Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob's Air Repair

Phone: (530) 345-9800 Fax: (530) 893-2990 View Additional Phone Numbers 2812 Hegan Ln Bldg G, Chico, CA 95928 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bobsairrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Air Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bob's Air Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bob's Air Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2008 Business started: 02/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 02/02/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 834289.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bob Bennett, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Bennett, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

Bob's Air Repair sells the following brand(s): All Brands

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit cards, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 Year Parts And Labor Warranty on installed parts
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob's Air Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/28/2016 Thursday the whole house air conditioning stopped working. Called Bob's Air and they scheduled an appointment and came out. Within seconds of arriving, tech had me sign a $99 service fee agreement. Once tech was diagnosing system, he noted the compressor fan start capacitor looked blown, and replaced it. I was advised the cost for this $15 - $20 generic part was going to be $260! As it was 112 degrees and climbing, I reluctantly agreed and the tech continued. The tech spent an inordinate amount of time on the phone 'talking to Bob'throughout the service call. Right before he left, he advised me the compressor fan motor was "hi-amping", using 1.6 amps of current instead of the rated 1.1 amps. I was never quoted a price to repair it, just given the ominous news prior to the tech's departure. My total bill was $370.62. Sunday 7/31/2016 - the air conditioning again stopped working. Exact same symptoms as before, the compressor fan stopped running. I called Bob's - told them the issue and they seemed reluctant to warranty their parts and labor - stating the tech had noted (yet didn't repair) the 'bad motor'. I explained I had no more money, that I couldn't pay tenfold prices for parts in addition to diagnostic fees, service call fees, etc.. They said they would "talk to Bob" and let me know what they were willing to do. I called another HVAC company for service, as my confidence and trust of Bob's Air dropped to zero. The second company charged me for a service call, diagnosed that the capacitor Bob's installed (made in China) was dead. They replaced the capacitor and the system was once again up and running. I asked the tech to check the current draw from the condenser fan, and it was 0.6 amps - .5 amps under the maximum draw rating. I feel the problem with the air conditioning was partially misdiagnosed and faulty materials were intentionally used to maximize their profit potential.

Desired Settlement: I feel the $260 paid for the ersatz dual run capacitor should be fully refunded as it was essentially junk, lasting only two full days. I believe a portion of the diagnostic fees should also be refunded as we relied on 'expert advice' which was incorrect.

Business Response:

On 7/28/2016 Bob's Air Repair arrived at ******** ******'s home at ***** ******** ** ** *** ***** **. The technician found a bad dual run capacitor. The Technician prior to the repair quoted the customer $260.00 plus tax for the capacitor, Labor, One Year Part Warranty ( as noted on invoice #***** along with the customer's signature). Bob's Air Repair always gives upfront flat rate pricing prior to any repair. Upon completed installation of the part Bob's Air Repair found the condensing fan motor running at 1.6 amps and the name plate on the motor states 1.1 amps. Bob's Air Repair then told the customer that the motor is pulling to many amps and would most likely fail soon and could possibly be the cause of the capacitor failing in the first place. (As noted on the signed invoice) Customer chose not to repair the motor at that time. On 8/2/2016 Mr. ***** called Bob's Air Repair and stated the a/c unit was not cooling again. Bob's Air Repair office staff asked Mr. ***** if he would like us to come out free of charge to check the operation of the unit as there is a one year part warranty on the part installed. Mr. ***** stated " he would rather sweat to death then have us come back for free ".

After receiving a complaint from B.B.B Bob's Air Repair  has tried to contact Mr. ***** several times to try and resolve this situation with no response.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have spoken to the business owner regarding this complaint, and find that our negotiated  resolution is satisfactory to me.

6/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob's air repair sent a technician to my house and before he touched a single thing he had me sign a form. He performed a 2 minute visual inspection and told me I needed a new unit and the cost would be 7000 dollars.I told him I would not pay 7000 dollars and Bob's air repair charged me 1100 dollars for a "'re-stocking"fee without ever even trying to figure out what was wrong with my unit. My son contacted them and they sent 3 techs to my house and wanted me to sign one of their forms again and the cost would be 79 dollars. My son told the techs to please wait a minute while he called their office and the 3 techs walked right out the door and got in their vans and left. I am 74 years old and Bob's air repair has left me with no air conditioning for 2 years now. I would like to know how a company can charge 1100 hundred dollars and not do a single thing. The owner "Bob" has refused to return any of my son's phone calls. This is my only recourse to try and make this company to fix my air conditioning. I've already given them 1100 dollars and they have done absolutely nothing.I hope the BBB helps me resolve this issue and looks into the past practices of this company. I am totally amazed that they can get away with this.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I wouldn't trust that company to work on a blender.

Business Response: 8/23/13
      Approximately2 years ago Bob’s Air Repair received a call from ***** *** for us to come to
her house for a bid to replace her a/c unit. 
On 8/23/13 ***** signed an agreement for a new Air Conditioner to be
installed, she gave us 10% down,  and
initialed a spot on the contract that a (20%) restocking fee on all parts and
equipment shall be in effect if ***** cancelled the equipment order. (This is
standard contract for Bob’s Air Repair). ***** was very aware of the re-stocking
fee. On 8/23/13 Bob’s Air Repair ordered *****’s equipment. On 8/26/13 we called
***** to let her know we received her equipment and asked her what a good day
would be for the installation. At this time ***** said “something else has come
up and I need to use the money for something different”. At this time Bob
reminded her about the 20% re-stocking fee that she initialed on the contract.
***** said “I understand this but I don’t want to install the equipment right
now and I will pay the re-stocking fee”.  She then gave Bob her Credit card info to put
the re-stocking fee remainder on it. We only charged 17% restocking fee as a
courtesy. We received a call from her son on 5/14/2015 he said his mom’s unit
wasn’t working and why did we charge her $1,100 and didn’t fix it. After
reviewing his mom’s contract and situation we then explained to him that she
called us for a bid to replace her unit only and not to repair it and a
diagnoses was never performed and that equipment was ordered and that his mom
had cancelled the equipment. At this time we asked him would she like it to
diagnosed.  He said “yes come out and
find out what’s wrong with it”. We scheduled a diagnostic on 5/19/15 for $79.00.
When the 3 techs arrived her son got really hostile used bad language.  Neither ***** nor her son wanted to sign the
invoice for the diagnostic fee even though they both agreed to the $79.00 fee
earlier in the day. As a result we were not able to diagnose her
equipment.  The 3 tech’s left the
property, there wasn’t a charge even after driving 85.4 miles for the trip.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Bob's Air Repair
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart