BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Bruce Auto Parts

Phone: (804) 746-5251 Fax: (804) 730-7254 8218 Mechanicsville Tpke, Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 http://www.BRUCEAUTOPARTS.COM

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bruce Auto Parts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bruce Auto Parts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce Auto Parts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 18, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1939
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott A Bruce, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott A Bruce, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New


Additional Locations

  • 8218 Mechanicsville Tpke

    Mechanicsvlle, VA 23111 (804) 746-5251

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 9, 2014 I purchased (right side) passenger side cylinder head for my **** ***** ******* with a 3.5L engine from this company, paid for using my debit card over the phone. I was insured that the item I was getting was the (right side) passenger side cylinder head. On June 10, 2014 I received the (left side) driver side cylinder head via ******. I then called to explain the error and was told that the issue would be taken care immediately, fed-ex would pick up the incorrect item and the correct one would be shipped free of charge. Since then I have made several phone calls to this establishment wishing to get the correct one sent or a refund issued. Today is June 18, 2014 , zero attempts have been made to correct the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund or the item that I was supposed to get.

Business Response: BBB spoke with ****** and he stated that the consumer was issued a full $180 refund on his card on 6/23.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a part from this company ($1007 cash) on Monday and paid them to deliver it on Tuesday so the mechanic had time to look at the vehicle and verify that it was all we needed before it was delivered. The company instead took it upon themselves to deliver the part on Monday. Upon checking out the vehicle, the mechanic found the part was not needed after all. Due to the fact the company delivered it early, now we are being penalized a restocking fee...if they ever go pick up the part. Now they are giving us the runaround about picking up the part. They will not refund our money until they "get around to picking up the part." I do not feel it is ethical for them to 1. penalize us for the fact they delivered something when they were not instructed to do so and 2. hold our money "hostage" until they decide to eventually go and pick up the part.

Desired Settlement: I just want the money we are entitled to refunded to us and I do not want them to be able to treat customers this way in the future. Customers should be treated fairly. This is too much money for them to just "hold onto" until it is convenient for them to return it.

Business Response:

          Att.***** ****** In response to complaint ******* filed on 1/29/2013 .  On 1/28/2013 the customer came to our place of business and purchased a rear axle assembly for a **** ****** at 9:48 am .  Total cost paid was $1007.50 . When a customer pays this kind of money for a part and ask us to deliver said part we want them to be able to get their vehicle repaired as soon as possible. The customer did not ask us to hold the part while the vehicle was being diagnosed. If so we wouldn’t have required full payment for said part.  We were able to deliver the part to the customers mechanic that afternoon. On the morning of the 29th the owner of the vehicle called and said that they did not need the rear axle but that the engine was in fact bad in the vehicle . We could not arrange to pick the rear axle up that same afternoon of the 29th, so we picked up the rear axle on the morning of the 30th .  The actual refund for axle was written at 9:37 am the morning of 1/30/2013 and the customer was informed . We do charge a restocking fee on parts that are ordered wrong and that fee is normally 20%. In this case, when our salesman spoke to the purchaser, he did wave a portion of that fee to help the customer .  The customer did come down and pickup the refund around noon 1/30/2013 , $892.50 .  I am not sure who filed the complaint, but I am also not sure, we could have done anymore in a more timely fashion than we did. We were not working on the vehicle so we were not involved in the diagnosis . We sold and delivered exactly  what the customer ordered . Based on the info we were given and the time line, we thought  we supplied pretty good service .  We also want to apologize for any inconvenience on our part .

 

          Thank You 

         ****** **********              Bruce Auto Parts

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I know that nothing else is going to be done and that the company is ready to sweep this under the rug and be done with it but I would like to go on record as stating that no, I am not satisfied. The response they provided to the BBB is full of lies, but it is my word against theirs and, as usual, big business will always win over the consumer. I do not want my complaint chalked up to "Consumer Assumed Satisfied" because it is hugely misleading to anyone else trying to verify this comany's reputation before doing business with them. This company in no way accepted responsiblilty for the problem, and even though the restocking fee was reduced, it was still wrong to charge us anything for their mistake. Our money should have been refunded in full.

 

Regards,

Kasie Blume


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.