Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

EL Vista Auto Sales

Phone: (209) 526-2221 Fax: (209) 526-2227 View Additional Phone Numbers 2201 Yosemite Blvd, Modesto, CA 95354 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.elvistaautosales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that EL Vista Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for EL Vista Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on EL Vista Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 2008 Business started: 11/07/2006 in CA Business incorporated 01/03/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 68327.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nashat Odeh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nashat Odeh, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motor Homes Motorcycles - Dealers Snowmobiles Trailers - Camping & Travel Trailer Sales All-Terrain Vehicles

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Products & Services

El Vista Auto Sales specializes in used vehicle sales.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

EL Vista Auto Sales has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from El Vista Auto Sale less than two years ago and I have paid out of pocket $3,000 for a car I financed for $6,000. The first month I did not even see my car because it was in the shop the whole month. I was told by El Vista before buying that if I had any issues they would help me since the car does not have a warranty. I have contacted them multiple times to help and they said they would but when it comes down to paying they back out of it and leave me to pay for the repairs. Recently my car broke down for the 8th time (in less than 2yrs.) and went I talked to the salesman who sold me the car he said get an estimate and we will pay to have the car fixed. When your heard it was going to be $1,500-$2,000 to fix the car they said because my dad put a bad review months prior on their ******** page they were no longer going to help. Also because months prior to them even agreeing to help me I posted a bad review on ****, so the owner decided while the car is in the shop that he will not pay to have it fixed. So if I pay to have it fixed I will be at a grand total of $4,500-$5,000 dollars spent on a car that I still owe $4,000 on. I can not let it go because I am building my credit and would not allow this company to hurt me more than they already have.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to stand by what they said and fix my car that is in the shop. I was told to pay the estimate and they would pay for the repairs over the phone with a credit card. I would like them to honor that agreement.

Business Response: ******* ******** purchased from us 2005 VW ***** on July 2013. with 153,000 miles. (AS IS buyer guide) she was so happy to get that car with low payment that she asked for $192./ month.
according to all invoices she has show that the first repair she had on this car was after 15 months of the purchase date.  all repairs after that were part of routine maintenance that every car required in two years like changing spark plugs, coils, Oxygen sensor,, we tried to call her to see what kind of help we can offer her, she already moved out of the state.
We always help our customer when they have any problem first few weeks of the purchase date..but not after two years..    at this point  we can't do any thing regarding this complaint.


Consumer Response:

From the messages and receipts I have provided the BBB on my communications with **** the sales representative I was assigned to correspond with, that within a matter of days my car showed signs of major issues and thereafter was a back and forth battle of trying to get my car in working order. I understand that a used car sold as is would require maintenance/ up keep just like any other vehicles would require. However my repairs stated days after the purchase was made and have been ongoing ever since. My car has been un-drivable more that drivable since it has been in possession. Most of my repairs have not been the typical maintenance or upkeep that a purchaser could expect when buying a new or used vehicle. I have had to repair and/or replace the following: With in the first month I had all my electrical redone, within the first month the EPC light was on and my car would shut off while I was driving (almost causing an accident), with in the first month the fuel pump seal needed replacing, from then on I replace all tires within months of having the car (1 including 1 month after having the vehicle), Gas cap, front passenger axel (car had to be towed), fix an oil leak and replace all filters, replace intake valves, 6 hoses related to rot that surround he crank shaft, oxygen sensors (both)(car had to be towed), Coil packs (4) (car had to be towed from out of town), Gas tank gasket (repair shop stated it was the wrong gasket for the car and was not installed correctly), 3 smog’s required to find the problem and pass smog (only after 1 year of owning the car-smog is supposed to be good for 2 years?), high pressure power steering valve was broken (VW dealership evaluated the car and stated it was a slow leak that had been there for a long time). Result of the leaking of power steering fluid the wiring harness needs to be completely redone (1,500 dollar repair that still needs repairing). My tire sensory light is on and have put it in the dealerships shop twice and it still has not been fixed (is in the contract to fix). All these repairs required labor costs in which I spared the information in this letter for the sake of time and consideration by the reader. Most recently I had to tow my car home on June 16th after it just shut off on me while on the freeway. Called El Vista Auto Sales and spoke to **** the sales rep. and was told to tow it to a recognized VW repair shop in my town (Mountain Home Idaho). I was told to pay the estimate and find out what was wrong with the car. I informed **** at a later time (when I could afford time off work, tow fees and the cost of the estimate) that I choose C & A Automotive Repairs in Mountain Home Idaho (via phone and text). I was told okay find out what is wrong and we will take it from there (via phone and text). Once I received the estimate of a broken timing belt with a no interference engine, I let **** know via text what the estimate said and to contact the repair shop owner Lonnie. After 3 days I was contacted by the car repair shop inquiring what was going on. I then contacted El Vista Auto Sales whom informed me that because I had placed a bad review on Yelp prior the agreement with EL Vista that the owner decided not to help me with the repairs. I then contacted the repair shop to let them know the repairs were not in my price range and was having a company tow the car to my house. The owner of the business informed me that they were charging storage fees. I had to pay in a matter of hours for fees and storage or the repair shop was going to take ownership over my vehicle. My messages correspond with what I have stated above. **** has told me over the phone that he understood my frustrations because of all the money and repairs I have done to the car thus far. I do not understand how a dealership can make an agreement and then back out of it. The owner of EL Vista Auto Sales knows of all the trials and tribulations I have been through and even talked with Mr. **** over the phone. He had told me that I should expect all this when I bought a VW with high miles. I cannot stand by such unprofessionalism any longer. I want El Vista to stand by their word and their business by honoring the agreement we had made. 

Business Response: What Mrs. ******** has failed to mention throughout her correspondence with the BBB is that she purchased a 2005 Volkswagen Jetta with 153,000 miles AS-IS. Mrs. ******** seems to expect an unlimited warranty on the car just because she purchased it from a dealership and is ignoring the fact that she test drove the vehicle, had the opportunity to have it inspected before purchasing it, and had the opportunity to purchase a service contract to help her in case of any mechanical failure. Completely ignoring the terms of her purchase and assuming that she is entitled to any and all repairs being handled by our dealership is completely unreasonable. We have offered to have the car inspected by a specialized shop in Modesto before she left to Idaho and were told that she would discuss it with her fiancé and let us know, but we received no response. On another occasion we offered to take the car back on trade and try to find her another car for her to purchase, she refused that idea as well and asked us to pay off her loan instead. The bottom line is that we tried to work with this customer just to try to help, but it seems that she believes that she’s entitled to whatever she feels fit and is disregarding all of the terms of her purchase even though it is solidified with a contract and countless disclosures. Mrs. ******** stated that she was told that the Jetta was the only car that she could be approved for with the terms that she was looking for (1000 dollars down with maximum payment of 200 a month) in our inventory at the time of her purchase.  Considering her financial position at the time and her extremely difficult payment/down-payment/credit factors, we offered her the vehicle that fit.  If she didn’t feel completely comfortable with the car she could have went to any other dealership and shopped their inventory. It was completely her decision to purchase the Jetta under the terms that she agreed to and signed for. If we were to be held responsible for repairs on customer cars that were sold AS-IS, why would anyone purchase a service contract? Mrs. ******** did us a huge favor by sending over the Buyers Guide through the BBB. It very clearly states right under the large font AS-IS – NOWARRANTY the following: “YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about this vehicle.” Why would the state of California require a Buyers Guide very clearly indicating that the car is AS-IS, with a list of components that may fail on the back? Her argument has no grounds and makes no sense whatsoever. Her correspondence with Adam does not show any type of promise to repair whatever was wrong with the car but shows him telling her to find out what the problem was so we could see how we can help or advise her. The earliest invoice Mrs. ******** submitted to the BBB was about 15 months AFTER her purchase date. We try our best to help out customers in any way that we can but it is obvious that we cannot make everyone happy.  We always try to listen to our customers issues and help however we can as a COURTESY, it seems that Mrs. ******** doesn’t understand that. Our attempts in the past to help this individual do not warrant her demands to hold us accountable for any issues her used car (purchased AS-IS) has had. Attached are two disclosures for the BBB and Mrs. ******** to view to help in understanding our position. There is nothing else to be said about this matter, and this will be our final response to Mrs. ********. 

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: drove less than 2000 miles transmission brakes and traction went out no longer runs at all in less than 2000 miles vehicle was purchased in january with a 30 day warranty during that time i was having problems with the brakes traction system and transmission. i brought it back ***** ******* our sales person assured me he had it repaired it was returned with body damage. then in april after driving it total of less than miles the transmission went out completely and i cant check the actual milage because it still sits dead in my driveway. i made numerous attemps to talk to the owner who only talked to us once then never took my calls again. it sits dead in my driveway useless i called them 2 days ago to have it towed away spoke with **** who also never called back after stating he had to speak to a manager. i drove it less than 2000 miles but5 cant check actual milage because it wont even start! I paid over 3000$ and stopped making payments when it broke down they told me during the waarenty period they fixed the transmission well it must have been a temporary fix that only outlasted the warrenty oh and the brakes they said their mechanic said it was just dirt in the brakes they were never fixed at all. I have an infant a toddler and a teenager all i wanted was a safe car. now they wont even come get they junk! what a waist of diaper money!

Desired Settlement: i would settle for a refund i dont expect every penny but at least a partial refund or replacement a safe car that can hold two car seats

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The free warranty was for 1000 mile or one month, what ever come first, this car has been about one year and 5033 miles tthat exceed the warrantee. We could repo this car three months ago when she stop making the monthly payment, we didn't, when she called on Sunday 17th nov, I offered here to put here in different car or to fix the one she has, but her account have to be current, we are not obligated to do so. But we like to help our customers. That is our policy!! She has 14 days to accept this offer, Thnks, **** / the owner

10/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The truck sold to me was a lemon and the tags were stolen by the company. When I took the truck back only minor repairs were made. I have had the truck only 6 months and continue to have nothing but problems with it. The company refuses to help at all. Also the company mailed me only my registration paper but never sent the tags. When I called to inform them of this they said they sent them and we must have lost them so we would have to go to the dmv to pay to have them replaced. They never sent the tags at all. I do not feel I should have to pay more money when I was already charged licensing fees by them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the down payment and licensing fees back and to return the truck and ve released from the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Only today I was able to open my email and read that complaint, so sorry for being late to respond to your email: 1. On February 26, 2013, Mr. **** ******** bought 1995 pickup with 140267 miles. On that day he was provided with the Vehicle history report (NMVTIS) which never show that this vehicle was at any time a lemon car... (copy attached). 2. On April 3rd, 2013 the pickup has been transferred at the DMV to his name, the registration paper which valid until 08/31/2013 has been mailed to him attached with the company's check# **** for $107.00. This amount is the difference between the estimated fees on the purchase contract and the actual amount that we paid to DMV (copies attached). 3. When vehicle has valid registration, we pay to DMV only transfer fees, in this case DMV clerk didn't provide new tags, assuming that the existing license plate has the valid stickers (tags) but DMV provide the registration papers only... (as of **** ******** case), if the tags are not found on the license plate for any reason then the customer can go to DMV with his paper registration to get the tags, no fees will be required. 4. If a vehicle has expired registration, DMV will provide the tags with one full year of validity. Attached with registration paper for new owner's name and address. 5. No body can give unlimited warranty for 19 years old vehicle with 140,000 miles. And that why Mr. **** signed at the time of purchase a one month limited warranty's buyer guide (copy attached). At El Vista auto sales as part of our policy we always listen to our customers and help them after the first month which covered by the limited warranty, we understand when customer can't get the help he expected, he should ask to meet the manager or any person with higher position. Mr. **** instead tried to get that help on the phone, when mechanical problems can't be solved on the phone. Mr. **** ******** is welcome to my office to help him solve any reasonable complain, he may bring his truck with him so we can take it to a private mechanic shop for diagnostic and to see what kind of help we can provide to him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on EL Vista Auto Sales
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart