Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J R Putman, Inc.

Phone: (916) 638-2442 11330 Sunrise Park Dr Ste A, Rncho Cordova, CA 95742 http://www.jrputman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J R Putman, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for J R Putman, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J R Putman, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 07/01/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00401802.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Wertens, President Mr. Bill Roberts, Operations Manager Ms. Shannon Wertens, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wertens, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
J R Putman Heating & Air Conditioning
Products & Services

J.R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar provides all your home heating repair and maintenance needs. J.R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar also service all makes and models of heat pumps and furnaces.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

J R Putman, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11330 Sunrise Park Dr Ste A

    Rncho Cordova, CA 95742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company repaired my neighbors ac unit. They, however, took my unit apart without my permission. Now after about one month after they visited, my unit does not work. I spoke with the techs when they were here and asked them why they took my unit apart when they were fixing some one elses. They made a joke that they were going to take parts from my unit since they had it opened. I told them to put my unit back together and leave it alone. Now, when I tried to use it since thethe first time since their visit, it does not work. I called the company and they want to charge me $80.00 for a service call. I will have to have another company fix it and pay that charge. I want them to reimburse me for that service call since they did not have my permission to take my unit apart and for possible tampering.jan nelson

Desired Settlement: reimburse me for my out of pocket expense.

Business Response: Company states: None of the units were marked. Our client was in a condominium which there are many units that are not marked. The only way to determine is that we look at the control panel to determine which unit it belonged to. As our senior tech opened up the control panel, Jan came by and asked what we were doing to her panel. The tech explained that they are servicing a unit and needed to know which one it belonged to. We put the panel back on. She called within the last month and said our guy worked on our unit by mistake and our unit is not working now. We said that we will come out and if it is something that we did we will repair it at our cost. We told them that if it is not our fault we will have to charge for that. She later said that she was going to have another company come out and send the bill. The second company made claims that we removed and parts were wrong. He of course charged her several hundreds of dollars. We did not touch or even work on her unit. We suggest contacting the other company to service her unit. 

5/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a complaint against J R Putman Inc. ***** ******* **** *** *** ** ****** ******* *** ***** Background: 1. On June 11, 2014 I obtained from Sears Home Improvement Products, A proposal for the installation of a carrier air conditioning system at $6.887.00. 2. I requested a 2nd proposal from Lowe's Home Center, Citrus Heights, CA. They arranged to have J R Putman, Inc. have someone come to my home to make a proposal for the installation of an air conditioning system. Complaint: On June 17,2014 I was visited by Patrick Noone who introduced himself as Lowe's representative. He reviewed the house took photo & made measurements neccesary for making a proposal. I reminded him that I wanted a "Carrier" system. He never completed a cost labor breakout as required by Lowes.He convinced me that I didn't need a 3rd bid. He instead diverted me to signing a J R Putman contract for "TRANE" air conditioning system for $11,508. It was supposed to be superior to the "Carrier" system. However, in a later competition I found there is not appreciable difference in the two

Desired Settlement: As a result I requested the Contractors State License Board to mediate for a payment of $4,500.00 from J R Putman to me to compensate for the difference between the $11,508 I paid for "Trane" system and the $6,887.00 cost proposal for the carrier system. After the review by C S L B refused to offer a settlement.

Business Response: I am writing this letter in response to complaint from ******* ********* ID #********. I have already had several correspondence with the CSLB on the matter of Mr. ********* requesting money from JR Putman. He first claimed that he wanted money back due to the improper size of the unit we installed, due to physical size of furnace cabinet. After several conversations with the manufacturer and Mr. ********* the CSLB found that JR Putman did everything within all the proper guidelines of the installation of the system. There was not any fault what so ever on JR Putmans behalf when it came to the install or the pricing of the the system installed at Mr. *********s resident. I am baffled as to his new complaint to the BBB stating he has an issue with the bid as well as requesting monies again, this time due to an alleged bid he received from another company. All the copies from Sears are just appt. reminders, I do not see any comparable bid or anything stating what type, brand or efficiency of a comparable system to what JR Putman installed. JR Putman does not force or try to divert our clients from not getting  bids or to get other bids, this is the clients decision. JR Putman along with Lowes does not give a cost breakdown of our labor and all parts and pieces when it comes to giving proposals, we give a proposal with the type, size and brand. I feel Mr. ********* has  buyers remorse , JR Putman has fulfilled all contractual obligations from Mr. *********s purchase on 6/17/14 of a new Trane HVAC system. 

