Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Brian's Heating & Air Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (434) 736-9999 View Additional Phone Numbers 780 Farmville Hwy, Keysville, VA 23947 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brians-hvac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brian's Heating & Air Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brian's Heating & Air Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 06, 2011 Business started: 05/24/2011 in VA Business incorporated 05/24/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Kemp, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Kemp, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Boilers - New & Used Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Geothermal Heating & Cooling Smoke Detectors & Alarms Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Sales & Service Water Heater - Tankless Furnace Cleaning Boilers - Sales & Service Air Balancing Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

Brian's Heating & Air Inc sells the following brand(s): Trane, Rinnai , Amerisatr, schlage link, nexia.

Brian's Heating & Air Inc offers the following product(s): air filtration, duct work, Furnace, Heat Pump, maintenance, security, smoke detector, surge protector, tankless , water heaters

Industry Tips
Water Quality Improvement

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    780 Farmville Hwy

    Keysville, VA 23947

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 61

    Farmville, VA 23901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brian's sent a technician to work on my heat pump after I called. The technician evaluated the system and determined the motor in the interior blower unit was bad. He then without ever talking to me about what needed done or the cost, order the part and told my wife he needed half the money right away. My wife trusted that she was not being ripped off and just signed the paper. I ordered the service. He should have called me, not taken advantage of my wife! My wife had nothing to do with this and yet she was duped into paying a bill for “half” the cost of the motor. The next day we had a friend Ashley stay at the house so that someone would be there. Ashley was to request that the technician call me if he had questions and before he left as well as have him leave the old parts. He did neither. Furthermore, I have the following complaints. 1. The motor that was used to replace my old one, does not match my system. I have a single speed unit, they replaced it with a variable speed motor. A single speed motor cost about $100. 2. Brian’s Heating and Air participated in extreme price gouging by charging me $545.86 for a motor that retails for $220. 3. Brian’s Heating and Air tried to cover up the price gouging by not dealing with me directly! 4. Brian’s Heating and Air further tried to cover up the price gouging by indicating on the bill that the regular price for this motor is $642.19. 5. Brian’s Heating and air again charged unreasonable rates for a capacitor. A capacitor that retails for about $12 with free shipping on Amazon.com was billed at $114.53. 6. Brian’s Heating and Air tried to cover up this deceit by stealing the old parts. 7. Brian’s Heating and Air added $116.33 to the bill by not adding properly!!! 8. Brian’s Heating and Air technician did not close the entrance to the attic space after completing work one the first day, which lead to massive losses in heat out of my house.

Desired Settlement: The proper bill should be: Blower motor - $110 15 µF Capacitor- $12 Diagnostic Charge -$150 Total: $272 Since $471 was already paid. Brian’s Heating and Air owes ***** *** *** ******* a refund of $199.

Consumer Response: Customer notified BBB that the issue had been resolved to his satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brian's Heating & Air Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)