BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Safford RV

Phone: (800) 719-3507 Fax: (540) 582-5151 6101 Mallard Road, Thornburg, VA 22565 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.saffordrv.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safford RV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Safford RV include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Safford RV include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safford RV
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1950 in VA Business incorporated: 12/31/2001 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
2300 West Broad Street, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dmvnow.com
Phone Number: (804) 367-0538
Fax Number: 804-367-6631

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Gramm, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Gramm, President
Related Businesses
Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Recreational Vehicles - Storage

Alternate Business Names
James Gramm LLC

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a ******** ****** from Safford in April of 2013. We had numerous problems with it and could not get Safford to call us back or even send us parts when I told them I would fix it myself. In short after 6 months of this ***** ****** told us to bring the camper back and trade it in on another one. We appreciated that very much and that is what we did. Now we are having trouble with this one too and have tried to deal with ***** since he finally helped us before. Now he won't help us either. He won't call back or email us. We have a brand new ******** ******* ******* with bubbles in the side of the slides. We don't know how to fix it. ***** said he would get in touch with the factory and get to the bottom of this but that was it. Now when we try to talk to him he is too busy. When we email him he won't email back. It seems after they sell you the product they are done with you. Our friends bought a fifth wheel from them and they had issues too. They also had the same trouble trying to get theirs fixed. These campers are too expensive to be left out in the cold after you buy them. We are supposed to have warranties from them and the factory but you can't get anyone to help. In the beginning they tell you what you want to hear but that is it. We were 6 months trying to get a brand new bullet straight and never did. When we saw it for sale again on the internet at Safford we could see the lights in the pictures still not working and a very warped table just to name some of the minor things that was wrong. In 3 months the A/C went out just to name one of the big things. Now in this ******** bubbling on the outside walls is a BIG thing. It might mean water. We are just sick about this. Please Help.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see this problem fixed at no charge because this is a brand new camper. If they don't want to fix it or fool with us then I want a full payoff for the caper and they can do what they want with it. The latter might be the best This should not be occurring under any circumstances plus it is under warranty. I would also like them to be true to their word and do what they say they will do when you buy these campers. They promise you any troubles at all and they will be there. That is simply not true. When you leave with that camper they pretty much sever the relationship right then.

Business Response: Dear ***** ***

I am writing in response to your letter regarding *****
*****. (#********)

** ******* contacted me on May 28th because he
said there were some waves in the fiberglass on the back slide-out room of his
***** ***** ****** **. He said he spoke to the factory and the factory told him
that there was actually plastic on the back slide-out room and that it will sometimes
have a few waves in it. ** ***** felt that was unacceptable and he expected
something to be done about it. I asked the customer to send me pictures of the ‘waves’
which he did, and I forwarded the pictures to the factory on June 4th.
The factory explained they needed some time to take the issue to the right
person and to get some sort of resolution. I then emailed ** ***** this
information and said I would get back to him when I heard back from the factory.
I contacted the customer on June 19th, explaining to him that the
factory wanted to talk to him directly to resolve the issue. He agreed. The factory
tried to call ** **** twice, but apparently his house phone doesn’t have an
answering machine so they couldn’t leave a message. I then received an email
from ** **** stating that the factory never called him. I believe there has
been some miscommunication because Safford RV has never stopped trying to help
the customer with this matter. It is now June 23rd and I have spoken
again with ** *****, and the factory has spoken will him as well. The factory
agreed to repair the unit, and we are in the process of setting up a time to
get this done.

Please feel free to contact me with any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

**** ****8

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

******* *********


Thank you.  Just close it out then and if they do not comply in September as they have said they would we will get back with you.
 
 
******* *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been trying for weeks to get in touch with the ************** ******* ******** ******* *** ***** ******* with no return calls. We purchased a Class A Motorhome at Safford RV three weeks ago. When we went to pick it up the following weekend, none of the work on the We Owe that was agreed to as part of the sale was done. The S**** ******* told us to go ahead and take the Motorhome home and that he would have someone come to my house to do the repair work. It has been weeks now. The We Owe is only good for 30 days. NO ONE WILL CALL ME BACK! They have gotten their sale and could care less what happens after that. This is a $60,000 Motorhome. No customer service. Will never go back there again.

Desired Settlement: If repairs cannot be honored, we would like an equal replacement or our money back and we will gladly take our business else were.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
I am writing in response to case #********, customer ****** ******
***** *******, **** ******, has been in communication with *** ******
and the matter has been handled to *** ******* satisfaction.
If you have any further questions, you can contact me.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** *****


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a ********** ******** ***** RV August 27, 2010 and was told that the vehicle year was 2011. In December 2010 we went to *** ***** and could not get the generator to work and I thought at the time that we had ran out of propane. I did not at that time had it serviced. Before we went on another trip I had the propane tanks checked, they were full. But on September 28, 2011 the Onan Generator would not start again, so I took it to ***** * ******** who informed me that I needed a new Carburetor. the Carburetor was replaced for a total of $480.60. Now again the Generator is not working. I took the RV in for routine maintenance on the roof and to replace the cover to the air-conditioner at a cost of $554.94. I have an appointment with them on May 14, 2014, to check the generator and a leak in the roof. I felt at the time of purchased, in 2010 that the RV was not new and was defective. I tried to sell it back to the dealer and they only offered me $30,000, which was the low book value or $36,000, if I purchased another RV at a higher cost, this was during the roof maintenance on March 9, 2013 and they knew that the RV was in for servicing because the representative went to check on the RV before he gave me the figures. So why the low book value, when at that time the RV only had less than 15,000 on it.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Safford RV knew that they had sold me, a first-time motor-home buyer, a defective RV and should buy the RV from me at the pay-off balance of approximately $44,000.

Business Response: Dear ***** ****

In response to the ****** ***** complaint, ** **** did buy a
new **** ******** motor home that cam with a 1-year manufactures limited
warranty. I do not know why the carburetor on the generator had to be replaced
in September 2011; the work was done at **** * **** **, not ***** **.  ** **** RV has only been in or shop one time,
(2 ½ years after she bought it) on February 9th 2013; for a cracked
roof vent, broken tag bracket, installation of anew A/C shroud, new gray tank
vent, resealing of the skylight, replacement of the vent lid and replacement of
a broken taillight. ** **** made an appointment with our service department for
May 14th to have the generator and roof leak inspected but did not
show up. We would be happy to look at her motor home to see what, if any,
repairs need to be done.

This case also addresses our offer to ** **** of ***** for
her RV in March 2013. Many factors are involved when appraising an RV to
purchase for stock: year, make, model, miles condition and current dealer
inventory.

Sincerely,

*** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I stated in my initial complaint, I was a first time buyer of a recreational vehicle and as such was given a vehicle that was stated to be a 2011.  The brochure that I was given was for a **** ********** ******** ****** ***** **** and now I find out that my particular model was discontinued in 2010. The new model for**** is the ********** ******** *********** ***** ****. I understand that the a number of years has passed since the purchase of the RV in 2010, but I feel that I was deceived about the actual year of the RV and it's condition upon purchase. As stated before I would like to be offered the payoff amount of approximately $44,000.

Regards,

******* ******


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A used motor home was purchased in mid January 2014. Delivery was made on February 15th, 2014. Upon delivery, it was noted there was an error with one digit on the VIN # on the purchase contract, so all paperwork was redone. A claim was made that the on-line system to register vehicles was not working and we would have plates issued on that Monday (Feb. 17th). A temporary plate was issued. Since this time, both I and my wife have contacted numerous people at Safford RV with a different excuse as to why we haven't received our plates yet. We have paid Safford for the sales tax, tags and all motor vehicle associated fees. The temporary tags run out in less than 7 days and we will not be able to legally drive our motor home.

Desired Settlement: I would like my permanent tags delivered on or before March 17th (when the temporary tags expire). If this cannot be accomplished, I will need another temporary tag and permanent tags prior to an extended road trip planned in the motor home starting the first week in April as the second set of temporary tags would expire before we return. I am in no way interested in returning the motor home as I have invested several thousand dollars in improvements already and unless Safford RV offers a 50% premium over what I paid to them, I would be losing money.

Business Response: *** called our office and stated that the tags were delieved yesterday and that they was a problem with the title and ***.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 16 Jun, I signed a sales agreement for a motorhome from Safford RV. I made a deposit of $5,000 on a credit card. Approximately 3 to 4 days later I sent a bank wire totaling $25,000 to complete the down payment and was scheduled to pick up the vehicle on 24 Jun. On 19 Jun I received a phone call from the manager of Safford RV asking what motorhome was I purchasing. It turned out that the sales agreement listed the incorrect VIN# of the motorhome I wanted to purchase. The manager stated that he could not sell the motorhome that I wished to purchase for the price listed on the sales agreement. I asked the manager to cancel the sales agreement and refund my deposit. I received an email from the manager stating that the sales agreement is cancelled and that Safford RV confirmed receipt of the bank wire and would return the deposit. I received a $5,000 credit to my credit card but have never received the $25,000 refund for the bank wire. Several telephone calls and emails were made to Safford RV requesting the status of the $25,000 refund. I never received and reply to my email. Our telephone calls are not returned.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my $25,000 deposit refunded to me.

Business Response: Dear **.******

I am writing in regards to BBB Case # *******, customer **** ******* *******.

**.******** not receiving his money was a complete oversight on Safford RV's part, and we have since refunded his $**,***, and contacted the customer, and he is satisfied with the outcome. 

Please contact me with any further questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******
Vice President
Safford RV

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The customer did not provide new information pertinent to the complaint. 

5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1