Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Air Kustoms, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 892-4328 Fax: (209) 892-8324 View Additional Phone Numbers 342 Eucalyptus Ave, Patterson, CA 95363 http://www.airkustoms.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Air Kustoms, Inc. offers HVAC services. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Air Kustoms, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Air Kustoms, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Air Kustoms, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2007 in CA Business incorporated 02/02/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00901343.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Juan Zarate, President Ms. Jesselyn Reeves, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Zarate, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 342 Eucalyptus Ave

    Patterson, CA 95363

  • PO Box 998

    Patterson, CA 95363

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted my home warranty vendor, **** ******** ** *******, because my air conditioners were not cooling my house effectively. They had Air Kustoms Inc. CA Lic# ******, come out and inspect my AC units on 8/29/14. They found no issue and stated that my system needed maintenance, which wasn't covered under the warranty. I did not get the maintenance because I wanted to have another company do the work.My wife noticed today (9/24/14) that there were large brown circles on our ceiling. I investigated in the attic and noticed a yellow liquid was overflowing from one corner of the drip pan under our AC unit and from an exposed PVC drain pipe on the other side of the unit. I called my home warranty company and they advised me that this was a maintenance issue, not a warranty issue and they would not cover the work. I called out ******** **********, CA Lic# ******, and they came and evaluated the system. They immediately found that the drip pan under the AC unit had been stepped on, knocked off it's brace, and was crushed to where it no longer held water in the pain. The center of gravity was changed when the pan was knocked down and water could not drain through the drain pipes, but rather it collected on one side of the pan until it overflowed. The overflow dripped directly onto the ceiling drywall and caused damage. The exposed PVC drain pipe on the other side of the unit was stepped on and cracked, so when water made it through the pipe, it just leaked out back into the drain pan and onto the ceiling drywallBasically, Air Kustoms Inc stepped on and destroyed multiple parts of my AC drainage components, which caused the water to leak out of the drip pain incorrectly. This led to an overflow of water that spilled onto the ceiling, causing damage to the drywall, which will lead to mold.Air Kustoms Inc repeatedly refused to provide me with his insurance information.

Desired Settlement: I want Air Kustoms Inc to fully reimburse me for the damages they caused to my AC unit, AC Parts, and structural wood and drywall as a result of their negligence.

Business Response:

Air Kustoms Inc.

*** *** ***

Patterson CA 95363

**********************

Phone: ***** ********

 

 

Better Business Bureau

3075 Beacon Blvd

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (916) 443-0376

 

The original service call to homeowner, ***** *****, was 7-17-2014 for A/C being un-operational due to a faulty T.X.V. in the evaporator coil located in customer’s attic. We advised ***** ****’s wife Mia of the problem and solution. I called Home Warranty of America for approval of repairs. All repairs where approved, excluding the maintenance. **** ******** ******* called customer to advise them of repairs and also let them know maintenance is not covered under Home Warranty. On this visit we noted that the system had been repaired previous by possibly previous homeowners. The coil screws where missing and signs of coil tampering. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance and signed the invoice declining.

Second visit to ***** ***** home was 7-18-2014 for replacement on T.X.V. Air Kustoms assembled the coil properly and made all repairs necessary under Home Warranty of America. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance and signed the invoice declining.

8-29-2014 A third service call was made to Mr. ***** house due to his claim on A/C system not working. System had most likely froze overnight, due to lack of maintenance, which had been recommended in the past by Air Kustoms and Home Warranty of America.

On arrival, we noted that the system had been off for 48 hours per Mrs. *****.  Air Kustoms did go up in the attic and inspect system. We noticed the water was starting to go into the overflow pan. We once again offered Ms. ***** maintenance and explained the importance. We advised it needs to be done ASAP, due to water leak, possible damage, and malfunctions. At this time we noted that the filter was extremely plugged and was in dire need of maintenance. Air Kustoms explained to Mrs. ***** the problem and possible causes. She replied back, “I will let my husband know to get maintenance done right away before damages occur, I am sure this will motivate him on getting it done.” I informed her that the maintenance can be done by Air Kustoms or she may call any other company, but it needed to be done right away.

9-2-2014 A follow up call was made to Mr. *****. Once again Air Kustom’s offered a maintenance. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance, he claimed it was not needed and he could do it himself. We have records of all fallow up calls. Ms. ***** mentioned the system was working properly and no problems found after the time of service call 8-29-2014.

9-24-2014 Mr. ***** called demanding we do his repairs and provide him with our insurance information. He claimed Air Kustoms damaged his A/C system and house. I, **** ******, advised him if precautions, such as maintenance, would have been performed; any broken pipes or pans would have caught and corrected before damage occurred. Mr. ***** claimed once again that Air Kustoms broke his pipes and attic.

