Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sterling Management Corp. Of VA. LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Sterling Management Corp. Of VA. LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 359-5018 Fax: (804) 359-5010 View Additional Phone Numbers 17 S. Belmont Ave., Richmond, VA 23221 http://www.sterlingmanagementcorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers management services for properties owned by the company, apartment houses, office warehouses, duplexes and homes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sterling Management Corp. Of VA. LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sterling Management Corp. Of VA. LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sterling Management Corp. Of VA. LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1945
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Board
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8526
Fax Number: 804-527-4298
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Emily Sterling, C.E.O. Mr. Josh Bilder, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Emily Sterling, C.E.O.
Business Category

Property Management Apartments Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Additional Locations

  • 17 S. Belmont Ave.

    Richmond, VA 23221 (804) 359-5018 (804) 359-5019

  • P. O. Box 14690

    Richmond, VA 23221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting at least two months to have my front door replaced due to damage that was caused by their contractors. They are trying to patch it up instead of fixing it correctly and completely. My bathroom floor needs replacing due to the toilet leaking and causing the floor to become soft and sink in. Something is wrong with the ventalation black ***** comes out of the vents when the heat comes on. I do have bronchitis and im inhaling this debree. It also gets in my nose really bad, as well as all over the walls and any clothing that is white in color. I have emailed the company several times and spoke with their leasing management as well as maintenance. To no evail they continue to do work in vacant units while i continue to be put on hold and pay my rent without delay. It saddens me to have to go this far; however right is right and wrong is wrong. I am a human being and should not be treated like this. At no point and time are they compensating on my rent for this. My electric bill is going up due to the cold air that comes in door. All im asking is to repair the things properly and not do patch work. I have been a tenant at this property since 2009.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to have these issues taken care of promptly,completely, and correctly. Not patched up or pieced together from parts out of empty units. To be treated with some respect and responded to accordingly.

Business Response: We started a renovation at the property this summer. Everyone has new windows and a new roof.  Now we are starting with renovating the empty apartments.

Our tenant does not always report her issues: for example we were not aware of the problem with her bathroom floor which we consider an emergency.

One year ago we hired a professional outside company to clean her duct work and chimney.  This should have taken care of the problem because she has not complained to us since then.  We wrapped and insulated all doors at the complex, but she wanted a new door.  One of our techs was there yesterday and from what we have heard, she is very satisfied. However we painted all the doors and for some reason she doesn't want us to paint hers.

When ever she has an issue she wants something new rather than allow us to repair.  We can do that with some issues but not with all due to financial constraints.

Unfortunately the heat is expensive because we have electric heat, but it is that way for all tenants.  We try to keep our rents reasonable to account for that.

As of yesterday, I was told by maintenance that she was happy.  The only thing we are doing today is the leak in the bathroom which we were not aware of...but we will make sure everything is done properly.    Thank you.   ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ******

Those statements made by ***** ******** are very untrue. I have emails with no reply from them except thanks for the photos. I only request something new when it has been damage by their contractors as well as them trying to repair things, and they only make the situation worse. I have also spoke with their office manager Marie several times about those issues and she wrote them down. I am not responsible if she does not notify who she needs to notify. You can see out side when my door is closed all the way around the door. I also was told I would be getting a new door and they would paint it afterwards. I am only going by what I was told not but requesting anything new. I spend money out of my own pocket to paint as well as keep up the grounds around my patio in the summer when it is taken over by weeds. I have also sent photos of these issues to their office several times. I have also asked to talk with Emily personally but as usual no response. The only issue I don't have photos of is the leak in the bathroom. Rather than accuse me of lying why won't any one from the office come see for themselves? Nor should I have to put my heat up to 85 to be warm. 


Consumer Response: *** ****** contacted the BBB and stated the floor has been taken car of and finished but no one has addressed her issue with the door or the vents that are still putting out black smoke.

Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. The customer's door has had installation installed and weather stripping applied to the door as well as the door being adjusted. The business has not been contacted by the customer further about this issue.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My air conditioning unit began to malfunction and leak in mid-May. The management company repeatedly told me the problem was "fixed" but every time I went home the air conditioning still did not work and the leaking became so bad, the entire hallway floor squished and water pooled on top of the floor boards. Three weeks later, the air conditioning started to function properly, but the leaking was still an issue. The entire hallway floor from my bedroom to the dining room had to be pulled up. More than six weeks later - there is still no flooring in the hallway. A cabinet in the kitchen had to be taken out in order to add a new pipe through my bedroom closet so the A/C unit does not leak onto the floor. The cabinet was not installed properly and is a different color than the rest of the kitchen. I was told twice by the management company that this would be painted over and new molding would be installed to make the cabinet look appropriate. That work (more than two weeks later) is still yet to be done. Also - last summer (July of 2013) my bathroom ceiling started to leak. The problem was finally resolved after two months, but the ceiling was never repainted. The property management company stated this would be completed when the cabinet in the kitchen was painted - but since I am still waiting on that work to be done, the ceiling is also still waiting to be complete.

