Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 8550 Laguna Grove Dr

    Elk Grove, CA 95757

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive advertising and price quoting Advertised Vehicle was a Honda Accord Sport Stock #28538 VIN: 1HGCR2F50GA183780 Price: 25,900.00. We found the car we wanted for my wife's son online, we requested a Internet sales quote and received a quote of 21,499.00 from the Internet sales agent over the phone. When we went in to buy the car it was on the showroom floor. We sat down to fill out the paper work and they showed us a sticker price of over 27k, we asked about the difference and they said it was a showroom car and they added extras to the vehicle. This was not reflected in the price quote we received over the phone when the sales agent contacted us. Since this was the only red car they had and my wife's son really wanted it, we went ahead and purchased the vehicle. I wanted to be sure Elk Grove Honda's management knew what was going on in their shop so I emailed the General Sales Manager, after a few days with no response I emailed the General Manager with no response from her as well. Email to EG Honda... Hello Ms *******, I sent this to ***** ****** on the 24th but I hadn't heard anything from him, I just wanted to be sure you were aware of the issue my wife and I has at your dealership on the 23rd. The issue is described below. Thanks for your time... *** ********* To: ************************** Sent: Tuesday, May 24, 2016 7:55:40 AM Subject: Not Happy Hello *****, Just wanted to drop you a note to let you know my wife and I were not pleased with our transaction last night, we purchased the red Accord Sport you had in the showroom. This car was for my wife's son, he needed a car and that was the only red Accord Sport you had in stock. Before I get into the issues I wanted to thank **** ******* for all his help, if it wasn't for him we would have walked out last night. He stopped and took the time to walk us thru the issues so my wife could understand what was going on. Now on to the issues, I had placed an Internet quote request on a car, ***** **** responded with a quote fairly quickly. I found out my wife's son wanted a red 4dr so when ***** and I spoke on the phone she suggested the Accord Sport, on the Internet listings you have the red sport listed for 25,900 and she quoted the Internet price of 21,448. I setup an appointment with her for 7pm, we thought we would be able to go in and pay for the car, do the paperwork and we would be out of there. That was far from what happened, we didn't get out of there until after 11pm. When we arrived at the showroom ***** was with another customer, understandable since you can't judge how long you will be with a customer, however, she must have had scheduled more than she could handle,two or three other couples came in at the same time asking for her. This is where **** stepped in to take over, he showed us the car and ****** decided this was the one for him. We started the paperwork and when we got to the price, apparently since you had this car in the showroom you had added over 1300.00 in add-ons, this was never mentioned online or by ***** when we spoke. I started to think this was false advertising or a bait and switch routine however I understood why you would add extras on the cars in the showroom. We weren't happy but ***** came out and said she will have to see what she could do about the cost of the extras, we assumed she was going to try and work something out, I didn't mind paying more but thought something should have been worked out on the cost since it was her error in not including them in the quote. ***** came out with another credit app for my wife to fill out, she said since the car was going to be registered in ******** name but paid for by my wife she needed one from her as well. My wife asked why she needed to fill out a credit app if she was paying cash for the car, ***** replied '"Because that's the was it is", I was waiting for my wife to blow her stack but she held it in. **** stepped in and explained to my wife that it's only to verify we are who we are saying we are, this was a much better answer then "Because that's the way it is". So 9pm rolls around and **** is still working with us, ***** grabbed her purse and leaves for the night, she never came back to talk about the add-on costs. **** tried to see if the Sales Mgr would do anything but he wouldn't budge, ****** really wanted the car so we agreed to pay for the add-ons. After I got home I started to think maybe I shouldn't have added the 5 year maint plan on, I wasn't sure I wanted to deal with your business for another 5 years. If family or friends ask how it went it wouldn't be a good review. Sorry this is so long, just wanted to let you know what happened. *** and ****** *********

Desired Settlement: Wasn't looking for a price correction just a acknowledgement that they would look into the issue so no one else gets treated the same as we did. Sounds like they quoted the lower price to get you in the door and then hit you with the extras. If they quote a price they should honor it, telling you about the EXTRAS after you quoted a price is bad business and deceptive. Since I didn't receive a response from Elk Grove Honda's management I would have to assume they were okay with the practice.

Business Response: First I want to apologize for myself and ***** ****** as neither received the email in regards to the issue at hand.  When I looked into the situation I found that we had two red Accord Sports when the price was quoted, but when the customer came in we had already sold the Accord Sport with out the accessories.  That is why we showed them the Accord Sport on the showroom with the accessories.  This was intentional at all.  We hope Mr. ********* and your family will continue to work our company.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

When I called and talked to the sales agent on the phone I was told they only had one red Accord Sport in stock, not two. There was also no mention of another red Accord Sport being sold when we questioned why we weren't told about the add-ons at the time of the price quote. The vehicle online in your advertisement is the same stock number as the one we bought, I have a copy of the Internet ad listing. This was the same car the sales agent quoted on the phone.


Business Response: It was an honest mistake, and for that mistake and inconvenience to the customer we are offering a free detail whenever the consumer wishes to use it towards the purchased vehicle only. 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I don't believe this was a mistake but this has gone on long enough, we will just have to agree to disagree. You can close the complaint, nothing else will ever be purchased from Elk Grove Honda.


8/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2017 Honda Ridgeline from Elk Grove Honda and was promised a $500 military discount from the sales staff. I spoke to both the Sales Person (*** *****) and the Sales Manager (******** ******) before I purchased the truck and both confirmed that I would get the military discount. After the truck was purchased and paid in full, I asked about the military discount and was told I needed to finance the truck with my wife as cosigner on the loan. I believe this a was a deceptive sales tactic to secure the sale of this truck.

Desired Settlement: I would like Elk Grove Honda make good on their promise and refund me $500 for the military discount on my 2017 Honda Ridgeline. Additionally, I can not refer other veterans in good faith to Elk Grove Honda because they do not honor their promises.

Business Response:

The $500.00 was given by American Honda if the customer financed to vehicle with them.  Ben made an assumption that Mr. *********** was going to finance.  I apologize for the error on our part therefore I am going to send Mr. *********** $500.00 from us for the error.  This was not intentional but we did promise him the $500.00. 

 

****** *******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2006 ***** CRV for a airbag recall, after the repair was made I found a huge gash and scratches to my dashboard. I know the scratches was done during the repair because I inspected my car before the process and there were actual curls from the scratches still present. I told the service rep and he confronted the technician. The rep came back to told me that the tech denied any scratches, of course he did. So its pretty much my word against his. At this point the rep said there isn't much he can do. So I went home and emailed the dealership and the service manager, its been a week and no replies from neither. I'm really upset how negligent and unresponsive this dealership has been.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the dealership make an attempt to address the issue by repairing the damages, discount, or some kind of acknowledgment.

Business Response:

Customer came in for recall.  Explained to customer that we do not remove the upper part that was scratched, but remove the air bag assembly from underneath.  Customer said okay and would ask her children.  Dealer not responsible.  This is an ******** ***** recall. Dealer did not do anything with the top part.  Dealer not responsible. 

 

6/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nearly 3 months after signing a cancellation of their service/maintenance package we are still waiting for our refund check which we were told to expect 6 weeks after the signing. We were told that it will be mailed to our credit union which is the lien holder for the car that we purchased from them. After waiting 10 weeks our credit union verified that they have not received the said refund. We proceeded to contact Elk Grove Honda. We talked to one of their finance managers who promised to investigate our claim and promised to give us a call back. He never called us back even after we followed up 3x. We asked to speak to another person who can take care of our claim and was forwarded to another finance manager. After 2 days of phone tags with him he told us that they sent the check to the wrong bank and were investigating if the check was cashed and we had to wait another week to have them finish their "investigation". It has now been 2 weeks since that "investigation" and after several phone calls they are still "investigating". We're just being given a run around and it looks like they just want to keep our money!

Desired Settlement: Elk Grove Honda needs to get this refund check back to the right credit union or to us ASAP. We've waited too long. If the situation was reversed we're pretty sure they'd be slapping us with interest and late fees. They should be paying us a late fee plus interest since this has gone on too long.

Business Response: The customer did not realize that the money was placed in their savings account.  I spoke to them and told them to check their savings account with ****** ***.  I did not get an answer from them and I have placed another call to verify they found were their money is in the savings account.

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an new car from this dealer and traded in my old car, a 2008 Toyota RAV4. Upon trading in, I signed a Release of Liability form to insure my old car would no longer hold me as the registered owner in case of future liability issues. Whoever purchased my old car from Elk Grove Honda has been getting moving violations and the citations are coming to my name and address and threatening my spotless credit and DMV record. I traded my car in and took a large economic loss instead of selling it myself for the sole purpose of not having to deal with DMV registration issues. What a hassle. Not only must I unravel this with DMV myself, but here I am having to file this complaint.

Desired Settlement: The dealer must file paperwork with the DMV in a more timely manner. They already dropped the ball on other purchasing paperwork. Also, they may need to find the political muscle to motivate the DMV to process registration changes at their end, if that enters into the equation. There are many ways to do this---I don't have to tell a big business how to do it.

Business Response:

Response:

Sorry, I emailed you twice with no response. We have filed our dispute with the DMV. The DMV has not updated any of their records. We have informed all parties involved and the situation should be handled. It all depends on the DMV

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, a car dealer as large as Elk Grove Honda has two options to avoid future BBB complaints: 1) work with their local political representatives to insure DMV process these backlogs more timely, and/or 2) do not re-sell traded-in autos until DMV has processed the necessary paperwork to reflect proper ownership.

10/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ****** is responding to the letter that I received from you. I ****** ****** has no knowledge of any engine being replace this is untrue. My brother **** ****** had work on this same car, "Honda Civic" they replace Cadillac converter. I'll send you copies of the work they done, after paying off the car, **** ****** sold it to me soon after the engine light came on, so I took it back to Honda Elk Grove I told them the problem with the engine light, they said "no problem" I ask them the price they said it would cost $411.00. I paid that price, before I made it home, the engine light came back on. I'm sending you copies of the work they did, but one thing for sure, there was no engine replace. Also I go not service for the money I paid for, which was to fix the engine light, Also Honda of Elk Grove replace on the engine. All work was done by Honda of Elk Grove.

Desired Settlement: If they can't fix what I paid for please return my money, as long as the engine light is on I can't smog my car.

Business Response: Customer has a vehicle with a lot of miles.  Many items can and will go wrong.  Dealership is not responsible for items that go out.  Last visit, we documented what might be needed and customer's previous visits, the items that was showing.  Vehicle left with check engine light off.  Dealer rechecked situation at no cost.  Due to age and mileage, over 250k, one item going out over time might or can affect other items.  Dealer does is not responsible for items that go out due to age and mileage.  Even if other items were needed, they still would have had to replace the EGR valve that was blocked.  Now, with a new functioning EGR valve, the cause of what made the EGR fail needs to be address.  

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 22-2015, I took my car Honda Civic-2004 Elk Grove Honda **** ****** ****** *** ****** *** *****, Request to have engine light off, because I couldn’t get my car smong, with engine light on, they said no problem and they will fix it, and the charge will be $411.55. I paid for the service, on the way home engine light came back on, so I called them, they told me no problem to bring it back, and they would take care of it, on 9-25-2015, but they would fix it without more money.

Desired Settlement: They wanted another $400.00, that is wrong why should I paid for the same thing twice, that’s my complaint, all I want is them to fix what I paid for, because I’m unable to get my lic tags without smong, I can’t get a smong with the engine light on. “Please Help”

Business Response: Customer purchased vehicle from her brother.  Her brother had brought the car in to us due
to the timing belt tensioner breaking. 
We made recommendations and one was for *** valve due to the **** *****
coming up with *****-due to the tensioner damaging the cam TDC sensor. 

Current customer brought the vehicle to us with check engine
light on for **** ***** and *** valve test bad and was replaced and check
engine light did not come back on during the test drive.  Customer came back 3 days later with codes
***** and ***** *** system leak and ELD circuit too high.  Upon further inspection found that the engine
was the wrong one put into the vehicle. 

The dealer can’t be responsible for everything that might
occur on a vehicle with 259,614 miles on an 11 year old car and has had the
engine replaced that isn’t correct.  It
is unfortunate, but we can’t be sure exactly what is needed due to the engine
being replaced with possible the incorrect one. 
It is sometimes difficult, but with older emissions items, one failure
can lead to others.

We’ve attached the repair orders: ******************** *** ****** 

Elk Grove Honda 

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Following is the information sent to Elk Grove Honda's email address, csi@elkgrovehonda.com on May 26, 2015, to ****** ******* and there has been no response as of this date. 26 May 2015****** *******, Owner Elk Grove Honda8550 Laguna Grove DriveElk Grove, CA 95757Re: 2006 Nissan Maxima DamageDear Ms. *******:On April 30, 2015, I last spoke with **** ****** regarding front-end damage to my 2006 Nissan Maxima that I discovered after removing the front grill in order to replace turn signal bulbs. On April 25, 2015 the vehicle was inspected and photographed by *** ******, Assistant Sales Manager. Mr. ****** stated that he would speak with **** ******, Pre-owned Manager and have him contact me regarding the damage. At the time Mr. ****** inspected the front end damage, I informed him that the vehicle was purchased during 2012. I called the dealership on April 27th to learn that Mr. ****** was out of the office, at which time I left a message. There was no return call on this date. I called again on April 28th for Mr. ****** and was told that he was out at the auction. I asked to speak with Mr. ****** who informed me of the ***e information and he indicated that he would send a text message to Mr. ******. Fast forward, on April 30th I met with Mr. ****** who inspected the damage and the question he posed to me was why I did not contact Elk Grove Honda earlier. Because, the damage was hidden by the front grill and if the grill were not ever removed no one would have knowledge of the damage. And, he stated that he could see the damage was old and had been there for a while. Also, I informed him that there has been no front end damage to the vehicle. After several other individuals inspected the vehicle damages and learning the extent of the damage, Mr. ****** stated that the damages were beyond his authorization and that he would speak with you, ****** *******, as he could not authorize repair. Mr. ****** stated that you, the owner and general manager of Elk Grove Honda would contact me directly. Regrettably, to this date I have not been contacted by anyone from Elk Grove Honda. Upon learning of the damage, my concerns are for a potential safety hazard and possibly a salvaged title. Also, the CarFax provided with the vehicle did not reflect the damage and a copy was given to Mr. ****** and Mr. ******. To resolve the problem, I would appreciate repair of the damage, unbeknownst at the time of the purchase. Please understand that I am in no way implying that Elk Grove Honda was negligent. Again, the extent of damages would not be known had I not removed the front grill to replace burnt out turn signal bulbs. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until June 1, 2015 before seeking help from a consumer protection agency or the Better Business Bureau. Please contact me at either the above mail or email address or by phone at ###-###-####.Sincerely,***** ******

Desired Settlement: Repair of the radiator, front grill and other hidden front end damage to vehicle that was not notated on dealership documents prior to the sale of vehicle. Previously, on June 30, 2012 the front and rear brakes were replaced on the Nissan Maxima. The brakes continued to squeal, after taking the vehicle to another dealer for inspection it was learned that specific brake hardware was not installed when the brakes were replaced and that is why the noise continues.

Business Response: Tell us why heBetter Business Bureau

3075 Beacon Blvd

West Sacramento, CA 95691

 

RE: ID ********

 

Dear Richard Luong,

 

Ms. ******’s initial contact regarding her concern was with
*** ******.  He relayed her concern to
me and I attempted to contact her.  We
crossed paths for awhile until we were able to make an appointment to bring in
her vehicle.  The vehicle was purchased
6/30/2012.  At the time we spoke I
stated we would be happy to take care of something that had been missed at the
time of sale. 

 

On the day of her appointment I requested that she pull the
vehicle into our service drive.  Once I
inspected the vehicle it was clear to me the vehicle had not been well cared
for.  In fact it was in very poor
condition.  I was able to push the front
bumper in with just my hand all the way to the radiator.  It was clear it had received a pretty
significant front end impact. 

 

At that time I brought out our Lead Technician Todd and
asked his opinion getting a fresh point of view.  After inspecting the vehicle Todd explained to Ms. ****** that
there is 100% certainty that the vehicle would NEVER have been put on the front
line for retail sales with significant damage. 
At that time Ms. ****** began to berate both of us calling Todd ignorant.  She repeated the insult several times.

 

I managed to calm her down and asked simply if the damage
had been present why had we not heard from her over the last 3 years?  I explained that maybe 3 to 6 months for
something but 3 years is excessive.  In
this case it we are confident that the damage was not there at the time of
sale. 

 

Ms. ****** explained that she did not notice the damage
until she removed the grill to replace turn signal bulbs.  Replacing the bulbs does not require removal
of the grill.  The grill was still
missing when Ms. ****** brought the vehicle in for my inspection.

 

I asked Ms. ****** to wait while I spoke with out General
Manager after which I explained that there was nothing that Elk Grove Honda
would be able to do, too much time had elapsed. 

 

Elk Grove Honda goes far and above to ensure we provide a
quality product for our clients.  I have
been a Pre-Owned Manager for over 30 years working for Elk Grove Honda going on
4 of them.  I am very confident the
service we provide is quality.  I have
been instructed by Elk Grove Honda owners that we have complete support to do
what is right regardless of the cost. 
We could not in good faith accept any liability for the damage/damages
to Ms. ******s Nissan Maxima.

 

**** ******

Pre-Owned Managerre...

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I have provided my written response as an attachment and included photos of the damage.  Also, I can provide a copy of the CarFax as supporting documentation for my complaint. I have taken very good care of my vehicle and dispute the accusations made by Mr. ****** in his response.  Even with the hood up on the vehicle, the damage cannot be seen.  There are coverings that must be removed, and it was those coverings that I removed to replace the turn signal bulbs that were operative up to this point.  I removed the grill because I could not identify any other way to get to the bulbs from directly under the hood area. 

Thank You,
***** ******

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was at the dealership to service my 2013 Honda accord vehicle on 05/30/15. while working with ******** *****, i requested my tires to be checked since the TPMS light was coming on time and again, if needed, the new tires should be installed since i have a tire contract with elk grove honda, and also requested my car to be washed. ******** told me that they will check the tires, but new tires can only be installed once the current tires will be worn out over 3/32 and he will also provide me the coupon for washing the car at a partner car wash place.i also demanded the copy of service and tire contract. which ******** said me 3 times that he will make sure i have the copy of contract when i leave the facility.when the car service was done, i spoke to ******** and ******** told me that the both rear tires are worn out and one tire is also leaking, he will order 2 new tires and once tires arrived, he will call me to make appointment in 3-4 days so my rear tires can be changed.i was not provided any copy of contract or car wash coupon as promised.after waiting for ******** call for 10 days, on june 10th i called elk grove honda service dept and spoke with ******. ****** told me that he need certain information from me before he can order the tires for me. ****** was asking what size tires my honda accord have.i am having some issues here and need some help.1. why was new tires not ordered as promised on 05/30/15 or next day.2. why the information ****** asking me today and not collected same day i was at elk grove honda facility.3. why was i not provided the copy of contract when demanded.now after 2 weeks days, i am driving my car with worn out and leaking tires. who is responsible if my tires burst while driving or my car have some other issues.Elk Grove Honda violated my right by not providing the copy of contract on demand.i wrote an email to the elk grove honda service dept and received a reply that they will get back to me but i did not received any resolution till date.

Desired Settlement: replace all 4 tires of my honda under the contract and extend my service contract for 2 more years without any charges.

Business Response: Tell us why h

On 5-31-15 customer arrived at the dealership demanding that
the tires be replaced.  We advised the
customer that as per the tires for loyalty program, we have to contact the
tires for loyalty administrator has to approve the tires.  This process can take anywhere from 2-14 days
and that tires can’t be replaced until 3/32 tread depth.  However, if he wanted to pay, we would gladly
replace his tires.  Customer requested a
copy of this tires for loyalty contract and a wash ticked.  After service we found two tires at 3/32 and
advised the customer that we have to submit the repair orders to the
administrator.  Customer was provided
with the copy of the agreement and highlighted the rules. 

We advised the customer that we would contact him when we
heard from the administrator once they the tires were approved.  Customer was called and we left a message at
9 am.  Customer didn’t call back, so we
called again at 430 on 6-12-15 to tell him we have approval.  Customer sated he didn’t need them any longer
since he replaced the tires himself.  He
asked who was going to pay for his rental??? He asked the GM to call and that’s
where is was left off at service

ere...

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Business  is outright lying and did not provided any resolution to the problem at all. 
1. i went to the service center on 5/30/15 and not on 5/31/15.
2. i was never informed anything about claim administrator at all, i was told that they have to order tires and i would be called in couple of days, not in 2-14 days as business is claiming.
3. i was never provided a copy of contract, let alone a highlighted version of contract as claimed.
4.i was only called by ******** on 06/12 after i emailed the business complaining about the issue because i first tried to resolve the issue with the business, and i never told John if i replaced the tires or anything about rentals, i just asked him to have his manager call me since i don't wanted to talk with him at all because i do not trust a person who don't follow on his commitment and lie.

it does not looks like business wanted to resolve the issue in a cordial manner. instead of working to resolve the issue, business is just interested in arguing and avoiding the responsibility. if the issue is not resolved in timely manner, i have to take the matter to the court.

thanks

Business Response:

The customer has tires for loyalty.  We have to follow the guide lines of tires being at 3/32. Dealer can't extend the contract.  Customer will have tires replaced once they meet the requirements of the contract he signed and must follow.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
unsatisfactorily resolution provided. unfortunately i have to go to court and media now.
thanks

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I went in on a Sunday afternoon and went in with the intention of buying a Fiat from the dealership that we had seen on their website, when we arrived it was a different color, and the transmission was manual which neither of us could drive. We quickly tried walking away and long story short they convinced us to purchase the vehicle like that, with the impression that it was easy to learn stick. They even offered to take time out to teach us, they promised learning to drive it would only take 30 minutes. We made the mistake of purchasing it and left their car lot after hours at about 10pm, we were back at 8 am trying to return the car because it was just impossible and a hazard to have. The salesmen actually offered for him to drive our new car home and we take his car because he saw us in the middle of the road with the car stalling it. Since we did not sign the cooling off paperwork they charged us $2,500 for them to take the car back. Please help me understand if this was correct or if we got robbed.

Desired Settlement: I want a piece of mind that what they did was correct, and if not I would like a portion of my money back if not all of it. They said the car was ours but the loan from the bank had not been granted because we still had to show them our proof of income

Business Response:

In response to the complaint #********, the manager on duty that night worked with Mr. ******* and Miss ****** to help them purchase a vehicle.   He did not talk to them personally , the purchase was conducted by the salesperson and the Assistant Sales Manager at his direction.

They negotiated a price that both worked for the dealership as well as the customer.  We did have knowledge that a manual transmission was an issue with the customer, but the sales person and Assistant Sales Manager told me that the customer , Mr. ******* called his father who suggested a manual transmission was not a problem and subsequently Mr. ******* and Miss ****** decided to proceed with the purchase. 

At the time of signing the contract, all customers purchasing a used vehicle have a right to purchase a right of rescission.  Line “S” on California ‘s  “Retail Installment Sale Contract”, the customers decided to decline the offer to purchase this right.

At no time did we force Mr. ******* or Miss ****** to make a purchase.

Both Mr. ******* and Miss ****** came in the next morning as they state in their complaint.  Our Sales Manager told them we would purchase the car back form them.  They would be required to pay the taxes and license involved with the original contract.  They would also have to pay the difference between what they purchased the vehicle for and what we ould purchase it back.  The amount totaled approximately $3000.00. 

They ased for a lower amount of $2500.00 and the dealership agreed.  They went to the bank, brought back the money and left.

 

Business Response:



   please see attachments

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car in for air bags recall, had my car service in February by Manly Honda in Santa Rosa and here 7000,00 miles later go into Elkgrove Honda and there telling me that parts that where fine are now damaged I did not ask for them to be touching my engine I was there for a recall so they told me that a cam end plug is leaking oil which it wasn't before, also my drive belts where cracked. I believe that there is foul play on there end because some of the employees who were talking stated I wouldn't have my car much longer.

Desired Settlement: Replace parts tampered with

Business Response: Ms. ****** came into the dealership on 11-15-14 for an
airbag inflator recall.  Ms. ******’s
repair order was written up at 8:04 am and closed printed up, i.e. technician finished
and customer was told because she was waiting at the dealership.  During the free multi-point visual
inspection, items were noted make the customer aware. 

Elk Grove Honda had not seen the vehicle since 2010. During
the visual inspection, the tech noted items of concern.  Ms. ****** is alleging that we took apart her
car to find these items.  Also, Ms.
****** said that another Honda dealer did a lot of this work.  We asked her to get us the latest repair
order from the Honda dealer.  Once we received the work that was done over a year ago, none of the items we recommended to the
customer were done. We also do these inspection to protect the dealership due to the fact many customers have not been to our dealersip in awhile.

We called the customer and told her this.  She was even told that we were more than
happy to visually show her all that we found, like the cracked drive belts and
cam end plug that can be viewed from outside the engine.  We presented the items to the customer as a
courtesy and no one told or wrote on her repair order that they had to be done
now.  It was just a courtesy.  I’ve attached the repair order from the
November 15th on the work we did and the items we found for her on
her free multi-point inspection.

 

******* *****

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: went to Elk Grove Honda for couple of recalls on Jan, 2nd, 2014. While I was there I asked them to change oil as well. I always had my oil change done at Elk Grove ****** ***** ****. Once they were done servicing my van they picked me up. Once I reached there they told me my drain plug was striped by where I had my oil changed and told me they have glued it so it wont leak. They never advised me about all this till I was there to pick up my van and pointing fingers at ****** ***** ****. I wills end a picture of the work they did It is Honda Odessy 2003 ******* is the licence plate number

Desired Settlement: Please help me out with this problem and I would really appreciate it.

Business Response: Mr. ***** came to Elk Grove Honda on January 3, 2014 for a recall and asked Elk Grove Honda to do an oil change. When we went to remove the drain plug bolt in the oil pan to drain the oil, the drain plug bolt came out stripped. Mr. ***** was called and told of the situation. Mr. ***** was informed and signed off on the repair order on what we found while doing the oil change and a multi-point inspection. Elk Grove Honda had never changed Mr. *****’s oil. We found an aftermarket oil filter on the vehicle. Mr. ***** informed the dealership that ****** ** *** ***** has been doing his oil changes. We then told Mr. ***** that due to the fact that the facility that had been doing his oil changes hadn’t been replacing the oil drain plug aluminum crush washer, a .50 cent piece, that the other facility over tighten the drain plug causing the drain plug bolt to go too far into the oil pan causing it to strip the oil pan. Mr. ***** called Elk Grove Nissan and they told him that it was Elk Grove Honda’s responsibility since we removed the drain plug and that it “wasn’t leaking or stripped” prior to us removing the drain plug. This is a false statement. We would not know the condition of the drain plug unless we removed it. The fault lies with the last facility that did his oil change, not Elk Grove Honda. You can do research on the web and find many of the same situations where repair facilities do not follow proper oil change procedures. In fact, the web site ******** has an article about this. A good example of this is if a repair facility over torques/tightens wheel lug nuts and the facility that is next to take off the wheel lug nuts brakes the wheel stud, isn’t responsible for someone else over torqueing the wheel lugs. Even with all the facts that showed Elk Grove Honda didn’t cause Mr. *****’s problem, we offered him an extremely favorable offer to replace the oil pan. The retail cost is $473.65 plus tax. Elk Grove Honda offered to replace it for $243.00 plus tax since ****** ** *** ***** refused to assist the customer. Even with the extremely gracious offer, Mr. ***** continued to blame us for someone else’s fault. Mr. ***** went to the general manager and she stated that our offer to assist was extremely fair. Then, when Mr. ***** didn’t get it for free from us, he went to Call Curtis at Channel 10 in Sacramento. The Call Curtis rep was given the facts, agreed with us that we were not at fault. It was at this time that the Elk Grove Honda pulled its goodwill due to any goodwill was taken away by Mr. *****. To surmise, Elk Grove Honda didn’t cause the problem, ****** ** *** ***** did. Mr. ***** was informed of the situation, along with other items that need his attention and given an extremely generous offer that he refused. Elk Grove Honda assumes no responsibility.

Consumer Response:

I went to Elk Grove Honda for 2 recalls on Jan 03 2014 Once my van was there I asked them might as well change oil for me as well. 
 
My oil change was always done by Nissan of Elk Grove. Once the work was done they called me and pick van up. When I arrived three they told me they were not able to tighten my drain plug because it was stripped and glue together to hard the leak.
 
How they never called me about this issue and are lying about it that they called me. they blamed mall to Nissan but I asked them how come they never called me to show me the problem to which they had no reply. I did approch to Nissan and told them what happened to which they asked me if it was  leaking before, I said no The general manager ignore me for an hour before they talked to me. she told me she was going to check into it and called me, I waited for 2 weeks and she never called when I tried to reach her, she finally had assistant manager called me to whom service advisor told that he never called me and was informed when i went to pick my van.
 
Both Nissan and Honda are pointing fingers to each other and were avoiding me I'm ready to take lie detector test that what  I wrote is true and if proven wrong I will pay for lie detector test. I feel like due to my skin color they have been avoiding me and been very unprofessional towards me.
 
I'm looking for favorable reply from you

Business Response:

Per Elk Grove Honda’s first response, our position hasn’t changed.  We are not responsible for another shops mistake. 

4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my Mazda CX7 2010 from this dealership, I also paid $750 for GAP insurance. Per GAP insurance policy if the policy is cancelled within 30days (and there is no claim), the delaer has to fully refund the money back to the customer. I submitted the GAP cancellation within the first 30 days and the finance people told me that it will take 4-6 weeks to process the cancellation and I will receive the check in mail. After waiting for more than 6 weeks, these people are still not responsive and whenever I talk to them they keep saying that it is out of our hands. The finance lady (*******) said that it is under the general manager's hand (*****). I called ***** and she said I will call you as soon as I find out what is going on. They made me go to the dealership 2 times (from Davis to Elk Grove, about 30 min drive) to do the paperwork and I am still getting nothing from them. I am tired of calling them. PLEASE HELP.

Desired Settlement: I just want my $750 that they owe me since I cancelled my GAP insurance within the first 30 day of the purchase.

Business Response: We sent Mr. ***** ********** his Gap money on February 13, 2014 and he cashed the check in the amount of $744.60 on February 24, 2014. I will email you a copy of the check.


Customer Review(s)