BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Virginia

This Business is not BBB accredited

Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming

Phone: (804) 639-9609 View Additional Phone Numbers 22320 Hull Street Rd, Moseley, VA 23120 http://www.waggingtails-va.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 2008 Business started: 06/01/2001 in VA Business incorporated: 12/01/2001 in VA
Type of Entity

Association

Business Management
Ms. Kelly Caton, Owner Ms. Meagan Caton, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelly Caton, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Grooming Pet Training Pet Boarding - Dogs

Alternate Business Names
Wagging Tails Kennel, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22320 Hull Street Rd

    Moseley, VA 23120 (804) 639-9609 (804) 314-9675

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (804) 314-9675(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my dog with Wagging Tails Kennel for 7 days to go through their beast boot camp program and returned to find she had no been properly cared for. I was instructed to pick my dog up at 8am but they were not open when I arrived, I had to return at noon before I could get her. Upon arrival (the second time) to the kennel the trainer (**** *****) immediately confronted me in the lobby telling me my dog was a "real piece of work" and that he did not get through the training as he had planned too (during evaluation I had discussed with him that my dog already knew basic commands such as "sit" "stay" "lay down" but I wanted him to focus on leash walking and my dog not yanking on her leash when she spotted other dogs). When I went back to the kennel with the trainer to get my dog there was poop in her kennel and she reeked of urine. She was cowardly and shaking around the trainer, a normally friendly dog refused to even take a treat from him. When the trainer began to go over the things he had worked on with my dog during the week it was not the things we had discussed during evaluation, he told me he didn't get to those things because he had so much trouble with her during the week; instead he showed me techniques to use at home and told me to give it a couple weeks and she would catch on. After 2 weeks of working with my dog at home I was not happy with the things I had been shown or the lack of progress my dog had make so I called wagging tails to talk with them about my dogs training. After speaking with ***** a couple of times she admitted that they had "dropped the ball" my dog was suppose to have received a complimentary bath before she left because she had peed in her kennel every night due to the fact that they locked the dog kennels at 6pm and do not open them again until 7am. ***** also informed me that I should have received a take home summary of how my dogs behavior was while she was there during the week and the summary would have also tracked her progress during the week -I did not receive this summary. In addition, ***** informed me I had been over charged for my dogs boot camp and stay. After talking with the owners ***** called me back to let me know they would refund the $24 I had been over charged but they would not allow a refund. She also let me know the owners would let me bring my dog back for a 5day bootcamp and a complimentary bath; I would never leave my dog with them again and live 2hrs away, I am not driving back for a free bath. After turning that down they offered free private lessons, again I live 2hrs away, I cannot come back for 4, 1 hour sessions. I asked to speak directly with the owner, ***** *****, but she will not return my call, instead she sent me a letter stating I "undermined the summary process" by showing up early to get my dog. In regards to my dog already knowing basic commands her letter also states "it would have been helpful if I had informed the trainer of these commands so he wouldn't waste time training the dog something it already knew." -I did let the trainer know this during the evaluation session before I dropped my dog off. Again, in closing of her letter she reiterates "it didn't go well because you had seen **** before the trainer had time to warm her up", I'm not sure what my showing up to pick up my dog 5 minutes early has to do with her week long training; if the trainer did not want me to see my dog before he warmed her up he could have asked me to wait in the lobby before he went to get her, instead he invited me back to the kennel to see her. The letter from the owner puts an enormous amount of emphasis on the fact that I arrived early to pick up my dog and that is the reason her boot camp training did not work. I am not at all please with the way my dog was treated at their kennel, nor am I pleased with the way they are handling the situation. I do not think my dog learned a thing from their boot camp, it was not worth the large sum of money I was charged.

Desired Settlement: A full refund.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

The customer’s first comment was that she was told to come at 8:00 in the morning to get her dog.  This isn’t possible because on Saturday mornings the trainer has group classes until 11:30.  He cannot do a summary while teaching group classes. She also states that we were not even open that morning. Her appointment for her private summary was scheduled for 12PM.

