BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dodson Properties, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dodson Properties, LLC

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 2619 Floyd Ave, Ste 200, Richmond, VA 23220 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.DodsonCommercial.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DPM is a full service real estate firm that specializes in residential property management.  We manage single-family homes as well as apartment buildings throughout Richmond and Williamsburg.  We can also handle real estate sales and commercial leasing, sales and management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dodson Properties, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dodson Properties, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dodson Properties, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 05, 2008 Business started: 10/25/2007 in VA Business incorporated: 10/25/2007 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Board
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8526
Fax Number: 804-527-4298
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Duke Dodson, Owner Mr. Tim Wehner, Director of Property Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duke Dodson, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Wehner, Director of Property Management
Related Businesses
River Bend Property Services LLC
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Apartments Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Method(s) of Payment
Online Credit/Debit Cards
Money Orders
ACH
Personal Check
Alternate Business Names
Dodson Commercial, LLC
Industry Tips
Foreclosure Rescue

Additional Locations

  • 2619 Floyd Ave, Ste 200

    Richmond, VA 23220

  • 409 E. Main St  Suite 301

    Richmond, VA 23219

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 355-7368(Phone)
  • (804) 355-0212 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company not only has unethical collection practices, but false advertising, failure to honor terms of their contract, failure to provide itemized billing, failure to provide an explanation of deductions, had terms the owner would not honor, inappropriate behavior of customer personnel as explained below. In January 2014 I unfortunately rented a home from DODSON PROPERTIES, LLC, (Dodson Property Management). At that time my property manager was ******* ******* This person made promises, lied, cheated, and committed fraud by offering items listed on the lease that were taken from the home, that were replaced with items of lesser value and filthy (all after the lease was signed), told me the home would be cleaned (what I walked into was a nightmare of a smelly, I am talking poop, vomit and dog urine, filthy, disgusting mess, with trash strewn all over, walls smeared with black junk and dirty appliances. (I have since found the date stamped photos of this and I am willing to produce if needed, especially the walls). He then booked (as in left the premises), said he had to catch a plane, did not give me a walk through and left me standing there in this horrible place after I paid him a deposit and fees. So I had to pay out of pocket for someone to come in and clean the home, paint the disgusting walls deodorize and more in order to move in. Within a week, all the appliances broke down, fridge, washer with six inches of standing water, dishwasher, lawnmower that was promised yet was removed, heat, and A/C towards end of lease, dishwasher/garbage disposal leaked all over the kitchen floor, glass fan/ light cover broke and came down on me and my dog in the middle of the night (we were sleeping) as we had to sleep downstairs in 100 degree weather because the A/C broke down, I cant begin to even describe the nightmare I had while living there. I decided to exercise my rights as a tenant and filed a tenant assertion. I received $800 and the lease was terminated. I also requested a verification as to what date the lease was terminated via the court because even though I paid through the end of the month they told me I needed to vacate by the 28th of June. Because I did this, I was threatened by one Chet Fisher via email that they were not only going to make sure that I moved on a date that was far less than what I had paid for but they were going to go after me for attorneys fees and more because I took them back to court to make sure we all understood what the Judges orders were (I have copies of those threats). I was allowed to stay for the duration of the days that I paid. I moved a month later, cleaned the home spotless, and even painted. (I also have video of all of this). Needless to say the home was left in better condition than when it was presented to me. There were NO damages caused by myself, my dog, or anyone associated with me. Should they try to say this, they would be lying as I also have proof with date stamped photos of the house BEFORE and AFTER. Per VA LIS code 55.248.15.1 and my lease with Dodson Properties, LLC (Dodson Property Management) they go by several different names, they had 45 days in which to send me an itemized list of deductions or a check for the full amount of the deposit ($1,600). They failed to do either one in the time allotted. I vacated on June 30, 2014. Since June only has 30 days and July 31 days the date for them to have either the check or the full deposit is August 14, 2014. A check was posted/dated by them on August 19, 2014 which is a full five days after the LIS cut off date, I did not receive that until the 21st (which makes it 7 days after) and it was less than the amount of the full deposit ($1,450.00) with no explanation. This is in violation of not only the LIS Code of VA, but their own lease and VAR regulations. I have sent them notice that if they did not return the additional $150.00 that I would take them to court, and seek damages, the amount owed, court costs and any attorney fees should they incur. If they pay the $150 I will consider the matter closed. It is past the date I gave them. I will try this first and if not I am prepared to file a lawsuit. As of this date they have ignored the matter. This issue with them has caused me a great deal of stress from the time that I moved in, as I paid them $1,600 a month for non working appliances for 5 solid months and they are still trying to hurt me. The stress itself form this has caused health related problems and I have now been referred to a cardiologist for further evaluation. The continuation of this absurdity with them is making matters worse since it started when I moved into that home and I do not intend to allow them to cause my health to deteriorate further. I am in shock that you give them an A+ rating because their ratings on other websites are horrific to say the least and they have in fact pulled this same kind of behavior with others.

Desired Settlement: Return of the $150 and I will consider the matter closed. Failure to do so will result in legal action, for a greater amount, plus damages, court costs, and attorneys fees Thank you

Business Response: To Whom It May Conern,

First, I'd like to take a moment to apologize to *** ******** for any stress her original property manager caused her. I understand that there were several mistakes made by all parties and I'm glad the court resolved them. 

The facts of the complaint are misconstrued slightly, however, the sentiment that things were not right at move in is absolutely justified. Our former employee, however, had to leave the move-in appointment because *** ******** was nearly an hour and a half late to the appointment. We corrected the issues at move-in and any that were not corrected were due to refusal by *** ******** to allow us on the premises or to accept a lawn mower purchased by Dodson Property Management for her use. Everything written in the lease was provided and we did try to correct some errors in communication by providing a riding lawn mower, for example. 

All of the maintenance issues that were emergencies were dealt with promptly and any that were not were dealt with in a reasonable amount of time, often after being refused access to fix these issues. 

After the judge voided the lease (a ruling in favor of Dodson as the tenant was asking to stay), we were awarded possession as of June 28th. The only thing that was stated to *** ******** was that if she took us back to court to simply confirm the court order, we would not want to pay any attorney or lawyer fees and we would attempt to have her pay them if the law allowed. There were absolutely not "threats" made.

While the check was a few days late, it included all of the funds owed to *** ********* The $150 is a pet fee (agreed upon in the attached lease) that was never paid by *** ********* Her balance can be seen in the attached ledger which was sent along with her security deposit and a letter explaining the fee. Based on the complexity of the situation and the fact that there were many complications to the finality of the accounting including not charging *** ******** for some minor damages after she moved out, we are going to stand firm and stick with the charge that is owed by *** ********* 

Thanks for your consideration and time. I hope we can all move forward from this situation as it was one that no one wanted to be in. 

Thanks, 
Dodson Property Management

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

At this point, I am not going to even bother to dignify what Dodson Properties has said about me here.  I find it sad they refuse to accept any responsibility for their actions but I am not surprised.  I have sent proof that the judge did not rule in their favor and I have extensive emails concerning all the rest of the accusations but I am not going to produce them unless needed, though I will defend myself concerning my being an hour and a half late for a walk through which is untrue and I would like to see proof to that effect because I have an email stating the time of our meeting and I question why anyone would even schedule one based on his catching a plane, knowing full well that you have to have at least an hour and half to do one. I was 15 minutes late and ** ******* ran out the door 10 minutes in to our walk through. I also have never ever ever refused entry into the home, never.  This is typical of Dodson Properties with back and forth emails and nothing getting done, then blaming the tenant. My daughter had to finally step in and tell ** ****** enough is enough with the back and forth as this became the norm with him (I do have proof) 
I would like to get down to the business of the Security Deposit and Pet fee as this is the purpose of this complaint. The Security deposit is for damages,  either the full deposit or the letter explaining the deductions has to be sent to the tenant within the 45 day time period. This ensures plenty of time for them to find any problems. This is a law, one that Dodson Properties LLC has to follow every time a lease is terminated . This is not new to them. They have been in the business or a least a member of the BBB since 2008,  so they have had to do this many times over since then. This is not only a VA LIS CODE violation but this also violates the Virginia Association of Realtors,  the Virginia Landlord Tenant Act and their OWN lease.  I have provided documentation of the LIS and their own Lease so they have absolutely no excuse for this

As for the threats, (this is to show the violation of VA State LIS Code Article 6) . ** ****** did in fact state they could get technical and get me out a day sooner.   ** ****** in fact took out the money that I had paid for the full month of June and did a partial credit towards the pet fee which I did not agree to, until the Judge verified that since I paid through the end of June I could in fact stay until the end of June; herein is a quote to a very lengthy email I received from Chet Fisher after they were summoned back to court, which I indeed took as a threat (this was also sent to the clerk of the court who in turn included such in the verification) ... FROM ** ****** to me:  "Now if you want to get technical, I can find out if the 30 day count started on the 29th or the 30th.  The judge did say you had to be out in 30 days so that actually could mean that he counted the 29th as day one.  Originally I had given you the benefit of the doubt and decided to start the 30 day count on the 30th of May, which would take you to June 28th.  I assure though that if I am told that the 30 day count began on the court date 5/29/2014, I will hold you to the 30 days exactly and that means you will have to be out on the 27th."   and another  " So please let me make this clear right now, unless I am told that the 30 days started on 5/29 at which point your lease terminates on 6/27, your lease is terminating on 6/28/2014. If you are in the property a second longer than that, we will consider you a "hold over tenant", please feel free to read in the lease what that means, and will charge accordingly. As you see in the ledger, we have added a credit for the last 2 days in June." and one more: " I will assure you this, If allowable , we will make sure to hold you responsible for any attorney and legal fees incurred upon us and the owner for all of this nonsense." (all violations of LIS Code Article 6. Retaliatory Action. 55.248.39. Retaliatory conduct prohibited).  I was very upset concerning this and expressed such concern and my misgivings about even moving forward on the verification of those proceedings. The clerk in turn told me that it was my decision to which I replied:  " I am scared ... I will have to think about it ... the problem is they have messed up my credit report by not reporting that I paid in May and June.... but if they can go after me for attorneys fees... than I am afraid that I will have to do so .....  I dont know if they can ask the Judge for that or not ... I am also afraid the Judge might sanction me ... I dont have the money for that ... its a good way to scare a person into not going forward... which they have done .... but I need to ask ... am I supposed to be out the 28th or 27th?  cause he is saying I now have to be out by the 27th at noon and I need to also ask .... how do I get permission to bring a phone in if I do go forward?"PLEASE NOTE:  they have corrected the May/June report though it was not done until August when I paid both on time in their respective months...this DID affect my credit score for those months from May through August,  two months after I moved out. (Please note copies of the ledgers with side notes showing pet fee paid (I believe it was accidentally left off the ledger and therefore did not show as paid) and notes showing where balances changed as much as several times in one day.
That being said,  enclosed is a copy of VA LIS CODE: Article 6 Retaliatory Action. 55.248.39 Retaliatory Action Prohibited (which states a Landlord may not retaliate or threaten to bring action after a person has filed in court) .  ** ****** did in fact threaten after I requested verification from the Judge concerning the date. I can provide the complete email if needed ...also please see my reply (enclosed) to show just how upset and scared I was... I believe I have proven with this documentation (there is far more if needed) that this is a truth.
The other issue is that Dodson Properties LLC charged a pet fee that I show as being paid in every copy of the ledger that I have was consistent throughout . I do know I paid ** ******* that money,  that being said, a pet fee is NOT part of the security deposit but in fact a separate entity and I suspect that Dodson Properties LLC is in fact trying to evade having to take me to court to retrieve the $150 that they claim I allegedly owe (I DO NOT) by taking it out of the security deposit, because it would cost them more than that for an attorney to fight it in court,  however the bigger point again is the fact they did not do this in the time allotted them via the laws of Virginia and therefore have no recourse but to return the money based on the fact they did not follow the rules,  no excuses for this, none whatsoever.  I am not sure why they feel they are above having to do what is clearly the law and is part of the Virginia Association of Realtors, the Virginia Landlord Tenant Act,  the VA LIS Code and their own lease, which is a legal contract ?

Therefore, I need to reiterate by saying,  this game Dodson Properties, LLC is playing is in fact preventing me from renting a home as I need the full deposit to do so.  They need to remit at once the remainder of the money $150 that is in fact owed me.  




****** ***** ** ******




Regards,

** **** ********

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

While the tenant owes our company the monies that were deducted from the security deposit, we are no longer going to fight this tenant and will refund the money. This is in no way an admission of any of the things we are accused of nor an acceptance of the way the former customer portrayed us which is unfair, misleading and in most examples completely inaccurate.

Thanks,
*** ****** ****** ******** **********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,
** **** ********



5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a tenant of one of Dodson Property Management's rentals. After the lease was signed for move-in date, townhouse keys were exchanged for deposit and first month's rent. The rental was not cleaned and carpet was not replaced as stated in the lease. It was a great inconvenience when trying to move in furniture while waiting on the carpet to be replaced. The kitchen appliances, cabinets, all floors, bathrooms etc. had to be bleached and cleaned before anything was moved in. The ******** ******* did not provide us with our mailbox key. Apparently, owner of rental misplaced the original key. Instead, the post office had to replace the lock and provide us with new key (which we are still waiting on).

Desired Settlement: The second month's rent was deducted of $250, but although the post office has the mailbox key ready for pickup, the property manager is the only one that can pickup, and he is currently out of town??? So I am having to wait an additional week for the key.

Business Response: BBB and *** *****,

We, obviously, apologize for the delay in getting you a mailbox key. We take responsibility for not having the key ahead of your move in, however, there were some complicated circumstances and delays with the **** in getting the new key. They also never let us know ahead of time that only the property manager could pick up the key, a piece of information that would have made Thursday an avoidable situation.

**** **** your ******** *******, is dropping the key with you all today. Please let us know if you need anything else.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to attempting to make up for this mistake in the future.

Thanks,
*** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,
******* *****



After speaking with the customer she does have the key and she was contacted directly by the business to apologize for the issues.

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a house through Dodson Property Management. At my property the oil tank ran out of oil, and after it was filled (by me) the furnace wouldn't start. The line needs to be bled. This has happened about 3 times since I moved into the house in February of 2013. I called Dodson who sent someone from ********* Property Management to fix it. It took about 30 minutes and my ******** ******* (**** ******) said that because I let it run out of oil that I am responsible for paying the technician for bleeding the line. I received a bill in the mail for $292.50 for less than an hour of work. The invoice showed that the technician was from ********* and they have the same address as Dodson Property Mgmt. However, a normal fee for a service call to bleed the line is about $80 in this area. It seems that they're trying to make money off a service call. This is dishonest. I'm a single mother of 4 and cannot afford to pay that much for a maintenance call. My ******** ******* said that I have to use a company approved on their list or I pay for it myself. This puts me in a position where if I try to hold the ***** responsible and they decide that he isn't, then I have to pay what they say. It's a way to discourage me from putting in a work order, in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the $292.50 deleted from my account.

Business Response:

*** **** and Better Business Bureau,

In regards to BBB Case #*******, we understand the frustration of the tenant and wish that there was an alternative to fix the situation. 

It is the understanding of Dodson Property Management that the tenant did not refill the oil supply and caused sludge to enter the oil furnace system. Due to the accumulation of sludge, this is not a typical service call and the issue was caused by the tenant. Therefore, per the lease, it is the tenant's responsibility to pay the bill.  The landlord has previously paid for this mistake by the tenant and it was communicated that we would not be paying for this anymore.

For comparison purposes, if a tenant broke a window, our lease calls for it to be fixed by the landlord or tenant but that this would be a charge for the tenant. Both issues would be tenant caused and the charge for the repair would be to the tenant. 

Dodson Property Management receives no monetary compensation for charging owners or tenants for service work. All monies are collected by Dodson and sent directly to the contractor. Therefore, there is no reason that Dodson Property Management would overcharge for a service call to the oil furnace, we're simply paying the bill for the work of the contractor. 

*** ****, if you would like to discuss this issue further, I'd be happy to discuss it directly with you. 

Thanks,
*** ******
 

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company charge me for the amount of $300 some dollars for cleaning and garage door key. I never received garage door key, I had that place professionally clean from the professional companies. I spoke to the property manager and I spoke to the Regional manager and they said they will take care of this matter but have not resolve, today after 6 months I got a phone call from collection company asking me for the the money. I explained him all the story then he told me send me the receipt and he will try to resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: I need dodson property to remove this wrong charge from my account ASAP.

Business Response:

Below is the response in regards to BBB Case #*******
*** ******,

In regards to your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding an amount owed, we have taken the charge of $325 for cleaning off your ledger. 

Let me first apologize for the accounting error, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. Second, I apologize for the phone call from the collection agency. We're also in the process of remedying that. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are contacted by them again. 

Finally, it looks as if the charge for keys that were not returned and a re-key at the property were charges that were part of your breaking of the lease. Those total $127.28. Please contact me directly if you need to discuss that charge further. 

Thank you for your feedback. 

Sincerely, 
*** ******

-- 


*** ******, RMP
Director of Residential Property Management
Dodson Property Management
***** ******** Office
***** ******** - Fax
**** ***** **** ***** ***
********* ** *****
******************************** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am very upset because Dodson Property Management charging $100 some dollars for re-key the garage door which I never received from them.

Regards,

***** ******




9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've often been told 'You get what you pay for' . However, the accommodations provided by Dodson Property LLC are too good to be true. Unfortunately I am in the apartment that was the storage unit. I've made numerous requests to have light switches functional, a celling fan installed, air conditioning unit tested, and a replacement shutter. Until recently I had a leak in the kitchen ceiling, a bathroom door that wouldn't shut & no warm water in the shower. Although I am thankful those repairs were made, the repair man dented my dryer. Upon questioning how the dent occurred he acted like he didn't understand what I was talking about. I am highly disappointed & feel embarrassed for the company as a whole.

Desired Settlement: Firstly I would either like to have my dryer fixed by a professional or be compensated. I would like to have repairs acknowledged in a timely manner. In addition to receiving a follow up call from the property manager to ensure problem was fixed. Customer service 101.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

1 - We will contact the appropriate parties to determine if the vendor damaged the dryer.

2 - If it is determined that the vendor did damage the dryer, then we will make sure that vendor either fixes the damage or compensates the tenant appropriately.

3 - We will follow up with the tenant either way.

Any questions can be directed to my office at *************

Sincerely,

**** ****** ****** ******** **********

12/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, December 1, 2012, I recieved a letter from a collection agency for the amount of $342.25 regarding a debt owed that Dodson Property Management claims that I owe. I moved out of a house managed by Dodson Property Management on April 27, 2012 and surrendered the keys to *** ****** on May 1st. I filed a previous complaint with the BBB against this company in regards to my security deposit which took Dodson over 2 months to return back to me. When I recieved the security deposit in July, I have never heard anything else again regarding the house located at **** ***** *****. I have never recieved an itemized statement from Dodson regarding any damages and/or monies due. I am mailing a copy of the dispute letter to Dodson that I have mailed to ********** ******* (Collection Agency). I will also file another complaint with the **** regarding this company. I am also seeking legal counsel to make sure that my credit is not affected by Dodson's unscrupulous practices. It took Dodson over 2 months to return my security deposit. Even when the security deposit was being disputed, Dodson Property Managment never provided me with an itemized statement regarding any damages. I spoke to *** ****** and he said verbally on the phone that I owed for painting the house. I lived in the house for 10 years with my family and the painting should be considered normal wear and tear.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dodson to stop with the collection process as I owe no money to them.

Business Response: Dear *** **** and the BBB,

Our accountant inadvertently sent *** ***** account to collection.  *** **** does not have a balance with us, and we will get this corrected as soon as possible.  We will ensure that *** ***** credit is not damaged in any way.  We apologize for the error.

Any questions can be directed to our office at *************

Sincerely,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will wait until I have verfification from the collection agency before I consider this complaint resolved.  I would also like to know how the accountant came up with the amount $342.25.  I obtained a copy of my credit report and it states on there that I was never late and that I was in good standing.  The account was closed in June of 2012.

 

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

I had previously filed a complaint against Dodson Property Management regarding Collection Issues.

The complaint # is *******.

The complaint was closed “Administratively” because **** ****** replied that his company would have this resolved as soon as possible.

Well as of December 17, 2012, I received another letter from the company regarding this matter.

I called the company and they said that they have not received anything from Dodson saying that this matter is a mistake.

 

Please consider reopening the complaint as this was not resolved as the company said it would be.

 

******* ** **** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

I had previously filed a complaint against Dodson Property Management regarding Collection Issues.

The complaint # is *******.

The complaint was closed “Administratively” because **** ****** replied that his company would have this resolved as soon as possible.

Well as of December 17, 2012, I received another letter from the company regarding this matter.

I called the company and they said that they have not received anything from Dodson saying that this matter is a mistake.

 

Please consider reopening the complaint as this was not resolved as the company said it would be.

 

******* ** **** 

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When the tenant made the first complaint, we contacted our contact at ********** and set up an appointment for their representative to come to our office to remove the balance for this tenant and two others.  The ********** associate is coming to our office on 12/19/12.  They have assured us that the errors will be corrected for all three individuals, and ********** will send a letter to the 3 tenants within a few weeks explaining that the situation has been resolved.  The tenant's credit will not be affected in any way.

Any further questions can be directed to our office at ************.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When the tenant made the first complaint, we contacted our contact at ********** and set up an appointment for their representative to come to our office to remove the balance for this tenant and two others.  The ********** associate is coming to our office on 12/19/12.  They have assured us that the errors will be corrected for all three individuals, and ********** will send a letter to the 3 tenants within a few weeks explaining that the situation has been resolved.  The tenant's credit will not be affected in any way.

Any further questions can be directed to our office at ************.

Sincerely,

**** ******

8/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service