Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shingle Springs Suburu meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shingle Springs Suburu include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shingle Springs Suburu
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1986 in CA Business incorporated 05/16/1986 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 20310.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 128554.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert L. McCarver, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert L. McCarver, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Shingle Springs Kia Shingle Springs Nissan/Subaru, Inc
Products & Services

Shingle Springs Nissan/Subaru, Inc. offers new and used car vehicles sales and service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4045 Wild Chaparral Dr

    Shingle Spgs, CA 95682 (866) 761-9158

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Subaru Outback year 2000, for a diagnosis to the Subaru shop in Shingle Springs, California, on Friday June 27 2014 by appointment.I had previously both catalytic converters replaced due to advice from another shop, they were aftermarket, due to the price difference. It is an old car, running well. The replacement was done by **** ******* *******, a muffler and exhaust specialist in my town.However, after having the "check engine" light reset by ****** ********** in Pollock Pines, it went back on shortly after.Therefore I brought the car now to Subaru in Shingle Springs for a diagnostic, hoping they would find a hidden problem.I paid them $112.00 for that service. They told mr by word and in writing that, Quote: .."Found aftermarket catalytic converters & sensors, bank one sensor harness too tight & will not plug in properly recommend remedy that issue before further checking." UnquoteI believed their story and went back to the installer of the Cat converters. As he put the car on the high ramp, he and I had an immediate look and found indeed the cable dangling free with the plug.He was quickly able to plug it back in with plenty of loose cable, so loose, that he attached the cable to a support so it would not swing freely.When I told this to Subaru, a Mr. ***** ************, he did not believe me, instead he insisted what his technician told him was correct. I had to assume they probably did not even bother to try to plug the cable back in. Additionally he accused me of "probably monkeying with the harness so it is now longer" in his words, after it came back from Subaru.I told him that his story was wrong and he should have more respect for his customers instead of accusing me, he said I insulted him because I said his worker was lying, he does not care and hung up. I then called the supervisor, but apparently they follow their own blue code in terms of customer treatment, meaning, I got exactly the same feedback and was cut off.The owner Bob did the same. What can I do?

Desired Settlement: I would like for Subaru to refund me the money I paid them plus an amount for driving there and back and for causing me such distress in dealing with their rudeness and lack of accountability.They just lost a customer.

Business Response:

On 6-26-14, Mr. ********* *********** brought his 2000 Subaru, Outback to our dealership for diagnosis due to the check engine light being on. Mr. *********** had previously taken the vehicle to 2 other independent shops for catalytic converter replacement and repairs due to the check engine light being on. We found Mr. ***********'s vehicle to have after mark catalytic converters install on it. The bank 1 sensor on the after-market catalytic converter is located in a different location from a factory catalytic convertor making the harness too short to install properly. This vehicle was checked out and diagnosed by our shop foreman who is a Subaru Master Technician and has more than 20 years of factory experience. The customer was informed of our findings and he declined further diagnosis or repairs. Mr. *********** was only charge the minimum diagnosis charge.
 

12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responed to an ad in the Sacramento Bee for a 4x4 4 door Nissan truck listed for $18,988. When I arrived I was shown a little 2 door, 4x2, truck. I responded to an ad in the Sacramento Bee published on October 26, 2013 for a 2013 Nissan Frontier four door 4x4 truck for $18,988. I called prior to coming in and was told by **** that the truck was available. When I arrived the stock numbers in the ad did not match the advertised truck and I was told that they would not honor the price. The as also says in yellow that the truck has air conditioning and is an automatic. The trucks I was shown were manuals. They then attempted to up sell me and showed me the actual truck I came to see, but offered it to me at a much higher price. I then asked if I could see another car that was advertised and was told it was already sold. Everything they offered in the ad was a bait and switch. I have a copy of the ad.

Desired Settlement: I want the truck pictured in the ad for the advertised price of $18,988. I have financing already and would like to get it ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I have looked at Mr. ******'s complaint. I have also checked our ad files. On the 26th of October, we ran a ad in the Sacramento Bee advertising a 2013 Nissan Frontier King Cab S for $18,988.00. All content of the ad is correct including vin number, model number, description and pricing. However the Sacramento Bee added an incorrect photo of a Crew Cab. The Sac Bee was notified when the ad broke and the correction letter was issued and displayed in the sales department window. I would be more than happy to make Mr. ****** a fair deal on a Crew Cab Frontier, however we will not be able to oblige his request to sell him a Frontier Crew cab for the price he has requested. I do have a PDF file for the correction letter as well as the advertisement referred to in this complaint. However, I do not see where I can add these files to this response. Please feel free to contact me directly as needed if this info becomes helpful. Thank you for your time and have a great Thanksgiving.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The car company is not being honest in their response. When I arrived to the dealership they still had the false ad and refered to it while I was on the lot. There was not a correction posted anywhere and I was just upsold the while time I was on the lot.

Final Business Response
I have read Mr. ******'s request along with his allegations of dishonesty. I decline Mr. ******'s offer. Thank you to the BBB for the email and take care. ****** ******** General Manager Shingle Springs Nissan


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shingle Springs Suburu
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)