 

The customer says she doesn’t understand why seeing her dog early would undermine the summary class.  The trainer must warm up the dog to establish that he is the pack leader.  As far as I can tell, one of my employees thought she was helping out by getting her dog for her to see her dog before the summary.  This was so long ago the employee doesn’t recall that exact dog.  We have so many dogs going through our facility it is difficult to remember each and every one….especially after a few weeks have gone by. However, the trainer never greets the owner before warming up the dog.

 

As far as her dog smelling of urine, I explained that puppies often regress on their potty training while at the kennel.  She got 4 walks a day, plus the additional time she was out of her kennel during her training sessions.  Unfortunately, she relieved herself in her kennel every night.  She had a raised bed to sleep on, but still managed to get herself dirty.  If I have time and enough staff, I will often give a complimentary bath.  I do not like to send a dirty dog home.  Unfortunately, it was not possible to give her a bath that morning.  A bath is not included in boarding or training. A bath for a lab costs $30.00 and she could have requested one at any time.  A complimentary bath is not guaranteed as the customer seems to think.  She mentioned that my manager said that “we had dropped the ball”…..my manager  misspoke because she was being intimidated by an aggressive customer.

 

The customer  also stated that the trainer told her that her dog was “a real piece of work”, probably not the best choice of words, but he said that she laughed and said “that is why I brought her here”.  Her dog is difficult and stubborn, a fact to which she concedes.  Not all dogs can pick up new training methods as quickly as others.  This situation would be similar to a parent complaining to a high school teacher whose child was still struggling with Algebra even after 7 days of tutoring.  We make no claims that any dog is going to leave our facility fully trained.  The Boot Camp training method is to “jump start” a dog into new training methods.  The owner must be fully committed to a lot of hard work to make the training work.  She says she gave it only two weeks and was convinced it was a waste of time and money. We have many customers that call the trainer for a telephone consultation to see if they are training correctly if they are having difficulties with their dog.  The trainer is very open to talking to customers at length about their training issues.  We also have customers that do “brush up” training while they are boarding at later dates.  Her expectations seem to be extremely high.

 

The customer also states that she was to receive a home summary report of how her dog’s behavior during the week she was at the kennel.  There is no such form. It is what we call our daily “wellness form”.  Nobody receives a copy of this form.  It is an internal form with which we check each dog daily to see if they are eating, taking medications etc.  She apparently misunderstood my manager’s description of this form as that of some type of a dog’s training progress summary or report card.  No such form exists.

 

The information is spelled out clearly what is involved in a Boot Camp. As you can see there is no mention of a bath being included in the Boot Camp. All of this information is also on our website.  The customer states she located us on our website. There has been some major misunderstanding by the customer to what she was to receive in her Boot Camp.

 

As far as her complaint that I didn’t return her calls, this was due to the fact that I was in a remote part of southern Arizona where the cell reception was poor.  I was constantly dropping calls or was not able to get a signal at all.  I thought that it would be better to write a letter than for her to think that I hung up on her or to have waited until I arrived back in Virginia. As you can see, I told her I was returning to Virginia on April 8 and that I would like for her to drive down one more time for another summary class while I was in attendance so I could see any issues she was having.  She wants nothing to do with any of our offers.

 

We have offered her another free boot camp, with a bath included. We have offered private lessons. She could have discussed her training issues with the trainer over the phone if she didn’t understand why she was not getting the results she wanted.  All she wants is her money back.  We did the work and returning the money is not an option.  She keeps stating that she lives 2 hours away.  That fact didn’t deter her from driving down to Moseley to have an evaluation, drop off the dog for the actual boot camp and come for the final summary class.  She drove round trip three times, but is not willing to drive down one more time to try to get her on the right path to training her dog.  If she feels so strongly about the distance factor, I do not understand why she chose a training facility that was 2 hours away from her home when there are several excellent facilities closer to her home.

 

I have made many attempts to satisfy this customer.  She refuses to consider any of them.   If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at ************.

 

 

Thank you,

***** *****

Owner Wagging Tails Kennel

 

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not want to bring my dog back for 5 days of boot camp when the boot camp program did not work the first time and my dog was returned to me in very poor
conditions.  The owner states in her response that my dog is difficult and stubborn, to this I never conceded. I certainly do not want to leave my dog with a training facility that feels this way toward her; especially considering the fact that when I picked her up after 7 days with them she reeked of urine, there was poop in her kennel, and she was shaking and cowardly.  I fear my dog was abused and neglected during her 'training'.

