Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Five Star Appliance Repair, Inc. offers appliance repair and maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Appliance Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Appliance Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Five Star Appliance Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2011 Business started: 07/25/2008 in CA Business incorporated 07/05/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 45982.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Helms, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Helms, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Products & Services

Five Star Appliance Repair is a full service appliance repair shop that includes refrigerators, freezers, microwaves, cook-tops, washer, dryer, ovens, ranges and garbage disposal repair of most major brands.


Additional Locations

  • 7509 Madison Ave Ste 209 Bldg D

    Citrus Hts, CA 95610 (916) 966-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife called five star repair to look at dishwasher GE MONOGRAM on May 14th 2015.on May 15 2015 ****** *****, company tech arrived at our home in the morning, his gave my wifean estimate repair for $558.48 includes new pump and controle module. does not have the parts, asked my wife service call $65.00, wrote him a check.I contacted sears repair appliance, he showed up and loopked under the face cover and discovered burnt fuse, after looking in his computer he gave me GE recall dept, did not charge us for servicecall because he did not have the right fuse. We contacted GE recall they sent the parts and came in and fixed the unit. neither pump or module control was bad.apparently Five star repairs is using the same methods as car mechanics look under the hood and come up with big bill. That is wrong. in my humble opinion as a consumer I feel that he took advantage of the situation, made up with $65.00 and left.my wife contacted ***** ***** office and was told they do not give money back on service call.I would have no problem with this service call IF ***** ***** diagnosis was half right. Since he was 100% wrong , We are in the right to ask for a full refund of our $65.00 .

Desired Settlement: Full refund of our $65.00 is applicable.other wise Steve Helms is no different than those mechanics that cheat innocent consumers out of their hard earn monies.

Business Response:

Customer *** ******'s wife called on May 14th to schedule a service call on the dishwasher.
I informed her that the cost to come out examine the unit to determine the problem was 65.00, which she agreed to. I arrived on May 15th at 8:45am and found the unit totally dead. She also informed me that prior to this issue the unit would not drain sometimes. I informed her that without being able to run the dishwasher I could not be certain why that was happening. It may or may not be the drain pump. After finding the issue with the control module\thermal fuse I let her know what I found and asked if she wanted me to include an estimate for the possible drain pump or not. She said yes, so I quoted her for both parts and again let her know it may not need the drain pump.

All interaction was with *** ******'s wife, he has never called and spoken to me regarding his issue. If he had I would have explained all this to him and that you must replace the control module and fuse together or the bad module will short the new fuse. I know for a fact that the parts GE sent him were the control module and the fuse assembly. And that was what the GE tech installed in his dishwasher to repair it.

So I obviously was not 100% wrong in my diagnosis, and no one is trying to cheat you out of your hard earned money. My feeling is, if you verbally agree to have someone come to your house, take a spot in their service schedule, when they could have booked another customer, and  because you disagree with the diagnosis or think the estimate is more then you like, does not make it ok to not want to pay what you agreed to pay by scheduling the service call. I have never cheated anyone of my over 27,000 customers I have in my data base from the past 25 years of service.

 All my reviews and ratings reflect that. We both know what was replaced by the GE tech and what the truth is here. Feel free to call me anytime and I would be happy to discuss this matter with you. In the mean time I will be sending your 65.00 back. That way you get your dishwasher fixed for free which was your ultimate goal. You said and I quote "I would have no problem with this service call IF my diagnosis was half right" well if your a man of your word when you get your 65.00 check back from me tear it up. We all know that will not happen.

Consumer Response: Consumer states: I have yet to receive my check that they promised. 

Business Response:

Still waiting for customer to call. *************

Business Response: Company states: We will be glad to talk this over with the husband because we have not had one conversation with him. That is why we have left our call back number so we may discuss this further. We feel that we have done our job in inspecting the machine and if our diagnostic was wrong then we will quickly refund the $65. We welcome documentation showing that our diagnostic is incorrect. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:there they go again, stalling method. first response they said they are sendind our $65.00.