BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Woodfin Heating, Inc.

Phone: (804) 730-5000 8180 Mechanicsville Tpke, Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.askwoodfin.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodfin Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodfin Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woodfin Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 13, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1977 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated: 10/21/1977 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Andress, President Mr. Reaves Louthan, Vice President Mr. Kevin Walsh, Chief Financial Officer Jack Woodfin, CEO Mr. David Kibiloski, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Andress, President
Principal: Mr. Reaves Louthan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Kevin Walsh, Chief Financial Officer
Principal: Jack Woodfin, CEO
Related Businesses
Watchcard Fleet Fuel Management Watchdog Security Systems by All Secure EMC Mechanical Services
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Energy Audits Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Home Improvements Plumbers

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check and All Major Credit Cards, Financing Available
Alternate Business Names
Woodfin Electrical Woodfin Oil Company Woodfin Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 8180 Mechanicsville Tpke

    Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 (804) 730-5000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called woodfins office on 2/4/14 to schedule oil delivery to my home on 2/6/14. On 2/6/14 at 8:34 am I called woodfin once more to confirm delivery and prepay $373 with my debit card for 100 gallons of oil. The office receptionist told me that the payment was approved and that the oil would be delivered today. When I got home from work I was told that the oil was never delivered. So I proceeded to call woodfin again and received an after hours reception whom did not show any type of concern, has no knowledge about woodfin products or services, and could not give me any explanation add to why my oil was not delivered. She said the only thing she could do was to leave a msg for someone to call me back or it will be delivered tomorrow, and that was a couple hours ago. I can't believe that not only have they taken half of my paycheck but they have ruined my night as well as lose a customer. At this point I have no heat, no hot water, and it's 30 degrees outside and my three children are cold. I am sooo ******* angry and very dissatisfied. I don't know how many other people this could be happening to, but I know that I shouldn't have to suffer for someone's neglence.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my oil to be delivered as well as some type of compensation or refund because the oil is not cheap first of all and secondly I have paid for services that have not been rendered on time

Business Response: The delivery in question was indeed delivered that day, at approximately 8:49 p.m.  We are sorry that the night answering service was unable to communicate with the customer wether or not the delivery was going to occur, and we are taking steps to better inform our after hours service on the status of deliveries still out on the trucks during times of extreme weather and commensurate workload.  We were extremely busy on the day of this delivery, and had several drivers working late into the night to ensure the all deliveries were made.  We also make every effort to move a delivery up earlier in the day if a customer communicates with us that they are completely out of product, but we have no records of this being the case for this particular customer.

I would have liked to personally apologize to the customer, but I have been unable to reach them, leaving two voicemail messages with no return call.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my home in 1997 I contracted with this company. I received and paid for thousands of gallons of oil, a new furnace and 2 new above ground oil tanks. In 2008 I lost my job (career) as many people did and took a job at 1/4 the pay. I continued to pay this company consistently during these times, catching up during the warmer months. Woodfin installed a new above ground oil tank about 5 years ago. Three years later that tank failed - the legs failed and the tank had to be replaced AGAIN! Woodfin offered no advantage on another new tank. OKDecember 2011, I discovered a failure in the furnace, a dangerous failure with oil leaking out of the furnace onto the ground. I called Woodfin and explained the situation and urgency - their response " We can NOT come to your house because you have a late balance" ALL THE WHILE I AM LOOSING OIL - they would NOT come and I paid another contractor to repair the leak. okThAt this time I contracted with another company for all future oil purchases. I continued to pay Woodfin from January 2012 until August...EVERY month - and sometimes twice a month to pay the balace due. August 23 2012 I get a bill from Woodfin - a larger balance than what is should have been (had not ordered one drop of fuel since prior year) so I call them... They explain they are billing me for the annual maintenance fee......they do not even LOOK at their accounts to see that I had not bought oil in 8 months and are billing me for the service contract for the next 12 months. I explain to them all of the above and ask what I owe to pay them off. They delightedly tell me I have over paid and would I like to renegotiate the contract. **** NO - so they transfer me to retention. I tell this one the tale and tell her to send me my money. She says it will take 5-6 weeks.October 16 2012 - I have seen NO check from Woodfin - I call and the sales/service imbecile tells me "ooooo, she forgot to order it

Desired Settlement: She says she will cut the check that Friday and have it delivered to my home. Saturday am, go looking for the check, NO CHECK....TODAY - call Woodfin - GET yet ANOTHER person on the phone who tells me I have an overage in not one but TWO accounts with this company and there is an overage in both accunts and this is news to me..Thinks these were misappropriated funds of another customerCheck for the one overage finally delivered today.

Business Response: We have spoken with *** ********** and feel that we have satisfied her complaint.  We first and foremost, apologized for the lack of follow through on our part.  The situation should have been handled completely without the need for *** ********** to make several communication efforts to have the problem corrected.  We have taken the necessary actions to ensure that the problem will not occur in the future.  **** ********** thanked us for our response an communicated that she was satisfied with the resolution of her issue.



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The customer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1