BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Broad Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Broad Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Broad Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 23, 1995 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated: 07/01/1992 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beverly Lees, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Fisher, General Manager
Related Businesses
West Broad Volkswagen & Audi West Broad Honda Mechanicsville Toyota Mechanicsville Honda
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 8903 W Broad Street

    Henrico, VA 23294 (804) 755-7777

  • PO BOX 72075

    Richmond, VA 23255

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister died on June 13,2014 of Colon cancer. She had leased a vehicle with West Board Hyundai. I was not a party to the lease. When my sister was placed in hospice suddenly last May and given three weeks to live, a close friend started calling ***** *****, the manager at that location. we called him four times, explaining that my sister was terminally ill, and asking to return the vehicle. *** ***** never returned our calls. I consulted an attorney about this and other estate matters.Though I was not obligated in any way to return this vehicle or handle this matter, I was trying to do the responsible thing. My attorney called the dealership and was told by *** ***** if I brought the vehicle in, they would accept it. I then called him two more times to see what time would be convenient for me to return the car. He never responded to those calls so I then drove the vehicle there on a Wednesday ,which was two days after he agreed to accept it.We were told he was on vacation and no one else at the dealership knew anything about the matter. No one else at the dealership would agree to accept car. My attorney then called the national office of Hyundai Financing ,who said the vehicle should be turned in to the dealership. However, they said they would tow it form my sister's apartment complex within seven days. We removed the plates and notified the management of the complex. They did not tow the vehicle within the promised week or in the following three weeks. At this point, My attorney filed tow complaints, one with the DMV and one with the Consumer Affair's Division of the Attorney General's office. Again, the dealership told my attorney that ***** ***** would accept the vehicle. I called him twice last week to make arrangements and not surprisingly, he never called me back. So, I called his boss, the General manager, *** ******, whose name I got from your website. *** ****** was kind enough to return my call within twenty minutes and though we kept missing each other, He must have directed *** ***** to call me because he finally did. I returned the car last week and *** ******* few words to me did not include any apology or even an explanation. It was clear, too, that he had told other staff that I had complained. I had to ask one of the employees to basically leave me alone when he pestered me repeatedly with sarcastic offers of beverages and some inane offer to sit in a leather chair. Today, I received acall from a ***** ******* at west Broad Hyundai asking if we could resolve the matter because he received a compliant form Consumer Affairs. Apparently, no one told him the matter had been handled.

Desired Settlement: An apology will mean nothing but is overdue. You obviously cannot teach people to be decent or empathetic or to understand how a grieving family might appreciate the kindness of a returned phone call. The irony of this dealership's receiving all kinds of sales awards is not lost on me. They are happy to take your money for a car whose reputation they had nothing to do with just as they were happy to lease my seriously ill sister a vehicle when she had an accident while receiving chemotherapy. So, I don't expect an apology and it would be meaningless. I do want my complaint or a summation of it registered on your website. And I would like them to know I was planning to replace my eleven year old ***** *** this winter and was seriously considering the ******* ***** **. I will never buy a vehicle from that dealership. They won't lose sleep over it but they might want to pay attention. I'm sure I'm not the only person they have treated so carelessly. It will affect them eventually.

Business Response: I called **** *** and we had a nice conversation as i had hoped to talk with her on Aug. 18 but we seemed to play phone tag and today Aug. 21 at 11:30 fianally got a chance to talk and get some clarity on the problem and resolve the issue so i would like to thank *** *** for speaking with me and if she needs anything further my office door is always open.  ***** ****** GM

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

**** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my ******* ****** towed to West Broad Hyundai because it would not start. The battery had run down. I asked the service department to check the car out, because the headlights didn't always go out after cutting car off. I believed the battery was run down from this headlight issue. ***** ****, a ******* **********, said they couldn't find anything wrong with the car other than it needed a new battery. A new battery would be $100.00. I told them the battery had recently been replaced with a new one. ***** **** then recommended a 100,000 mileage service be done. This service included the following: Oil change, tire rotation, air filter change, cabin filter change, timing belt change, new v-belt coolant change and new spark plugs. This service would cost $1800.00. I told ***** I had just changed the oil and oil filter myself at home and the tires are rotated regularly at ****** where the tires were purchased from. They performed the other services other than the ones I told them not to do ie: oil change and tire rotation. The car was serviced from February 28 to March 4 2014. The bill was $1562.82. The next day or two the engine light came on. I returned back to West Broad Hyundai. ***** said the transmission was bad. I disagreed with him and took the car back home. One day when the weather was warm I turned on the air conditioner, it didn't work. I drove by West Broad Hyundai. They said to bring the car back in. ***** said the Charcoal canister needed to be replaced. I told him that wasn't what I brought the car in for. I told him the air conditioner wasn't working and had been working fine up until it was brought into West Broad Hyundai. ***** said it would cost $150.00 to put Freon in the car. I picked up the car without any services performed. To replace the timing belt you have to remove the air condioner compressor, so I checked the wire going to the compressor. The insulator on the wire going to the compressor had fallen off and I reconnected wire tothe compressor with electrical tape. In May 2013 , I had the air conditioner repaired at ******* ********** **** ****** ***** ********* ** ************. The air conditioner had been running fine since that repair. I believe that West Broad Hyundai hasn't fixed the issue with my car and continues to run up addtional repairs with no solution to the problem I brought it in for.

Desired Settlement: Find out what caused the battery to run down that was the original complaint and the air conditioner which had worked fine up until brought in to West Broad Hyundai. Fix original complaint regarding battery and fix air conditioning which was working fine prior to service at West Broad Hyundai

Business Response:

When customer came in the check engine light was on and 1st time gave code for problem with transmission.  We cleared the code at that time and told him if the code came back, vehicle would need a transmission.   When the vehicle came back in, had a code for the charcoal canister and valve which customer declined repair.  We checked the a/c and found no freon in the system.  Explained to customer we would have to charge system and insert dye to find the leak which the customer declined.  The ac compressor does not have to be removed when replacing a timing belt.   After explaining thoroughly the additional issues with the vehicle to the customer, the customer declined any further repairs. 

Consumer Response:

I called the customer and he said that the bill went up higher than it should have that the ac was working just find when they took he car to the shop, but then were told it needed freon. The customer also said that they had just replaced the battery but it was the car that was running the battery down because the headlight would not turn off automatically and they did not realize that the car was doing this.

As the business kept finding other things that needed to be done the price kept going up, even though they were not problems the customer took the vehicle in to be repaired. At that point the customer picked the vehicle up and left the shop.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother wife and future mother in-law purchased ******* ******* in 2011 from a dealership in Maryland. They both relocated in 2012; my wife to Richmond and my mother in-law to Memphis. My mother in-law took her ******* ****** to a dealership in Memphis to have the 15k mile service performed and ended with a total cost of $136.58 ( a labor cost of $73.64 at $99.00/hour and a parts cost of $56.31). I asked my wife to take her Tuscon to have the same service perform at West Broad Hyundai and specifically asked that solely the required 15k mile maintenance stated in the owener's manual be completed.To my surprise, when I went to pick up my wife's car from West Broad Hyundai, I was handed a bill for $260.99 ($139.94 labor charge --with no hourly labor cost specified-- and parts totalling $115.29). How can the cost of the same exact service on the same exact car be DOUBLE simply at a different dealership? Well, apparently West Broad Hyundai takes it upon themselves to add a battery kit, fuel injector cleaner, and oil conditioner to the service when we declined additional services and asked specifically for the service stated in the owners manual. Not only that, they charge an exorbitant amount for labor.When picking up the vehicle I asked for an itemized invoice showing the EXACT hourly labor charge and was denied; and then again in my visit with the service ******* ******** ****. I've also contact Hyundai Corporate (case number *******) and the dealership manager ***** ******, but to no resolve (I have our email exchanges, my invoice, and my mother in-laws invoice, if needed).In my conversations with ***** ******, he feels that adding extra services which my wife nor I authorized is justified and won't address that based on the hourly labor rate i was FINALLY told, it takes them over 2 hours to perform the service, when it took the other dealership in Memphis 45 minutes (both labor and parts cost were DOUBLE my mother in-laws invoice. These practices are deceptive and unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $80.00, which would bring the total cost of the service to $180 (which is the highest I've been quoted by other dealerships in and outside of the area, and still $40 more than my mother in-laws invoice). The dealership has offered me a free oil change, which I declined as I will be taking my business elsewhere after this is resolved. The manager also offered me a $40 refund, which is only equivalent to the services we didn't authorize in the first place. Unacceptable!

Business Response:

**** ****** brought her vehicle in to do a 15k service and our service advisor went over what we do for that service line for line based on extreme driving conditions which we have in Virginia can be found in the owners manual. My service advisor went over the service with**** ****** and told her everything we would be doing to the vehicle gave her a price for the service and she signed off on the ticket to authorize us to do the work so she knew when she left what we were doing and how much the service was. We tell every customer up front what the charges will be and get authorization before we ever touch a customers car. Mr. Saunders did contact my service manager and she did in fact give *** ******** our labor rate. We do not add extra services we only do what the customer and the service advisor agree to do and only when the customer authorizes the work there were no hidden charges the same amount was paid at the time of vehicle pickup that was quoted at drop off. As for the cost of our services we have the highest HSI which stands for Hyundai Service Index in our market and that is based on a survey handled by ** ****** and one of the questions on the survey is the cost of the service provided and not only that since *** ******** is new to the area we have the highest customer  satisfaction rate in our market and in an effort to please *** ******** I offered to refund him the amount of $40.00 as a good will gesture just in case **** ****** did not understand the service and simply did not ask questions about the service when my advisor went over it with her line by line. My offer to *** ******** has expired as of now. We here at West Broad Hyundai value every customer that walks in the door and are a full disclosure dealership.          

  

                                                                                                                                         Thanks

                                                                                                                                  ***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** *******


 

Mr.*******1.My name is **** ******** *** ********. I expect to be addressed such. 2. Neithery wife or I are new to the area. We've lived on Richmond several occasions in our life and even grew up here. However, beside the point. 

The simple fact is that your service manager DID NOT disclose the labor rate when I escalated originally (she gave me a range that doesn't even equate to what you've since quoted me). Also, there WERE services added which we did not ask for, so...your service reps just pick an all-inclusive service that is specific to your dealership which costs twice as much and pull the old bait and switch? Unacceptable. Not only that, now you're retracting the previous resolution you offered, which I did not decline, but chose to pursue this through a consumer advocacy forum such as he BBB, of which your dealership is a member. Punishing consumers for speaking out is absurd. Again, I would like a refund of $80(still making the total price of the service higher than any other dealer in the Metro Richmond area). The practices of your dealership are deceptive and unethical.

Business Response: After speaking to ***** ****** from the business he stated he did not retract the offer to refund the customer $***** but the customer would need to return to the business with the credit card used and the refund will be added back to the card. *** ****** stated that it was explained to the customer that certain extreme weather states require additional maintenance.

 

Attached is a copy of the repair order signed by** ****** with the price.  Also a copy of the final repair order and a list of the items done on the service.  The service advisor went over each item that was going to be done.

******* ****

Consumer Response:

 

Offer rejected -- additional details below.

First and foremost, I suggest you and***** get together and chat. Here's an excerpt from ******* previous response to my complaint "...and in an effort to please *** ******** I offered to refund him the amount of $***** as a good will gesture just in case **** ****** did not understand the service and simply did not ask questions about the service when my advisor went over it with her line by line. My offer to *** ******** has expired as of now." So when I stated in my most recent rebuttal that *** ****** retracted his previous offer of $***** to me, that's because he did, in fact, retract the offer as quoted above (via "expiration"). This is absurd -- you all need to stop yanking my chain. Again, I would like a refund of $80.00 refunded to the payment card we used to pay for the service. It's great you all can continue to scam people who don't know as much about cars simply by hiding behind a line item as vague as "15000 mile standard service", when you actually did things that aren't stated in the owners manual for a 15000 mile service -- which, again, is the initial issue. My wife came in, pointed to the service in the owner's manual, and was charged for your "version" of a 15000 mile service. NOT WHAT WE ASKED FOR.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service