BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB accredited

Velocity Micro

Phone: (804) 897-6166 Fax: (804) 897-4777 835 Grove Rd, Midlothian, VA 23114 http://www.velocitymicro.com ! There is an alert on Velocity Micro !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a custom builder of computers specializing in gaming, CAD and other high performance systems and Android tablets.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Velocity Micro include:

  • 79 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Velocity Micro include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

79 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 65
Total Closed Complaints 79

Additional Complaint Information

The BBB has received a pattern of customer complaints alleging customer service issues. Complaints allege consumer’s calls and emails go unanswered.

On Monday, January 28, 2013, the company responding with the following:

We have been battling a huge insurgence of goods that were improperly sold in the US by unauthorized liquidators in late 2011 that customers believe have a warranty. We've increased staff (nearly double) to try to handle this volume, updated our call center software and equipment to better handle the unexpected traffic, and we are doing our best to try to help customers that have purchased our products through improper channels. Regretfully, this has also impacted some legitimate customers that have had some trouble getting through our system and caused some frustration. We continue to be committed to getting the service levels back to normal immediately.

The Better Business Bureau reached out to the business on for an update on December 13, 2013 regarding the concerns mentioned above.

We received the following updating information:

Velocity Micro licensed their brand to another company, FoxConn, to sell android tablets. The manufacturer opened a Virginia company called “Velocity Micro Electronics” for the purpose of selling these tablets, which has long closed. FoxConn hired this company to also handle the phone support. The company was to be paid per unit shipped. Ultimately, the business relationship between Velocity Micro, Inc. and FoxConn was breached. FoxConn distributed 250,000 tablets into the market and left. This company had no liability for the products because the contract was breached. The last tablets referencing a 1 year warranty with Velocity Micro Electronics were shipped in June of 2012. The company has had no choice but to change from phone center support to email only support now, since the tablets were shipped nearly 18 months ago and any warranty period would be over. In addition, no authorized retailer sold any tablets since that time, and the only place to find them now is from companies that bought them on liquidation and without warranty from us. At this time, the company does not have any replacement units to assist consumers. 
 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Velocity Micro
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 21, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1991 in VA Business started locally: 11/01/1991 Business incorporated: 11/01/1991 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randall Copeland, President Mr. Josh Covington, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall Copeland, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Josh Covington, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Computers - Sys Designers & Consult Computers - Dealers Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Products & Services

Velocity Micro sells the following brand(s): Cruz, Velocity Micro

X
Industry Ratings Comparison Chart X
Same Relative Size   All Businesses
The information in the chart below represents an industry ratings comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size or for all businesses (see toggle). This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Virginia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business.
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

The BBB has received a pattern of customer complaints alleging customer service issues.
Complaints allege consumer’s calls and emails go unanswered. 

On Monday, January 28, 2013, the company responding with the following: 
We have been battling a huge insurgence of goods that were improperly sold in the
US by unauthorized liquidators in late 2011 that customers believe have a warranty.
We've increased staff (nearly double) to try to handle this volume, updated
our call center software and equipment to better handle the unexpected traffic,
and we are doing our best to try to help customers that have purchased our products
through improper channels. Regretfully, this has also impacted some legitimate
customers that have had some trouble getting through our system and caused
some frustration. We continue to be committed to getting the service levels back
to normal immediately. 

The Better Business Bureau reached out to the business on for an update on
December 13, 2013 regarding the concerns mentioned above.   We received the
following updating information: 

Velocity Micro licensed their brand to another company, FoxConn, to sell android
tablets. The manufacturer opened a Virginia company called “Velocity Micro Electronics”
for the purpose of selling these tablets, which has long closed. FoxConn hired this
company to also handle the phone support. The company was to be paid per unit
shipped. Ultimately, the business relationship between Velocity Micro, Inc. and
FoxConn was breached. FoxConn distributed 250,000 tablets into the market and left.
This company had no liability for the products because the contract was breached.
The last tablets referencing a 1 year warranty with Velocity Micro Electronics were
shipped in June of 2012. The company has had no choice but to change from
phone center support to email only support now, since the tablets were shipped
nearly 18 months ago and any warranty period would be over. In addition,
no authorized retailer sold any tablets since that time, and the only place to find
them now is from companies that bought them on liquidation and without
warranty from us. At this time, the company does not have any replacement units
to assist consumers.