I do not have exceedingly high expectations, I simply wanted my dog to be trained to walk on a leash and not yank the leash when she spotted other animals.  When a dog training facility titles their program Beast to Best dog owners expect to see a change in their dogs behavior when they get them back.  As for the private lessons, no I do not want to make the round trip again.  I did make three round trips and paid $350.00 for training and got zero result. The wellness form and complimentary bath were mentioned by the manager as things I should have received when I initially called to complain, I was not aware of them nor did I
expect them until that point. I was told to pick my dog up on a Sunday, March 9 at 8am not Saturday, March 8, the clinic was closed when I arrived; the number of miscommunications involving this training facility are effectively discouraging.

Given the situation, I wonder why the owner would attach a sample wellness report rather than my dogs actual wellness report. 

I will not be returning my dog to Wagging Tails for further training.  I do expect a full refund considering they did not provide the services offered.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my dog in for grooming service. I requested no scented products, because my dog's skin was dry. They ignored my request. This caused my dog to break into hives and sores.

Desired Settlement: I requested refund and was told no.

Business Response: This is a response in reference to complaint #*******. On Friday, August 24, 2012, the customer dropped her dog off for grooming.  The receptionist asked if she wanted the groom done the same way as the first time the dog was groomed.  She replied yes, except that she wanted the ears shorter and no "smelly stuff".  The manager asked her if by "smelly stuff" she meant that she didn't want any spritz (a spray cologne).  She replied yes. There was no mention of shampoo type. The groomer then prepared the dog for bathing. The bather used her discretion as to which type of shampoo to use.  We have many shampoos for different applications.  The bather noted that the skin appeared to be dry so she chose Oatmeal shampoo, which is the mildest shampoo we have.  Oatmeal shampoo is manufactured to use on dogs with sensitive skin.  After the bath and fluff drying the groomer finished the groom. A bandanna was put on the dog, but no spritz was applied. On Tuesday, August 28, 2012,  (four days after the groom) just before closing time, the customer called and said that we must have applied spritz because her dog had broken out in hives.  She requested a full refund of $50.00.  We believe that her request of a full refund was unreasonable.  We feel that a reasonable customer would call to inform us of the hives, we would make a note of it in the computer that this dog has skin issues.  We would then recommend that she contact her veterinarian for a prescription shampoo for future baths.  The manager told the customer that she would have to do research and double check with the groomer about not using spritz.  The groomer was certain that she had not used spritz and in fact mentioned that there were several dogs that day that didn't want spritz. On Wednesday, August 29, 2012, my manager called the customer and told her that the groomer did not use spritz on her dog.  My manager asked if there had been any problems with the previous groom to which the customer replied "no, that she had been very pleased with the first groom". The manager asked if the dog had broken out in hives on the first groom in which spritz had been used.  She answered no, but said that the dog's skin was in worse condition than on the previous visit and that they had recently switched to a hypoallergenic dog food because of skin issues. The manager informed the customer that there are many reasons why a dog could break out in hives.  Stress, external allergens like grass that could now touch areas of skin that had previously covered with hair are just a couple to mention.  Often the actual cause of hives is never found and the hives simply go away on their own, as they did in this case. The manager then asked if the customer if she had any photos of the hives or could she bring the dog up for us to see the hives firsthand.  She said that she didn't have any pictures and that the hives were already gone.  The manager told her that without seeing any hives and because we performed the groom as she requested we could not refund her money.  However, as a gesture of goodwill, we would take ****** off her next groom.  She refused the offer and stated that she would never come back.  She said that she would contact the BBB, have her credit card company to remove the charge, and tell everyone she knew how horrible we were.  The customer then asked the manager if she realized what that what that would do to our business.  The manager stated that it was the owner's right as a consumer to do those things but short of offering a credit towards the next groom there was nothing else she could do. At Wagging Tails Kennel, we strive to satisfy our customer’s needs.  We always take complaints seriously and take responsibility if there is a legitimate problem.  In this case, we followed the customer's instructions and feel that the hives were not a result of anything we did. We take great pride in our company.  We are family owned and managed. We have been open since 2003 and have never had a single complaint with the BBB.   Thank you, ***** ** ***** *****Wagging Tails Kennel 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.