Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Valley BMW

Phone: (209) 575-0269 View Additional Phone Numbers 4369 Mchenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95356 http://www.valley-bmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2004 Business started: 06/15/1999 in CA Business started locally: 06/15/1999 Business incorporated 06/15/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 50167.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 211480.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Fitzpatrick, President Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Fitzpatrick, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Fitzpatrick Dealership Group
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 8th 2016 I took my 2011 3 series BMW for a oil change. I dealt with someone named ******. I have proof that I made an appointment if you would like to see it. I bought my daughter this car about 1 ½ ago at this same dealership. In the year and a half she has owned it she has put only 5000 miles on it and even kept it garaged. The car ran perfectly with no issues and or warning lights. Keeping good care of the car is important to us so an oil change was scheduled. Firstly I was marked as not having an appointment so I had to wait. Secondly after my car was done ****** went to lunch leaving my keys on his desk…My car was done but he didn’t want to take the time to hand me my keys so I had to wait some more…However my main issue is here…Right after I leave BMW I get a warning light on my dash saying check engine soon. This light was not there nor has it ever been there in the year and half I have owned it…I go in for a 89.99 oil change and my car magically needs work? I understand this is a scam with many mechanics however I did not expect this to happen at the very BMW dealership I bought the car from less than a year and a half ago. This car only has 55,000 miles on it. It was in perfect running condition before I took it in for a oil change. I am simply disgusted that BMW in Modesto would internally harm a car that was in their inventory to squeeze more money out of me. I feel that consumers should know that they may cause issues with cars to make more money. This car they sold me was perfect until I brought in and dealt with ******.

Desired Settlement: They a*e to *epai* f*ee of cha*ge any inte*nal damage they caused to my ca* on Ma*ch 8th. They a*e to *esto*e my BMW to it's pe*fect wo*king condition..Which it was in befo*e I took it to BMW on Ma*ch 8th fo* a oil change. ****** should be *ep*imanded fo* his poo* custome* se*vice and unt*uthful business p*actices and deceitful manne* to get mo*e business.

Business Response:

 
Here is our response to *** *******.
 
 
 Our records do show your vehicle came in for service on March 8, 2016. During the consultation process your vehicle showed due for the following services, oil service over due by -808 miles, spark plugs over due by -808 miles, brake fluid flush due 3/2016, cabin filter due 4/2016, vehicle inspection due 3/2016. Only the oil service was approved, all other services we were  declined. While performing the oil service the technician noted that oil leaks had developed at the  oil pan (oil pan gasket) and the oil filter housing ( oil filter housing gaskets). There was no note of a check engine light concern at that time. We do not "scam" our customers. Nor do our technicians "internally harm a car" at any time. If the check engine light did come on that would be a coincidence and I can understand your frustration. Please call me directly and I would be happy to work with you.
 
**** ********
Service Manager
Valley BMW

Business Response: Hi ********,

Attached is *** ********* repair order showing he declined the services
his vehicle now shows due. Also shows the recommended repairs the tech
noticed while performing the oil service. I have reached out to Mr.
*******, to work with him,  he refuses to talk to me.

**** ********
Service Manager
Valley BMW

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

BMW Refuses to offer a solution here on the BBB. I have CLEARLY stated time and time again this is to be handled here on this site. They called once, left a rude message and have yet to offer any help on their all-around poor service.

I bought this 2011 BMW from them 5000 miles ago. At that time their salesman stated the car has been inspected and fully serviced...Since it's now due for an array of things!? I now know their salesman lied to me.

Why would BMW sell me a car that wouldn't make it 5000 miles off their lot? Why would their salesmen tell me the car was fully serviced when it wasn't? Why did a perfect running car start to have issues right after a routine oil change by their mechanic? Its my opinion Valley BMW of Modesto is crooked. Either way you look at it this car dealership sold me a bad car, lied to sell it to me and then their mechanic who is psychic magically knows a spark plug will go back and my service engine light will go off soon?

I take it in for maintenance (oil change), their mechanic ransacks my car, causes problems on purposes to try and squeeze more money at of me?

Further more since BMW notified me that their salesman was not correct with the maintenance at the time I purchased it I had the spark plugs changed. Low and behold a non matching spark plug was among newer matching spark plugs. Second spark plug to the left...Do you see the rusty ring around that spark plug? Notice how it doesn't match the other spark plugs? I ask Valley BMW how that old rusty spark plug got in my BMW? Especially since the spark plugs were suppose to have been changed when I bought it. Kind of funny how a 2011 BMW with only 55,000 miles, that was recently serviced before I purchased it has a old rusty spark plugs among newer ones!


6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 16, 2015 I returned a 3 year lease to the dealership (Valley BMW of Modesto) approx 60 days early from maturity date (June 17,2015). The vehicle only had 27,000 miles on it. That is 8,173 miles below the miles allowed on the lease. I had spent $2500 worth of brand new tires. I was told by the salesman/lease return inspector that all looked good and the only thing I would have to pay is the $350.00 Disposition fee. I agreed to the return. I received the printout and I handed the keys to the vehicle. 5 days later I received a letter from *** ********* ******** stating that I owed the $350.00 disposition fee and 2 months of payments of$1629.96 plus tax $124.28. I called *** ********* ******** and explained to them that my understanding was I signed a "Final Inspection" form stating that I only owed $350.00 and asked them why was not this clarified at the dealership. *** ********* ******** explanation was the "We are a bank and we are two separate companies". This is misleading and it is misrepresentation. ALL fees including payments should have been disclosed to me when I returned the vehicle so that I could have made the right decision. Otherwise I would have kept the vehicle in my possession and used the vehicle until June 17th. Since I returned the vehicle and they still charged me I asked Valley BMW to return the vehicle and was told that is not an option. They probably sold the vehicle. This is deceptive business practice.

Desired Settlement: 1- Make sure this does not happen to another consumer. Disclose all fees INCLUDING PAYMENTS.2- Return the vehicle so that I can use it for 2 months 3- or refund 2 months payments $1377.56

Business Response:

The client's issue appears to be from his misunderstanding of the contract between BMW Financial Services and himself.  We as a dealership have no control over what charges BMW Financial Services imposes on the consumer upon the termination of their lease.  When a client returns a vehicle to our Dealership, we facilitate the process by inspecting the vehicle for damage, unauthorized modifications, and mileage.  It is nothing more than a PHYSICAL inspection of the vehicle and an odometer statement - it has nothing to do with the clients contractual obligations to the bank.
When we inspected this vehicle for return, we had no idea he had two months left on his contractual obligation to the bank because that is not part of the physical inspection and return of the vehicle.  On the client's contract, it CLEARLY explains his obligations for early termination of the lease and also states that he will be responsible for any remaining payments immediately upon early termination. When the client came in after he received the billing (VERY aggressively I might add), I personally explained this to him, but he feels that we as the dealership should somehow be responsible for his remaining contractual obligations.
We often have clients terminate their lease early for various reasons, and this client is the only one that I have ever met that believes that he can walk away from his contractual obligation early and not be responsible in any way.
Although I understand the clients apparent frustration, we feel that we have been wrongly targeted in this matter as we are simply the facilitator of the turn in process.  The client's obligation of his last two lease payments is an issue between the client and the Financial Institution, not the Dealership.  We simply provided the lease turn in service that the client asked us to provide.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further questions,

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: This explanation is a lie. They told me after the dealer inspection that the only fee I would pay for is what I signed and it shows $350.00 "BMW Disposition Fee". That is the agreement I signed when I turned in the vehicle. Now the BMW Dealer is distancing themselves with BMW misleading consumers on the true cost or returning a vehicle. ALL they had to do was show ALL the costs of returning the vehicle including remaining mnths so that consumers can make a more informed decision. I am sure the dealer can easly find out how much is remaining on the lease and includethat amount in the final cost. Not just to put the $350.00 disposition fee. When I approached them once I received the separate bill they were harsh and not friendly and the dealer would not return vehicle so that I could use it for additional 2 months that I got charged for.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Valley BMW on 11/4/13 and asked the service person (**** ******) how much would they charge for a diagnostic check and he quoted me an amount of 145.00. My friend and I had my 2000 BMW towed to Valley BMW and spoke with **** again. During this discussion I explained the issues with the vehicle and **** also stated again that the fee for a diagnostic check would be 145.00. I signed the document and was told that the diagnostic check should be completed by 11/5/13. I called **** on 11/5/13 and he told me they hadn't started on my vehicle. He then called me on 11/6/13 and stated that the diagnostic check amount was already up to 900. **** also went on to stated that the battery was completely dead and the plugs were inserted improperly. I questioned why was the diagnostic amount was higher than the 145.00 quoted **** then stated that the diagnostic check was 145.00 per hour. I told him that he led me to believe that the 145.00 was a flat fee vs. a per hour charge. At this point the car was still not running. On 11/7/13 my friend and I called Valley BMW and spoke with a different service rep because **** was already gone for the day. This service rep was a little put out that we were asking questions regarding the 145.00 per hour fee for a diagnostic check and the fact that there was still no clear idea what the issue was with the vehicle. The Rep called back later on 11/7/13 to say that the vehicle needed in addition to new battery the car needed a new alternator. He also explained that he wasn't sure how long it would take to get the alternator. The car wasn't ready until Monday 11/11/13 and the amount of the repairs was 2500.00 + some change. I don't feel that I should be charged a per hour fee for the diagnostic check. I called a couple of other BMW dealerships and neither of them charge a per hour diagnostic fee. I sent Valley BMW email to state my dissatisfaction and on two different emails from them they asked me if I received the response and I stated no. Product_Or_Service: 11/4/13 Order_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: Refund I would like to be charged only one 145.00 for the diagnostic check vs. 145.00 per hour.

Business Response: You towed your vehicle in on 11/04/13. Your stated concern was, "Customer states the vehicle will not start, battery is about 2 weeks old but dead now. The vehicle has been sitting for approx. 3 months, after battery replacement the engine would crank over but it would not start. Customer has had a problem with the alarm going off on it's own and may have drained the battery." After the initial diagnosis our Service Advisor contacted you advised you that your battery would not hold a charge and needed to be replaced and requested additional time to needed to check why modules in the car were not communicating, why your battery was not charging, fuses oot of place, etc. This was all clearing explained and authorized by you. No repair center has a flat rate for diagnosis of this level.

Consumer Response: There were other BMW dealerships who charged a flat rate for the diagnostic work. I believe that the dealership has some deceptive practices because they don't clearly state that the 145.00 is a hourly rate. They also kept the car for a week which ran the hourly rate way up.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Valley BMW
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)