Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Clean And Sober Detox

Phone: (916) 965-3386 8946 Madison Ave, Fair Oaks, CA 95628

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Our goal is to provide an affordable residential detox for adults who are suffering with the disease of addiction. By accepting only 6 clients this allows each client to receive more attention and counseling. We detox adults from; alcohol, oxy, benzodiazepines, vicodin, heroin, methamphetamine, and many other substances. We work with several doctors where a client will be evaluated and prescribed medications to assist in their detox, these medications are tapered and upon exit, all clients are drug free.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clean And Sober Detox meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Clean And Sober Detox
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2008 Business started: 08/16/1999 in CA Business started locally: 08/16/1999 Business incorporated 03/14/2003 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Bunny Lindsay, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Bunny Lindsay, Executive Director
Business Category

Alcoholism Info & Treatment Centers Drug Abuse & Addiction - Info & Treatment Rehabilitation Services

Products & Services

Clean And Sober Detox sells the following brand(s): Recovery from an addiction

Clean And Sober Detox offers the following product(s): A new life without addiction, A New Life Without Addiction, A New Life Without the ties of Addiction to a Substance, Medication or Alcohol

Hours of Operation
M: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Su: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Method(s) of Payment
We accept VISA, MasterCard, money order and cash. 
Refund and Exchange Policy
It is essential we speak with the person who is in need of our services. We explain our program and get a commitment from them. Money paid will not be refunded. 
Service Area
United States
Alternate Business Names
Clean & Sober Detox Clean & Sober Detox, a California Nonprofit Corp.
Additional Information

24 hours a day including holidays

Products & Services

We detox clients from: alcohol, oxy, benzo, vicodin, heroin, methadone and methamphetamine. We work with several doctors where a client will be evaluated and prescribed medications to assist in the detox process.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clean And Sober Detox has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8946 Madison Ave

    Fair Oaks, CA 95628 (916) 965-3386


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son was wrongfully terminated from this facility. The reasons he was told to leave were absurd. He was required to sign paperwork regarding rules while being under the influence of medications to help with substance withdrawals. I was the "payee" and present during the intake at the facility. I was never informed about any paperwork that he would need to sign even though I specifically asked the intake person directly if there was anything else that we needed to go over. The rules were very confining and had I been made aware while at the facility I do not believe I would have agreed to use this facility. I disputed the charges to my credit card company. Clean & Sober Detox was required to submit paperwork showing I agreed to this being a no refund policy. Clean & Sober Detox submitted an altered document to my credit card company. My signature "payee" was needed at the bottom of the "Billing Form". I never signed the form because I was never presented with the form. However when they submitted the form to the credit card company the bottom of the form showing that my signature was needed was removed. They also added 2 arrows on the side of the form pointing to "money paid will not be refunded and also "client agrees to "section. I have the original form and can prove this form was altered when provided to my credit card company to have the charges re-applied to my card and it worked. My son was physically shoved by an employee of Clean & Sober Detox. I was actually on the phone with my son when this employee disconnected the phone call. I have screen shots of dates and times that I called the facility speaking with **** ********* and at no time did he say there was a problem. Their actions have caused so much stress during an already stressful time. The fact they have chosen to be dishonest when trying to receive payment that is not due them clearly shows their integrity or lack of. I have also reported this situation to the Dept. of Health Care Licensing and Certification Branch.

Desired Settlement: I have sent a certified letter to Clean & Sober Detox advising them to reverse the charges. I have also spoken to ***** ******* the Executive Director with regards to the altered "Billing Form" document submitted to my credit card company. I let her know that I would pursue this further. I will not agree to pay for services her company clearly did not provide and had to alter a document to be able to receive payment.

Business Response:

August 31, 2015



Better Business Bureau




RE; ******* *******



To who it may concern;


We made attempts to come to a resolution Program Director **** ********* phoned Ms. ******* (on July 7, 2015 at 12:55pm and July 8, 2015 at 1:10pm) and left a messages on her machine. She returned our call on the July 8th at 1:40pm unfortunately only to say that she already contacted her credit card company for a dispute, without any attempt for a resolution from us. She then sent us a certified letter dated August 12, 2015. I was on vacation and phoned Ms. ******* on August 28, 2015 and stated that I needed to review the file and would call back on the 29. A few hours later I received an email from the Better Business Bureau, (without waiting to hear the other side of what really happened). And she gave to you a copy of a complaint to the State, again it appears Ms. ******* is not looking for a resolution from us, only to smear our name. We stand by our policy of no refunds. It should be noted that her son is our client and the contract is between him and Clean & Sober Detox. He is 30 years old, of legal age and fully capable to sign a contract. The credit company requires their number be placed on every page and they be numbered. Their protocol was followed nothing malicious was done. The arrows were placed there after for the purpose of pointing out to the credit card company.


Below is a summation of a letter we sent to Ms. ******* in response to her letter sent to us (her son was the client); I hope this letter will clear up your questions and concerns. Program Director **** ********* conducted an over the phone screening with Son on June 20, 2015, at this time he advised son about our program and our no refund policy. When you called with your credit card to reserve the bed you were informed of; our program, our no refund policy andthere would be a charge of $200 if son did not show. You agreed and gave us your credit card information to hold the bed. We understand these are emotional times for the client and their families therefore we repeat ourselves a lot.


On July 2, 2015 at 5:15pm you brought son to our facility; who had two days of sobriety. While sitting in our meeting room Counselor ** ******** also reminded both of you of our no refund policy; and you signed the credit card authorization receipt which clearly states no refunds. In order to maintain our clients confidentiality the entire intake packet, other than the billing form is completed with staff and client only. You not signing the Billing Form was simply an oversight by staff, not a requirement for you to sign. There was nothing malicious or deceitful about this process. The rest of the intake was conducted in the office, never in a clients’ bedroom. Staff reviewed the rules with son, after the intake, prior to him leaving the office. During his intake Son did consume his first round of detox medications, which take approximately half hour to an hour to start working. Son had two days clean and was of sound mind while signing the intake paperwork.


Sometimes for our clients (and family) it can be tempting to see rules as restrictive or punishing, but like any of the new tools our clients are learning in 12 Step Programs, when we make a point to work with it and not against it, we benefit in personal growth. Our rules are no more restrictive than any other detox or treatment facility that son has been to. If we were trying to hide something in our documents we would not have given them back to Son after he threw them at staff.


We provided a service; supervised care 24 hours a day, monitored his blood pressure, and he participated in 9 hours of counseling, educational videos, groups and 12 Step meetings while with us.Because our clients are detoxing they usually snack throughout the day and night; which is allowed. Staff does cook dinner and tries to get everyone to eat together. And yes sometimes clients cook because it gives them something to do. We do not have any sober living homes, again you are thinking of another organization. All of our clients come here on their own free will. We do not have any court ordered clients.


There are two signs in the living room that state; no feet on the couch, no laying on the couch, no food in the living room. Per our normal procedure the Rules & Expectations were reviewed again with son on July 3, 2015 at 6:27am. Each client is given their own copy of the rules upon intake. Clients are allowed to get up during the night to smoke and eat snacks, we do not allow them to cook meals because other clients are sleeping. The times listed here where Son ate are in addition the regular meal times (he ate on every shift). On July 3 at 6:45am Son ate breakfast.


Listed here are some of the times son was talked to and warned about breaking the rules. On July 04, 2015 at 12:02am; staff requested he remove his feet from on top of the smoking table he complied. At2:04am Son was laying on the couch, Son said he was not feeling well and staff suggested three different things to help; he declined everything with an attitude. At 5:10am son ate a snack then went back to bed. At 9:25pm staff had a conversation regarding rules and encouraged Son to focus on his recovery, at 11:20pm son got up from bed and laid on living room floor, staff advised he could not sleep on floor (in his room would have been ok)  son became combative and was looking for loop holes in the rules. At this time he was told he would be terminated if he continued to break the rules and have a negative attitude towards staff. During one of the conversations with son he advised staff he was a fighter.


On July 5, 2015; 12:22am staff requested he remove his feet from on top of the smoking table son then started to argue with staff and said he felt like he was in prison. Son asked for a few minutes to calm down, staff said ok, and he went to bed. Son came into the office at about 12:30am and apologized for his earlier behavior. Staff suggested an Epson salt bath, which he did and later said it helped. Later son said he was upset he cannot watch TV whenever he wants; this rule is in place because other clients are sleeping. At 1am and 3:40am he got up and ate snacks. At 5:45am; son was lying on the couch, he was given the last warning he would be terminated if he continued to break the rules. Staff mentioned to son that out of respect to his mother, who paid for him to be here, that he should at least try to follow the rules.


We had wished for a better outcome for son thus the reason why we gave him so many opportunities. It did appear that son changed his mind about wanting to be in detox and was now trying to be terminated by staff. There would be no other explanation for his behavior, after numerous reminders of the rules, given a final warning, and fifteen minutes later at 6am son went back into the living room, in front of staff kicked off his flip flops and laid on the couch; knowing that he would be terminated. At that time staff had no other choice but to inform son that he was terminated. Son became hostile, cursing and threatening staff. While son was packing his belongings he called staff an asshole. Back in the office staff requested son call someone for a ride, while on the phone with mom he became aggressive towards staff by telling you that he was about to go to jail over a staff person. Son refused to sign for his personal property after staff gave it to him. At 6:15am he grabbed his exit file and threw it at staff, verbally trying to get staff into a physical altercation. Staff told son he needed to leave the property and staff called 911, son did leave and we canceled the police. At no point did staff lay hands on son.


Normally we would allow son to sit on the bench in front of our facility to wait for a ride but due to his threatening behavior this could not be allowed (for the safety of the staff). We did not hang up the phone while son was speaking to mom, or while he was speaking to any other person.



***** *******

***** ******** **** * ** **

Executive Director


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

September 3, 2015


***** ******* was not directly involved in this situation at
anytime. I was however the one that was directly involved. I asked both **
& **** to speak with someone other than **** and was told **** was the
person I would be dealing with. I was not even aware of ***** ******* had never
been given that name or had I ever received a call from her at anytime
throughout the entire ordeal. I learned about her from the documents that my
credit card supplied me that she had submitted to them.


For ***** ******* to make the statement that I had not tried
to come to a resolution is absurd and again untruthful.

When I called in the morning of July 5th and
spoke with ** and was told the fee was non- refundable I was in shock and asked
why they would expect payment for services that were not rendered? I told her I
had no problem paying for the 2 days he was there. Her response was that it was
“unfortunate”. I then asked to speak with ****, when I was told he would not be
available for several days I asked her to leave a message for him to call me.
When I spoke with **** on July 8th the response was the same. I
offered to pay for the 2 days my son was at the facility and again was told no.
I then let him know I would stop payment on my credit card and he stated that
that was fine he would send over necessary documents to the credit card company
for them to receive payment. I did not know what that meant since I had not
signed any documents. The 3rd time I offered was through my credit
card company. The response was again no from Clean & Sober Detox. So again
***** ******* is not telling the truth.


I did send a certified letter to Clean & Sober Detox on
August 13, 2015. I did not hear anything from the facility by August 28, 2015.
I also never received a call from anyone @ Clean & Sober Detox saying that
the person who would be responding was on vacation. Actually I have not heard
from anyone @ Clean & Sober Detox from July 8th on. So for *****
******* to make the accusation that I am trying to “smear” their name is
nonsense. She was the person who supposedly was in control & should have
reached out to me knowing the situation that had occurred at her facility.
The decision to throw my son out on the street at 6:00 am was made by 1 person;
**** backed this up during our conversation when I questioned him about this.
This employee had issues of his own; he was acting very strange the morning of
July 5, 2015. This employee physically shoved my son and made up a story about
things that were not said during a phone conversation with my son that morning
on the phone. He actually disconnected the phone call between my son & me.
That clearly shows this persons demeanor on that day. Very Aggressive move on
the part of her employee.


***** ******* said my name was not needed on the “billing
form”. However if you look at the form it absolutely was required. I was the
“payee” and there is a place on the form below the client signature for the
"payee" to sign that the "payee" has received a copy of the form. How is that not
important and necessary? There is also a place for the "payee’s" name and
telephone #. There are actually more places on this form addressing the "payee"
than the "client". If you look at the form it attaches a set of rules to this
form. I was never notified of this form or any of the items it is referring to.
I was not given a chance to review any of the forms. I DO NOT believe I would have
chosen your facility had I been given the forms addressing rules,
non-refundable fees etc. ***** ******* knew this form needed to be signed by me. So
instead of providing my credit card company the entire form showing that my
signature WAS required she instead removed the bottom of the form showing that I had not signed
it. She used the excuse that each document had to have a Case # on it. Why not
write it at the top just as I did ?


I have screen shots of all my calls to your facility. I
spoke with **** each day my son was there and was at no time told there were
any problems. Actually to the contrary, he said ***** was doing good. All the sudden you come
up with dates and times referring to situations. After the documents you
altered and submitted to my credit card company I do not believe you or your
company to be honest. So of course I am going to report your company. Others
should beware.


For your information my son finished his Detox & is
working fulltime and doing Awesome. So your basis for stating my son was trying
to create a situation to leave your facility is again false. You are making
accusations about my son which are untruthful.


I am requesting that you refund all fees charged to me at
this time.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Clean And Sober Detox
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart