Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodfin Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodfin Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

109 Customer Reviews on Woodfin Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 106
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 109

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1977 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 10/21/1977 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Andress, President Jack Woodfin, CEO Mr. Kevin Walsh, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Kelly Williams , Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Andress, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Williams , Marketing Manager
Principal: Jack Woodfin, CEO
Related Businesses
Watchdog Security Systems by All Secure EMC Mechanical Services
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Gas - Propane Energy Audits Generators Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Home Improvements Plumbers

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check and All Major Credit Cards, Financing Available
Alternate Business Names
Woodfin Electrical Woodfin Oil Company Woodfin Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Woodfin Heating, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8180 Mechanicsville Tpke

    Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 (804) 730-5000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Woodfin salesman promised and quoted 2 air cleaners in the $11,647 contract for 2 air conditioning and heating systems. I was extremely excited that I would get air cleaners since my family suffers from allergies. There were numerous issues during the installation. The installers had switch the downstairs and upstairs unit due to miscommunication with the salesman. Air vents modifications were different from what was discussed with the salesman. Additionally, I had asked that the old panels be kept on as I didn't want to expose the unrepaired holes, but the installers removed them. When installation was completed, they failed to tell me the air cleaners weren't installed. When asked about it, the installer said they couldn't be installed due to insufficient space and the salesman was notified of this. But when I talked to the salesman, he made no mention of it and had offered to drop off filters for the nonexistent air cleaners. If I had not inquire about how to install the filters, I would have been led to believe I had the 2 air cleaners and wouldn't have found out until I went to replace the air filter a year later. Upon further inspection by the salesman on next visit, the upstairs unit could be installed but the downstairs couldn't. If I had known about the inability to install air cleaners, I would have sought a second opinion or went with a different company. The salesman offered to install the upstairs unit and a $200 billing adjustment for the downstairs unit, but would require me to take a day off from work in addition to the 2 days that I had already taken for the incomplete installation. I refused and had asked to speak with the sales manager and was subsequently hung up on. Several bills was sent to me for the unfinished work. After 2 months of waiting, I received a call from their billing department. They wanted to know what was keeping me from paying the bill. I proceeded to tell them that the work is still incomplete, and I was finally put in contact with sales manager. The sales manager offered me a $300 billing adjustment and an installation of the upstairs air cleaner. I refused since that would cause me to lose income from taking off from work for something that should have been done the first time around. After heated discussions and 2 months of waiting, I did not feel that we would come to an agreement to the compensation. Based on my unpleasant experience so far, I decided that I did not want them in my house again and wanted $1,000 for the parts and labor associated with installing 2 air cleaners. The sales manager didn't think that I deserved it and offered me $700. I had wasted an excessive amount of time on the matter and did not want to spend any more time. I reluctantly took the $700 and will be stuck with the allergies associated with the absence of air cleaners for the next 20 years. During the discussion, I was left with the impression that these occurrences happen all the time, and I was being unreasonable with my requests. The salesman gave a lot of promises that were not kept and did a poor job of communicating with the installers. The sales team were unapologetic. I’m very disappointed in my experience since I've heard great things about the company.

Desired Settlement: I think that the business should apologize for the terrible experience and for making me wait 2 months for a phone call. In addition, the business should implement changes to improve communication between the salesman and installers. I would also like to be fairly compensation for the missing air cleaners.

Business Response: On June 5 and 6th, 2014, we installed two air conditioning systems for the customer for $11,647.  Prior to the installation, Woodfin, at no cost to the customer, filled the customers system with *** refrigerant so that the customers, who were expecting a new child, would have cooling until the units could be replaced.  

The upstairs system was increased form 1.5 tons to 2 tons, with necessitated increasing a few duct runs from 6” to 8”, requiring our installers to replace the customers grills with larger ones for the required airflow.  During the multiple conversations listed below, the customer never made any mention of any concern with the new grills.

As part of a promotion, both systems were to receive a free air filter installed.  During the morning of the second day, the customer contacted the salesperson and requested to extra air filters be dropped off, to which the salesman agreed and communicated he would call to schedule a time to drop the filters off once he had picked them up.  The salesman then called and scheduled the follow up meeting for the 12th.  Later that same day, the installation crew determined that an air filter was not able to install on the downstairs system, but did not convey that information to the salesman until the end of that day.  The installation crew also failed to install a filter on the upstairs system, which was clearly a mistake and most certainly our fault. 

During the meeting on the 12th, the salesman communicated to the customer that we were not able to install the filter on the downstairs system, and offered a ** bulb as an alternative.  While checking the upstairs installation, ******* also discovered the air filter had not been installed either.  The customer was not sure if he wanted the ** light in lieu of the downstairs air filter so the salesman communicated to the customer that he would discuss the matter with the sales manager and follow up to make arrangements to finish the work, to which the customer agreed.

Over the next few weeks, the salesman and customer had several phone conversations in an attempt to come to an amicable resolution and schedule the omitted work.  The final conversation between the two consisted of the customer requesting he be given two 10-year service plans, a $1500 value that was offered for purchase at the time of the sale, but the customer declined.  The salesman stated that he would need to speak with the sales manager, but DID NOT hang up on the customer.

The sales manager left several messages with the customer in July in attempt to resolve the issue.  Statements were generated and sent to the customer on 7/7 and 8/6 with no return call from the customer.  On 8/11, the credit manager called and left a message with the customer.  The customer returned the call on 8/12 and communicated that payments were not made, as he was unhappy with the installation.  

On 8/20, the service manager and the customer spoke.  We offered a credit of $200, an extra year maintenance agreement and a case of replacement filters for the downstairs unit.  The customer responded with another request for the 2 ten year agreements ($1500 value.)   As the conversation had become heated, both parties agreed to talk early the following week.  
During the next conversation, on 8/26, the customer agreed to a $350 credit for the downstairs filter and to schedule a time for us to install the upstairs filter.  When the install department contacted the customer to install the filter, the customer would only allow the installation to occur that ******** (***** ***,) which we could not do as duct shops are not open on holidays for us to get the needed transitions to complete the work.  The customer then refused to schedule for any other day, even the following Saturday.  We offered to come before, or after work to take the needed measurements so we could have everything ready and install it on any Saturday, but the customer refused, saying he had a new baby and did not want us to come in his home and requested a $1000 credit.  Unable to reach an agreement, the sales manager once again asked the customer to think about how we could work it out so we could come install the filter and that a follow up conversation would occur on 8/29.

The sales manger called the customer on 8/29, and in an effort to remedy the situation, offered the two 10 year service agreements previously requested by the customer.   The customer declined the offer and did not want us to come out to his home again to even install the upstairs air filter.  The customer asked for a $700 credit, to which we agreed and once again apologized for the inconvenience.  A statement reflecting the credit was sent out on 9/3 and we received payment on 9/12.

As stated above, we did make mistakes during the installation process, of which I am very sorry, as that is not the manner in which we conduct our business.  We did in fact make several attempts to rectify the situation, making several different offers for completion, credit or extended service agreements.  In the end, we agreed to credit the $700 requested by the customer, a figure that he came up with, not us.   While we could have done a better job communicating during the installation process, I feel we made every effort possible to rectify the situation to the customer’s satisfaction by agreeing to the credit he requested during the final conversation.  If the customer had requested a credit of $1000 during the conversation we would have agreed to give him just that.  As such I am willing to refund the customer $300 as I feel we could have done a better job communicating during the installation.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

Yes, Woodfin did filled the system with refrigerant so I can have AC temporarily at no cost.  For that, I am grateful.


The new grills are fine after I had corrected the installers and called the salesman on spot.  It was just one of many blunders of that day.  To be clear, I am satisfied with the new grills as they are now.


During our discussion prior to the installation, there was no mention that the air cleaner was part of a promotion and free.  It was not until after I found out that they didn't install it, it became free and cost nothing.  The replaceable air filter that the cleaner used was free.  And since there was no air cleaner, there isn't much need for the free air filters.  I had requested numerous times to get an itemized invoice so I know what I actually paid for and what was free.  The business refused saying that the contract was the invoice.  The contract made no mention that the air cleaner was free.  Regardless, air cleaner was promised and listed in the contract.  It costs the business to provide that product and labor.  And it did influenced my decision to hire the company.


A ** bulb was offered as an alternative, but that does nothing to help with my allergies.  ** kills mold and bacteria but doesn't filter particles.  They perform different functions with no overlap.  It was not an alternative and the salesman should have known.  It was something offered that I did not need to replace something that I needed and agreed upon in the contract.


The sales manager did not call me in July and no messages were left.  I can prove this with my phone company.  If I did receive a call, I would have called back just like I did when the credit manager had called me 2 months later.


I had actually requested to do the installation on ANY Saturday or Sunday because I could not afford to take another day off work.  The business refused not because it was a holiday.  As we all know, ***** *** is always on a Monday and never on a Saturday.  They had wanted 2 weekends to do the job.  One to take measurements and another to do the installation.  As I had already invested the 2 days needed for the installation, two more weekends is unacceptable.  It was at that moment that I felt uncomfortable letting these people in my house again.


I had initially requested the $1500, 10 year service agreement, but the sales manager refused.  Several days later, he offered it to me and I refused.  The reason is because during that time, I had learned that service agreements such as these were the most profitable product a company sells.  Because the systems I purchased were expected to last over 15 years I would have gained little benefit from the service agreement.  In addition, after the unpleasant experience, I wasn't sure if I wanted 10 more years of that.  I am sure now.  I definitely don't want 10 more years.  Woodfin would rather offer me $1500 in services than give me a credit of $1000.


The $700 credit was not requested by me and was offered to me in lieu of the $1000 I had requested.  If they had agreed on the $1000, we wouldn't be in this position now.


I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

Cliff Chen


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had previously filed a complaint against Woodfin Heating, Inc.  The business agreed to a resolution.  It has been over a month and after multiple attempts to contact the business, the business failed to honor the agreement.  Please advise on how to proceed.

 

Warm regards,

 

***** ****





Business Response: The customer has made no such effort to contact anyone here at Woodfin.  Our phone system tracks any and all incoming calls and we have received no calls from the contact number listed on the complaint since 9/22/14, the date the resolution offer was made.  That being said, I am having a check sent to the customer in the amount of $300 as an additional refund in an effort to resolve the situation without the need for a any follow up from the customer.   Please advise if anything else needs to be done on our end.

Regards,

****** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Thank you for keeping them honest.


Regards,

***** ****



11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account with Woodfin Oil has been closed for over one year. I have not received any billing statements or contact from them in over one year. Received a "Collection Letter" from ****** ********** ***** , Inc on October 14 , 2014 for $21.31 and have NO RECORD of receivig such a bill from Woodfin Oil. Upon calling Woodfin Oil they were unable to provide me with the reason or date for the bill of $21.31 and referred me back to ****** ********** *****....

Desired Settlement: Copy of ALL Billing Statements that were sent to me for this bill of $21.31

Business Response: BBB spoke with ***** from the company and she stated that the complaint has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Still awaiting letter from Woodfin Oil that the account is closed with nothing owed on the account and latest Collection Agency request was in error.

Regards,

****** *******




Consumer Response: I have received the letter from Woodfin Oil the collection company was in error. Thank you for your help.

**** *******

2/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called woodfins office on 2/4/14 to schedule oil delivery to my home on 2/6/14. On 2/6/14 at 8:34 am I called woodfin once more to confirm delivery and prepay $373 with my debit card for 100 gallons of oil. The office receptionist told me that the payment was approved and that the oil would be delivered today. When I got home from work I was told that the oil was never delivered. So I proceeded to call woodfin again and received an after hours reception whom did not show any type of concern, has no knowledge about woodfin products or services, and could not give me any explanation add to why my oil was not delivered. She said the only thing she could do was to leave a msg for someone to call me back or it will be delivered tomorrow, and that was a couple hours ago. I can't believe that not only have they taken half of my paycheck but they have ruined my night as well as lose a customer. At this point I have no heat, no hot water, and it's 30 degrees outside and my three children are cold. I am sooo ******* angry and very dissatisfied. I don't know how many other people this could be happening to, but I know that I shouldn't have to suffer for someone's neglence.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my oil to be delivered as well as some type of compensation or refund because the oil is not cheap first of all and secondly I have paid for services that have not been rendered on time

Business Response: The delivery in question was indeed delivered that day, at approximately 8:49 p.m.  We are sorry that the night answering service was unable to communicate with the customer wether or not the delivery was going to occur, and we are taking steps to better inform our after hours service on the status of deliveries still out on the trucks during times of extreme weather and commensurate workload.  We were extremely busy on the day of this delivery, and had several drivers working late into the night to ensure the all deliveries were made.  We also make every effort to move a delivery up earlier in the day if a customer communicates with us that they are completely out of product, but we have no records of this being the case for this particular customer.

I would have liked to personally apologize to the customer, but I have been unable to reach them, leaving two voicemail messages with no return call.

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my home in 1997 I contracted with this company. I received and paid for thousands of gallons of oil, a new furnace and 2 new above ground oil tanks. In 2008 I lost my job (career) as many people did and took a job at 1/4 the pay. I continued to pay this company consistently during these times, catching up during the warmer months. Woodfin installed a new above ground oil tank about 5 years ago. Three years later that tank failed - the legs failed and the tank had to be replaced AGAIN! Woodfin offered no advantage on another new tank. OKDecember 2011, I discovered a failure in the furnace, a dangerous failure with oil leaking out of the furnace onto the ground. I called Woodfin and explained the situation and urgency - their response " We can NOT come to your house because you have a late balance" ALL THE WHILE I AM LOOSING OIL - they would NOT come and I paid another contractor to repair the leak. okThAt this time I contracted with another company for all future oil purchases. I continued to pay Woodfin from January 2012 until August...EVERY month - and sometimes twice a month to pay the balace due. August 23 2012 I get a bill from Woodfin - a larger balance than what is should have been (had not ordered one drop of fuel since prior year) so I call them... They explain they are billing me for the annual maintenance fee......they do not even LOOK at their accounts to see that I had not bought oil in 8 months and are billing me for the service contract for the next 12 months. I explain to them all of the above and ask what I owe to pay them off. They delightedly tell me I have over paid and would I like to renegotiate the contract. **** NO - so they transfer me to retention. I tell this one the tale and tell her to send me my money. She says it will take 5-6 weeks.October 16 2012 - I have seen NO check from Woodfin - I call and the sales/service imbecile tells me "ooooo, she forgot to order it

Desired Settlement: She says she will cut the check that Friday and have it delivered to my home. Saturday am, go looking for the check, NO CHECK....TODAY - call Woodfin - GET yet ANOTHER person on the phone who tells me I have an overage in not one but TWO accounts with this company and there is an overage in both accunts and this is news to me..Thinks these were misappropriated funds of another customerCheck for the one overage finally delivered today.

Business Response: We have spoken with *** ********** and feel that we have satisfied her complaint.  We first and foremost, apologized for the lack of follow through on our part.  The situation should have been handled completely without the need for *** ********** to make several communication efforts to have the problem corrected.  We have taken the necessary actions to ensure that the problem will not occur in the future.  **** ********** thanked us for our response an communicated that she was satisfied with the resolution of her issue.