Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Steves Chevrolet-Buick Inc.

Phone: (209) 847-2261 View Additional Phone Numbers 1285 East F Street, Oakdale, CA 95361 http://www.steveschevroletbuick.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steves Chevrolet-Buick Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steves Chevrolet-Buick Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steves Chevrolet-Buick Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 12/21/1974 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 11/18/1974 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 46074.

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 04425.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Steves, President Mr. Brett Steves, Controller/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Steves, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Steves Chevrolet-Buick Inc. sells new & used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 19, 2012 I purchased a new 2012 Buick Lacrosse 4 door Sedan, S/N ***************** from Steve's Chevrolet Buick in Oakdale, CA., phone number ***** ********* ***** ********. The salesman I dealt with was **** ***** **** told me I would get 20 mpg in town and 30 mpg on the road. I have never gotten over 16.5 mpg on the road. On May 22, 2013, Steve's replaced the accelerator pedal position sensor. On July 3, 2014, there was a fluid leak from the steering rack. They replaced the steering gear. On April 15, 2015, they said they had driven my car outside of Oakdale and had gotten 30.3 mpg. I checked the mileage on the car when I picked it up and it was exactly the same as when I had taken it in to have the oil changed.

Desired Settlement: I think I should have a new engine that would get the gas mileage that they say you should get. I should not have to put 36 gallons of gas in a new car in order to drive 500 miles. I have called General Motors several times but they have been no help. I would greatly appreciate any assistance you can give me in this matter.

Business Response:

Message:

Dear ******** *****

 

We have had  *** ******** 2012 Lacrosse in the Service Department five times. The first  time RO******* 5/25/2013 at 1860 miles she had a SES light coming on we diagnosed it and was a bad Accelerator pedal we replaced it and have never had another SES light on.

Then on RO#****** 8/05/2013 at 2687 miles we had it in for routine Maintenance Lube oil and Filter and Tire Rotation.

Then RO#****** 8/11/2014 at 4854 miles with Fuel mileage complaint stating getting 14 mpg. We performed diagnostics no codes in any modules and the  fuel trim reading are at specified ranges per General Motors , We did find a updated program for the engine control and transmission control modules we performed the updates, Then we topped off the Fuel Tank and test drove the vehicle to check fuel mileage road tested vehicle 50.6 miles came back and refilled tank it took 2.2 gallons then taking 50.6 miles and dividing it by 2.2 gallons shows us it was getting 23 mpg on a combined city and country road drive.

Her vehicle is rated at 17mpg  city 20 mpg combined 26mpg  highway at 23 mpg we feel it is operating as designed. She also had a complaint  stating the driver’s door mirror is out of adjustment every time she starts the car. We check all memory setting and inspected operation all ok. She also had abnormal noise from front of car while turning , We found the steering rack had a internal leak and replace the steering gear . And also performed maintenance lube oil and filter.

Then on RO #****** 4/15/2015 at 7242 miles We performed maintenance lube oil and filter. Also stating check for fuel mpg getting 16.5 on freeway. We test drove using the vehicle’s instant range indicator in the drivers information center, And  at 38 mph instant average 30.3mpg and then at 60mph for 6 miles and then dropping into town average shows 28.2 mpg. GM suggested to make sure customer is resetting fuel average every time they fill up. Also had a complaint noise on sharp turns when backing up and then pulling forward we compared to like vehicle no abnormal noises detected.

Then RO#****** 8/15/2015 she came in with a parking brake light coming on when starting vehicle and staying on. We found codes ***** ***** followed diagnostics from factory ****** SI Doc # ******* Reprogram EBCM with updated calibrations. We are attaching copies of the 5 Repair ordered and the Fuel Mpg off ********************

If you have any other  questions or suggestions on **** ******** vehicle please share it with us . We have been in touch with General motors’ each time her vehicle was in our Service Department and they state  it is operating as designed.

Thank You

*** ******* ******* *******

Steves Chevrolet and Buick

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I received the letter from you October 16, 2015 BBB complaint ID ********.

 

Steve Chevrolet Buick did not drive my car on April 15, 2015. The mileage was the same when I took it in as when I picked it up. I had filled it up two blocks before Steve’s 7242.

 

I have put 558.81 gallon since Feb 14, 2014 and have driven less the 5000 miles. I have the receipt. I figured the miles lack time I fill up. Never over 16.5 on road. They are good about new part as Buick pays for them. The do a good job on oil changes. I’ve had lots of new cars but never gotten such awful mileage.


Business Response:

If **** ****** would like the next time she fills her vehicle up with fuel to come by the dealership and see me *** ******* Service Manager and we will reset all the fuel MPG and Instant averages and trip odometer and have her Drive it her way and when she fill the vehicle the next time to bring the receipt and come in immediately for us to get a copy of the receipt for the amount of fuel used and miles driven. so we can calculate the mileage and compare Our reading to the on board system. Or we could send a drive out with her if she wants it all done in one day. Please have her contact *** ******* at Steves Chevrolet to arrange a appointment.

Thank You

*** *******

Service Manager

Steves Chevrolet & BuickTell us why here...