Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pioneer Paving

Phone: (804) 744-9743 Fax: (757) 242-4050 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 5073, Midlothian, VA 23112 http://www.bbbxpress.com/pioneer_paving_


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pioneer Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pioneer Paving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Paving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 1994 Business started: 05/01/1984 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board for Contractors
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond VA 23230
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8511
Fax Number: 804-527-4401
contractor@dpor.virginia.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. George E. Boswell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George E. Boswell, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 5073

    Midlothian, VA 23112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Pioneer Paving for a quote to patch and seal our driveway. I called them because of their rating with the BBB. I was told that someone would come by and give me a quote. A few days later I got a call from Pioneer Paving and he says, they are in the area and have left over asphalt from a job this morning and would like to see if it would be enough to patch my driveway. Everything was nice with the quote and the work they said they "would do". When they quoted me they said it was fresh asphalt, however when they came to the house to patch the driveway the asphalt looked like a rock, which had to be remelted. They assured me that the driveway would look nice and this is a normal procedure for patching driveways. I paid them the full amount of the service upfront and they were suppose to come back and finish filling the cracks and seal the driveway . I called him the next day telling him my concerns about his work and how I was unhappy with the asphalt used and how the patches looked unfinished. It took them multiple rescheduled times and 2 days of canceled appointment to show back up and complete the job less to satisfaction. They never fixed the patch work, they just put a seal coat over it. The patch work is sloppy and not level with the rest of the driveway. The work I was told that would be done was not done. I have had one story after another from the owner and the son of this company, not to mention the employee caused a scene in my front yard and rudely commented to my neighbors about their driveway. He said he would refund me the whole amount of this job since I was unhappy but he never followed through. This company has been nothing what I expected it to be. It has been one lie after another and I am very upset with the service I received.

Desired Settlement: I personally feel this whole experience was a scam and I would like for the company or the son of the company to refund us our money. We paid 625.00 for a service that looks horrible and now we have to pay for it to be redone correctly. I will willing pay for the seal coat (100.00 value) and would like to refunded the rest.

Business Response: After speaking with the business he did go out and look at the issues brought up in the complaint. At that point he took care of the issues at his cost.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I spoke with the consumer and she stated that she did accept the BR but she wanted to add that she has to get the driveway sealed and it will cost $99 and she wants to be reimbursed for the $99. 


Regards,

****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pioneer Paving
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)