Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Amerio Law Firm P.C.

Phone: (916) 419-1111 1651 Response Rd Ste 111, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.ameriolaw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amerio Law Firm P.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Amerio Law Firm P.C. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Amerio Law Firm P.C.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2012 Business started: 05/24/2004 in CA Business started locally: 05/24/2004 Business incorporated 06/30/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of CA- Attorney
180 Howard St, San Francisco CA 94105
http://www.calbar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: 415-538-2000
feedback@calbar.ca.gov
The number is 230469.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ashley Amerio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ashley Amerio, President
Business Category

Attorneys Attorneys - Bankruptcy Attorneys - Criminal Attorneys - Personal Injury & Property Damage Attorneys - Social Security & Disability Attorneys - DUI Lawyers-Criminal Lawyers-Personal Injury & Property Damage Lawyers

Products & Services

This company offers attorney services for bankruptcy, criminal and DUI charges.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Amerio Law Firm P.C. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1651 Response Rd Ste 111

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 419-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Amerio Law firm to represent me for a auto accident thinking the driver was insured. Turns out he wasnt, so it was or should have been an open and shut case. Instead they used stall tactics for almost a year. I dealt with more than 3 different attorneys, one of which was fired without my notification. After being told months later my attorney was no longer with the organization I was transferred to Jeff and given the run around for months more. The justification for holding onto my check was they were waiting for insurance to submit their invoice. Insurance/****** submitted the invoice months ago but it wasnt good enough, I had to go to ****** myself to present the attorneys I HIRED to calculate and give me my money even though I HIRED THEM. They didnt work for me, they worked for themselves and still took 33 1/2% plus extra fees. I cant believe these folks are still in business practice. I will be moving forward with my actions against this firm for grand theft.

Desired Settlement: I want the money owed for work not done. I need $2000 returned to me to settle this issue otherwise I will press forward.

Business Response: Please ask Mr. ****** to sign a release with permission to discuss his case, and I will respond to his complaint.  Thank you.

