Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chase Chevrolet Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 475-6600 Fax: (209) 475-6650 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 8349, Stockton, CA 95208 http://www.chasechevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chase Chevrolet Co. offers automotive repair and used car dealership services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chase Chevrolet Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chase Chevrolet Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chase Chevrolet Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1971 Business started: 06/06/1947 in CA Business incorporated 06/06/1947 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 00970.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 5007.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Chase, President Mr. John Ferraiolo, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Chase, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Ferraiolo, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Chase Chevrolet Co. is a new and used car dealership.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 6441 Holman Rd

    Stockton, CA 95212 (209) 475-6620 (209) 475-6770 (800) 242-4273

  • PO Box 8349

    Stockton, CA 95208

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2006 Saturn ion to have it diagnosed for a check engine light. After having it for a couple of days, Jesus called me and said that the car was fine all the sensor and wires where ok. They reset the code and needed to be reflashed to fix the check engine light from coming back on. If problem continued then the *** will need to be replaced. They told me the cost for initial diagnosis is $125 plus the reflashimg will be $282.90 total cost. So I trusted that they solved the problem. I picked up the car the next day they stated car is fine you can drive it home. Paid for the services. Drove the car one mile and the check engine and check gage come back on. Same problem I took the car in for. I went to put gas in the car bc it was running low when I got back on the car the check gauge light came off but engine light stayed on. I put two and two together and realized I had a bad gas cap which was causing all my problems. Went and bought a new gas cap and problems stopped. Called Jesus at chase and he said that the code they where getting was not related to an evacuation issue so they never brother to look at the gas cap. I feel that Chase miss diagnosed my car they are the experts, thats why I took it there but if they misdiagnose and don't fix the problem, then they should refund your money. I am glad i did not change the *** like they where suggesting, that would cost me another $1000. I want chase to refund the money that I paid for the wrong diagnosis. I have receipts and old gas cap and can prove to them that was the problem. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money that I paid to be refunded back to me.

Business Response: I will be happy to reimburse. Check is being mailed to address on **** ******* ** ********** ***** **** **** *

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 10, 2015, I called to schedule an appointment for a second recall notice on my 2005 Chevy Impala. I wanted to take the car in for service on March 13 and get it the same day. The initial recall notice stated the repair only took 15 minutes. The Customer Service Representative (CSR), *****, stated they could not get it done in 2 hours, so I would have to leave my car there. For this inconvenience, I would be provided with a rental car free of charge. I asked her how long it would take to get the rental car. She responded with "it does not take long." So, I schedule my appointment for Thursday morning so I could drop off my car, pick up the rental car, and go to work. A few days prior to my appointment, the CSR called to confirm the appoint. I informed her I would be there. I inquired about the rental car, again. She reaffirmed that I would be provided a rental car free of charge. On Thursday, March 19, I took my car to Chase Chevrolet for my recall service. The CSR took my information and keys, pulled my car for the service lane, and retrieved the car's mileage. Once he was back at the service desk, he imputed the remainder of the information. When he finished filling out the service form, I inquired about my rental car. "For this service, I don't think I can give you a rental car," he stated. "This service only takes a few minutes," he added. "That is what I informed the CSR, I spoke to for this appointment," I replied. She said because Chase was receiving a lot of cars, they could not do it in 15 minutes, I informed him. The CSR went to get his supervisor. I informed the supervisor of my situation. Again, he stated they could not give me a rental car free of charge. I informed him I had to be at work shortly. "I can get this done in a few minutes," he said. That is what I wanted in the first place, I replied. I was upset that Chase did not honor their free rental car as agreed upon when I set the appointment up.

Desired Settlement: I would like Chase to honor their promise of a free rental car. It is very upsetting that one CSR would say one thing and make promises they do not intent to honor. I filled out a form on their website to buy a car and I received a call within a few minutes. A company should do what they promise not what they want. There was a young lady there that was also promised a rental car and it was not provided either.

Business Response: Tell us why here...If the service is still required I would be happy to provide a rental car free of charge, and I am very sorry for the lack of communication on our part.
If you rented a car I would also offer to reimburse you. Thank You for your time and I am sorry for the mis-communication. **** *********

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  You are making the same easy remark as the first Customer Service Representative promised me.  "A free rental car WILL BE provided at no charge to you.  What did I get?  Not a rental car free of charge.  I feel robbed.  Robbed!  How do I know that you will honor your words?  I would like a certificate for a rental car for required repairs of my Impala signed by someone in your staff that has the authority to make such a promise.  That, sir, would make me whole. 

I need to see some positive action on your part as a corporation.  I don't even like the modification performed on my car.  Chevrolet took the cheapest way out of this recall.  The ignition can still move to the off position because the modification is done to the key.  What happens if the "insert" comes off of the key?  What do I do then?  What happens when I replace my key?  Where is the insert for the spare.  We are talking about human lives, sir.  But that is a different complaint. 

