This business is not BBB accredited.

Pence - Briggs INC

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 378-3000 Fax: (804) 378-0274 View Additional Phone Numbers 11841 Midlothian Tnpk., Midlothian, VA 23113 http://www.penceauto.com ! There is an alert on Pence - Briggs INC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pence - Briggs INC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 1983 Business started: 03/01/1949 in VA Business started locally: 03/01/1949 Business incorporated 03/01/1949 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George M. Pence III, President Mr. Vincent Arendosh, General Manager Mr. David K Behm, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David K Behm
Principal: Mr. George M. Pence III, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Springs - Automotive - Sales & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Mobile Brake Service Road Service - Automotive Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Referral - Auto Repair Automobile Reconditioned Detailing Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repair - Suspension New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Pence Collision
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car Sale of Motor Vehicles by Licensed Dealers

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11841 Midlothian Tnpk.

    Midlothian, VA 23113 (804) 378-3000 (804) 378-0225

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 637

    Midlothian, VA 23113

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 10, 2014 I dropped my ****** ******* off to see what was wrong with it. I had listed many issues that we were having (A/c, transmission, car running hot). The mechanics said that they couldn't find anything wrong with the car, but for an extra $400 they could take the engine apart and see what was wrong with it. This of course would be in addition to $116 for them to run a diagnostic in which they had found nothing wrong. I thought this was high, and expensive, so we told them not to take the engine apart and we would come and get the car. I still had to pay the $116 for them to look at the car. I then took the car to another mechanic who was able to look at the car, not take the engine apart and diagnose that the head gasket was blown and able to fix the problem of the car running hot. I am very surprised that ****** would want to charge us the extra $400 to take an engine apart, when they specialize in ****** and should have been able to figure out the problem, like the other mechanic without taking it apart.****** lost my business.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my $116 back. I would have happily had the car repaired there, if they weren't trying to rip us off by wanting to take the entire engine apart.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** *********** *****10/13/2014 We were in communication with ****** ***** Sales Representative for a *** *******. The deal didn't go thru and we received text messages from ****** our sales person that was very unprofessional, unsolicited, opinionated and rude due to the deal not going thru. He advised us that he informed management not to give us the deal because we were trying to swindle the agency. 1. We are the customer and customer don't swindle dealers, I believe he had that backwards. He stated that he was looking out for the best interest of the company. That statement their proved that his intentions are never for the customer as well as satisfying them. Sending text to our phone is not in the best interest of the company, in fact it's threatening, unrespectful and harassment. The customer is the driving force for any auto business and ****** should be made aware of this. This is my second occurrence of unprofessionalism at this establishment. I have great concern regarding our safety. No one should received this type of treatment and management should not justify the actions of his employee due to stress or a loss of a deal. Especially when this employee has been employed for 5 years. Employees should be educated to be professional at all times. No customer should suffer abuse from a lossed sale. The best advertisement is word of mouth, with that being said you can imagine our thoughts regarding this establishment. Employees represent the company and if these are the people they invest in for the future of the company, they should train them to be professional at all times and educate them daily.

Desired Settlement: From ****** ***** for his actions Anger Management classess for employees Customer Service classes for employees

Business Response: October 17, 2014

BBB case # ********

To whom it may concern:

My name is ******* ********; I am the General Manager for Pence Nissan Subaru Kia. I received the BBB email and fully understand the customer’s concerns.

I have conducted a thorough review of the issues raised by the customers regarding the text message conversations between the customer and my salesperson. I returned a phone message left by the customer on the 14th of this month and personally apologized for the salespersons text communications and in no way justified his actions. I did tell her that the salesperson had been counseled and no further contact would be made from that salesperson. I also offered to be available if any of the other family members needed to speak directly with myself seeing they were involved in the negotiations.

We thank the customer for bringing this issue to our attention so it could be responded to in the appropriate manner.  

Sincerely,

******* ** ********

General Manager

Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family's *** ****** broke down (battery died) on a Friday night and was towed to this dealership for service. Dealership acknowledged Friday night that it was there and said it would be completed by COB on Saturday--after all, its a battery! Service manager called one family member Saturday morning saying that he didn't know if it would be finished by Saturday afternoon, but he thought that it would be. I called at 4:00 on Saturday afternoon expecting to pick it up and the manager stated that he wouldn't be able to--replace this battery--until Monday "or Tuesday!" I requested alternative transportation and he declined any assistance or problem solving ability whatsoever, with QUITE an attitude. I typically use ******* *** across the river and if they ever have to keep my car overnight for a repair, they provide an ********** ****** at their cost. When he raised his voice to a yell is when I got off of the phone, called back and got a (female) service advisor to cancel the scheduled maintenance we had requested along with the warranty work and battery replacement. Customer service was SO POOR that *** and *** ********* each offered to tow our vehicle from Pence to ******* at their cost--which we took them up on. When I called back at 4:30(ish) to tell them that the car was being moved, their office was closed and their staff had left, yet the website and their auto answering system report their hours until 5:00 on Saturdays. The icing on the cake was when the service price for the oil change, tire rotation, inspections, etc. from Pence was almost *triple* that of *******. We will NEVER come back to Pence and sincerely regret not doing our research (check the online reviews, people!) before choosing Pence KIA of Midlothian.

Desired Settlement: This vehicle was moved from Pence KIA to ******* *** where repair/ maintenance was scheduled, completed and alternative transportation provided, as originally requested by Pence. In light of this situation, an apology letter and corrective action is the least that Pence can do.

Business Response: BBB Case # ********

At Pence KIA, we make a commitment to provide exceptional customer service for all of our customers.  It comes as no coincidence that Pence KIA has the highest customer satisfaction rating in the Southeast region.  We understand that vehicle repair can be a stressful time and try to make the repair process as easy and as quickly as possible. 

A *** ****** was dropped off on Friday night in our afterhour’s night drop box.  The night drop box is utilized when our Service department is closed.  Service employees are not present afterhours to acknowledge the vehicle is there, or to give any estimated time of repair. Our KIA service advisor returned the customers call on Saturday morning as soon as he became available. He informed her that we would try our best to get her vehicle repaired that day, but gave no guarantees. 
Pence KIA is open for service on Saturdays as a courtesy to our customers. We understand that it may be difficult to schedule service for your vehicle during the work week and provide Saturday hours to help our customers with limited availability.  Many of our customers take advantage of our Saturday hours and our schedule is booked very tight.  

Vehicles that come in for service, especially those with “no start” issues, are diagnosed and serviced by our highly trained, KIA certified technicians. Vehicles to be serviced are either scheduled ahead of time, or put in queue based on their arrival time.  Due to our busy appointment calendar, with many appointments scheduled ahead of this customer’s vehicle, we were unable to complete the service on the ****** on Saturday.

The complainant called into our Service Department on our customer’s behalf on Saturday evening.  He was informed by our service advisor that we were unable to complete the service on the vehicle, and that it would be one of the first vehicles to be serviced on Monday morning.

Unfortunately, neither *** *** ***** *********** nor Pence KIA provides alternative transportation for vehicles in which we were unable to diagnose due to time and availability. However, we do have rental vehicles available at a reduced daily rate for those that must have alternative transportation.  

We hope that our customer was able to have service work completed on her vehicle by another dealership in a time frame that better suited her situation. The Pence KIA service department strives to provide excellent customer relations, competitive pricing, and superior vehicle service repairs. We urge you to compare our pricing and read our reviews.   

Sincerely,
***** * ****, Operations Director, Pence Automotive.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This letter serves as a CYA to the complaint made to *** ********* and much of the information is correct (ie., the availability of the a rental--I asked, and the service advisor saying that it would be looked at first thing Monday; In fact, his response was "hopefully Monday or Tuesday--but once again, no guarantees".  As stated in the original complaint, the receptionist verified receipt of the vehicle and the battery could have been replaced in less than 1 hour, had employees not left early for the day.  There is no corrective action or apology in the company's response and for that reason, I am rejecting Pence's response.

Regards,

******* *****

6/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 8, 2014, I bought a ****** ******* ******* **** ****** ** ***** ******, ***** ********** ******** ***** Unfortunately was treated unfairly by thier employee, I was billed the wrong amount; something was not disclosed clearly it was misrepresented;asking me to signed documnets without discussing the final amount of the car. Everytime the documents was ******* ******* (*** **** *********) will just fold the documents quickly and place it inside the envelope without showing it to me. I was trick on everything. I came there with good intention of buying a car not to have sleepless nights because of bad experience with Subaru Dealership. My husband went back to the dealership the next day to resolve the problem but he was deeply humilated by SUBARU Sales*******, telling that I am educated and why I keep signing documents without looking it,my husband told them, I trusted Subaru Dealership. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem ,Please contact me at my email address or by phone at ************. Sincerely* **** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I want Subaru Dealership to give me the actual amount they told me which is $26000.

Business Response: Case #******** Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

 

To whom it may concern,

 

I am the ******* ******** of Pence and personally spoke with
*** ******* ******* *** ***** ******r involved in this transaction. It was
determined the customer went through the buying process and agreed to purchase
the vehicle. She was then introduced to the ******* ******* to complete the transaction.
While in the finance office, items were offered for the car such as an extended
warranty, guaranteed auto protection, oil change plan, and a paint and interior
protection package. The customer signed for each product separately as well as
a menu page that explained all the different items purchased at that time. The
customer thanked all parties involved and left with her new car.

 

The next day the client’s husband had questions about the
agreement of which the ******* ******* went over line by line and explained all
the features and benefits of all items purchased and asked if he wanted his
wife to cancel those products as we would be more than happy to do so. At that
point he said no, all those items would be important to have. He did ask about
the price of a tow package, at which point we offered at no charge to him. He
was extremely happy with the deal.  He
then shook hands with all parties involved, said thank you and left.

 

I have recently called the customer to see what happened and
to see if I could offer any assistance.  The customer said she did not understand the
items she purchased had a cost value. I asked if she wanted to cancel these items
and apply the refunds to her loan and customer said yes. Customer has since come
in, signed documents to cancel products. 
All agreed upon products will be cancelled at the client’s request. 

 

 

Signed,

 

 **** *******
******* ******** for Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ******************************** of the letter they wrote you that I did disagree. They let me signed documents that they did not explain it to me and when I complain to Better Business Bureau they immediately took an action to settle my complains and they did said they will give us the extra accessory to the car if we will give them a good review.



Regards,

**** ******


10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pense sent what appears to be a contest mailing to my 92 yr old mom. The mailer is a scratchoff with a key to a car. If you match the number to the scratch off, you "win" 15000 or a new car. However, you have to go to the dealer location to match "the number in the address bar" to a number at the dealer location. This gives the illusion that one has won a car of 15000. I called the location and spoke with a sales representative that said, "well, you may have won something, but you won't know until you come in." I asked, is this a ploy to get people to come into the location? answer: "yes". On the mailer, there was a picture of a couple with a big check for $15000 -- looking closely, there was a ********* Symol on the check -- this is a Subaru/Nissan dealer!

Desired Settlement: Stop sending out mailers like this -- you are wasting peoples time -- especially folks that are 'duped' into thinking that this offer is real. This is a ploy merely to get people into the store. I would never think of ever visiting a Pence dealership, ever. Especially given these tactics. If you can't bring people into your dealership based upon reputation, and high quality of service vs. stupid game sales tactics.

Business Response:

Re:*******
Pence Nissan is an award winning dealership that is also a volume market leader in Central Virginia. Pence Nissan had contracted with an event company to host an onsite vehicle sale with a direct mail component to advertise the sale.  The mail piece was sent to 40,000 Richmond area residents and was successful in matching many mail recipients with new vehicles purchases during the sale. 

The Event company has given away 2 cars (or $15,000) this year to customers who visited their sales at different dealerships in the Northeast and Mid Atlantic. A vehicle prize winner was mailed for the Pence sales and insured by American Media & Special Promotions. The prize rules from the insurance company state that the winning number cannot be released over the phone or advertised in any way that could result in a claim denial. 

These explanations of the event will serve an the dealership response.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when purchasing the vehicle i stated that i would be able to put down 1000.00 at that time i was still waiting on my funds. The dealership advise once the funds come in to make the payment but i was still able to leave the lot with the vehicle, The funds did not come through as planned and a payment arrangement was made for the 1000.00 which was 200.00 a month. Advise the gentleman that amount was too high for me each month but he stated he was not a bank. August i was able to send a 85.00 payment towards that amount to Pence but the bank that i had my loan with pulled my loan due to down payment not being made. Tried to contact and email the guy at pence about my 85.00 payment that was made to be returned due to my car being returned to them and i no longer have the car. phone calls or emails have not been returned Even though i know its 85.00 i still would like that amount to be returned to me since the car had to be returned due to something they allowed me to do which was leave the lot without the down payment being made. Highly up set with the communication skills at the dealership. I have had someone else call and leave messages and they have not received a returned call either.

Business Response: BBB case # *******- Pence Nissan-Subaru-Kia

To whome it may concern:
My name is **** *******, I am the ******* ******** for Pence Nissan Subaru Kia.
I received the BBB letter and I am very familiar with the transaction.
During the entire process of trying to collect the down payment the dealership was patient and considerate. The bank called the loan only after out customer called and stated she had noy made the down payment. It is unfortunate that the bank decided to make this decision.
In this case our customer is right, when the money was not available the dealership made a poor decision to let our customer leave with the vehicle. It has always been our goal to work with our customers to accomodate them in their vehicles purchases. It is a shame when this customer did not follow through with their promises and then blamed the dealership for trying to help them.

The dealership did not case the check for $85.00 and it will be returned to the customer.

Sincerely,
**** *******
******* ********Pence Nissan Subaru Kia

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *****






Complaint Detail


I filed a complaint about my 85.00 payment made towards a car that the loan was pulled. I'm not taking it out on the company for trying to help but they were suppose to send that payment back to me since i did not keep the car. Its been over a couple of weeks since the complaint has been closed but no check in the mail from them. i sent them a money order and was hoping they could send it back in a check due to the money order being written out to them. im not able to cash the money order with their name on it.
Translate




Desired Settlement


payment sent to me in the form of a check to cash

Business Response: I had sent the check back to the customer **** Certified and was never picked up after 1st notice on 9-21. Another check made payable to the customer will be sent today. Please see attachments with postal receipt and PDF of new check.


******* ** ******** ******* *******

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pence - Briggs INC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart