Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Bartels Appliance

Phone: (530) 333-9070 Fax: (530) 333-4420 View Additional Phone Numbers 4220 Meadowbrook Rd, Garden Valley, CA 95633 http://www.bartelsappliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bartels Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bartels Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 43983.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brett Bartels, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Bartels, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Bartels Appliance Repair Bartels Appliance Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4220 Meadowbrook Rd

    Garden Valley, CA 95633 (530) 333-9070 (916) 674-2775

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My home warranty company sent out Bartel's Appliance company to fix a broken burner in my two-year old cook top in our vacation home. The Bartel technician lifted the cook top up by himself to diagnose the problem. He then came back another day to fix the burner. He asked me to lift the cooktop with him as it really is a two person job, so I did so. However, after fixing the burner, he put the stovetop back without my assistance. I left later that day to return to my primary residence and when I returned a month later noticed a large stress crack in the glass cook top. I notified Bartels but they refused to take responsibility. My home warranty company submitted a claim to Bartels' insurance company, but the insurance company said Bartel's coverage does not extend to damage done by Bartels while on the job (!). So that means Bartel's Appliance is responsible. Bartels has since refused to take responsibility. The owner has told the warranty company, the state licensing board, and my husband that if we want them to replace the glass cook top, we need to take them small claims court. Consumers need to beware of how this company responds to damage they cause while in your home.

Desired Settlement: Replace the cooktop that they cracked.

Business Response: Tell us why here...This cooktop had no damage when I was done fixing it and the customer signed the work order confirming that. Three months later she called and said her cooktop was cracked. I'm sure she dropped something on it, and acting like a windshield a day or so later after it was heated it cracked. I'm not paying for something I didn't do, and I will not be bullied into it.
This took place 2 years ago and she is still blaming it on me.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: This is inaccurate. We did not drop anything on the cooktop as we were not in the home. The delay in reporting this was because this is a VACATION home and we were not in the home; I left immediately after Bartel's repaired the burner for my primary residence 8 hours away. I extended my stay so that I could get the burner fixed! Bartels keeps making this same point that I waited to report this problem but that is the nature of having a vacation home!!! Even the warranty company does not buy Bartel's argument,  which is why First American Home Warranty that sent Bartels out to fix the burner filed a claim on my behalf with Bartel's insurance company. The warranty company does not file fraudulant claims! I have had other appliance repair people out for other matters, and they have looked at the crack in the glass cooktop and said it is definitely a stress crack. They have also said that this is very unprofessional on the part of Bartels. I contacted the manufacturer of the cooktop and they said that the cook top MUST be lifted by by two people to avoid stress cracks. They asked me to send  a photo of the crack, which I did. They said it looks like  a stress crack. As other service workers who observed the stove have said, the damage would have looked different if something were dropped on it, versus a stress crack. Frankly, if I dropped something on the stove myself, I would have repaired it myself because that would have been easier than filing complaints for the past year and a half. I don't need money; I have plenty. This is not about a money. I am a former consumer advocate so I take this sort of thing VERY seriously. The reason I am only now getting to the BBB is because it took Bartel's insurance company many months to get First American Warranty to submit the claim to Bartel's insurance company and for Hartford Insurance to respond in writing that Bartels is not insured for damage they cause while on the job.  An attorney friend in town wants me to hire him to represent me but he would sue for legal fees and damages  (e.g., time I've spent trying to get this resolved).  But I don't want overkill here;  I just want Bartels to be a responsible company to ALL consumers and to do the right thing. And according to reviews on Yelp, I'm not alone in having problems with this company.

Business Response: Tell us why here...This story has changed and developed over time. How could I cause a stress crack. I put it back exactly how I found it. I didn't change the installation.
There are some in this world that just keep complaining until a corporation pays them off to make them go away. I will do what is right. I will own up and pay for my mistakes when I make them.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  Actually, there has been absolutely no change in the details I have reported (see complaint attached which was lodged in Feb. with the State of California licensing board, and remains a permanent record with that agency). The reason the glass stove top cracked was that it was lifted by one person. I thought that was obvious. Bartel keeps arguing points that were long ago discounted by First American Warranty Company.


Bartel's claim that I am filing this complaint for financial gain is absurdly inaccurate. When there is a provider of service who is a risk for consumers, I feel obligated to report them. Given how much I bill out per hour when consulting, I have spent more than the cost of the stove on this matter - doing so because I take consumer protection VERY SERIOUSLY. The negative and attacking attitude that Bartel's displays toward customers such as myself, and also evident in the complaints on YELP against this company, is a problem that I'm sure costs them a lot of business.

While I can absorb the $1,000 loss of my stove, there are plenty of other consumers for whom this would represent a huge loss. One problem with Bartels is their lack of insurance to cover damages that occur when they are on the job site. When First American filed the insurance claim for my stove top with Bartel's insurer Sentinel (also The Hanover), the insurance company stated that Bartel's did not have coverage for damage they do on the job site (see attached document). They thus indicated that Bartel's is responsible for this cost.
I propose as a solution that Bartel's get insurance that DOES cover damage their technicians do while on the job, and show proof of purchase to BBB, with the coverage for damage done while on the worksite CLEARLY disclosed. This will not only protect future customers of Bartels, but also Bartels! In so doing, I will not hire an atty to pursue this further (as that would only win me damages AND high priced legal costs for the atty - money better spent by Bartel's on such insurance!)  I know Bartels is a small company and I have no wish to see a law suit put them out of business and fatten the pocket of my atty friend. But if they refuse to treat customers better, then they don't deserve to be in business! The choice is really theirs at this point. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bartels Appliance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)