This business is not BBB accredited.

Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming

Phone: (804) 639-9609 View Additional Phone Numbers 22320 Hull Street Rd, Moseley, VA 23120 http://www.waggingtails-va.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2008 Business started: 06/01/2001 in VA Business incorporated 12/01/2001 in VA
Type of Entity

Association

Business Management
Ms. Kelly Caton, Owner Ms. Meagan Caton, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelly Caton, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Grooming Pet Training Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)

Alternate Business Names
Wagging Tails Kennel, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22320 Hull Street Rd

    Moseley, VA 23120 (804) 639-9609 (804) 314-9675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my dog with Wagging Tails Kennel for 7 days to go through their beast boot camp program and returned to find she had no been properly cared for. I was instructed to pick my dog up at 8am but they were not open when I arrived, I had to return at noon before I could get her. Upon arrival (the second time) to the kennel the trainer (**** *****) immediately confronted me in the lobby telling me my dog was a "real piece of work" and that he did not get through the training as he had planned too (during evaluation I had discussed with him that my dog already knew basic commands such as "sit" "stay" "lay down" but I wanted him to focus on leash walking and my dog not yanking on her leash when she spotted other dogs). When I went back to the kennel with the trainer to get my dog there was poop in her kennel and she reeked of urine. She was cowardly and shaking around the trainer, a normally friendly dog refused to even take a treat from him. When the trainer began to go over the things he had worked on with my dog during the week it was not the things we had discussed during evaluation, he told me he didn't get to those things because he had so much trouble with her during the week; instead he showed me techniques to use at home and told me to give it a couple weeks and she would catch on. After 2 weeks of working with my dog at home I was not happy with the things I had been shown or the lack of progress my dog had make so I called wagging tails to talk with them about my dogs training. After speaking with ***** a couple of times she admitted that they had "dropped the ball" my dog was suppose to have received a complimentary bath before she left because she had peed in her kennel every night due to the fact that they locked the dog kennels at 6pm and do not open them again until 7am. ***** also informed me that I should have received a take home summary of how my dogs behavior was while she was there during the week and the summary would have also tracked her progress during the week -I did not receive this summary. In addition, ***** informed me I had been over charged for my dogs boot camp and stay. After talking with the owners ***** called me back to let me know they would refund the $24 I had been over charged but they would not allow a refund. She also let me know the owners would let me bring my dog back for a 5day bootcamp and a complimentary bath; I would never leave my dog with them again and live 2hrs away, I am not driving back for a free bath. After turning that down they offered free private lessons, again I live 2hrs away, I cannot come back for 4, 1 hour sessions. I asked to speak directly with the owner, ***** *****, but she will not return my call, instead she sent me a letter stating I "undermined the summary process" by showing up early to get my dog. In regards to my dog already knowing basic commands her letter also states "it would have been helpful if I had informed the trainer of these commands so he wouldn't waste time training the dog something it already knew." -I did let the trainer know this during the evaluation session before I dropped my dog off. Again, in closing of her letter she reiterates "it didn't go well because you had seen **** before the trainer had time to warm her up", I'm not sure what my showing up to pick up my dog 5 minutes early has to do with her week long training; if the trainer did not want me to see my dog before he warmed her up he could have asked me to wait in the lobby before he went to get her, instead he invited me back to the kennel to see her. The letter from the owner puts an enormous amount of emphasis on the fact that I arrived early to pick up my dog and that is the reason her boot camp training did not work. I am not at all please with the way my dog was treated at their kennel, nor am I pleased with the way they are handling the situation. I do not think my dog learned a thing from their boot camp, it was not worth the large sum of money I was charged.

Desired Settlement: A full refund.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

The customer’s first comment was that she was told to come at 8:00 in the morning to get her dog.  This isn’t possible because on Saturday mornings the trainer has group classes until 11:30.  He cannot do a summary while teaching group classes. She also states that we were not even open that morning. Her appointment for her private summary was scheduled for 12PM.

 

The customer says she doesn’t understand why seeing her dog early would undermine the summary class.  The trainer must warm up the dog to establish that he is the pack leader.  As far as I can tell, one of my employees thought she was helping out by getting her dog for her to see her dog before the summary.  This was so long ago the employee doesn’t recall that exact dog.  We have so many dogs going through our facility it is difficult to remember each and every one….especially after a few weeks have gone by. However, the trainer never greets the owner before warming up the dog.

 

As far as her dog smelling of urine, I explained that puppies often regress on their potty training while at the kennel.  She got 4 walks a day, plus the additional time she was out of her kennel during her training sessions.  Unfortunately, she relieved herself in her kennel every night.  She had a raised bed to sleep on, but still managed to get herself dirty.  If I have time and enough staff, I will often give a complimentary bath.  I do not like to send a dirty dog home.  Unfortunately, it was not possible to give her a bath that morning.  A bath is not included in boarding or training. A bath for a lab costs $30.00 and she could have requested one at any time.  A complimentary bath is not guaranteed as the customer seems to think.  She mentioned that my manager said that “we had dropped the ball”…..my manager  misspoke because she was being intimidated by an aggressive customer.

 

The customer  also stated that the trainer told her that her dog was “a real piece of work”, probably not the best choice of words, but he said that she laughed and said “that is why I brought her here”.  Her dog is difficult and stubborn, a fact to which she concedes.  Not all dogs can pick up new training methods as quickly as others.  This situation would be similar to a parent complaining to a high school teacher whose child was still struggling with Algebra even after 7 days of tutoring.  We make no claims that any dog is going to leave our facility fully trained.  The Boot Camp training method is to “jump start” a dog into new training methods.  The owner must be fully committed to a lot of hard work to make the training work.  She says she gave it only two weeks and was convinced it was a waste of time and money. We have many customers that call the trainer for a telephone consultation to see if they are training correctly if they are having difficulties with their dog.  The trainer is very open to talking to customers at length about their training issues.  We also have customers that do “brush up” training while they are boarding at later dates.  Her expectations seem to be extremely high.

 

The customer also states that she was to receive a home summary report of how her dog’s behavior during the week she was at the kennel.  There is no such form. It is what we call our daily “wellness form”.  Nobody receives a copy of this form.  It is an internal form with which we check each dog daily to see if they are eating, taking medications etc.  She apparently misunderstood my manager’s description of this form as that of some type of a dog’s training progress summary or report card.  No such form exists.

 

The information is spelled out clearly what is involved in a Boot Camp. As you can see there is no mention of a bath being included in the Boot Camp. All of this information is also on our website.  The customer states she located us on our website. There has been some major misunderstanding by the customer to what she was to receive in her Boot Camp.

 

As far as her complaint that I didn’t return her calls, this was due to the fact that I was in a remote part of southern Arizona where the cell reception was poor.  I was constantly dropping calls or was not able to get a signal at all.  I thought that it would be better to write a letter than for her to think that I hung up on her or to have waited until I arrived back in Virginia. As you can see, I told her I was returning to Virginia on April 8 and that I would like for her to drive down one more time for another summary class while I was in attendance so I could see any issues she was having.  She wants nothing to do with any of our offers.

 

We have offered her another free boot camp, with a bath included. We have offered private lessons. She could have discussed her training issues with the trainer over the phone if she didn’t understand why she was not getting the results she wanted.  All she wants is her money back.  We did the work and returning the money is not an option.  She keeps stating that she lives 2 hours away.  That fact didn’t deter her from driving down to Moseley to have an evaluation, drop off the dog for the actual boot camp and come for the final summary class.  She drove round trip three times, but is not willing to drive down one more time to try to get her on the right path to training her dog.  If she feels so strongly about the distance factor, I do not understand why she chose a training facility that was 2 hours away from her home when there are several excellent facilities closer to her home.

 

I have made many attempts to satisfy this customer.  She refuses to consider any of them.   If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at ************.

 

 

Thank you,

***** *****

Owner Wagging Tails Kennel

 

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not want to bring my dog back for 5 days of boot camp when the boot camp program did not work the first time and my dog was returned to me in very poor
conditions.  The owner states in her response that my dog is difficult and stubborn, to this I never conceded. I certainly do not want to leave my dog with a training facility that feels this way toward her; especially considering the fact that when I picked her up after 7 days with them she reeked of urine, there was poop in her kennel, and she was shaking and cowardly.  I fear my dog was abused and neglected during her 'training'.

I do not have exceedingly high expectations, I simply wanted my dog to be trained to walk on a leash and not yank the leash when she spotted other animals.  When a dog training facility titles their program Beast to Best dog owners expect to see a change in their dogs behavior when they get them back.  As for the private lessons, no I do not want to make the round trip again.  I did make three round trips and paid $350.00 for training and got zero result. The wellness form and complimentary bath were mentioned by the manager as things I should have received when I initially called to complain, I was not aware of them nor did I
expect them until that point. I was told to pick my dog up on a Sunday, March 9 at 8am not Saturday, March 8, the clinic was closed when I arrived; the number of miscommunications involving this training facility are effectively discouraging.

Given the situation, I wonder why the owner would attach a sample wellness report rather than my dogs actual wellness report. 

I will not be returning my dog to Wagging Tails for further training.  I do expect a full refund considering they did not provide the services offered.

Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wagging Tails Kennel and Grooming
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)