Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc.

Phone: (916) 454-4433 Fax: (916) 454-0406 1717 Stockton Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95816 http://www.bertoluccis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc. offers automotive repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1948 in CA Business incorporated 10/03/1960 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Automotive Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 23561.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Bertolucci, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Bertolucci, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Bertolucci's Body and Fender Shop offers a full range of collision-related automotive repairs and services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1717 Stockton Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 454-4433

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was rear-ended on 12/23/14.When I was hit my reservoir hose was knocked loose and fluid was slightly leaking. The car was still on perfect condition and I had driven it the following couple days to run a couple errands. My car was picked up by a tow truck roughly the beginning of January and taken to be repaired. I picked up my car on Thurs 2/12/15 and the body shop rep told me he thought I might need a new water pump or thermostat. I told him I found this hard to believe as my husband who is a mechanic had replaced both less than 7 months ago. When I got in my car I found the heater to be on 91 which indicates my car must have been overheating. I ended up breaking down less than 5 miles away from their shop while being 8 months pregnant. I called them immediately and asked what they did to my car. I explained it worked perfect before it was dropped off and now I was stranded. They told me to pay for a tow and take it to a shop. I told them I should not have to pay for a tow and a mechanic when the car was working before they had it. He told me they looked under the hood with flashlights while they had it but didnt do anything else. I explained to them neither I nor the insurance company authorized them to be under the hood of my car. My husband has spent the last 4 days fixing my car. The body shop had punctured a hole in my radiator which then caused my water pump to go out and several other issues. They left their flashlight under the hood of my car. I ended up having to pay $800 out of pocket and renting a car for 4 days. My back windows also now will not open and my sunroof wont open either. When I called them about this and explained I dont feel comfortable bringing my car back there but wanted it repaired since even in the scope of work page it states they removed the moldings ect and now it doesnt fit properly. They said they would send someone to my house to fix it or I could prove they even did it. This has been the worst experience I have ever had with a repair shop.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the rental car as well as the parts I had to pay for out of pocket. I would also like to have *** fix my windows and sunroof and the body shop to cover the cost of that repair-

Business Response:

Mrs.  ****** was rear-ended on 12/23/14. She told ********** insurance that her reservoir hose was knockked loose and her husband reconnected it. She continued to drive the car for a couple of days.

On 1/6/15, vehicle was towed In to Bertoiucci’s for repairs. When ***** (estimator) began to inspect vehicle, he called owner and asked her why she had It towed In. Because of the damage sustained from the accident, he did not see a reason for a tow. She asked  for a tow because the vehicle had a leak. ***** told her he would look for a leak. During inspection he could not find a leak.

The vehicle sat for 3 weeks waiting for insurance. When ****(operations Manager)went to move the car, it was cold outside so he turned on the heater. The heater never blew hot air. To trouble shoot he checked the reservoir and it was empty. He added 1/2 gallon of distilled water. Due to this problem, we decided to not do a test drive. **** had ***** call Mrs. ***** and inform her she could have a water pump or a thermostat not working properly, and the vehicle needed to go to a mechanical shop. She found it hard to believe because a few months earlier her husband had installed a water pump and thermostat. Again, to protect the vehicle, we moved the vehicle less than a mile.

On 2/12/15, owner picked up vehicle. At this time, *****, notified her again of the problem and to get it to a mechanic ASAP. Shortly afterward she called us because her car heated up and site was on the side of the road. She explained her problem to **** (Office Manager) and accused us of damaging her vehicle. **** told her in this type of situation, we have the vehicle towed in to an Independent dealer for inspection and diagnosis If the dealer finds Bertolucci’s at fault, Bertoiucci’s would pay for the tow and repairs. If the dealer found it was accident related, the insurance company would pay all charges. If the dealer finds the damage due to previous mechanical work or normal wear and tear, the owner is responsible. Mrs.  ****** said no to the authorization for inspection at an Independent dealer. Only her husband does the mechanical work on her car. She doesn’t trust mechanical shops.

On 2/14/15, Mrs. ****** called to talk to *****. At this time ***** informed her of the authorization for inspection, and again she said no.

She informed him that her sunroof was not working and her rear window did not roll up and down. ***** told her he would send our electrical vendor to her home to inspect it. Vender found it not working due to normal wear and tear. As of now, ********** is working directly with her on these issues.

Mrs ****** has stated that her husband repaired the vehicle, without giving us the opportunity to have the vehicle inspected and diagnosed by an independent dealer. And since we took precautions, with minimal driving, we are denying her request. It will have to be proved otherwise that we caused the damage.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: there are several incorrect statements in their response. I was never notified by ***** prior to picking up my car that there was any mechanical issues. I also NEVER asked him to keep a eye on any leak nor did the insurance company. When I picked up my vehicle the heater was on 91 which indicates it was overheting while they were driving it. ***** personally told me that they drove my vehicle to 59th street. Now they are saying it was driven at all. I also never refused to take my car to the dealership **** has told me ***** was off that day and wanted to hold off until she spoke to him. They only mentioned the dealership once! When the vendor came to look at my windows he agreed that they were working before the body work was done and he could see there had been no previous issue with them. He looked over my paperwork from the shop and did the repair at my home. He did say the sunroof looked like it had been knocked off track from the accident and to contact the inurance company about having them pay for the repair. There lack of customer service is appalling and so is there back peddling of statements!! 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bertolucci's Body & Fender Shop, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)