Sincerely,

***** ** **********
Owner 2005 Chevrolet Impala
Command Sergeant Major (Retired)
U.S. Army


11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into the service department at 730am on 11/19/14 due to the engine light being on and engine power lost and unable to operate. In addition, to this there is a recall item that needs to be fixed on my car. i obtained a rental car from ********** (my car is still under warranty) i was told if the repairs were covered under warranty my rental would be covered. it is now 1150am on 11/20/14, i am still in a rental at my expense and Chase Chevrolet has not checked my car to identify the issue and cannot provide eta on when they will get to my car and they are unwilling to cover the charges of the rental car. I find this to be unacceptable, for i need to let the rental car company know when i will be returning the car and who will be covering the cost. Along with i cannot afford to keep the car another day. In addition to that i will have to return the car at 730am 11/21/14 and i will have no transportation and will miss 8 hrs of work because i live in Stockton but work in Oakland which is over 60 miles away. If the service department cannot get to my car they should at least cover the expense of the rental.

Desired Settlement: To pay all rental charges and work on my vehicle in a timely manner.

Business Response:    Chase Chevrolet will provide rental coverage for this occurrence.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   My issue has been resolved, my car will be ready tomorrow and they will be covering the cost of the rental.  Thank you so much for your assistance and thank you Chase Chevrolet for your timely response.

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my care in for replace exhaust manifold\ converter. When I picked up my car fuel fumes where over whelmed my respiratory system and burned my eyes. This was not a problem when I took my car to their shop beforehand never did I smell fuel fumes until they worked on my car. Now its $475 to fix a problem that was fraudulent created by them to extort monies from me!

Desired Settlement: refund and or medical bills paid!

Business Response: Mr ***** purchased an exhaust manifold from our parts department over the counter. He stated he would put it on himself. After a period of time he came back and had us install. AFTER THAT Mr ***** came back complaining of a fuel smell, he was advised he had a leaking fuel pump. He states that we caused the problem. The part we in stalled is in the front of vehicle, fuel pump is in tank in the back. We still agreed to fix his problem charging cost on the fuel pump and installed for free after he agreed. I feel we went above and beyond and Mr ***** does not have any thing else coming.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The fact that im aware of cars just as much as anyone else in the filed an before i took my car in to the dealer ship there was nothing wrong other then what i asked to be fixed. the dealer ship is practicing what i call fraudulent problems claims to its clients in order to get them to buy products and/or repair's from its dealer ship! and the fact that i had my car looked at before i took it to them assure me of their illegal pratices not only would i like my money back id like to be compensated $9,000 in USA currency for mental anguish/damages etc.. i also would like to know if there are any other law suites or class action in similar effects regarding fraudulent practices from this corporation and ask to be contacted/connected with the individuals legal team to participate in the resolve of this illegal practices this dealership is entangled within.
Sincerely,

Curry

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am sickened by the way Chase handles buy backs within two weeks of original purchases.I purchased a Tahoe 2 weeks ago and I had a personal issue that led me to have to downgrade to a cheaper vehicle. I went to the dealership because I was told to go back in by salesperson ******. I was told that they could help me. I went in and was told they would give me 35k for a truck that I had just paid 42k on two weeks prior. This is 7k less than purchased for. Immediately I was told to look at it as "they are doing me a favor by even talking to me about trading it in". This is not doing me a favor when I am losing 7k on this SUV and offering another car with minimal discount and asking for 5k as down payment that would change my payments from $649.00 to $545.00. I was looking at my options and after 3 hours I was not ready to buy so I asked for my keys back and ****** brought them to me and stated" Don't think that I will be calling you back". I said ok, thank you and left. ****** stated o me that he would get told something in their next sales meeting because he was with me for so long and he did not make a deal. I told him that I would not close a deal just to satisfy his his selling ability. After 1 hour I received a call from ****** saying that I could think about it and go back the next day. I go back the next day and look at more cars. I leave and get call after call from ****** saying come in and see more cars, I told him I would try. He calls me a few more times and I answer. We talk and tell him I need to sleep on it tothink it through. I go to hang up and decide to stay on the line and I hear ****** say" I'm not ********** waiting. I am disgusted with the way they handled my business. I decided not to go back because of this incident. I percieved that the ONLY intention by Chase and ***** was to sell me another vehicle and gain another commision.

Desired Settlement: to give back the actual paid value on my trade in that was bought 2 weeks prior.

Business Response: It is not always easy to satisfy a customer. We do try though and are successful most of the time. Maybe in this case we misunderstood the customers goal. It is not always easy to simply cancel a purchase because they had something come up or changed their mind. I do apologize for the perceived treatment (I was not there). If customer wishes to contact me I will try to help.
**** ********* 
###-###-#### 
Thank You.

Consumer Response:  I am not satisfied with this response. I believe that Chase can at least offer some sort of recompense for the bad service provided. I would appreciate either extended warranty or any other compensatory item for this inconvenience. Thank you for your time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chase Chevrolet Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)