Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Butler's Kennel, Inc.

Phone: (804) 598-3577 2953 Edith Ln, Powhatan, VA 23139 http://www.butlerskennel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butler's Kennel, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Butler's Kennel, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Butler's Kennel, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1964 in VA Business incorporated 09/06/2005 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Elsie Butler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elsie Butler, President
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)


Additional Locations

  • 2953 Edith Ln

    Powhatan, VA 23139 (804) 598-3577

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchased a puppy from this kennel on 9/29/15 for $400. On the evening of 10/5/15, the puppy started throwing up. We took him to the vet the next morning & was told he had Parvovirus. Our vet immediately started IV fluids along with antibiotics. That evening, we transferred him to the critical care hospital for treatment. We called Ms ****** to make her aware of the situation and asked that she notify the other owners. We asked for a refund of our purchase price and was told if we brought the dog back, she'd refund us. At this point, we had already spent over $2,000 for treatment. We told her we weren't bringing him back and told her what we had spent, she agreed to refund us the money and said she'd mail a check the next morning. We haven't seen a check as of now and doubt if we will ever receive it. My fear is that they will continue to bread sickly animals on this property, which is putting all puppies there at risk. I wish I would have read the Yelp reviews on this business prior to purchasing from them. At least we were able to save one puppies life.

Desired Settlement: We brought our puppy home after 6 days in the critical care hospital. The total we had to pay in order to save his life was $2,705. We feel the very least she should do is to refund our $400 since she sold us a sick pet. I pray the others that were in the litter survive.

Business Response: Responding to complaint #******** To whom it may concern ********* did purchase a male sch. pup from us on 9-29-15 early in the day for 400.00 the puppy was very playful and happy not sick up to date on shots. We received a call on 10-6-15 saying the pup had parvo. We still had one pup left took her to vet no parvo. We kept the pup sold her on 10-22-15. No other pup came down with parvo. Our vet say's after being exposed to this virus they can come down 3-5 days this puppy was gone from here more than 5 days. I'm sorry the little pup got sick. We try our best to care of our puppies. I don't think there should be a **** reviews to bad mouth people trying to do the right thing. We've been here for 45 years in business loving ever pup and playing with each pup. On our contract we state we will not cover vet bills. I asked them to return pup I told them I would take pup to my vet they refused. A check was sent to ******* on 10-8-15 in the amount of 400.00 address on contract with his signature. Yours Truly************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Butler's Kennel, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)