If Air Kustoms had done any damage to the A/C system, it would have leaked and malfunctioned since initial service call on 7-18-14. Broken pipes or pans will not take two months to leak, specially having heavy usage. Leakage occurred due to lack of maintenance and negligence of cleaning and proper drainage testing. If you need any more information regarding this issue, please contact me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Air Kustoms Inc.

President

cc: **** ******

Business Response:

Air Kustoms Inc.

*** *** ***

Patterson CA 95363

**********************

Phone: ***** ********

 

 

Better Business Bureau

3075 Beacon Blvd

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Phone: (916) 443-0376

 

The original service call to homeowner, ***** *****, was 7-17-2014 for A/C being un-operational due to a faulty T.X.V. in the evaporator coil located in customer’s attic. We advised ***** ****’s wife Mia of the problem and solution. I called Home Warranty of America for approval of repairs. All repairs where approved, excluding the maintenance. **** ******** ******* called customer to advise them of repairs and also let them know maintenance is not covered under Home Warranty. On this visit we noted that the system had been repaired previous by possibly previous homeowners. The coil screws where missing and signs of coil tampering. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance and signed the invoice declining.

Second visit to ***** ***** home was 7-18-2014 for replacement on T.X.V. Air Kustoms assembled the coil properly and made all repairs necessary under Home Warranty of America. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance and signed the invoice declining.

8-29-2014 A third service call was made to Mr. ***** house due to his claim on A/C system not working. System had most likely froze overnight, due to lack of maintenance, which had been recommended in the past by Air Kustoms and Home Warranty of America.

On arrival, we noted that the system had been off for 48 hours per Mrs. *****.  Air Kustoms did go up in the attic and inspect system. We noticed the water was starting to go into the overflow pan. We once again offered Ms. ***** maintenance and explained the importance. We advised it needs to be done ASAP, due to water leak, possible damage, and malfunctions. At this time we noted that the filter was extremely plugged and was in dire need of maintenance. Air Kustoms explained to Mrs. ***** the problem and possible causes. She replied back, “I will let my husband know to get maintenance done right away before damages occur, I am sure this will motivate him on getting it done.” I informed her that the maintenance can be done by Air Kustoms or she may call any other company, but it needed to be done right away.

9-2-2014 A follow up call was made to Mr. *****. Once again Air Kustom’s offered a maintenance. ***** ***** denied a recommended maintenance, he claimed it was not needed and he could do it himself. We have records of all fallow up calls. Ms. ***** mentioned the system was working properly and no problems found after the time of service call 8-29-2014.

9-24-2014 Mr. ***** called demanding we do his repairs and provide him with our insurance information. He claimed Air Kustoms damaged his A/C system and house. I, **** ******, advised him if precautions, such as maintenance, would have been performed; any broken pipes or pans would have caught and corrected before damage occurred. Mr. ***** claimed once again that Air Kustoms broke his pipes and attic.

If Air Kustoms had done any damage to the A/C system, it would have leaked and malfunctioned since initial service call on 7-18-14. Broken pipes or pans will not take two months to leak, specially having heavy usage. Leakage occurred due to lack of maintenance and negligence of cleaning and proper drainage testing. If you need any more information regarding this issue, please contact me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Air Kustoms Inc.

President

cc: **** ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Air Kustoms Inc. caused physical damage to my AC unit components, specifically the drain pipe and drip pan. **** ****** was the technician who did these damages, as he was the last person to enter the attic and be in physical contact with the HVAC unit itself. The damage was caused by Mr. ******'s negligence, as he stepped on a sheet metal drain pan. He stepped directly onto the edge of the pan, causing the sheet metal to bend outward. He also knocked the pan off of it's bracing lumber, which changed the center of gravity in the pan do allow condensation to collect at a low point until it spilled over the damaged /bent portion of the pan. Mr. ****** also stepped on and completely fractured a PVC drainage line on the opposite side of the unit. This allowed water to leak directly out of the pipe and onto the drywall. Mr. ****** attempted to place HVAC tape around the fractured pipe to conceal the leak in an obvious attempt to conceal the damage he caused. Mr. ****** also had his child with him who was also in the attic the day of the service. The child may have caused the damage also. I asked Mr. ****** to return to my home to survey and repair the damages and he refused.
 