8/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I should have done more research prior to signing up with them as I have found out so many unsavory details. After paying over $4, 000 I have had to deal with 7-8 different individuals all which have mishandled details regarding my case. My personal information has basically been floating around their office with whomever. No structure at all, but i was still willing to try to give it a chance. The attorney that was assigned to my case was far less organized and competent than i would have expected from a firm who supposedly specializes in Bankruptcy. I did not receive even half the services that were promised to me. I did most of the footwork and they couldn't even do simple data entry. After experiencing what was supposed to be last signing meeting since I have already had to come in twice due to numerous mistakes , there once again was another mishap and I got an email again because the "attorney" lost one of the documents. That is when I decided I was done. I do not feel comfortable nor confident with this firm handling any of my personal affairs. I have been trying since last week to get a refund to no avail. ****** ****** did try to contact me on Friday but I couldn't talk about the issue in depth. She requested I call her today in which I did, I was put on hold and then the girl came back asked who I was and then returned to the phone then stating ****** ****** was unavailable. Sounds like the run around and cat vs mouse game to me. I am full of anxeity right now, All I want is my money returned and to never have to deal with these people ever again. Got a call back just now from ****** ****** who was very rude and condescending, she informed me that she basically did not want to refund my money and would bill me for services that were not rendered. They have done nothing but make mistake after mistake and cause me undue stress. All I want is my money returned to me and to not have to deal with this type of unprofessional behavior.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my money returned to me minus the $500 fee stated in my contract and to not have to deal with this type of unprofessional behavior.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* has been a client since May 3, 2012.   Initially, she retained the firm to file a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, as the first attached fee agreement reflects.  After 4 years of representation and switching courses (as her case did),  it is inevitable that a client will deal with several different employees.  I assure you, her information does not “float around” our office as she claims.  Rather, it has remained confidential in her file, as well as in our internal database.  For various reasons, Ms. ******* was not able to pay her Chapter 7 fees, as agreed.  As of April 28, 2015, Ms. ******* had paid $1300 of the $1995 she had contracted to pay for her Chapter 7 bankruptcy services.  At that point, it was determined that she was no longer eligible for a Chapter 7 bankruptcy, because her income had increased beyond the qualifying amount.  Therefore, the client wished to change courses and prepare to file for a Chapter 13 bankruptcy instead.  The fees for a Chapter 13 bankruptcy are $4000.  I agreed to credit the full $1300 she paid towards the Chapter 7 legal fees to her Chapter 13 bankruptcy.   Ms. ******* paid the balance of her fees in full in December of 2015.  On March 8, 2016, Ms. ******* met a legal assistant to review her paperwork.  It was determined she was missing some required information, so she agreed to submit those documents at a later time.  On May 1, 2016, a paralegal e-mailed the client detailing a list of 10 required items  that were missing and necessary to complete her case.  That same paralegal then spoke Ms. ******* and she confirmed that client would be dropping off remaining documents the following day, which she did.  Our attorney then fully prepared the remainder of Ms. ******* bankruptcy petition, and her petition review/signing appointment was scheduled for May 13, 2016.  Ms. ******* returned to our office for a 2 hour detailed review of her case with an attorney.  Corrections were made to the petition (this is the point of a petition review), and Ms. ******* refused to sign the petition, because she viewed the corrections as “mistakes”.  Our supervising attorney had an extensive phone conversation with Ms. ******* on May 31, 2016, assuring her that her case was ready to be filed with corrections made from the in-office appointment.  However, the client wanted to have another in office appointment prior to filing case.  This request was honored, and Ms. ******* returned to our office for another 1 hour petition review appointment with the original attorney handling her case.  Ms. ******* has a misunderstanding of the process.  The whole point of a petition review/signing appointment is to make the make necessary corrections during the meeting so the case can be filed.  Ms. ******* felt the petition should have been 100% correct prior to her appointment.   However, this is not feasible in most cases, since the most updated information available must replace outdated information, and that updated information is input by the attorney during the appointment. The next day, after her case had been completely finalized and prepared to file again, Ms. ******* called wanting to cancel, and demanded a full refund of her money.  It is true that I called Ms. ******* on Friday afternoon to let her know that her case was completely finalized and ready to be filed.  She was unavailable to talk at that point, so I asked her to call me Monday.  Unfortunately, when she called, I was unable to answer the call.  I did return her call at my first opportunity that same day.  I was not giving her the “run-around” or playing a game of “cat and mouse”.  Once we did connect via telephone, she did not let me speak, but rather yelled at me, threatened to take me to court, and write bad reviews if I did not return her money.  I told her that my accounting department would send her a billing, as is our standard procedure for all cancellations.   If any money is due back to the client, she will get a refund.  By the end of that day, she had already written negative reviews on numerous websites, including my own Facebook page… demanding a full refund.  Through the BBB, Ms. ******* is requesting a full refund minus the $500 “as stated in my contract”.  However, the Fee Agreement she signed is much more detailed than that.  #3 on page 2 of the attached Fee Agreement she signed on May 3, 2012... as well as the one she signed on April 28, 2015 both explain that $500 is the minimum fee.  She initialed next to #3 both times.  This would cover the administrative costs of the bankruptcy, and her initial evaluation and attorney conversation from 2012, and then again in 2015 when she changed to Chapter 13 bankruptcy.  Additionally, the firm charges $50 per month to maintain a file, and bills for work completed.  Therefore, her billing shows the amount of work completed and the amount of respective fees due to the firm.  Despite the billing, and not inclusive of the 10 + hours of work by my paralegal staff on this case, I am willing to only charge the client the $500 administrative fee plus the 5 + hours of attorney time spent on this case.  I will even waive the $50/month administrative fee. Therefore, her refund would be $1750.  The work on this case has been completed twice.   All that remains is to electronically file the case.   However, at this point, more updates would need to be made prior to filing.  I am happy to send the detailed billing to the client upon request, and also send her partial refund check if she agrees to it.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2015 I called Amerio Law firm after seeing their ads on television regarding "affordable" bankruptcy. I was contacted by a member of the firm who asked a few questions regarding my household income and then was set up with an appointment in September 2015 for a face to face meeting. During the initial and only meeting, my husband and I were informed of the process and what was needed for me, not my husband, to file for bankruptcy. We were informed that the cost was $1695 plus whatever would be required for the court filing fees. We were informed that the payment option they so heavily advertise on TV would result in nothing being done on the case until all payments were made. My husband then paid the fees in full that day so the process could get started. We were told at that time that if I decided not to continue with the process that they would retain $500 in fees, which we agreed to. I met with a firm attorney for about 5 minutes and then was given a folder of paperwork that I was told must be completed before any work could/would start on my case. After spending countless hours printing out records I called Amerio to ask for some help on what else was needed. They informed me that they had to have 2 years of income tax forms. The IRS only sends copies to the address they have on file, I had moved, so no income tax records. Amerio can't proceed without them. I asked to just stop the bankruptcy. Please refund us the balance after the $500. Then they tell me about the monthly fees! First I had heard of this! Then they send me a bill. Charged me $1255 and did NOTHING! Nothing at all! I haven't even turned in a single piece of paperwork to them! They charged me $175 for a 5 minute call from an attorney that I never asked them to make? Petition prep? How? They have no paperwork to prep!

