Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA Business incorporated 12/28/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 56475.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 226673.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager Mr. George Grinzewitsch, President Rob Laird, Sales Mngr Mr. Rhett Snider, General Manager/ Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Von Housen Management Inc.
Products & Services

Mercedes-Benz of El Dorado Hills provides new and used vehicle sales, service & repair.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Mercedes Ln

    El Dorado Hls, CA 95762 (877) 773-3154

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2009 BMW 335xi from this dealership recently. When the weather warmed up my wife tried to use the air conditioning and found that it was not cooling the vehicle near enough. I contacted our sales rep *** and informed him of the issue and explained that this should have been tested before it was sold. He said that it would most likely be a warranty issue and that I should contact service to set an appointment. I hoped that the issue was just a recharge and contacted service and was told that they would not work on the BMW despite when I purchased the warranty from the sales department I was told specifically that they would be able to service the car. I emailed the dealership with this issue and a complaint with the way that the warranty company was giving me the run around with no response at all. I submitted this email on 6-24-16 and it is 7-1-16 now that I am submitting this complaint to you. I feel that the vehicle had this know problem and the dealership was well aware that it was not just a recharge issue. It is a FULL REPLACEMENT of the entire system with a cost of almost 2000$ and this is why the warranty was pushed so hard on me. In my mind the issue is they sold me a vehicle they were aware had an expensive issue and a warranty for profit and to protect them from a complaint like this. I have spent a significant amount of time dealing with the shop and the warranty company to come to some resolution on the repair as well as the time to email the dealership and now you to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to hear back from the dealer as to what they will do to compensate me for the warranty, deductible, and time I have had to deal with this not to mention being without the vehicle for over a week and a half so far before the shop could even get the go ahead to repair the car.

Business Response:

Adjustments were made by the extended warranty company to cover the majority of the repair costs, and all additional costs incurred by the customer (including the deductible) were paid by the dealership.  This issue has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction. Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Certified Pre-Owned Mercedes-Benz C250 at the dealer of Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento California in El Dorado Hills on 28/09/2015. I have emphasized the importance of the rear backup camera as my main concern. The sales of dealer told me that C250 has rear backup camera and I trust him since it is Mercedes-Benz certified dealer. However I found C250 do not have rear backup camera after I paid. I hate the cheating sales way and unqualified sales knowledge. The general sales manager in El Dorado Hills ask me to pay for rear backup camera and he do not admit the sales wrong behavior.Furthermore, the sales covered the fact that two spots broken on front wind shield and never tell me about it. I found them after I paid. I request to change an unbroken wind shield, the general sales manager ask me to paid 5000 more to change another used car or just keep wind shield as broken. According the answer form Mercedes-Bens USA, the Certified Pre-Owned Car wind shield should be intact, means no broken. Also checking with other location dealers of Mercedes-Benz, the wind shield of certified pre-owned car should not be broken. If any broken, it need be changed to new wind shield. I hate the behaviors of bullying customer. I request to return the car C250 back to the dealer. But the dealer refused to take back this C250 even one day after paid. The dealer ask me to pay 5000 more to change another used car, or pay for rear backup camera and keep broken wind shield. I am angry with the irresponsible and cheating management response of dealer in El Dorado Hills of Sacramento.

Desired Settlement: Option 1: Customer return back C250 to dealer without any fee deduction.Option 2: Dealer install rear backup camera and change new front wind shield without any charge.

Business Response:



Hello,

Mr. **** originally came into our dealership on Sunday
(9/27) to look at, and drive the vehicle that he eventually purchased on Monday
(9/28).  Additionally, Mr. **** went over
the factory options (build sheet), and he physically looked over the vehicle
and options again before completing the purchase paperwork. In regards to the
two rock chips on the windshield, they have been repaired to specifications.
Since learning of Mr. ****’s complaints we have offered to either exchange vehicles
(7 day CPO exchange policy) or split the cost to install a back-up camera. 
Mr. **** was happy with this offer per our phone conversation?  

 

Thank you

Business Response: Our exchange policy is within 7 days and is for another pre-owned CPO car of equal or lessor cost, if the customer decided to buy something more expensive then they pay the difference. The client's wife looked at several cars which were priced up to $5000 more, that is their choice. With regards to the windshield it has 2 small chips that have been filled to Mercedes Benz quality and minimum requirements for a used Certified car. the camera issue, we offered to pay more than half as the client now wants a rear camera which the car does not have and the client had agreed with my partner to pay $500 for a $1400 camera. That is the end of this, they either pay $500 for a $1400 camera which is there choice, the car DOES NOT come with it standard, or do nothing, they are now past the 7 days exchange policy for a car of equal or lessor cost. We offer the exchange as a courtesy which we only have done twice this year. If the client would commutate with his wife as she left and he did the entire transaction without her.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

It is very obviously the car dealer manager never admit the cheating sale behavior. And the car dealer manager always want customer to pay more money. The Mercedes Benz US company is considering the complaint case and re-evaluate the dealership.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)