Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Acura of Modesto

Phone: (209) 527-7000 Fax: (209) 527-7015 View Additional Phone Numbers 4325 Mchenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95356 http://www.acuraofmodesto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Acura of Modesto offers automotive dealership and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acura of Modesto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Acura of Modesto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Modesto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 1988 Business started: 11/01/1984 in CA Business incorporated 11/01/1984 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Occupational Licensing (DMV)
8243 Demetre Ave, Sacramento CA 95828
https://dmv.ca.gov/wasapp/olinq2/
Phone Number: (916) 229-3126
LODInfoReq@dmv.ca.gov
The number is 34568.

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 2213.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Lanker, President Mr. Margaret Tadlock, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Lanker, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Lanker Automotive, Inc.
Products & Services

Acura of Modesto is a full service new, used vehicle dealership with auto repair service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4325 Mchenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (888) 897-4229 (888) 897-7806 (888) 858-4093

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Acura MDX Advance in January 2014 from Acura of Modesto. At closing we spoke with the finance manager and completed the proper paperwork (Truth in Lending Disclosure, ect) and we paid the DMV for registration. We were told at closing that we would likely be getting a small refund for the estimated fees and costs and that they over collect if anything of licensing and registration. However, three months later a notice came in the mail for registration to be paid again for an additional $356 due 05/12/14. My wife contacted the dealership spoke with the manager and he told her that it was likely an error but that she should call the DMV. In addition, he would contact their in house DMV representative and see if there was a problem he would call her back and let her know. He never called her back. She called the DMV and was told that the funds could still be posting but the $584 were paid and pending. The phone representative said they were having system issues and very far behind on processing with multiple systems. A few months went by and a delinquent notice came from the DMV for $571 which included a late fee for the late registration. My wife called the DMV again and was told the $540 paid in Jan 2014 when we purchased the car covered delinquent registration from 2012 and nothing for 2014. She then contacted the dealership requesting they pay $356 and the manager and finance manager said no way would they cover delinquent registration and they didn't care if it had been disclosed that the fees are estimated. I reviewed how we were told that if anything we would be getting a small refund; however, they still wouldn't agree to cover the registration that should have been disclosed when we purchased the car. If we knew that we were going to have to pay registration for 2012-2014, we would have asked for the money off the purchase price of the car.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting $356 refund in a check to us for the registration/license fee that came due shortly after we purchased the car. The dealership knew the fees had not been paid to the DMV and failed to disclose and collect everything that should have been paid. We even paid so much for the car that we had to request a 90 day deferment for the 1st payment. The last thing we expected was another bill in the mail!

Business Response:

We certainly appreciate all our customers feedback and do what we can to rectify any situations that arise. However in this case the clients description of the facts are way off. The facts are as follows.

The license fees expired on 5/12/ 13, not in 2012 as the client indicated. The client was charged $428 in fees and sent a $48 refund shortly after. The client was told that they were paying for fees from 5/12/13 to

5/12/14. In other words some of the clients money went toward about 8 months of back fees. This is allowed by the department of Motor Vehicles.  The amount toward back fees would have been approximately $254.

 The client was also given an additional $500 off the final price at the time that more than compensated for the back fees they had to pay. We feel we have been more than fair with this client and feel bad they do not agree.

Business Response: The facts are as follows.
The client purchased the vehicle on 1-1-2014
The plates on the car expired on 5-12-13, not in 2012 as the client has indicated.
$584 was the amount due to DMV in back fees and penalties. The client was charged $428 on the contract( which is enclosed. )
The client received a $48 refund check that they cashed. ( copy also enclosed.)
The dealership paid  $204 of the back fees.
The clients net charge of $380 were to bring the fees current through 5-12-14. So a portion of the clients money did go toward back fees, approximatetly$254. This is allowed by DMV.
We believe the expiration date was discussed with the client because it was written on the write up document. The client was also given a final discount over that amount
to compensate for the amount that went toward back fees.
We believe we have been more than fair with the client and are dissappointed that they do not feel this way.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: This is another lie from the dealership and they are distorting the truth again. First the car wasnt purchased on 1/1/2014 check your records. The purchase price WASNT reduced because past due fees were disclosed to us. This is not the situation. The price of the vehicle was reduced because we negotiated the price and weren't willing to pay the asking price. In addition, we agreed to buy the extended warranty and overall the cost was more than we intended to pay. That is why the purchase price was reduced. It is a flat out lie that we were told anything about past due fees. In fact, we were told the car was current and we would be recieving a refund for the current registration being collected at closing and if anything. My wife specifically asked so we won't have to pay anything else this year on the registration is this correct? And it was stated no this should be more than enough. However, two months later a notice came from the DMV requesting an additional $356 be paid by 5/12 for vehicle registration and fees because it was delinquent when the car was purchased..... When the notice came my wife called the manager and was told that something didn't sound right and he would look into the situation. He said it sounded like the DMV made a mistake and the records weren't updated and he would call her back if she needed to do anything. He never called back... The dealership should pay $356.

The dealshersip is not displaying honesty or integrity. The truth is being distorted. 

8/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Acura of Modesto is dishonest with sales practices with military members. I am an out of state resident (living in CA) and was looking to have my registration completed for my state of residence. I was personally assured that I was going to receive the out of state registration as requested in the sales process. In signing the contract for the vehicle, I was once again told I was going to get getting the out of state registration.Then a few weeks later, to my surprise, I received CA license plates. In talking to the dealership about the issue, the sales manager told me that it was "impossible to do an out of state registration" and they could only do it for CA, completely denying the fact that I was clearly told it would not be an issue in signing the contract. This is in spite of the fact that I had already contacted my state of residence before buying the car and they said it was no problem AND I was personally assured it would be easy by Acura.I am sure there will be nothing that can be done about it now as I was too trusting that I was going to be taken care of as promised and nothing was in writing from the sales manager in the contract. But I want to make it well aware that Acura of Modesto is dishonest and completely ignorant of the law and how it pertains to the military. Besides the registration issue, it was clearly stated to me on the phone that while living in CA, anyone (including active duty military) MUST register their cars and get a CA driver's license while in the state of CA. However, we have been told directly from the California Highway Patrol that with a valid military ID military members can keep their cars and licenses for their state of residence.In the end, I have learned a valuable lesson in dealing with car dealers and most importantly I want this information of a lack of knowledge and dishonest dealings made known. As an active duty military officer, I do not want this dealership taking advantage of any of my sailors whether it is by dishonesty or ignorance.

Desired Settlement: I doubt that anything will come of this, but primarily I want AoM to at least acknowledge and apologize that a mistake was made. In doing so, maybe they will become better prepared to deal with military members correctly.I want this information to be known to the public that they are either dishonest and/or unaware of the law and how it pertains to the military.Ideally, I want my registration to be changed to my state of residence with a refund for the cost difference/no cost to myself.

Business Response:

we sincerely appreciate all our clients feedback because that is how we improve as a company. In this instance it is important to note that although we did make some mistakes and it will be

important to learn from those mistakes it is important to point out the following;

-Acura of Modesto did not profit one red penny from charging California DMV fees. All money that was collected went to the DMV.

-Acura of Modesto did not receive the paper work that exempted the client from a portion of California fees called VLF fees for over a month after the transaction.

-When Acura of Modesto did receive the proper paper work the client was refunded the correct amount charged which was over half of the original DMV fees charged.

-Where we failed the client had to do more with his original request to register the vehicle in Texas. In regards to this Acura of Modesto as well as all other California dealers rarely if ever

can actually complete an out of state registration because of various state inspection and DMV laws.

In this case we are working with the Texas department of motor vehicles in order to accomplish what the customer requested and if successful will honor the clients request.

-Acura of Modesto has never taken advantage of the military population or any other of our clients. Furthermore we appreciate all the sacrifices the members of the military and they're famiies make.

-Acura of Modesto has a very good record with the Better Business Bureau and all other rating services and we will continue to strive for the highest standards in all our business dealings with clients.  

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Modesto
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)