Desired Settlement: The property management company is always quick to answer my emails and phone calls. What I am dissatisfied with is the result. I am continually told action will be taken and then I have to continually follow up when it is not. The most recent example occurred this week when I asked if a date for the flooring had been set. I was told this Thursday (July 10th). I emailed again today to try to find out the time so I could be present for the work and then was told the flooring would be taken care of the 17th, not the 10th. Last month the management company made an attempt to give me a two week discount on my rent for my inconvenience, which is appreciated - but I would much prefer the work be done instead. I have no floor, uneven cabinetry, an unpainted bathroom ceiling, and a pile of flooring waiting to be installed sitting in the middle of my living room. It is not a comfortable environment to live in at all.

Business Response:

 We were very sorry that our tenant was inconvenienced and we are also sorry we couldn't have completed this sooner.  That is why we gave her 2 weeks credit on her rent.

Unfortunately, she had a serious plumbing problem in her apartment that caused multiple issues.  A water pipe burst under the concrete sub-floor of the unit.  To avoid having to rip up the concrete floor, we had to redo the pipe in a concealed area in the closet and box it in.  

Before we realized that it was a broken pipe under the concrete, we called an outside company in to assess and fix the issue. When they couldn't figure out how to handle the pipe under the concrete,  we had to take over and create a solution.

When the pipe broke it caused  leaking and some water damage in the kitchen, hallway, and part of the living area.  A portion of the floor had to be removed because the floor was wood laminate and that product doesn't survive water damage.

The tenant had a small wooden cabinet in the kitchen that we replaced and painted white.

We were planning to have our maintenance men replace the section of the laminate floor, but we decided instead to have ****** installers do it.  That did put us back about a week or more waiting for*****.  But we wanted to make sure it was done properly. Because of the laminate product , ***** delivered the flooring first and waited until it had time to acclimate to the room temperature.

As of now  we have completed all tasks except the painting of the bathroom ceiling. The ceiling is plastered, so repairing that was also a process that took awhile. I plan to do final paint on that tomorrow.  I am sorry this turned into a long process and became an issue.  It was not an easy fix as you can see,  and we kept in contact with our tenant thru the whole process so she wouldn't be frustrated.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,

***** *****



8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sterling Management has knowingly rented a roach infested apartment with promises of a monthly treatment. I've been a tenant of **** ******* ***** since December 28, 2012 and my apartment has yet to be treated. I've been paying for ***** since moving in. Recently there has been an infestation of bedbugs which started with a tenant that is no longer living in the complex. Sterling Mgt has kept this as a confidential matter. Well is matter has spread into my apartment as well as several other adjoining apartments. I have 3 month old twins and this is an extremely UNHEALTHY and UNSAFE place for them to be living. We shouldn't have to live like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the bedbugs to be treated and rid of. If not, I would break my lease and move in the expense of Sterling Management. Something has got to give here.

Business Response: Dear BBB,
I am responding to a complaint by one of our tenants that we did not respond to a bedbug problem in her apartment. We have never had a bedbug situation in over 60 years of business. This is the first year we had a problem in one apartment which began when a new tenant moved in and seemed to spread to several other adjoining units.
It was determined that one of our tenants brought in the problem.

From the first day this was reported we immediately contacted ****** **** ******* and spoke to *** ****** the District Supervisor of Richmond South. She immediately went into action. She told us that the least amount of lead time for our tenants to prepare for the treatment was 2 weeks. We were told the success of the treatment would be determined largely by extensive preparation by our tenants before ****** came in to do their treatment. She sent us an official ****** list of what to do to prepare which consisted of 5 pages of detailed instructions on how to get ready. The reason for this is that bedbugs can be very hard to get rid of and ****** has experience and expertise. We sent the instructions to each tenant. Everyone was very cooperative except for 2 tenants. One was not comfortable with the whole treatment process and did not want anyone in her house. This was the woman who complained about us to the BBB. She moved out without notice.

*** ****** took charge of our problem and did a very thorough job. It consisted of three stages of treatment. So far we have not heard any more complaints.

Six units were treated. The treatment cost us over $6,000.00. If you need any back-up information we will be glad to supply it. If you need to verify you can contact *** ****** at ******.

We try to do our best for our tenants, and I believe we did all we could in a timely way to alleviate this problem. It was a difficult one.

***** ******** August 23, 2013

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service