BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB accredited

American Finance

Phone: (727) 827-8896 241 1st Avenue South, Culpeper, VA 22701 ! American Finance is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Complaint Information

The BBB has received information from customers that allege that this company is asking for fees up front in order to receive a loan of $1,210.00. In the state of Virginia, it is illegal for companies to ask you to pay a fee before a loan is delivered.

Based on these claims, BBB requests the following information from the company:

• copies of the firm's promotional and advertising materials
• a copy of their contract
• an explanation of their fees and refund policy
• the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of 10 people who have been approved for a loan with this firm and are currently using this services

The BBB reached out to the business on January 17, 2014. Our office received return mail on January 23, 2014 stating the address of 241 1st Avenue South Culpeper, VA 22701 is an insufficient address. On January 28, 2014 our office attempted to reach the business at 727-827-8896 and had to leave a message regarding our concerns. As of today, our office has not received a return call. The BBB strongly warns consumers to not take part in these offers.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Finance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 2013
Business Category

Advance Fee Brokers

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loan Companies
X
Industry Ratings Comparison Chart X
Same Relative Size   All Businesses
The information in the chart below represents an industry ratings comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size or for all businesses (see toggle). This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central Virginia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business.
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

The BBB has received information from customers that allege that this company is asking for fees up front in order to receive a loan of $1,210.00. In the state of Virginia, it is illegal for companies to ask you to pay a fee before a loan is delivered. 

Based on these claims, BBB requests the following information from the company: 

• copies of the firm's promotional and advertising materials 
• a copy of their contract 
• an explanation of their fees and refund policy 
• the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of 10 people who have been approved for a loan with this firm and are currently using this services 

The BBB reached out to the business on January 17, 2014. Our office received return mail on January 23, 2014 stating the address of 241 1st Avenue South Culpeper, VA 22701 is an insufficient address. On January 28, 2014 our office attempted to reach the business at 727-827-8896 and had to leave a message regarding our concerns. As of today, our office has not received a return call. The BBB strongly warns consumers to not take part in these offers. 

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.

Mail sent to the business on 01/17/2014 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as Insufficient Address.