Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mercedes Benz of Sacramento

Phone: (888) 479-0451 Fax: (916) 741-4514 View Additional Phone Numbers 1810 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825 http://www.mbsacramento.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Sacramento include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1959 in CA Business incorporated 12/28/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 45272.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 258676.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager Mike Patrick, Service Manager Mr. Rhett Snider, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Bryner, Management
Principal: Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Smart Center of Sacramento Von Housen Management, Inc.
Products & Services

Mercedes Benz of Sacramento provides new and used vehicles, sales, service and repair.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 1810 Howe Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (888) 479-0451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car into the dealership to get my Cilajet reapplied to the exterior and interior of my car, when picking up my vehicle, my seat was torn. I was told that the manager would not be in until the following week. I never received a call back. I ended up taking my car in for a suspension issue and requested that they look and repair my seat. The manager claims that the tear in my seat was already there and they would not replace it. I did not bring in my car with a tear in my seat. I brought it in to have my ******* redone on the interior of my car. If there was a tear in my seat, Im sure they would have noted it in the notes prior to them doing anything to the interior of my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want my seat replaced.

Business Response: We did not perform any repairs to the interior of the customers vehicle. The crack in the leather is along the perforation holes in the leather.

Business Response:

Ms. ********* vehicle is a 2007 Mercedes Benz CLS 550, it was originally put into service on April 5, 2007. Ms. ******** purchased the vehicle used on April 14, 2013 with 57,583 miles from Mercedes-Benz of El Dorado Hills.

In April 2013, MB of El Dorado Hills replaced the passenger seat bottom at no cost to the client as negotiated during the purchase process. On November 14, 2013, when the vehicle had 65,891 miles, the customer complained that the driver’s seat bottom was also torn and requested we replace it. We ordered the part and replaced it at a cost of $900.00, which we absorbed.

The vehicle is now nine years and two months old and has 135,069 miles, it is well beyond warranty. Ms. ********* complaint is that we damaged her seat, our inspection discovered a separation at the seat seam on the driver’s side which we determined to be attributable to normal wear. She brought the vehicle in and requested a Cilajet application which we performed, we do inspect the exterior of the vehicles during our walk around on the service drive but do not perform a detailed inspection of the interior. We process approximately 48 cars per day many of which are not in “showroom” condition.

In the past, Ms. ******** complained we damaged her hood during a repair visit which we paid to have repainted, she again complained that we damaged her “A” pillar during a free car wash, again we paid to have the paint repairs performed. We do support our product and our service but in this case the complaint suggests a seat tear when in fact it is a seam separation.

Respectfully,

***** ********

Service Manager

Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

***** ******** needs to get his fact straight. My Seat was replaced by El Dorado Hills because they tore the seat when applying the Cilajet. The other seat was replaced because it started cracking and tearing just months after purchasing a Certified pre owned car. This has nothing to do with the seats being damaged when bringing it in.

 

***** ******** was not the manager when my hood was damaged. They had my car for entire month and when picking up my car, there was a Dent in my hood, as if a tool was dropped on my car. When the car was fixed, I picked up my car to have my tire and rim cracked.  ***** needs to do better research on the damage that has happened on my car when it has been as the dealership. He mentioned that I brought my car in with damage and than blame the dealership. That is NOT true. ****** *****, my regular service advisor is very well aware of my car and we have always walked my car together. This has been something that he has done with me, since when I first started bringing my car to the Sacramento Location, I was in a wheelchair. In effort of being proactive, ****** was aware of all pre existing issues.  

 

I brought my car in to get the Cilaject service and ***** denied that my interior was completed. Than the story changed again, and now the story is that the cilajet was indeed completed. If Cilajet was going to be applied to the inside of my vehicle, they would have or should have communicated with me and let me know that there was damage to my seat and let me make the decision to move forward. That did not happen. 

 

 

 

 

 


5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is Mr. ******, exercising his right to submit an informal consumer complaint pursuant to the applicable laws of the state of California, asking for restitution & damages against Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento, *** ****** Automotive Group, **** **** ***., Sacramento, Ca. 95825. On or about April 23, 2016, I contacted by phone the above-mentioned automotive group in hope to have a key made for a Mercedes. I were instructed to have the vehicle towed to the above address and upon arrival a written receipt was prepared and provided. On or about April 26, after the requested repairs had been completed, I learned that the odometer was not functioning. I spoke with Mr. **** ******, Assistant service manager and Mr. ***** ******** offered a $65 dollar diagnostic test in resolution of the matter. I declined that offer based on the hostile environment I had been subject to. In addition: Mr. ******** and Mr. ******, managers whom represent Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento and corporation, are deemed in violation of policies and procedures of the (Magnuson Moss Warranty Act, 15 U.S.C.) as complainant is a “consumer” as defined in (sub.sec.2301(3). Because Mercedes-Benz an entity who are suppliers and guarantees warranties under their business policy and practices, as defined in the Warranty Act, 15 U.S.C. sub.sec. 2301(4) AND (5). The vehicle brought in is a “consumer product” as defined in the Warranty Act, 15 U.S.C. sub.sec. 2301(1). Although, the vehicle in question were not purchased from *** ****** automotive group, it remains a product of Merc edes-Benz. Under California law there was created in connection with the sale of the vehicle an implied warranty of merchantability indeed as a product of Mercedes-Benz. The acts portrayed by Mr. ****** “specifically were unprofessional and irresponsible as a manager representing Mercedes-Benz products. Therefore, allegations are factual basis shown within this complaint that the aforementioned manager’s failure to provide the vehicle to claimant free of defects. Repairs done were negligent and that both manager’s owed a duty to claimant to use ordinary care and skill in storage, preparation and overall repair of the vehicle in accord with industry standards. Claimant further alleges, in failing to properly store, prepare and repair the vehicle, breached that duty of ordinary care and skill, their negligence was a proximate cause of claimant’s damage to the vehicles odometer. Wherefore, the claimant Mr. ***** ******, as a consumer having had the vehicle (Mercedes-Benz) brought in for only (1) minor problem while in their care;

Desired Settlement: I pray for the following relief: Incidental and consequential damages to be repaired or replaced Mission statement of Mercedes-Benz customer service policy Genuine written apology from both managers alleged in this complaint That Mr. ******, assistant service manager be reprimanded & held accountable For such other and further relief deems just and proper under the circumstances

Business Response:

Response:

Mr. ****** had his 2000 Mercedes-Benz S430 towed to our dealership on 4/24/2016, the only key to the vehicle had been lost or broken. We cannot release a key to a customer without having the vehicle present, per Mercedes-Benz policy. We ordered the key and Mr. ****** came to pick up the vehicle on 4/26/16, upon starting the vehicle, Mr. ****** declared that we had broken his odometer as it was not functioning at that time. We did not assign any technician to this vehicle as it was simply a parts key order, again no technician or any other Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento employee touched the vehicle. Mr. ****** suggests that there is an active warranty on the product but indeed the vehicle was sold with a 4 year/50,000.00 mile warranty in 2000, and is therefore 12 years and one hundred thousand miles past warranty. The last time Mr. ******'s vehicle was in for service at Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento was 5/13/2011, at that time the vehicle's odometer was 136,626 miles which would suggest an average of 12,400 driven miles per year. Five years later Mr. ****** claimed there were "148,500" miles on the vehicle which could not be verified as the odometer was not functioning, which suggests that the vehicle had only been driven less than 12,000 miles in the last 5 years. In conclusion, the vehicle was towed to our shop and not functioning as there was no key available, once the ordered key arrived, Mr. ****** inserted it in the ignition and declared we had damaged his odometer when in fact we had never touched the vehicle when it arrived. Mechanical components are subject to failure and certainly 16 years later.

1/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2002 Mercedes SLK to the dealership in Sacramento for service because I noticed a brake light was out and my left turn signal had stopped working. Scheduling was very simple and straightforward and the initial appointment was very pleasant. After the diagnostic was completed, I was told that the required repairs for these two items would cost about $900, but that they had also found a number of other items that they suggested repairing. The grand total for their suggested repairs was $5600. Most of these items were relatively common upcharges such as changing spark plugs, and so easily refused. However, they found that the belt on the supercharger was dangerously worn and cracking, which I agreed needed to be replaced. In the process of this, they found that the tension assembly for the belt had been previously damaged, and would need to be replaced as well, for a new total of $1500. They completed the work as scheduled and when I picked up the car, they told me that they had found some water accumulating within the trunk panels, but that it was caused by a plugged drain hole that they had unplugged and didn't seem to be causing any problems. However, they said that it potentially could cause the power door locks to stop functioning in the future. As soon as I got the car home, I realized that the power door locks were no longer functional, whereas they were fully operational when I dropped the car for service. I called to complain but was told that they couldn't be held responsible and that the repair could cost upwards of $2000.

Desired Settlement: I expect my power door locks to be returned to normal working order at no cost to me. If any other damage to my vehicle was incurred during this service, I expect that damage to be repaired at no cost as well.

Business Response: The damage to the door locks was a result of improper drainage and a faulty trunk seal in the vehicle. The repairs done to the vehicle are not in any way associated to the door locking operation. We have offered the customer 20% off of the repairs to correct the door lock operation. Customer stated that they would schedule the appointment.

12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted MB of Sacramento to inquire on a Certified Pre-Owned 2013 GLK 350 and spoke with ******* ****. I have asked ******* for full disclosure and to let me know of any dents or scratches in the car so I am aware before we finalized the deal since I do not feel good agreeing to buy something I have not seen. I have several text messages from ******* confirming that the only issue is that there's a minor paint issue on the right bumper but it "will look brand new when it's complete" otherwise no exterior damages, no interior issues and "rims are perfect not a scratch". We agreed on a price and that they will deliver the car to me on Saturday 11/15 and I will sign the contract and give it to the driver. I know it sounds silly to buy a car over the phone but I was confident that the Mercedes Dealership was true to their word and the fact that it is a Certified Pre-Owned and the car has been extensivley checked including the appearance which is part of their certification guidelines. We had to change the contract since they sneaked in a $300 insurance that I didn't agree to and gave me Portfolio warranty when I specifically asked for the Genuine MB warranty. When the car was delivered, there were a lot of scratches and the bumper looked like it was just spray painted - no top coat and color does not match, the lug nuts were rusted, the cilajet in the interior was not properly applied. The manager, **** was so rude and not even apologetic. We had to drive the car back to Sac which put more miles to the car and they had the car for a week with their promise that they will make it better. We came to pick up the car 11/22 & most of the exterior issues were resolved but they didn't re-apply the interior cilajet and did not change the lugs nuts as promised. I spoke with *****, GM and was told to enjoy the car for now and they will send someone by Monday to fix the interior and lugnuts. I have followed up several times and no resolution. I am extremely disappointed with this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I think at this point I am so tired and emotionally drained dealing with this dealership that I would rather have them refund the cilaject fee ~$900 and send me the new lug nuts as promised. ******* tried to justify that all lug nuts are rusted but he and my husband walked around to look at the lug nuts in other cars they have on their lot and NONE of them had rusted lug nuts. I trusted that buying a MB would give me the SUPERIOR quality and service and I was wrong.

Business Response:

We are a full disclosure dealership with no exceptions,  even more so when doing a transaction over the phone.  The car was certified and true to the condition described.  I agree the cilojet we applied poorly on the inside,  I also thought this was taken care of.  We will reach out to the customer and address this issue immediately.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree wtih the business response that they fully disclosed the deal because if that is the case then there would not be any issues.  If they claim that the car is in perfect confidition and no cosmetic issues and maybe they need to ask their sales manager, ****, who has the list on his phone of 8-10 minor damages to the car that I showed him and also even the driver who delivered the car to me, ******* said "This is so embarrassing and I would not even buy a car in this condition". Like I said, this transaction has been such an inconvenience and a horrible experience.  I believe we gave the dealership ample time to make this right.  We drove the car back there on 11/16 and they had the car for 1 week to make things right. We came to pick up the car on 11/22 and was very dissappointed that only the exterior issues and the cilajet on the interior was not done.  I spoke with *****, General Manager who said the salesman should have double checked the car and was promised that someone will call me by Monday 11/24. I have followed up with ******* a few times since I never heard from them and I keep getting empty promises that he'll give me an answer and until now I do not have any definitive plan.

I feel that the dealer does not follow through with the verbal agreement.  I do not want to keep wasting my time following up as I do not feel they are very honest to their word.  I even saw another complaint where they sold the Portfolio warranty but misrepresented it as the genuine warranty which is something they did on me but I had them fix it before I signed the contract. They should just refund the cilajet fee and send me the lugnuts as discussed.  We tried to be patient and be considerate and even drove back and forth to Sacramento which is 2 hours away (100 miles) each way.  

Business Response: Company states: We have been in contact with the customer. We have been trying to send out a company to apply the Cilajet to appease the customer but her schedule has not allowed it. Lug nuts are not apart of the deal. If you want a new car then we have many on the lot. There was nothing hidden about the car when we sold it.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

This response is very upsetting and clearly shows how dishonest this company is since their response is such a BIG LIE. There has no one from the dealership that has tried to contact me to try to resolve this issue. Please prove me wrong by telling me who, when and what number did they try to contact me. 

I did get a voicemail from ***** from Superior Detail on 12/8.  I called him back and we spoke how the dealership has asked him to reapply the Cilajet and he will come down to my place but because it will be raining that week, he will call me back the following Monday to set a date when he can come down. I have not heard back from him.  If the delearship's response is true, please prove me wrong again and tell me what dates and times that were offered to me that I refused as "my schedule did not allow" as stated in their response.  I was not offered any dates and times since ***** said he will call me back on Monday after the rain.

If the lug nuts were not part of the deal, then why did ******* offer to mail them to us so we do not have to pick them up and when I asked him who will install it, he said that the guy who will come from the Cilajet will install it for us. I am sure ******* remembers this conversation. I have attached the text messages from ******* in case he forgot or you need something to reference to: in Text 1 attached, I sent a text on 11/24 asking "Did u get the cilajet and lug nuts figured out?" because when we left the dealership that weekend, ******* has assured us that they will send someone out to fix the cilajet and install new lug nuts. When I asked him if the "Rims are OK", his response was that "Rims are perfect. Not a scratch" (refer to Text 2 attached) and when I said "Please make sure the car is spotless - hard to buy a car I haven't seen", his response was "It will be spotless for you" (refer to Text3 attached) so I do not understand how that is not misleading and how I am very surprised and disappointed that the lug nuts were rusty. I do not understand how the lug nuts are not part of the deal when your salesman offered it.

This issue has been on going for such a long time now and the stress and negative experience with this dealership has been ridiculous.  Please refund the price of the Cilajet and send the lug nuts as discussed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Sacramento
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)