BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

BBB Accredited Business since

Dodson Properties, LLC

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 2619 Floyd Ave, Ste 200, Richmond, VA 23220 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.DodsonCommercial.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

DPM is a full service real estate firm that specializes in residential property management.  We manage single-family homes as well as apartment buildings throughout Richmond and Williamsburg.  We can also handle real estate sales and commercial leasing, sales and management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dodson Properties, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dodson Properties, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dodson Properties, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 05, 2008 Business started: 10/25/2007 in VA Business incorporated: 10/25/2007 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Board
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8526
Fax Number: 804-527-4298
reboard@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Duke Dodson, Owner Mr. Tim Wehner, Director of Property Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duke Dodson, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Wehner, Director of Property Management
Related Businesses
River Bend Property Services LLC
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Apartments Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Method(s) of Payment
Online Credit/Debit Cards
Money Orders
ACH
Personal Check
Alternate Business Names
Dodson Commercial, LLC
Industry Tips
Foreclosure Rescue

Additional Locations

  • 2619 Floyd Ave, Ste 200

    Richmond, VA 23220

  • 409 E. Main St  Suite 301

    Richmond, VA 23219

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 355-7368(Phone)
  • (804) 355-0212 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a tenant of one of Dodson Property Management's rentals. After the lease was signed for move-in date, townhouse keys were exchanged for deposit and first month's rent. The rental was not cleaned and carpet was not replaced as stated in the lease. It was a great inconvenience when trying to move in furniture while waiting on the carpet to be replaced. The kitchen appliances, cabinets, all floors, bathrooms etc. had to be bleached and cleaned before anything was moved in. The ******** ******* did not provide us with our mailbox key. Apparently, owner of rental misplaced the original key. Instead, the post office had to replace the lock and provide us with new key (which we are still waiting on).

Desired Settlement: The second month's rent was deducted of $250, but although the post office has the mailbox key ready for pickup, the property manager is the only one that can pickup, and he is currently out of town??? So I am having to wait an additional week for the key.

Business Response: BBB and *** *****,

We, obviously, apologize for the delay in getting you a mailbox key. We take responsibility for not having the key ahead of your move in, however, there were some complicated circumstances and delays with the **** in getting the new key. They also never let us know ahead of time that only the property manager could pick up the key, a piece of information that would have made Thursday an avoidable situation.

**** **** your ******** *******, is dropping the key with you all today. Please let us know if you need anything else.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to attempting to make up for this mistake in the future.

Thanks,
*** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ****************************

Regards,
******* *****



After speaking with the customer she does have the key and she was contacted directly by the business to apologize for the issues.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent a house through Dodson Property Management. At my property the oil tank ran out of oil, and after it was filled (by me) the furnace wouldn't start. The line needs to be bled. This has happened about 3 times since I moved into the house in February of 2013. I called Dodson who sent someone from ********* Property Management to fix it. It took about 30 minutes and my ******** ******* (**** ******) said that because I let it run out of oil that I am responsible for paying the technician for bleeding the line. I received a bill in the mail for $292.50 for less than an hour of work. The invoice showed that the technician was from ********* and they have the same address as Dodson Property Mgmt. However, a normal fee for a service call to bleed the line is about $80 in this area. It seems that they're trying to make money off a service call. This is dishonest. I'm a single mother of 4 and cannot afford to pay that much for a maintenance call. My ******** ******* said that I have to use a company approved on their list or I pay for it myself. This puts me in a position where if I try to hold the ***** responsible and they decide that he isn't, then I have to pay what they say. It's a way to discourage me from putting in a work order, in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the $292.50 deleted from my account.

Business Response:

*** **** and Better Business Bureau,

In regards to BBB Case #*******, we understand the frustration of the tenant and wish that there was an alternative to fix the situation. 

It is the understanding of Dodson Property Management that the tenant did not refill the oil supply and caused sludge to enter the oil furnace system. Due to the accumulation of sludge, this is not a typical service call and the issue was caused by the tenant. Therefore, per the lease, it is the tenant's responsibility to pay the bill.  The landlord has previously paid for this mistake by the tenant and it was communicated that we would not be paying for this anymore.

For comparison purposes, if a tenant broke a window, our lease calls for it to be fixed by the landlord or tenant but that this would be a charge for the tenant. Both issues would be tenant caused and the charge for the repair would be to the tenant. 

Dodson Property Management receives no monetary compensation for charging owners or tenants for service work. All monies are collected by Dodson and sent directly to the contractor. Therefore, there is no reason that Dodson Property Management would overcharge for a service call to the oil furnace, we're simply paying the bill for the work of the contractor. 

*** ****, if you would like to discuss this issue further, I'd be happy to discuss it directly with you. 

Thanks,
*** ******
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company charge me for the amount of $300 some dollars for cleaning and garage door key. I never received garage door key, I had that place professionally clean from the professional companies. I spoke to the property manager and I spoke to the Regional manager and they said they will take care of this matter but have not resolve, today after 6 months I got a phone call from collection company asking me for the the money. I explained him all the story then he told me send me the receipt and he will try to resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: I need dodson property to remove this wrong charge from my account ASAP.

Business Response:

Below is the response in regards to BBB Case #*******
*** ******,

In regards to your Better Business Bureau complaint regarding an amount owed, we have taken the charge of $325 for cleaning off your ledger. 

Let me first apologize for the accounting error, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. Second, I apologize for the phone call from the collection agency. We're also in the process of remedying that. Please feel free to contact me directly if you are contacted by them again. 

Finally, it looks as if the charge for keys that were not returned and a re-key at the property were charges that were part of your breaking of the lease. Those total $127.28. Please contact me directly if you need to discuss that charge further. 

Thank you for your feedback. 

Sincerely, 
*** ******

-- 


*** ******, RMP
Director of Residential Property Management
Dodson Property Management
***** ******** Office
***** ******** - Fax
**** ***** **** ***** ***
********* ** *****
******************************** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am very upset because Dodson Property Management charging $100 some dollars for re-key the garage door which I never received from them.

Regards,

***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've often been told 'You get what you pay for' . However, the accommodations provided by Dodson Property LLC are too good to be true. Unfortunately I am in the apartment that was the storage unit. I've made numerous requests to have light switches functional, a celling fan installed, air conditioning unit tested, and a replacement shutter. Until recently I had a leak in the kitchen ceiling, a bathroom door that wouldn't shut & no warm water in the shower. Although I am thankful those repairs were made, the repair man dented my dryer. Upon questioning how the dent occurred he acted like he didn't understand what I was talking about. I am highly disappointed & feel embarrassed for the company as a whole.

Desired Settlement: Firstly I would either like to have my dryer fixed by a professional or be compensated. I would like to have repairs acknowledged in a timely manner. In addition to receiving a follow up call from the property manager to ensure problem was fixed. Customer service 101.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

1 - We will contact the appropriate parties to determine if the vendor damaged the dryer.

2 - If it is determined that the vendor did damage the dryer, then we will make sure that vendor either fixes the damage or compensates the tenant appropriately.

3 - We will follow up with the tenant either way.

Any questions can be directed to my office at *************

Sincerely,

**** ****** ****** ******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, December 1, 2012, I recieved a letter from a collection agency for the amount of $342.25 regarding a debt owed that Dodson Property Management claims that I owe. I moved out of a house managed by Dodson Property Management on April 27, 2012 and surrendered the keys to *** ****** on May 1st. I filed a previous complaint with the BBB against this company in regards to my security deposit which took Dodson over 2 months to return back to me. When I recieved the security deposit in July, I have never heard anything else again regarding the house located at **** ***** *****. I have never recieved an itemized statement from Dodson regarding any damages and/or monies due. I am mailing a copy of the dispute letter to Dodson that I have mailed to ********** ******* (Collection Agency). I will also file another complaint with the **** regarding this company. I am also seeking legal counsel to make sure that my credit is not affected by Dodson's unscrupulous practices. It took Dodson over 2 months to return my security deposit. Even when the security deposit was being disputed, Dodson Property Managment never provided me with an itemized statement regarding any damages. I spoke to *** ****** and he said verbally on the phone that I owed for painting the house. I lived in the house for 10 years with my family and the painting should be considered normal wear and tear.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dodson to stop with the collection process as I owe no money to them.

Business Response: Dear *** **** and the BBB,

Our accountant inadvertently sent *** ***** account to collection.  *** **** does not have a balance with us, and we will get this corrected as soon as possible.  We will ensure that *** ***** credit is not damaged in any way.  We apologize for the error.

Any questions can be directed to our office at *************

Sincerely,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will wait until I have verfification from the collection agency before I consider this complaint resolved.  I would also like to know how the accountant came up with the amount $342.25.  I obtained a copy of my credit report and it states on there that I was never late and that I was in good standing.  The account was closed in June of 2012.

 

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

I had previously filed a complaint against Dodson Property Management regarding Collection Issues.

The complaint # is *******.

The complaint was closed “Administratively” because **** ****** replied that his company would have this resolved as soon as possible.

Well as of December 17, 2012, I received another letter from the company regarding this matter.

I called the company and they said that they have not received anything from Dodson saying that this matter is a mistake.

 

Please consider reopening the complaint as this was not resolved as the company said it would be.

 

******* ** **** 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

I had previously filed a complaint against Dodson Property Management regarding Collection Issues.

The complaint # is *******.

The complaint was closed “Administratively” because **** ****** replied that his company would have this resolved as soon as possible.

Well as of December 17, 2012, I received another letter from the company regarding this matter.

I called the company and they said that they have not received anything from Dodson saying that this matter is a mistake.

 

Please consider reopening the complaint as this was not resolved as the company said it would be.

 

******* ** **** 

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When the tenant made the first complaint, we contacted our contact at ********** and set up an appointment for their representative to come to our office to remove the balance for this tenant and two others.  The ********** associate is coming to our office on 12/19/12.  They have assured us that the errors will be corrected for all three individuals, and ********** will send a letter to the 3 tenants within a few weeks explaining that the situation has been resolved.  The tenant's credit will not be affected in any way.

Any further questions can be directed to our office at ************.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When the tenant made the first complaint, we contacted our contact at ********** and set up an appointment for their representative to come to our office to remove the balance for this tenant and two others.  The ********** associate is coming to our office on 12/19/12.  They have assured us that the errors will be corrected for all three individuals, and ********** will send a letter to the 3 tenants within a few weeks explaining that the situation has been resolved.  The tenant's credit will not be affected in any way.

Any further questions can be directed to our office at ************.

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1