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Amerio Law Firm live up to their agreement with me that if I paid the $1695 up front and then decided not to go through with the filing they would charge a flat $500 fee. Excessive but I did agree to that. They sent me a letter stating that they would refund $440 onto the card that my husband paid with AFTER they told me they couldn't refund the money to the card. So I want the additional $755 back as per the agreement we had with them for a total refund to me of $1195.00

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business has contacted her directly and an agreement was reached. Consumer states business went ahead and issued most of the refund requested and consumer is satisfied.

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Amerio Law to file a bankruptcy for me, they assured me I qualified...collected about $4000 from me and when it came time to file they informed me I didnt qualify and would not refund me my money.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the services not rendered.

Business Response: Attached are documents showing the fees quoted and actual Fees paid by client.

Response:
We appreciate the BBB reaching out to help solve this problem.  The spirit/intention of the BBB is to help solve fee disputes after a client has unsuccessfully attempted to receive a refund directly from the business.  However, in this case, this is the first time we are hearing of such request for a refund, and have not had the opportunity to resolve the issue directly with the client.
This client retained the Law Firm for a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy June 14, 2012.  At the time she retained, she was single (un-married) and qualified for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy.  Per the signed Legal Services Agreement, the client was on a payment plan and paid a total of $1795 + $39 over the course of the next few months.  Our office then called the client 16 times between March 15th, 2013 and July 8th, 2013, because her case was fully prepared and ready to be signed and filed.  On July 10, 2013, the client informed us that had had recently married, which changed the dynamics of a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy case.  Despite additional work involved, our office agreed to file their case jointly for them, since they still qualified for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy together as a couple.   At that time, the clients wanted to hold off until August or September of 2013 to file.   On January 13th, 2014, client cancelled services because her spouse no longer wished to file bankruptcy.  We have not been contacted by clients since that time. The client was never told she did not qualify for Bankruptcy.  This case has now gone on for well over 3 years.  Standard procedure if a client asks for a refund would be for a billing to be completed for services rendered.  If any money is due to the client, a refund is issued.  However, the client has never asked for a refund to date.  Upon request, we are more than happy to generate a billing in this matter.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I never told them I wished to cancel the services. I called and asked for a refund and I was told there was nothing to be refunded. How is this the case if I never got a bankruptcy? Please generate a bill.

Business Response: Company states: We will generate a bill and the consumer should receive it within a week.

Consumer Response:

Hi *******,
My case was closed, but i was waiting for the bill from Amerio before I accepted or denied their response. i NEVER recieved ANYTHING from them! Please advise me on what to do

Thank you

Business Response: The detailed invoice with a description of services rendered was printed earlier this week and was mailed on Wednesday 7/15/15 to the address provided on Bedford Ave. in Fair Oaks, CA.
Client should receive by Monday 7/20/15, at the latest.

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the Armerio Law firm online about possibly helping me with bankruptcy filing. After giving my information, and listening to my options I decided to start the process. I believe the total cost for me was in 1300-1400 range.Information was sent to me concerning the payments, and more information was sent, at a later date, describing what was needed from me as far as documents etc.Part of the information provided Armerio were the dates that I get paid, which was the 15th and the 30th of each month. I admit to not looking over the document concerning pay deductions, automatic from my bank account, for their services throughly, just glancing at the starting month and end month of the payments. Towards the end of the payments, several withdraws were submitted a week or so before my pay dates. By having over draft protection my bank paid the amount then charge me overdraft fees. Why withdrawals were submitted so early, I dont know, when it was known what my pay dates were. I decided, after several of these incidents to stop using their services because I wasn't comfortable with what happened.I requested that no further work be done on my part. After 1250 dollars in payments I received a check from Armerio for 37.50. This is BEFORE anything has been filed with the court, before any contact with the Trustee, so I dont see how any further work could've been done concerning the filing without additional cost, the 200-300 difference between what was paid and the cost doesnt seem sufficient to cover all the work due once the filing would've started. But thats not the reason for this filing.Over 1200 dollars, to me is more than excessive. I didn't expect a refund of all the monies provided, I understand there are cost's etc. But 1200 dollars? Thats isn't reasonable by any means.

Desired Settlement: As stated above I didn't expect a full refund of the money submitted, but I also didnt expect virtually all of my money to be kept.I desire a fair settlement for Armerio, for their services, and for myself, so I can at least start the process over, get my debt taken care of. Be it thru another atty., or calling my creditors and working something out myself.

Consumer Response:

A settlement has been reached between both parties that is satisfactory to both parties involved.
 
Thank you very much for your help.
 

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Amerio Law Firm P.C.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart