Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A-1 Appliance

Phone: (800) 417-5502 Fax: (916) 630-5416 View Additional Phone Numbers 2351 Sunset Blvd Ste 170 Pmb 502, Rocklin, CA 95765

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on A-1 Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business under new ownership as of: 05/25/2016 Business incorporated 03/24/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
The number is 40380.

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: 916-999-2041
The number is 47406.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Veniamin (Ben) Gracher, Owner Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO Mrs. Nataliya Gracher, Business Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Veniamin (Ben) Gracher, Owner
Principal: Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
A - 1 Appliance Service
Products & Services

A-1 Appliance Service is a factory authorized appliance dealer and they also service major household kitchen and laundry appliances.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-1 Appliance has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2351 Sunset Blvd Ste 170 Pmb 502

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 481-0263 (916) 444-5429 (530) 889-2720 (530) 677-0459 (916) 725-3160 (916) 632-1322 (530) 622-6052 (800) 417-5502


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had A1 come out to diagnos a problem with my ** side by side refridgerator, as the ice was melting in the ice tray! Diagnosis was made, the tech said they would have to order the mother board and an evap fan! 4-24-15 the tech came out installed the parts put the freezer back together improperly! When installing the icemaker, he installed it with the fill tube under the tray instead of in the tray, causing the freezer to flood and freeze over an inch of ice coating the entire inside of the freezer. It took the tech 45 minutes to install the parts and improperly put it back together. It took me 3 hours with a hair dryer to melt all the ice,defrost and clean up the ensuing mess! When I called them I told them I think I should get a refund of at least the labor cost! The parts on Amazon are $143.24 with free shipping, and they charged me $433.15! The girl said she talked to the manager and they said they could'nt do anything because Ialready took care of it! I feel I have been ripped off by incompetance!

Desired Settlement: I do not expect to be refunded for the new parts, which total $143.24, but do expect to be refunded the entire labor and service charge which would come to $289.91! I am contacting my credit card company also! Thank you for your anticipated intervention in the resolution of this issue

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  You have been refunded $289.91

******** *******

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  You have been refunded $289.91

******** *******

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted a1 Appliance because our ********* duet Dryer was not working - it would flash a F01 code when we pushed start. I explained exactly was the dryer was doing (or not doing) and stated that the F01 error came up. I also stated that I had disconnected the power for approximately 1 hour but that when I reconnected the power, the same error code came up. a1 Appliance scheduled an appointment for a technician to come and determine the problem. When the technician came, I explained the problem, including the fact that I had disconnected the power in an attempt to reset it. During my explanation, the technician was standing in the doorway to the laundry room, not even close to the dryer. After my explanation, he stated that the dryer would need a new control board. When I asked the cost for the control board, he quoted me $491.63. He then asked for payment for the service call, $85.00. I paid him but then called a1 Appliance and complained that I had to pay for a service during which the technician did nothing - only listed to the same information that I had given during the call. Given what the technician did (NOTHING), the diagnoses could have been given over the telephone. They restated several times that because the technician came out, I still had to pay for a service call even though he did nothing AND I had provided the same information during the first call. I called ***** to determine what was the cost for the control board and they quoted me $167.77, $430 LESS than the quote from a1 Applicance. I was told the installation of the new control was simple and I could easily do it myself. I strongly disagree with a1 Appliance on how they do their service calls - they charge me for doing nothing. I could have been given the diagnoses over the phone, especially since the technician did NOTHING, did not even touch the dryer. In addition, I am appalled at the difference in the cost for the control board they quoted me versus *****.

Desired Settlement: Refund the service call fee

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  Your service charge of $85 has been refunded to you.

******** *******

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had A1 appliance service my gas cooktop due to gas leakage out of the cooktop. They came and determined that they can fix the gas leakage by replace the required part and I've spoke to the technician that diagnosed the cooktop and he assured me that with this ordered part replaced, it will definitely fix the gas leakage and I agreed to have the cooktop fix under the professional judgement and advice from A1. However when the part was replaced, the gas leakage still happening and they came out and adamantly denied any gas leakage; I demanded a refund and was refused because they maintained that there was no gas leakage and It was indeed fixed. I had PG&e came out and they once again determined that the gas leakage was still going from the cooktop and they stated that it was unsafe and dangerous and they once again capped of the gas line connecting to the cooktop. I called A1 once again and again was denied a refund even though they never fix the original gas leakage that they claimed was fixed; I told ***, who claimed to be a manager that I do not want to argue with him anymore and if he refuses a refund then I will claim the service purchased with my credit card company; *** started calling me names: "you are a cheap bastard", "you are an asshole", I hung up the phone. Very unprofessional and terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I wanted a full refund due to the fact that service was promised and the original gas leakage was never fix and I have a second PG&E report to prove it.

Business Response: This repair is for a landlord in a rental property he owns.  The cooktop
initially had a bad burner control valve which was replaced by us.  While the initial problem with the cooktop was
completed satisfactorily, the tenant managed to keep the cooktop very dirty and
went to efforts to cause it to malfunction and new problems were created.   The cooktop was not liked by the tenant
who was lobbying for a new appliance.


The landlord was not interested in repairing these new issues and it is believed he
has replaced the appliance and now refusing the pay for the first repairs.


All visits to the tenant’s home were performed professionally and our personnel
were courteous.


the landlord has reversed his payments for the first repairs and there is no
further adjustment we can make.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came out on June 24th to diagnose a non-working dryer and i was told after a 3 minute look at the vent that the vent needed to be cleaned and he left after charging me a$85 service fee. We had the vents professionally cleaned and the dryer still broken. He called and said it would be an additional $260 to replace parts. He never even looked at the dryer and did not come back out to check it. My husband called the owner/supervisor to explain the situation and he said he could not do anything. We wanted our money back or another service call and they were not willing to help us.

Desired Settlement: a refund of our $85

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Business Response:

This issue is complicated by the customer replacing his own parts to solve his drying problem in the past.  He was unaware of the real issue the vent. He had a clogged dryer vent in his house, a very common problem.  We informed the customer to get his vent cleaned, a service we do not provide. After cleaning the vent he called again and wanted service.  Our technician contacted him by phone and told him he needed additional work on the dryer, but did not make a visit to the home. Since the technician did not make the visit as we expect, we are sending a refund of the service charge of $85.00. refund check will be issued and should be expected in the next few weeks.


5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repairman showed up, his demeanor and attitude seemed like he didn't want to help us. He was unfriendly, and grumpy. He looked at our 4 year old Kitchen Aid Gas Oven and said it was either one thing or the other but couldn't tell us which, even by looking at it. He said he didn't want to replace the wrong thing. He went outside to make a couple of phone calls and told us the part was 6 years on back order. He was UNHELPFUL AND UNFRIENDLY!!! He was only at our home a few minutes, collected $85 for NOTHING!!! He couldn't even tell us which part needed to be replaced, so how could he tell us the part was 6 years on back order!! We had many choices for repair companies, but chose A-1 because of their BBB A rating, and their advertisement of KitchenAid - we were frustrated and would like our money back!!

Desired Settlement: We would like our money refunded - the repairman was not competent!

Business Response: This is an approximately 4 year old range and needs a
membrane keypad of the color that matches the range.  The part is on national backorder and there
is no reasonable delivery date for the needed part.  This customer does not like the answer of a
part being not available.  Other parts for
this range are available, but the needed part is not.  We cannot repair a range without a proper
part to replace the defective one.  The
range is clearly out of factory warranty, so there is no warranty issue.

The service fee charged is proper since we fulfilled the
service call asked for by the customer.

Perhaps if the customer contacts Whirlpool (parent company)
they may receive a coupon towards purchase of another appliance.  Possibly there is  hidden factory stock of this part used for
customer satisfaction issues, but the customer would have to petition the
manufacturer directly as an unhappy customer.


******** *******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:no real service was provided. Technician said problem was either control board or keypad, went out to his truck to make some phone calls, then somehow determined that it was the keypad, and that part was on backorder for 5 or 6 years.  Still charged $85.  No testing was done or meters used on the range.

Business Response: A service call is a call to the job address by a qualified service technician at the request of the customer. The service call is based on the time required to travel to the customers house and the time required to analyze the problem. If the unit is not repairable or the customer does not want the unit repaired the firm is still entitled to be paid for sending the technician and service call charges. 

In this customers case the part needed is not reasonably available.  Estimated delivery date for this part is 2/2/2020 from the supplier.

Again the customer should contact the manufacturer for a resolution for their problem.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on A-1 Appliance
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart