Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mataga of Stockton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mataga of Stockton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mataga of Stockton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1996 in CA Business incorporated 05/08/1995 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing (DMV)
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 25384.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 244735.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathryn Mataga-Shimane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathryn Mataga-Shimane, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mataga Oldsmobile, Cadillac, GMC Truck Inc. Mataga Automotive Inc
Products & Services

Mataga of Stockton is a new car dealership for Buick, GMC and Cadillac sales and service.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 3261 Auto Center Cir

    Stockton, CA 95212 (877) 456-5258 (866) 857-3402

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle in for a routine oil change it took 2 hours when they originally said it would be 30 minutes.They conducted a multi point inspection which never indicated that there was an oil leak. When my husband went to pick it up and we got it home we immediately noticed it leaking oil. When we called it took 2 days for someone to get back to us and they indicated that there was a "bad batch" of fuel or oil filters and we could bring it back. They then indicated that it was not the filter but was leaking from other places. When questioned about the inspection they indicated they were unsure why it was not reported but again did not fix the issue. They were nice enough after i called 5 times to do a full inspection and take many pictures to show they couldn't have caused it but they would fix it at "fleet price" and knock off $500 of the $2600 bill. They indicated they didn't have to any of this but would and also slandered the vehicle dealership I purchased it at by suggesting they put an additive to stop the leak before the sale and that comment is on a recorded line and was made directly from the General Manager, ******* ******. I am very disappointed because I trusted them with my vehicle which i take much pride in owning. Please help

Desired Settlement: I would like them to correct the issue and fix the repair they caused for free not charge me $2100

Business Response: This customer brought the vehicle that she purchased from another facility to our shop for an oil change approx. 2 months after she purchased it. It is a 2005 ******** STS with 105,750 miles on it. Changing the oil will not cause valve cover gaskets to leak, nor will it cause camshaft actuator magnets to leak, nor will it cause a leak between the oil filter adapter housing and the engine. We diagnosed the vehicle free of charge and additionally diagnosed her check engine light for free (which was on at the time the vehicle was first brought to us for the oil change) which was related to lean condition in both banks and intake air flow system performance and a multiple misfire code. As a courtesy, we have already offered the customer a reduced price to address the leaking concerns.

Consumer Response: I purchased the vehicle 1 month from the service date and when I took it to get an oil change from Mataga Cadillac they conducted a multi-point inspection which did not reflect any item leaking at all. (which I forwarded for your review) They had my vehicle noted on the invoice as a 2007 DTS (which is my other vehicle) I understand they are claiming that changing the oil would not cause the leaks however from their original inspection there was no leaks or issues with oil leaking at that point. My husband was told after an hour and a half that they were still working on the vehicle and when we received the vehicle back he drove it home and immediately noticed it was leaking. When we brought it back in they indicated they had a bad string of oil filters and it could be that so they changed the oil filter again and conducted all the checks they indicated for free. All I asked them to do was restore to the pre-leaking stage in which we brought it in. They did all those free things to find out what happened not to make us happy and they still did not fix the issue. They also indicated that they thought they worked on the 2007 DTS. How could a mechanic not tell the difference between a DTS (much bigger) and a STS? If they filled the vehicle like it was a DTS that would have required more oil which could have broken or damaged the seals causing the leaks. Or could the fact that they changed the oil filter many times because of their malfunctioning oil filters were bad lead to warping items. I don’t know,  I am not a mechanic however I know 100% that my vehicle did not leak prior to their work. When I originally purchased my DTS I also took it there to get an oil change and the same issues happened however I had a vehicle warranty that paid for the repairs even though again, my vehicle was a certified Cadillac purchased used with 50k miles on. I questioned them back then but they assured since I had the warranty it would be all be handled without any harm to my pocket book. They offered to fix my vehicle for $2100 that is $500 cheaper than they would charge anyone else. The problem is they caused my oil leaks so therefore they should fix it at no cost. Since they caused all of this stress and issues with my Homeowners Association they should pay the fee I am being assessed for having oil spots on my drive way.

Business Response:

This customer brought the vehicle that she purchased from another facility to our shop for an oil change approx. 2 months after she purchased it. It is a 2005 Cadillac STS with 105,750 miles on it.  Changing the oil will not cause valve cover gaskets to leak, nor will it cause camshaft actuator magnets to leak, nor will it cause a leak between the oil filter adapter housing and the engine.  We diagnosed the vehicle free of charge and additionally diagnosed her check engine light for free (which was on at the time the vehicle was first brought to us for the oil change) which was related to lean condition in both banks and intake air flow system performance and a multiple misfire code.  As a courtesy, we have already offered the customer a reduced price to address the leaking concerns.

 

 

The wrong customer’s vehicle VIN # was chosen at the time of write-up, we explained this human clerical error to the customer as well as explained that we did perform the oil change on the STS, not the DTS.  We perform a visual inspection of the vehicle as a courtesy when we do oil changes at our Dealership. We do not do an inspection where we remove parts and look for leaks internally unless it is requested, approved, and paid for by the customer as a diagnosis. We diagnosed the leaking concern that the customer had for free on her return visit. The items that we found could not be caused by an oil change, these looked to be pre-existing conditions.

 

Thank you

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did a 50k service all fluids were supposed to be topped off and went to check the wind shield wiper fluid next morning nothing came out was empty. Car was supposed to be washed and cleaned not done paid almost $700 for a service that now I don't know what was actually done and not done. Car is back in the shop now and has been there since 4/14 I'm still waiting to hear from someone to find out when I'll get my car back and how much more it'll will cost me!

Desired Settlement: I want my repair done and not to be charged anymore. Would like proper communication by mataga with me.

Business Response:

Hello, and thank you for your call.

 

I have spoken to customer and was involved with the repairs of vehicle. The repairs performed were under factory warranty and other issues were corrected.

 

I also called customer after she picked up vehicle to make sure everything was ok and she had no complaints.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to call.

 

Thank you and have a great day.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mataga of Stockton
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)