Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McLaughlin Air Conditioning Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 850-4328 Fax: (209) 465-5317 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 4485, Stockton, CA 95204 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McLaughlin Air Conditioning Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McLaughlin Air Conditioning Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1952 in CA Business incorporated 10/11/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00752342.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Leal, President Mrs. Beverly Leal, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Leal, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 928 W Fremont St

    Stockton, CA 95203 (209) 465-5300 (209) 465-4800 (800) 850-4328

  • PO Box 4485

    Stockton, CA 95204


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: McLaughlin has failed to observe the various warranty provisions in its contract with me related to the installation of a heating and air conditioning system in my residence (July 2009). The contract contains three express warranties: manufacturer's warranty, third party ten year extended warranty, and McLaughlin Co warranties. Within the warranty period, the system failed due to evaporator coil defect. McLaughlin Co replaced the coil and billed me for the replacement/repair (with charges for full refrigerant replacement twice, and a wide variety of parts and labor). I have made repeated phone calls, visited their offices, as well as sent e-mails and letters seeking clarification of the charges and an explanation of why the three warranties did not cover all the costs. I have received no response whatsoever. My view, which I have communicated to McLaughlin in detail by letter (which I am happy to make available to you), is that the three warranties, and in particular their company warranty that "The installation includes... a 10 YEAR WARRANTY ON PARTS AND LABOR" covers all costs (Emphasis in original) There are no limitations or conditions on this warranty set forth in the contract.

Desired Settlement: For McLaughlin to cease sending me bills for this warranty work, and to reduce the balance owed on my account to zero.

Business Response: Mrs. ***** had a unit installed in 2007 that had a leaking evaporator coil. I explained to her that her extended third party warranty would cover the actual coil but not the additional materials to properly replace the coil, including the Freon. when she received the bill, her brother, a lawyer, started to send up correspondence implying that she owed no monies, even though I had him call the third party warranty company himself. As a result of his bullying and badgering, we agreed to half of the total bill in the amount of $375. This issue is resolved, as she has sent in the payment.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I would also like to state for the record that this issue was only resolved as a result of BBB's intervention and my persistent follow-up and offer to expedite a resolution by sharing the final bill.  I was a long time customer and was extremely disappointed in the manner in which *** handled this problem.

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Should not have had problems with freon 2 years in a row. 2. was billed almost 5 months later for work that I was told that there was no charge for. my statement at time of work, did not include a charge. I signed it. In November I was send a copy of same statement only now they added a charge. Isn't that illegal. Am enclosing copies of both.

Desired Settlement: Take away the charge of 102.48 they said (service man) there was no charge & I never signed for the charge.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** customer ser
Contact Phone: 2094654800
Contact Email: *****
Mrs ****** was experiencing some trouble with her thermostat after a warranty repair issue we resolved for her. The first time, she could not get the t-stat to operate correctly. I sent a technician who reprogrammed it for her at no charge. the second call regarding the t-stat not working properly led my technician to replace the programmable tstat with an easier to work nonprogrammable tstat. Unfortunately, the manufacturers warranty had expired on the original t-stat, and when that was discovered, a bill was sent. The"no charge"" she is referring to, is because it was no charge for her for the service call itself. However,a bill was sent after the fact asking her to pay for the new t-stat. In order to satisfy this complaint and retain our A+ rating, we will remove the charge from her bill for the new t-stat immediately and send a zero balance. That being done, I must respectfully decline to honor any warranty on aforementioned thermostat.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McLaughlin Air Conditioning Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)