Two independent HVAC contractors and *** (home owner's insurance) came out to my home and surveyed the AC unit and damaged caused by Mr. ******. All three parties concluded that the physical damage to the drip pan and drainage pipes could ONLY have happened if someone had stepped on them. No mechanical issues would have caused the damage. The fact that I did not purchase a "Service Plan" from Mr. ******  would not have led the the AC unit sustaining physical damage, which resulted into damage to my AC Unit and to the ceiling in my home. I had to hire a contractor to immediately repair my AC unit, which cost $450.00. *** has estimated that the damage to my ceiling to be approx. $1,400.00.
 
I contacted Mr. ****** on 9/24/14 and told him of the damage I found in my attic and ceiling and he denied any wrong doing. He also refused to provide me with his contractor's license # or his liability insurance information. Mr. ****** was rude, used offensive language, and was verbally abusive on the phone. This person has little, if any integrity. His complete lack of character is demonstrated in his workmanship and interpersonal skills.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Air Kustoms Inc. caused physical damage to my AC unit components, specifically the drain pipe and drip pan. **** ****** was the technician who did these damages, as he was the last person to enter the attic and be in physical contact with the HVAC unit itself. The damage was caused by Mr. ******'s negligence, as he stepped on a sheet metal drain pan. He stepped directly onto the edge of the pan, causing the sheet metal to bend outward. He also knocked the pan off of it's bracing lumber, which changed the center of gravity in the pan do allow condensation to collect at a low point until it spilled over the damaged /bent portion of the pan. Mr. ****** also stepped on and completely fractured a PVC drainage line on the opposite side of the unit. This allowed water to leak directly out of the pipe and onto the drywall. Mr. ****** attempted to place HVAC tape around the fractured pipe to conceal the leak in an obvious attempt to conceal the damage he caused. Mr. ****** also had his child with him who was also in the attic the day of the service. The child may have caused the damage also. I asked Mr. ****** to return to my home to survey and repair the damages and he refused.
 
Two independent HVAC contractors and *** (home owner's insurance) came out to my home and surveyed the AC unit and damaged caused by Mr. ******. All three parties concluded that the physical damage to the drip pan and drainage pipes could ONLY have happened if someone had stepped on them. No mechanical issues would have caused the damage. The fact that I did not purchase a "Service Plan" from Mr. ******  would not have led the the AC unit sustaining physical damage, which resulted into damage to my AC Unit and to the ceiling in my home. I had to hire a contractor to immediately repair my AC unit, which cost $450.00. *** has estimated that the damage to my ceiling to be approx. $1,400.00.
 
I contacted Mr. ****** on 9/24/14 and told him of the damage I found in my attic and ceiling and he denied any wrong doing. He also refused to provide me with his contractor's license # or his liability insurance information. Mr. ****** was rude, used offensive language, and was verbally abusive on the phone. This person has little, if any integrity. His complete lack of character is demonstrated in his workmanship and interpersonal skills.  

Business Response:

I, **** ******, was the technician on site. As mentioned before in the previous letter, the system had already been worked on or repaired, before our diagnoses on 7-17-14. On 7-18-2014 we performed all necessary repairs that where approved under **** ******** ** *******. When we left the job site, system had been working properly and was cooling efficiently.

8-29-2014 was third service call regarding the systems operation. On arrival system was working and cooling properly, however I did go in attic to do a visual inspection. We did notice the traces of water in the pan and advised customer to have system maintained as soon as possible to prevent malfunctions and or damages. We offered again to provide the maintenance service, but it was declined by Mr. & Mrs. *****.

In regards to me stepping on the drain pan, knocking the pan of its bracing lumber, and changing the center of its gravity, this did not occur.  If I would have stepped on a drain pan and damaged it, I would have known and fixed it before leaving any job site.

In regards to the PVC pipe being “stepped on and completely fractured… on the opposite side of the unit”, I did not need to go to the opposite side of hvac system at all. I was never on the PVC pipe side, therefore I could not have broken any PVC pipe. The PVC pipe could have been damaged from previous work done or from the original installation. The cause of PVC pipe damage is unknown to me, other than I know I was not the cause. In any case, if I would have broken any pipe to HVAC drain, I would have repaired it, and corrected any errors. I would never, and have never, used a piece of tape to seal a drain line.

I have been in the HVAC trade since 2002 and have had very little mistakes, or accidents. I always accept responsibility and do the necessary repairs of any damages caused by myself and employees.

In 2007 I started my own HVAC firm. Since then we have successfully developed our business as a team effort. We have become successful, not causing damages to customers home, but by being honest, providing comfort, reasonable prices, and safety in family homes. There is a skilled and highly trained certified technician at every job site.

