This business is not BBB accredited.

Cost U Less Cars, Inc.

Phone: (916) 788-0551 View Additional Phone Numbers 701 Riverside Ave Ste 1, Roseville, CA 95678 http://www.costulesscars.net ! There is an alert on Cost U Less Cars, Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

Complainants generally allege that they experience difficulties receiving DMV registrations for vehicles purchased from the business. In some cases, complainants have waited between four and six months for their DMV registrations.

The business has generally responded by apologizing and making efforts to work with the consumer.

BBB believes that these complaints contain a pattern of allegations and contacted the business on June 12, 2015 and June 19, 2015. We requested the company provide to us steps that it is taking to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints, if any. On July 2, 2015, the business wrote us stating that they have hired a new Office Manager to improve business communication.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cost U Less Cars, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 2009 Business started: 04/28/2008 in CA Business incorporated 04/28/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing (DMV)
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 42218.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Hani (Mani) Ataya, President Mr. Mike Ataya, Manager Ms. Robin Greenslade, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hani (Mani) Ataya, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Robin Greenslade, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Riverside Ave Ste 1

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 759-5634 (916) 788-0551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Toyota Camry at Cost U less cars February 28th 2015.within two weeks I was already having to take the car back to the sales lot because the check engine light was coming on I had to take off of workthe car was left with them the entire day.once again I left to go home going back and forth to work the check engine light came back on and I had to take the car back to the lot for the check engine light I have made a car payment my first one and now here it is April 27th 2015 and the check engine light is on againat this time I would like to register a lemon law complaint get my car fixed and be compensated for the two days loss of work

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to be fixed once and for all I commute to work 5 days a week and I have no longer feel safe driving this car

Business Response:

complaint ID ********
Jamari C***** C***** purchased a 2006 Toyota (**** *****************) from Cost U Less Cars. 
Mr. C***** C***** signed three documents:
 
1) Buyers Guide  - AS IS - NO WARRANTY  which clearly states YOU WILL PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS. The Dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs  
2) Statement of Facts - Section G: I, the undersigned, state: I AM BUYING A CAR "AS IS" NO WARRANTY. I UNDERSTAND THAT THE DEALER IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY REPAIRS ON THIS CAR AND THAT IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY FOR ALL FUTURE REPAIRS NEEDED ON THIS VEHICLE 3) DUE BILL - No Work Promised 
As far as registering a Lemon Law Complaint and being compensated for two days loss of work; 
Lemon Law Presumption*
Within the Song-Beverly Act, there is a presumption guideline  wherein it is presumed that a vehicle is a “lemon” if the following criteria are met within 18 months of delivery to the buyer or lessee or 18,000 miles on the vehicle’s odometer, whichever comes first.
The above quote states that a car must be new (or certified used) and have 18,000 or fewer odometer miles to be deemed a "lemon." 
Cost U Less Cars is not responsible for repair to the car or for the buyers loss of work. 

Robin G.
Cost U Less Cars
701 Riverside Avenue, Suite 1
Roseville, CA 95678 

Consumer Response: Thank you for responding to me about my complaint unfortunately while I was driving the engine exploded with me in the car a claim was made with my insurance and I will now be seeking a civil lawsuit against cost you less cars

8/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Vehicle from Cost U less cars in Roseville, CA on 2/8/2015. My Vehicle began having issues with the key not turning 3 weeks after my purchase of the vehicle. I took my vehicle to the dealership and they informed me that I would need a whole Ignition system priced at and key ($1,742.00) for the vehicle. When I purchased the vehicle the sales man by the name of ***** informed me the key was brand new. In order to even order the Ignition system part I need a copy of the registration. As of today 6/11/2015 I do not have a copy of my registration. I contacted my lender ******* ***. and they informed me that they did not have the title of registration and that I needed to contact Cost U less cars. I thought it was really weird how I am approaching my fourth on time car payment with a bank that is not even the rightful lien holder of the vehicle. I contact ***** at Cost U less cars in June 2015, and she stated that you would have to go the auction and obtain the title from them. The owner/Manager at Cost U less does not return my calls and as of today 6/11/2015 Cost U less cars is unable to get the registration on my vehicle because there is still a previous lien on the car from ****** ******. Not only that a bill of sale is needed from a Previous owner by the name of ***** ********. I was under the impression that a vehicle should not even been sold if they are not the rightful owners of the car. Not only is Cost u less not the owners of the car but the Lender that is financing me is also not the lien holders. I am getting the run around from cost u less cars and have called everyday and am told I will get a call back but do not. I had to have the car towed back home and the car is sitting in my driveway and has been non operative since 5/9/2015.If Cost u less did not take the proper measures before selling the car I think it is unfair that I making a car payment for a car that I am unable to repair because Cost U less is unable to provide a registration.

Desired Settlement: I would like Cost u less and ******* *** to refund me my 5,000 down payment, and the monthly payments I have made on the car, and pay for all the repairs on my vehicle. I would like to be reimbursed for the rent a car payments I am currently paying for and compensated for the huge inconvenience this has been for me.

Consumer Response:

This complaint is in addition to the complaint ID ******** that was filed by myself on 6/11/2015 to the Better Business Bureau. In addition please note that I have also filed a complaint with the Federal trade Commission reference number ********. Cost U Less cars took a picture of my registration and text messaged the registration on 6/15/2015. I responded to the text messages asking if Cost U less was going to be compensating me for any of expenses that I inquired during the 2 months the vehicle was not operative and unable to be repaired due to not being provided with the registration on the vehicle. I received a text message back from **** Manager/Owner of Cost U less cars stating "no u can not", and then stated that he "just read the bbb complaint". A representative from cost u less by the name of ***** stated through text message that " I'm sure we can help out with a few of these issues" when I informed ***** of the financial inconvenience. **** stated that he did not agree to compensate for anything but the DMV registration which makes no sense because that is apart of the responsibility of the dealer when purchasing a vehicle. To sum it all up I am being told that because I exercised my consumer right and filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, Cost U less refused to compensate in any way. **** also would not over night that registration as I asked in the text message. He will only send it regular mail. So as of 6/17/2015 I still do not have the physical copy of the registration. The vehicle was purchased on 2/6/2015 which in total 131 days from the purchase of the car.

I would like to be compensated for my rental cars fees, the charges that I inquired for having to two the vehicle to that shop and back home because I was unable to get the repair done due to not having the registration, I would to be compensated my down payment at least which I 5,000 being that Cost U less sold the vehicle knowing that they did not have proper ownership of the car as of 6/11/2015 the vehicle still had a lien from another dealer.

Business Response: We sell used cars. That is our job. To sell used cars; complete the required paperwork documenting the sale, the Report of Sale, and complete the registration of the purchase. It is not necessary to have the Title or complete the registration at the time of sale while the customer is signing paperwork. 

******* ***** ****** and ***** **** purchased their 2003 ********-**** S-Class as a used vehicle. They declined to purchase a warranty. Mr. **** felt the warranty was not necessary. Used cars are sold "As Is" and ******* and ***** were aware they were purchasing a used car. The vehicle they purchased is an S-Class ********-**** which is a top of the line model and would sell for roughly $80,000.00 new. But they did not purchase a new vehicle. They purchased a used vehicle. 

Mr. **** contacted  Cost U Less cars to request his registration. He spoke with ***** regarding the registration of his vehicle and ***** told him we would be able to help him with that. No where was it implied that we would take care of repairs or expenses. ***** only stated that we (Cost U Less Cars) would ensure that the registration would be taken care of. Paris, who assists with financing, does not personally handle the registration of vehicles. As a courtesy to Mr. **** she continued to take his call even though his attitude became antagonistic, vulgar and rude. 

When a used car is purchased it is not unusual to have to have a lien released from a previous title holder before the new title can be registered to the new buyer and assigned to the new lien holder.  
Due to the antagonistic attitude of Mr. ****; upon completion of the registration process and receipt of the registration, we felt it was best to mail the registration as opposed to his coming to our establishment with further antagonistic remarks and vulgar comments.

As for the requested compensation: this vehicle was purchased used. "As Is." They declined to purchase a warranty which may (or may not) have covered the cost of the recommended repairs. As a dealer we have necessary resources to refer a customer to our network of dealers and repair technicians which could possibly save a customer money on  diagnosis and/or repairs.  Through our resources we may have been able to assist them. However, at no time did the customer contact us regarding their repair concerns. They contacted us regarding their registration which is completed and has been provided to them.


Business Response: Cost U Less Cars provided the vehicle registration which the customer acknowledged they have received.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Regardless if I received the registration or not on June 25th 2015. Cost U Less did not provide the proper paperwork within a timely manner to me. I should not have to pay for tow and rental car fees because Cost U Less does not have there paperwork in order. The vehicle was not capable of being repaired because Cost U Less could not provide the required documentation that legal they are required to provide to a Customer. The vehicle was purchased in February and a registration does not take almost five months to process. I have NEVER dealt with a dealership that takes 3 months to even START the process of getting the registration to a customer. Since Cost U Less takes pride on the type of business they are then this should be something they should realize was not the proper way to conduct business. I want to be compensated for my rental car fees during the time that Cost U Less was unable to provide my registration. The vehicle would have been repaired back in May had the paperwork been done as it should have been. That is very bad business practice.

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car through cost u less cars on jan 12th. Since then I have got the run around. It's been three months and I still don't have a auto loan. I asked for my down payment back and they said they are keeping it for me having the vehicle for the past three months. I had the car under the impression I was financing the vehicle. On 3/30/15 while driving the car, it automatically shut off. I went to speak with the owner **** ***** and he was out of the office. The salesmen ***** began getting very aggressive yelling into my face. I then proceeded to call the police. Who advised me to contact the bbb.

Desired Settlement: I would like my down payment back. I feel that I honored my portion of the contract and they didn't honor the contract. Because of that I feel this transaction should be canceled and my money returned accordingly.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business has contacted him directly. They have obtained the necessary financing for the vehicle. At this time consumer considers the matter resolved.

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Cost U Less Cars in early June 2014. At the time I purchased the car, I was told I should have all DMV paperwork (the car didn't have an plates) within a 2 month period. I was contacted by the dealership in July indicating that they needed pictures of my car for DMV purposes. I took all the pictures that they requested and sent them to the dealership. Another month had passed, and still no DMV plates on my vehicle or registration card for my car. I kept calling the dealership asking where the information was and was told it was coming. Finally, I had to get my mother involved and she called the dealership in August demanding to know where the plates for the car. She spoke to a representative that said he would forward the information to **** (the owner I believe) and he would call back. We never heard anything. I finally took it upon myself to take the car to DMV myself to find out exactly what I need to do to get the plates and registration for my car. DMV filled out a Verification of Vehicle form and told me that I had to send the original to the dealership and they had to finalize the document and send to DMV. My mom drafted a letter to Cost U Less Cars on September 17, 2014, attaching the Verification of Vehicle form (filled out by DMV). In that letter my mom told them I had already been pulled over by the sheriff for no plates and registration. We received no reply to that letter. My mom followed up again with **** on October 7, 2014. He indicated that they were finally finalizing the paperwork and it should only take another week. He said to refax the Verification of Vehicle form. My mom refaxed everything. To date, my mom had been texting ****, with him only giving excuses and the last two messages have gone unanswered. I have been pulled over 2 more times since the Sept. letter and I am being told they will tow my vehicle. I still have no plates/registration for my vehicle that I purchased 6 months ago. I would like this matter resolved ASAP. I cant afford a tow.

Desired Settlement: I want my plates and registration for my vehicle ASAP. I cannot afford to have my vehicle towed. I am a full time college student and I work part time. I need to keep my job so I can pay for my car and also help pay my expenses for school. I cannot wait any longer for them to keep giving excuses. I feel I have been extremely patient with them. However, I am constantly being pulled over and harassed because I drive a vehicle that there is no current DMV paperwork on.

Business Response: I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience that we have caused ******* *****. It has never taken us this long to register a vehicle so we are going to extreme measures to make him happy. The problem we had before was that we did not receive the title for this car at the auction. Hence I requested a duplicate title but because this vehicle has a out of state title we have to contact the *** directly of that state. We have contacted them numerous times and we finally received a response. We did also send Mr. ***** a 60 day permit from CA *** which they charge the dealer extra to make, so he does not get pulled over by the police. Luckily I spoke to my *** contact and he told me that Mr.***** registration will be done within this week depending on the holidays (latest before the end of this year). Once again we apologize for the head ache that we put Mr. ***** in even though we had no control over it.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Cost-U-Less Cars on June 1st 2014. I gave **** three checks.ck#*** for $500 to cash June 1st (which has cleared)ck# *** for $500 to cash June 3rd (which has cleared)ck# *** for $1,000 to cash on the 16th of June (which has not cleared since today is only the 19th as I write this) however, the check has been in their office since JUNE 1st 2014.I called the finance company and discovered some undisclosed issues at the time of signing the contract with ****. So I called **** to resolve, however, ****** answered and was rude, hung up and unplugged the phone refusing to help. So I took off of work and showed up to ask about how we can change the finance company or terms or what options I had, maybe just return the car and refund the down payment, etc. I walked in the building and was immediately cussed out by management and surrounded by multiple employees all being men. Before being able to explain why I was there, I was asked to leave, the cops were called for trespassing and I was told I threatened physical violence on their employees.****** admitted to the cop that it was all a lie, I never threatened her with any physical violence. **** repo'd my car for not having the payment of $1,000 in on time, however, my payment was there on time as it had been there since the day I purchased the car. So now the company has my car and my $1,000 down payment and refusing to refund or release the car.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $1,000 without singing a statement that I physically threatened to harm any of their employees which is what they are requiring me to sign in order to get ANY type of refund. I will not sign a false statement.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that business eventually did refund $1,000 cash and everything is now OK.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cost U Less Cars, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)