially when he declined a service contract and opted to purchase his vehicle as-is. Unfortunately we can not predict when a mechanical component fails on a vehicle but we do try to help out our customers.                      

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: The vehicle was not in good working condition. It failed inside of a week under its' first load when towing. It's true that an extended contract was offered and I declined but at the same time I also expected a vehicle in "good working condition" after it left the lot(at least beyond the first 30 days). The repairs according to ********* **** would have been $3000.00 if all 8 injectors were replaced. I estimated that it would have been $3500 in the beginning based on my online research so Hayes will only be saving me about $850.00 and not $1500.00 as they stated. I am disappointed that Hayes is not doing more to help me with the repair than to just give it to me at "cost". My expectation was for them to cover at least half of the repair at their cost. This is the only option I have so I am excepting it as a solution just to save as much money as I can because I have no other option. They charged me full retail for the vehicle and I expected it to be in good working condition at that time of delivery and it was not.

10/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently traded in my then current vehicle and purchased a vehicle from Hayes Auto Sales auto dealership on Riverside Ave in Roseville, CA. I had other parts that I was willing to add in with my trade that were not installed on the car, in doing so I said I wanted the other parts that were currently on the car to be returned to me. The salesman ****, that was assisting me, said that would not be a problem. He then said let me go and talk to my boss, ******, and I'll make sure that you can get those parts back. Upon his return he said that his boss did in fact agree to the terms and I would be able to return the next day and retrieve the parts that were then still on the car. I went home and got the parts I was going to give them in addition to the trade in and left them at the dealership the night I purchased the vehicle, assuming that they would hold up there end of the verbal agreement and I would be able to retrieve my parts that were still on the car the next day. Before signing the contract I was in their office working with their paperwork guy, *****, and **** was also still in there and they both kept reassuring me that I would be able to get my parts back the next day without any troubles at all. When I returned to pick up the parts that were on the car, the three of the men who had agreed to giving me back the parts denied ever telling me they ever agreed to those terms and said they would be keeping everything and I was out of luck and that I, "Might as well just leave because you won't be getting anything here", as stated by ******. I know that the contract is protected by the Parol Evidence Rule, which states that the contract is binding and unless an addendum is added then the contract is as it is stated in the terms. However there are exceptions to that rule and multiple exceptions apply to my case. I am using the BBB as my second attempt to retrieve my parts, or my money for those parts, and if this doesn't work I plan on taking my complaint to small claims court.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding that the parts they promised to return to me, in fact be returned, or that I be compensated in the amount of five hundred dollars. The parts total the amount of twelve hundred dollars brand new so I am asking for the value of what they were worth at the time of the trade in.

Business Response:   After speaking with all of our employees about this particular sales transaction we have determined that there was no wrong doing on our behalf.  When Mr. **** was trading in his vehicle, he did not want anyone to drive it and assured us it was in top shape aside from the custom exhaust he had on it.  He personally spoke to the owner of the dealership and myself and was questioned if he had the stock exhaust system for the car so it would be smog legal.  He said he did and that he would bring all the stock components for the car which he did.  There was never any mention of getting his old custom items off the car back.  When he was signing all his documents for his purchase he asked **** our sales rep in front of Jeff our finance manager if he could have his old stuff off the car.  **** tried to call the owner which was not available so he came and asked me as I am the General Manager and told **** that that is not possible and the stuff will stay with the car.  
We do everything in writing and if he was promised the old exhaust system it would have been on a "due bill"  in writing.  He came in the next day and wanted a spare tire and a jack for the truck he bought saying it was missing so I graciously supplied him with it.  He then asked for the exhaust off his old car.  I explained to him it was not part of his purchase agreement and being as the car he traded in was not in fact problem free..... in fact it has a bad transmission and the steering is leaking. I am talking with the owner about wholesaling the car rather than selling it through the lot.  I explained that we are not going to take several hours of labor @ $125.00 an hour to take off the exhaust and give it to him especially when it was never promised to him.  He agreed that in fact nothing was promised to him and nothing was in writing as well and left.  We went far and above to make this purchase right by supplying a spare tire and jack after the fact, giving him a discount on the vehicle he purchased and taking his trade in by his word that it is all good which in fact it is not.   None the less we are big boys and we as well had nothing in writing that his car was problem free as he stated and we are handling all the very expensive issues professionally and with no feedbacks or complaints to Mr. ****.  We also priced the headers and they are under $300.00 new so when he is asking for $500.00 this makes no sense at all.  In summing this all up, we feel we did nothing unethical or illegal and dealt in a very proper manner.  If you have any further questions please don't hesitate in contacting me direct @ ###-###-####  ****** *****   General Manager                    

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a vehicle from Hayes and traded in an older 1 owner truck. We did the usual paperwork and signed all the DMV paperwork and drove home. The next day or so, Hayes called and said we did not do all the paperwork. We had to drive to Lincoln to meet there rep. and sign more paperwork. My wife went to DMV the next week to register the new truck and was told they had no paperwork. We contacted Hayes and **** told us their DMV person would be in later that week and would take care of it. It is now July 28th and i have a notice from DMV that my handicapped license plate has been suspended because they had no paperwork showing title change. I can't drive my truck for another 2 weeks legally according to our last conversation with DMV. We have had numerous conversations with **** @ Hayes with no positive results. And that is my complaint. w

Desired Settlement: I would like them put on notice that they need to get there act together regarding paperwork and DMV.

Business Response: Attn: ******* We have had several phone conversations with Mr. and Mrs. ********* and have tried to explain that the trade in vehicle did have the release of liability done but their handicapped plates have to be done by them. They would rather scream and yell at us and then hang up rather than try to understand the process through d.m.v. which we have no control over. Unfortunately I can not re print a copy of the release of liability as it was already done at the time the folks traded it in. There should be no complaint against us as we did all the proper procedures and they just don't want to listen or understand. I cannot and will not have any further conversations with them as I refuse to be disrespected, yelled at and hung up on every time I try to explain the facts to them. This issue is really between them and the d.m.v. All they have to do is go to the d.m.v. and register the personal license plate to their new vehicle. Please let me know if you have any further questions. I hope this will not tarnish our ratings with the b.b.b. as once again this is not really anything we did wrong or improper. I think this type of complaint should be washed away completely and not open for public viewing as again I stress it really has to do with the d.m.v. and not us..Please let me know the out come. Murray Shane. ###-###-####

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Admitadly, we got frustrated with the conversation with Murrey because he did not have the whole story. If he had spoken with **** concerning the problem he would have understood. We waited a week or so to change the plates at the DMV. DMV told us they had no knowledge of any transaction or had any paperwork showing the sale or purchase of any kind. We contacted **** and he directed us to his DMV lady and she told us things would be taken care of immediately. a week later with no results we called **** and he said he would get on top of it and call us beck right away. No call, no paperwork. Evidently, they were in such a hurry to get my old truck to the auction they lost or misplaced our paperwork.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hayes Auto Sales Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)