If a system maintenance would have been performed in a timely manner, this could have been easily prevented. During routine maintenance, the drains are tested and become cleared. A routine maintenance may not have fixed the problem, but the problem would have been found. If a problem is found, we would give a proper estimate to preform repairs. The same as any maintenance, for all customers.

As mentioned by Mr. *****, we were not trying to sell him a “service plan.” We were trying to make him understand his system was in desperate need of a maintenance. He just did not want to pay for something his home owner warranty did not cover. He waited until damages occurred to request repair and maintenance. This is not the fault of negligence on proper services performed. This is the fault of negligence for not having a maintenance performed when advised by a professional to do so.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

Air Kustoms Inc.

President

cc: **** ******

Business Response:

I, **** ******, was the technician on site. As mentioned before in the previous letter, the system had already been worked on or repaired, before our diagnoses on 7-17-14. On 7-18-2014 we performed all necessary repairs that where approved under **** ******** ** *******. When we left the job site, system had been working properly and was cooling efficiently.

8-29-2014 was third service call regarding the systems operation. On arrival system was working and cooling properly, however I did go in attic to do a visual inspection. We did notice the traces of water in the pan and advised customer to have system maintained as soon as possible to prevent malfunctions and or damages. We offered again to provide the maintenance service, but it was declined by Mr. & Mrs. *****.

In regards to me stepping on the drain pan, knocking the pan of its bracing lumber, and changing the center of its gravity, this did not occur.  If I would have stepped on a drain pan and damaged it, I would have known and fixed it before leaving any job site.

In regards to the PVC pipe being “stepped on and completely fractured… on the opposite side of the unit”, I did not need to go to the opposite side of hvac system at all. I was never on the PVC pipe side, therefore I could not have broken any PVC pipe. The PVC pipe could have been damaged from previous work done or from the original installation. The cause of PVC pipe damage is unknown to me, other than I know I was not the cause. In any case, if I would have broken any pipe to HVAC drain, I would have repaired it, and corrected any errors. I would never, and have never, used a piece of tape to seal a drain line.

I have been in the HVAC trade since 2002 and have had very little mistakes, or accidents. I always accept responsibility and do the necessary repairs of any damages caused by myself and employees.

In 2007 I started my own HVAC firm. Since then we have successfully developed our business as a team effort. We have become successful, not causing damages to customers home, but by being honest, providing comfort, reasonable prices, and safety in family homes. There is a skilled and highly trained certified technician at every job site.

If a system maintenance would have been performed in a timely manner, this could have been easily prevented. During routine maintenance, the drains are tested and become cleared. A routine maintenance may not have fixed the problem, but the problem would have been found. If a problem is found, we would give a proper estimate to preform repairs. The same as any maintenance, for all customers.

As mentioned by Mr. *****, we were not trying to sell him a “service plan.” We were trying to make him understand his system was in desperate need of a maintenance. He just did not want to pay for something his home owner warranty did not cover. He waited until damages occurred to request repair and maintenance. This is not the fault of negligence on proper services performed. This is the fault of negligence for not having a maintenance performed when advised by a professional to do so.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

Air Kustoms Inc.

President

cc: **** ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The simple facts of the issue at hand are as follows:

1. Mr. ****** and his child were the last people to enter the attic space prior to the start of the leak.

2. When the leak was noticed due to water staining on the ceiling, physical damage was found to the drip pan and drainage lines.

3. Tape was used to try to conceal the physical damage caused by Mr. ******.

4. Three different agencies, including my home owners insurance and two independent HVAC contractors, concluded that the damage sustained to my AC unit drainage lines and drip pan, and resulting water damage to my drywall ceiling, was caused by obvious physical damage to the components being stepped on and broken.

Mr. ****** has been given enough notice to do the right thing an be responsible for the damages either he or his child caused while conducting business in my attic. I will be pursuing financial damages in small claims court in the immediate future.

***** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The simple facts of the issue at hand are as follows:

1. Mr. ****** and his child were the last people to enter the attic space prior to the start of the leak.

2. When the leak was noticed due to water staining on the ceiling, physical damage was found to the drip pan and drainage lines.

3. Tape was used to try to conceal the physical damage caused by Mr. ******.

4. Three different agencies, including my home owners insurance and two independent HVAC contractors, concluded that the damage sustained to my AC unit drainage lines and drip pan, and resulting water damage to my drywall ceiling, was caused by obvious physical damage to the components being stepped on and broken.

Mr. ****** has been given enough notice to do the right thing an be responsible for the damages either he or his child caused while conducting business in my attic. I will be pursuing financial damages in small claims court in the immediate future.

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Air Kustoms, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)