Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda

Phone: (209) 832-1400 Fax: (209) 830-2023 View Additional Phone Numbers 3450 Auto Plaza Way, Tracy, CA 95304 http://www.tracyhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 09/26/1988 Business started locally: 09/26/1988 Business incorporated 05/24/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 26792.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 181244.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager Ken Harvey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tracy Honda
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of new and used cars vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3450 Auto Plaza Way

    Tracy, CA 95304 (877) 369-7470

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the trade in of my 2012 Lexus RX350, the total sale price of the vehicle was 20,000 and Tracy Honda was going to payoff 15,000 to ***** ********* ********. The paper work clearly states they were going to send the 15,000 dollars to ***** ********* ********* When I asked the sales person why they don't get the exact pay off amount, he said they only go off the credit report. After two weeks I got a statement in the mail from ***** ******* for a refund of $1.75. I came to find out that they only sent the exact pay off amount of $14,219.75, they owe me a refund of $780.25. This practice is suspicious, customers who don't pay close attention to their documents and pay off amounts are susceptible of being victims.I went there in person and the internet sales manager said he would call me back regarding the issue, he called me back later in the afternoon and said they do this for "SOME" customers to make sure they bring in the title. This is clearly profiling based on my demographic, besides the fact, I already signed all the paper work releasing the ownership to Tracy Honda. I have traded in several other vehicles in the past and this is the first time I have seen this practice.

Desired Settlement: 1. Refund my $780.25 ASAP2. Disclose this practice to customers

Business Response:

I was able to confirm this morning that a check was cut to you on 11/11/2015 for the amount of $778.50.  Our process is to retain the check until we receive the title from the bank.  Once we receive the title the check will be mailed.  If this is a problem for you please let me know.  Sorry for any confusion. 

Sincerely,
 
***** *****
General Manager
I was able to confirm this morning that a check was cut to you on 11/11/2015 for the amount of $778.50.  Our process is to retain the check until we receive the title from the bank.  Once we receive the title the check will be mailed.  If this is a problem for you please let me know.  Sorry for any confusion. 

Sincerely,
 
Brett Allen
General Manager
I was able to confirm this morning that a check was cut to you on 11/11/2015 for the amount of $778.50.  Our process is to retain the check until we receive the title from the bank.  Once we receive the title the check will be mailed.  If this is a problem for you please let me know.  Sorry for any confusion. 

Sincerely,
 
Brett Allen
General Manager

6/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently Bought my car(2012 ***** TL) from Tracy Honda late April. At the time of purchase, I agreed to the dealership warranty estimated at $3450. I was informed by their financial adviser, **** ****, I believe. He informed me that i could cancelled withing one week. I proceeded to cancel that warranty on the 7th day. Mr. **** confirmed it and handed me receipt stating that I had cancel the warranty, and the $3450 will be deducted from my auto loan amount. Putting my Auto loan at $16,665 to about $13,200 range. Well, it has been about 2 months now since i cancelled that warranty. and every time I try to contact Mr. ****, he is never in work, or would reply to my voicemail, nor my emails. I would like some assistant in this matter of getting my $3,450 back.Thank You******* ****

Desired Settlement: Contact the business and have them process my approximately $3450 refund credit it to my chase auto loan.

Business Response: Tell us why here... The refund check was originally sent to ***** **** on 5/15/2015 but was returned to dealer because the loan had not been funded yet.  The customer has since provided us with the stipulations that the bank was requiring and the loan has been funded.  The refund check for $3,495 was sent again to the bank on 7/24/2015 and will be deducted from the loan balance as discussed.

***** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 
According to my documents, we requested the warranty refund back in April 27, 2015. I understand the loan issue that cause that refund to be rejected. This was not my fault that your business could not gather the appropriate paperworks required for the loan. After that issue was resolved, i assumed that the refund would be process, but it still has not been. I have not seen any proof via email that Tracy Honda had attempted this refund. Tracy Honda states that it will appear on the next bill cycle. I have contacted chase banking, June 27, 2015, in reguard of the refund credited to my auto loan. They said that there have not been any reqesut processed for that refund. It has been over 2 months, I would like my $3,495 credited toward my auto loan immediately.
******* ****

Business Response: Mr. ****,  Attached is a copy of the check which was originally sent to the bank on 5/15/2015.  Due to circumstances beyond our control, the bank was unable to apply the funds at that time and returned the check.  Your loan is in place at this time, the funds have been sent again on 6/24/2015 and I can assure you they will be credited to your account.  I understand your frustration and apologize for the delay in the banks processing of your refund.   Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you. 

***** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

By the next bill cycle, if i do not see changed made thats you promised. Further action will be taken.

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed my vehicle for service on January 12 and rented a vehicle from Tracy Enterprise Car Rental. Tracy Honda repaired my vehicle the same day and said I could pick it up.Tracy Honda told me they have a daily working relationship with Enterprise Car rental and I could drop the vehicle there at Tracy Hnnda and would call Enterprise on my behalf to let them know it was returned. I then dropped the vehicle there and gave the cashier the keys to the rental vehicle.Then 9 days later Enterprise Car Rental called me asking how much longer I needed the vehicle. I told them I used it only 1 day and Honda said they called Enterprise.Enterprise said they never received a call. I talked with the Bruce the service manager at Tracy Honda and he said they would cover only 3 days of the car rental because they believe Enterprise should cover the remaining 5 days.As the customer for both, I believe it is unfair that I should pay for their mistakes. So far, neither company is stepping forward to solve this issue. Enterprise has charged me for 9 days on my credit card and is unwilling to reimburse.I believe Tracy Honda then should pay for the 8 days and reimburse me for having to pay for their negligence in calling them.

Desired Settlement: I believe Tracy Honda should reimburse me for 8 days of car rental - $330.00Thank you,Brandtley Greenlaw

Business Response:

*********, Ispoke to **** the manager at ********** and asked him if he would be willing to reduce the bill based on the relationship we have with them.  He claims he spoke to you personally and that he made it clear it was your responsibility to call ********** when you returned the vehicle to Tracy Honda and because of this he was not willing to make an adjustment to the bill.  Due to the fact that the rental agreement was between you and ********** I am unclear why you feel Tracy Honda should be responsible for your outstanding bill.  After reading your complaint I can only conclude that the person that offered to assist with the rental car return was never notified by you that you had returned it to Tracy Honda and that you were expecting us to call **********.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
***** thanks for your response.  The service advisor *** told me that Tracy Honda works with Enterprise all the time and Tracy Honda would call for me - no problem.  In addition, when I returned the vehicle the girl at the cashier window took the key of the vehicle and said they will contact Enterprise.  Therefore, I believed and relied on Tracy Honda in good faith that they would deliver on their word.  With two people assuring me they will contact Enterprise I believed they would and I appreciated it.  Tracy Honda then became my agent to call Enterprise on my behalf.  Notice to Agent is notice to Principle.  Therefore, Tracy Honda took upon themselves the obligation of contacting Enterprise and is responsible for incurring the additional fees if they fail to perform just the same as if it I had failed to return the vehicle.  This agent relationship is valid and occurs in business on a daily basis and is legally binding.  In addition, Tracy Honda had use of the vehicle for those 8 days, not me.  Whether they used it or not is irrelevant.  They had the keys and the vehicle on their premise.

As a customer, I am very surprised and disappointed this fundamental situation was not resolved immediately but is continuing this far.  I am following through on this issue for more than monitary reasons because it is my concern that other customers in the future will also be impacted by good intentions that are not followed up with good policy and process.

As the president of my corporation, I have an obligation to my customers in the same manner, and when I have failed to perform on a promise, I made it good by going out of my way to deliver.  That has cost me money at times to do that.  However, as a result, one customer still relies on my services today after 17 years because they can rely on my word.

We also have an obligation under God to do what is right and fair to our fellow human beings.  He is a not only a God of love but of justice - of doing what is fair and right.  This is one of those situations.  

So I encourage you to do what is right and fair to your customer even though it will cost you or the business for the mistake made.  It will benefit you and the business for future customers in that the process and policy will be shored up to ensure the mistake doesn't happen again and cost someone else the time and money to deal with it for weeks and weeks.  It goes without saying that this kind of treatment does not foster customer goodwill.  However, how you handle a mistake does - and that is what is important to your customer.  Thank you, *********



12/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/2014 I was looking on the Internet for auto to purchase I found a 2013 Nissan Altima for $11838 so I went and contact the dealer for more information. I received a vechicle certificate TrucarFrom Tracy Honda I was contacted by a Internet Sales Manager ***** ****** I said that I was interested in the 2013 Nissan that I would like to purchase so he asked me to provide my personal information so they could run my credit report after negotiating on the payment for 2 days I said that I would be there on Saturday December 13 I got there went on a test drive, and we sat down to do purchase the car they changed the amount of the vehicle that they were sorry but they could not sale me the car for that price we agreed that it was a mistake. I complain that after 3 days off negotiations and they pulled my credit report for all three credit bureau you're telling me that you can and give me some other vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hondon of Tracy honored price we agreed on.

Business Response: Unfortunately there was a clerical error made on December 9th when the price was changed from $15,,987 to $11,383.  We realized this error on December 11th and changed the price to $14,987.  We apologize for any hardship this might have caused Mr. ***** and would be happy to compensate him in some way for his time and gas.  Alternatively we will sell the car for the amount of $13,567 which represents our investment in this vehicle.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Consumer Response:

I refuse to accept their offer as they have acknowledged their error for the price of the car. In my conversations with Mr. ******, he never mentioned the change of price and proceeded to check my credit through three credit report agencies which has impacted my credit FICO. However, if they will sell the car for $13,567 including taxes and licensing, then I would be willing to accept their offer. If you would like more information regarding my case, I have the text messages between Mr. ****** & I available.

Thank you,

****** *****

Business Response: Due to the fact that the pricing error was unintentional and was corrected prior to Mr *****'s visit to the dealership we hereby decline his offer.  We do recognize that a mistake was made and made a previous offer to compensate Mr ***** for his time invested and the cost of his gas used visiting our dealership.   

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:Here is a copy of all the text messages that I had with Mr ******, and he never mention about the error in the price of the car, have he in forme I would have never continue with the deal, never went over for a test drive, or have giving him my s.s.# or my personal in formation

Thursday 12/11/14This is ***** ****** from Tracy Honda-Internet Sales Manager. I received your request to "Schedule a Test Drive " for the Nissan Altima. Would you like to come in today or would this weekend work better 8:26 a.m.

Get Pre-Approved
http://www.tracyhonda.com/apply-for-financing/10:56 a.m.

Sounds good! Text me when you get on the road ... I can "hold" the vehicle until you arrive so that it does not sell until you have your opportunity to drive and make an offer on it.11:02 a.m.

Hi ***** did you received my application that i filled out4:19 p.m.

Yes ... ultimately with her score being where it is (high 400) she will need a co-signer. Also, the bank will require money down4:31 p.m.

I did filled my information as co-signer4:33 p.m.

I have it, but she needs $$ down4:39 p.m.

How much down payment does she need4:41 p.m.

20% ... $30004:42 p.m.

No, How about if I just do the loan by myself4:45 p.m.

That's a much better situation ... I'll run the numbers with just you.4:47 p.m.

Ok5:03 p.m.

$286 a month with zero down for 72 months ...6:29 p.m.

At what interest are you giving me on this vehicle7:12 p.m.

Bank approved for 8.34% ... your *** score7:18 p.m.

I will go to my credit union tomorrow because I know for a fact that my credit score on the other reports is at *** and I have the proof to show. I have done my homework, the price of the car is $11383+ tax and license fee should come out about $2030.00 I should be financing a loan of total $13410.00 at 3.99% interes for 60 months payment should be $230.00 if i did my calculation right.7:50 p.m.

Typo ... *** is your Auto FICO8:06 p.m.

I will talk to my credit union tomorrow a have good rates even with a *** score. My daughter was looking to pay no more than $220.00 and based on my numbers I gave you I am right.8:24 p.m.

Friday 12/12/14Good afternoon, ***** I just submitted my application to the credit union and I should have a response by the end of the day. Also my daughter is asking if you can give us her score.1:29 p.m.
6681:33 p.m.

Not my score my daughters1:41 p.m.

I can't disclose that to you ... sorry.1:42 p.m.

Ok1:42 p.m.

I understand your her father ... but for security reasons .. I can't. I hope you understand1:42 p.m.

It's okay I understand1:43 p.m.

Saturday 12/13/14 Good morning, ***** I am going to come over to take a look at the car and test drive it. The lady from credit union didn't call me, but I still interested in the vehicle.10:29 a.m.

Great! What time do you plan to arrive?10:30 a.m.

In one hour10:30 a.m.






11/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased 2010 Honda accord in july of 2013. was told it had never been in accident. I asked for car fax to show that it had not been in accident. two days later I rec'd call from salesman who sold me the car, he said he would provide carfax in the mail. it never came I asked repeatedly for the car fax and was told it was being mailed. after many repairs, a person at tracy Honda handed me the car fax and the car has been in an accident prior to purchase, clearly breaking the agreement at time of signing contract for this car.

Desired Settlement: refund the purchase price or settle on a replacement vehicle that is truly worth the 18000 cost of the car

Business Response:

We have attempted to resolve this issue with the customer and were instructed via voicemail to provide our response in writing.  We informed the customer that the Carfax report does show "minor damage reported" and goes on to say "Minor damage is usually cosmetic including dents or scratches to the vehicle body"  There was no attempt to withhold information at the time of sale.  All of our used vehicles are listed online and on our website and Carfax reports are readily available through our online listings.  We would be happy to work with Patricia to attempt to resolve her concerns. We recommend having a third party inspect the vehicle to ascertain the integrity of the vehicle and to determine whether there is in fact cause for concern.

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During negotiations for the purchase of a vehicle, certain things were agreed upon in writing and were not delivered. I purchased a 2010 Honda odyssey from Tracy Honda, with 21 thousand miles and factory warranty with the intent of a hassle free experience. I traded in a vehicle knowing full well I would get much less from a dealer rather than selling it myself. This was done to expedite the car purchase and ensure professionalism throughout the experience. I did not haggle the listed selling price of the car, and simply asked that a tow hitch and brake controller be installed so I could tow my camping trailer. This was agreed upon in writing but was vague in the details. All I cared about was the odyssey be able to safely tow my camper without voiding my factory warranty. Apparently there was a lack of understanding on the dealerships part and the agreement could not be fulfilled. So in short I paid their asking price, and accepted their offer for my trade, and did not get what I was promised. This practice of business in my opinion is of very low moral stature, not to mention fraudulent. I am very unhappy with Tracy Honda as a business.

Desired Settlement: I would like Tracy Honda to pay the cost of having these towing implements installed on my Honda as agreed upon.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states that the company installed the aftermarket accessories that they had both agreed upon. They did take longer than they had promised but they came through in the end.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)