Consumer Response: I had negotiated for a Furnace Air condition System that would operate at Eighty % efficiency; JR Putman installed a Trane air condenser that is of the lowest efficiency allowed By the federal energy-efficiency standard.. I notified them by letter on July 20, 2014. I also requested a change order to cover the correction of the furnace size error that their installation crew chief discovered. The letter was not answered. By telephone they refused to replace the condenser & have refused to offer a reduction in the contract price from $11,508 to $10,000. JR Putman, INC. did not respond I therefore filed a complaint with the CSLB. CSLB informed me that the they phoned the Trane co. & resolved the change order problem. They reviewed the contract & found what was in the contract had been installed..They also said they issued To JR Put Man Inc. a letter for technical violations of the Business and Professions Code. By telephone they advised me they did not have the authority to negotiate a change in the contract price. They suggested I attempt to get that resolved through other sources. I therefore filed a complaint with the BBB( ID 10560312). Regards the bid estimates: JR Putman  Made rough estimate the same way e sears did, before spending an hour on the proposal. It is interesting that JR Putman INC. had an agreement with Lowes on how to handle bids & could have submitted one to them for a service contract.

I'm willing to consider any equitable monitory consideration JR Putman may offer in writing.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with JR putman to have a HVAC system installed.The contract stated that there are no hidden fees and they excessively overcharged me for one duct repair and for work that they were responsible to do under the contract.California contractor code states that a written contract is required for all home improvement projects over $500. BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 7150-7168 But if a verbal agreement is made it must be done with a reasonable value of service-I only agreed to replace the one 12 ft 8 inch duct with the tech on site and with **** the manager on the phone and I was charged $2500 more than what was contracted-I have tried to contact the owner personally multiple times and discuss the invoice- phone and email- but instead **** calls me. He is very surly, short, threatening and unreasonable. In fact, they had an extra $400 charge on the invoice for work they hadn't performed and it took me 2 calls to show him that work wasn't performed at my house. So the invoice went down to $2000. I paid the $2000 because I was threaten with a lien, and I am in the process for a second and couldn't afford to have that jeopardized. There are 3 items on the invoice - one I agreed to (I have pictures of what needed repair -it wasn't that bad) repairing 12 ft 8" flex duct in a tight crawl space - they charged $800 (should be $500)They added a new main return by the furnace, there was nothing wrong with my old one, but I added 2 ducts in the house --and they needed to increase the size of the duct on the return from 12" to 18"-they charged $700- HVAC 101, more supply more return- that should be on the sale rep not me.The final item was a return that wasn't attach- The tech attached it (took him 10 -15 mins-I was present) - it passed inspection. The tech came back the next week with a new box (he fabbed 24" x 6") charged me $500- Didn't ask me or tell me the cost Just installed it- I thought he was being nice. Contract states seal all vents-

Desired Settlement: I tried to send in a reasonable offer to the owner, never heard back from him only **** with his lack of customer service and his exaggeration of cost for the repair (he told me that his tech cost him $250 an hr). CA law states Reasonable, these prices aren't. I have pictures of everything and quotes from others stating that they inflated their price. A fair price for the one repair (12 ft duct) would be $500- ( the crawl space was tight but accessible)I would like a refund of $1500

Business Response: Myself as well as my Operations Manager and Install Manager will be meeting with Mr. **** to resolve any and all issues concerning the JR Putman install. Meeting date is scheduled for October 8th @ 3;30pm

Consumer Response: The owner of the company finally came to my house and saw the issues that I had with the job.
They are coming out today to make the changes and refunded the excess money that I was charged.
I would like to drop the case against them.
I am not sure how to do it on the BBB site - if you can point me in the direction I can do it .

Thanks for the help to resolve this in a fair manner, my family and I appreciate it.
**** ****

6/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trane furnace installed by company and pronounced operationally safe on or about 5/29/13, but on start-up on or about 11/1/13 toxic natural gas poured into my residence and contractor sent technician out 11/5/13 and referred me to PG&E for gas odor, but both installer technician and PG&E failed to locate gas leak. Installer refused to send technician out on 11/12/13 as gas kept building up in home as furnace ran and instead referred me to PG&E (because they'd already sent a technician out beforehand). I was made ill from breathing toxic raw natural gas. On 11/12/13 the PG&E man found natural gas leak coming from furnace burners not connected and misaligned. Contractor finally sent technician to allegedly repair new furnace they had installed 5/29/13 after PG&E man told them the furnace burners were the problem. I was exposed to breathing toxic natural gas and suffered injuries due to contractor's lack of real concern for my health and welfare. I am a wheelchair user.

Desired Settlement: Replacement new furnace and damages for injuries caused. Follow-up inspection of furnace's integrity for contractor's alleged repairs impacting furnace warranty and service life. Contractor does not care about his customer's welfare because repair invoice claims furnace came in this condition from manufacturer and contractor failed to actively respond to seriousness of situation leaving me in an unsafe and dangerous condition for days. Trane rep to inspect furnace today.

Business Response: Jr Putman installed anew heating and air conditioning system in Mrs. ******* home on 5/29/13 at that time the Install team noted that they fired system off in heat and cool mode and that all was o.k. Several months later 11/1/13 we received a no heat call from Mrs. ****** about her thermostat not working properly so we sent a service tech to resolve issue. Mrs. ****** then called in on 11/5/13 of a smell of gas in her home, we sent a service tech out immediately to inspect system that same day. Service tech did not find any issues at that time. Mrs. ****** then called a few days later and said she still smells gas, my Operations Manager told her to immediately call PG&E to investigate to make sure all was o.k due to the fact that Service Tech hadn't found anything wrong with the furnace install. Mrs. ****** had PG&E out that day 11/5/13 and they inspected home for gas leakage and wrote a Service Report stating they inspected our Furnace and all was ok. She then had PG&E out to her home a week later on 11/12/13 and all of a sudden he found a defect of misaligned burners in our furnace. Mrs. ****** sent my office a demand letter and several pictures to what the PG&E rep had taken pics of and it was of the misaligned burners. My Operations Manager inspected pics and found that there is no possible way that the furnace could have ever fired up or caused an excessive amount of natural gas to emit into home. There are several safety devices in the furnace that would not allow gas to spew into home or for the furnace to have ever fired up with the burners being so misaligned, once again the unit is designed to not allow this to happen when it's not firing properly. The interior of the furnace had no char marks or any damage to it from misfiring at all. On 5/28/14 I went out Mrs. ******* home with a Trane rep to inspect the furnace for proper operations and safety as per Mrs. ******* request, all checked out o.k. Mrs. ****** was still very irate and demanded that JR Putman pay her for pain and suffering due to the supposed gas she smelled from her new furnace. With the inspection of pics taken and Trane rep along with my Operations Manager we feel the system is fully operational and completely safe to operate and that Mrs. Aronold was not impacted health wise with the "toxic gas" as she says. She says the system had heated her home prior to this smell happening and with our inspection there is no way the furnace could have ever fired. It would default and turn the main fan on which is designed to make homeowners call a Service tech, none of which she described happened. Also the furnace will only attempt to fire 3 times before defaulting and locking out. This would not allow gas to stay on. I feel Jr Putman has gone above and beyond to ensure the safety and operations of the equipment we installed. We install quality workmanship.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J R Putman, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart