Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Downtown Ford Sales, Inc.

Phone: (916) 442-6931 525 N 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95811 http://www.downtownfordsales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Downtown Ford Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Downtown Ford Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 1990 Business started: 11/04/1960 in CA Business started locally: 11/04/1960 Business incorporated 12/11/1964 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 02000.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 9149.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Enos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Enos, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Downtown Ford Sales, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    525 N 16th St

    Sacramento, CA 95811 (916) 442-6931

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Better Business Bureau, I am writing to you concerning my 2015 Ford Fiesta SE that I purchased from Downtown Ford in September. A little background about my car and case – I went to Downtown Ford wanting an automatic vehicle. I looked over several vehicles and found this one. We, (the salesperson) and I took it out for a test drive. I noticed some hesitation when driving it but was told that is how these vehicles drive by the salesperson. We came back to the dealership after about a 15 minute ride and I was told I was approved for the car. We began filling out the paperwork, at no point during the interaction was I informed that the vehicle was a Dual vehicle (both manual and automatic). I went in specifically for an automatic and would not have purchased the vehicle if I had known it was a manual transmission as well. Over the next few months I noticed the shuddering, the high RPM when I would accelerate from a stop and the hesitation with the car. I called and talked to the dealership and asked if there was anything specific to my vehicle that I needed to be made aware of surprisingly, my car had a major recall, they had other customers with the exact problems that I had been noticing and bringing to Ford’s attention. I wonder if I had not contacted them, if they would have contacted me to alert me to the recall. I was told the parts were on back order and would not be available for 6 weeks or more. I inquired if my vehicle was going to operate and I was told yes. Still very concerned, transporting myself and family and this being my only means of transport, and the attention Downtown Ford gave me – I continued to drive it. Finally I was able to get in to the dealership on April 12, 2016 for them to basically drop the transmission and complete the work and install some SOP clutches (please see attached service invoices for all of the mechanical work on vehicle) – This was supposedly going to fix the problem with the car. They also said they pre-programmed the computer on the car as well. I picked it up after they had it for 4 days and I was in a loaner from Enterprises. I still felt like it was a concern driving the vehicle but gave it an opportunity since they had fixed it. (or so they claimed). A few weeks to a month later I noticed that it was starting to show some of the same signs it did prior to the “fix”. I called and spoke to ***** Hall and expressed my concern and brought the car back in to the dealership on June 2, 2016 stating that the transmission jerks on upshifting and also the shuddering. They checked it out said they performed a TXM adaptive learning and nothing was noted at that time. With all due respect, I don’t really care what the computer says when they run it for an hour or two and I’m the one in it 7 days a week that is alerting them to potential problems with my car. Again, I received a loaner on 6/2/16 – so again I’m told the dealership. I take it and back home, this is on June 3, 2016. The next day on June 4, 2016 – I made plans to head out of town and was ready to go, and while I was parked for about 10 minutes idling – the vehicle started shuddering and having very slow acceleration I immediately called the dealership to alert them. Due to it being the weekend – they had minimal techs and I spoke to ****** and explained the AC was blowing hot and the shuddering concern, he told me to bring it in right away and he would see about getting a tech to look at it. I went straight to Downtown Ford and spoke to ******. He listened impatiently as I addressed my concerns. I told him that this was becoming my vehicle into the shop more than I was driving it. He then took my car and said he would speak to his boss to get me a loaner for which I was grateful. He said that he would have a guy just test drive my vehicle to see if they could detect my concerns. I said ok I would check in with them on Monday. I called ***** on Monday and they still needed time after the weekend to check on it. So I said I would check back on Tuesday. I received a call Monday from ****** ******** and I told him about my dissatisfaction with the car and all of the problems I have been having. He said he understood that I was not happy and wanted to get out of it and he would have his manager **** ************ contact me on Tuesday. No one ever contacted me from Downtown Ford. So on Wednesday I called and spoke to Jeff – I told him I had not been contacted at all by Jeff, he said he would contact him once to hung up with me and have him call me. I received a voicemail from **** ************ letting me know to contact the BBB and if I was really unhappy with the vehicle it was a pretty simple process to have happen. So we are at this junction. I have contacted the dealership more times to try to resolve it, I have taken my car to the dealership more times than I care to share and yet no resolution has been reached. I continually complain of the hesitation and shuddering and the dealership continually tells me they don’t detect a problem. I cannot keep insisting that there is a defect and they refuse to listen. I don’t feel safe in the car, not comfortable driving it any kind of distance and I do not have the time or the energy to keep going back and forth to a dealership to resolve a problem on a 2015 vehicle. I have barely had the car 9 months and it is having these recalls and concerns. I would hate to see what will happen at a year or two. I never asked for or wanted a manual vehicle. Thank you, ******* **********

Desired Settlement: I do everything I am supposed to do per my contractual agreement by maintaining my full coverage insurance and paying my car payment in a timely fashion and I expect a safe, reliable, vehicle free from defects and that is not what I have right now. I gave every opportunity to the dealership to resolve it and they told me to go this route so I would appreciate a swift resolution to this situation and will await your decision.

Business Response: We have contacted ******* ********** and invited her back into the dealership to check out her vehicle.  She will make a list of any concerns with the vehicle as some of them are intermittent and not always present.  We will put a technician in the vehicle to ride with Ms. ********** to try to verify what the concerns are.  We will put Ms. ***** ***** in a courtesy loaner while we diagnose and repair any concerns.

Consumer Response: Hello BBB. 
I am writing in response to the above referenced claim number with Downtown Ford. Per their response of putting me in the car with the technician so that I could ride along with them and point out areas of concern, which they claim happens intermittently. Well, as of today 7/5/2016 the problem still has not been resolved. The shuddering is still present as well as the AC blowing hot, I am tired of taking the car back in to the dealership for what they deem an intermittent problem, but it's not intermittent to me when it happens outside the scope of when they are there and I am the one suffering in a vehicle that is not performing as it should for being a 2015 vehicle that should not exhibit any issues at all.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business has contacted her directly to address the pending issues. There is a waiting period on the needed parts. Consumer understands that the delivery issues may be out of business control. Consumer appreciates business cooperation but will consider the matter resolved once the actual repairs addressed and completed.

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tint on the back window had a big hole in it I took it in to have the tint remove, the air conditioner check, the alignment check and the oil changed because the oil light came on after only 1800 miles. I got the tint remove but accidentially or on purpose they put another big hole and 3 scrapes in the side passenger's window in the back that was not there when I brought it in. They said they changed the oil. The oil is low and black. They did not check the air and they did not check the alignment because the alignment person called in sick. They are all suppose to be certified mechanics but they do not know how to do an alignment. The car is a lemmon and I called within 3 days and they told me there was no lemmon law for used cars in California. They have been extremely rude and have hung up on me and have lied which I know is not against the law but damage to a car is and they damaged my car. The hood on the car is also very crooked but the car fax says no accidents. There is patched paint on the back bumper. I have tried to call them to fix and remove the remaining tint because they damaged it but no response. They were coming out of the woodwork to sell it to me. I paid cash.

Desired Settlement: Fix the car or refund my money in full and I will go elsewhere.

Business Response: The vehicle in questions was brought in to us on July 23 for a removal of the tint and to have the oil change light reset. No other work was scheduled. Before delivery an oil change was done on the vehicle, but the oil change light was not reset. This is the first we are hearing of the damage to the tint on a separate window. We would be happy to either replace or remove the tint for the window in question.

Business Response: The vehicle in questions was brought in to us on July 23 for a removal of the tint and to have the oil change light reset. No other work was scheduled. Before delivery an oil change was done on the vehicle, but the oil change light was not reset. This is the first we are hearing of the damage to the tint on a separate window. We would be happy to either replace or remove the tint for the window in question.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I would like the window tint remove and put back on without damage.  As to the oil change I reject there response I would like a full oil change and the meter reset.  I do not trust this institution so I would like it to be done elsewhere and present them with the receipt.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Downtown Ford Sales, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart