Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dog's Day Inn

Phone: (804) 745-7173 View Additional Phone Numbers 213 Granite Springs Rd., Richmond, VA 23225 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dog's Day Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dog's Day Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Paige O. Shriver, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Paige O. Shriver, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)

Hours of Operation
Sunday 4pm-5pm
Monday 8am - 11am & 4pm - 6 pm
Tuesday - Saturday 8am - 6 pm
Alternate Business Names
Shriver's Canine Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 213 Granite Springs Rd.

    Richmond, VA 23225 (804) 745-7173


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I boarded my dog at this location from September 6th until September 8th. My dog is alleged to have bitten 3 employees, Not at any point was I notified about any of these incidents until pick up. When I questioned them about the behaviors of my dog, the staff members and owner just gave me characteristics of the breed. None of the behaviors that they described fits the description of the behaviors of my dog. They presented a bill and said that I was responsible. There was no camera footage with proof or pictures supporting their claim. The hospital bill had no personalization as to my dog being in question for this incident. I did an extensive investigation with the hospital, chesterfield county license and inspection, an attorney and animal control. In my findings, I discovered that the proper protocols were not followed. I am not responsible for this bill. The following is in question: 1. I did not receive a phone call about the incident. 2. I was told about the incident 3 days later while picking the dog up. 3. The dog was kept locked up in a kennel for 3 days without my consent. 4. It was okay for Dog's Day Inn to keep the dog for the capacity of the stay to gain money but not notify me and give me the option whether I wanted to termination the stay. 5. My dog was alleged to have attacked 3 employees so why would they keep sending employees in the kennel if it was alleged to be in an attacking mood? 6. I never signed a contract or was never given literature on the policies and procedures. 7. There is no boarding policy posted in the customers view in the building. 8. I did not receive any pictures or camera footage of supporting proof of the incident occurring. 9. The employee, "****** ******"(the victim that went to ********** hospital) did not provide a statement with the incident occurring to present to me. 10. The injuries insinuated that ****** ****** had her foot in an upward position (such as a kicking position). 11. Employee did not wear proper shoes.

Desired Settlement: I want an $87 refund for the hospital bill that I paid. I would like it to go back to the card that was used or mailed to my home address submitted in this report. If the business feels that they do not wish to give me a refund then I would like answers with supporting documentation in writing supporting the 11 facts that I've stated them to be at fault for. I wish to have all communication in writing or email. Please no verbal communication.

Business Response: ******* **** dropped off her two dogs, Karma and Hendrix on September 5th, 2015 at 1:05 pm.  She requested that her dogs be housed separately vs. together.  Both dogs were housed in an individual indoor/outdoor kennel measuring approx. 52 square feet each.  Hendrix, (a pit bull weighing approx. 50 lbs.) bit a member of the kennel staff on Sunday morning 9/6/15 at approx. 8:00 am while she was attempting to serve him breakfast.  Please understand that Hendrix did not bite 3 employees.  Hendrix ATTEMPTED to bite another member of my kennel staff on Tuesday morning 9/8/15 as she was feeding him breakfast, and he ATTEMPTED to bite another staff member on that same Tuesday morning, whilst cleaning up his feces. 
When Ms. **** was informed at check out about Hendrix's unacceptable aggression, she responded that "He had never bitten anyone before."  I personally responded to her statement, and explained that in my professional opinion, Hendrix having just turned two years old and being an un-neutered male dog, was just entering maturity, and that it is common to see temperament changes during this period.  I also urged her to have him neutered, and to retain a professional trainer to work with him on his aggression issues. I also explained to her, as a pet care professional, and from past experience, that his behavior was due to him becoming over stimulated, and not being clear headed.  (This could be compared to a human in a blind rage.) 

I want to also state for the record, that ***** laws protect the privacy of patients treated, so it would be curious that the "hospital" spoke with Ms. **** about this incident.  Ms. **** is correct in stating that proper protocol was not fol****d regarding this bite. The state of Virginia requires the attending physician to gather information about the animal and the owner, and report the bite to the corresponding Animal Control jurisdiction.  ******* ***** was negligent in performing their due diligence and never requested any information from the patient, and subsequently never reported the bite to the proper authorities.  I will assure you that I personally reported the bite to Chesterfield County Animal Control on 9/9/15, when I realized that ******* ***** had not ffollowed protocol.  I was informed that even though the bite occurred in Chesterfield County, that since Ms. **** and her dog reside in Richmond, that their Animal Control would be handling the case.  I do hope to follow up with that officer, in order to give him the facts.  

I will now respond to each of the 11 items individually.
1.  Ms. **** was not called to tell her about her dog biting a staff member.  We do not call and bother customers while they are enjoying a vacation unless there is an emergency involving their pet.  Had her dog SERIOUSLY injured a person, killed or seriously injured another animal, or experienced a medical emergency himself, we would have called the pet owner or the emergency contact. 
2.  Ms. **** was informed at pick up (8:45am on 9/8/15) that her dog had bitten a member of my kennel staff.  This was 48 hours after the initial bite and approximately an hour after the second two incidents. 
3.  Hendrix was kept in the 52 square foot kennel with indoor and outdoor access at all times for 48 hours after the bite occurred.  This was the same kennel that his owner reserved for the entire stay. His kennel was air conditioned, as are all of the kennels.
4. We continued to care for both of Ms. ****** dogs after the incident.  We were closed in observance of the Labor Day holiday all day Monday, and the dogs were picked up 45 minutes after opening on Tuesday the 8th.  This duration was the reservation arranged by the client for her dogs prior to check in and confirmed at check in.
5. We continue to care for and provide food, water, shelter, clean and comfortable accommodations for each and every dog even if they have a bite history.  We have policies in place to insure the health and safety of the pets and employees even when dealing with an aggressive dog.  This is how subsequent attempts to bite were thwarted.
6.  Each and every customer is provided with an agreement found on the rear of our standardized registration form.  ******** please find a copy of Ms. ****’s signed and dated agreement.  Please take particular notice of the highlighted line items.  Each and every dog owner agrees to assume all liabilities for the actions of their dog(s).
7.  The financial policies are posted in the lobby.  The boarding policies/agreement is on the rear of every registration form, as previously stated in #6 above.
8. How could there be a photo of the occurrence?  No one was standing by with a camera expecting or waiting to snap a photo of a dog bite.  There is no video feed in the kennel building. 
9.  ****** ****** (who was bitten by Ms. ****’s dog) did NOT go to ********** Hospital, and was never asked to provide a statement to Ms. ****.  As the owner of Dog’s Day Inn, I spoke with Ms. **** in person in the front lobby.
10. The incident facts are:  The employee was serving breakfast to Hendrix.  She had her left hand on the gate preventing Hendrix from getting loose.  She had his breakfast in her right hand.  She attempted to use her foot to readjust the location of his bedding, in order to have a stable surface to set the food bowl on.  There was no provocation, and Hendrix bit her foot, shaking vigorously and then redirecting onto her hand. THIS WAS AN UNPROVOKED BITE!
11. All staff members are required to wear closed toe shoes with a solid rubber soul.  I was present when she limped in, removed her tennis shoe, and showed me the bite.
I am a humble, honest and compassionate person and business owner.  If Ms. **** had expressed opposition to taking responsibility for her dog’s actions, and discussed her feelings with me either in person or on the phone, I would have worked with her on sharing the medical costs incurred from her dog biting my employee.  Ms. **** has been a customer since 2012, and we could have worked this out. I may have even agreed to absorb the entire $87.00.  As it is, I am insulted personally and professionally that this was taken to the BBB. 
My concern now, is that the dog receive professional training and that Ms. **** is made aware of, and takes the proper precautions necessary to safely own and control a dog with aggression issues. I have been on both sides of the leash, and will live the rest of my life handicapped after having lost half of my right hand to a dog with exactly the same behavior issues that Hendrix exhibits.  I will gladly agree to pay $87.00 directly to a professional dog trainer with approved credentials and specific experience helping high drive dogs learn to focus and think clearly. I absolutely will not agree to refund her the $87.00 personally.  It is my sincere hope that professional help is sought and Hendrix does not cause any harm to any person or animal in the future. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I've received nothing but excuses. I will just take this situation to an higher authority. None of this justifies why the service that I paid for wasn't received without notification. Furthermore Hendrix was born 7/19/13 so the paperwork is invalid in this situation because it's impossible that it's for Hendrix being that he wasn't even born.

******* ****

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dog's Day Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)